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Executive Summary and Origin

To implement recent legislation addressing firearm and ammunition relinquishment for
defendants subject to a criminal protective order and lengthening the time frame for certain
postconviction criminal protective orders, the Criminal Law Advisory Committee proposes
repealing a rule of court, revising three existing criminal protective order forms, and approving
four new forms and an information sheet. The committee also proposes adoption of a new
confidential California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System form for use with
criminal protective orders, and amending California Rules of Court, rule 1.51 to require
prosecuting agencies to use the form.

This proposal has not been approved by the Judicial Council and is not infended to represent the views of
the council, its Rules Committee, or its Legislation Committee. It is circulated for comment purposes only.
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Background

Assembly Bill 2308

Effective January 1, 2025, Assembly Bill 2308 (Stats. 2024, ch. 649)! allows a court to issue a
postconviction protective order for up to 15 years when a defendant is convicted of a violation of
Penal Code section 273.5(a).? Previously, a court could issue such orders for up to 10 years.

Assembly Bill 2907

Effective January 1, 2025, Assembly Bill 2907 (Stats. 2024, ch. 538)* amended Penal Code
section 273.75(d) to require a court to inform a defendant about how to comply with firearm and
ammunition prohibitions if the court has information or evidence that a defendant charged with a
domestic violence-related offense and subject to a domestic violence criminal protective order
has a firearm or ammunition.* If evidence of compliance is not provided by the defendant within
48 hours, the court must notify within two business days the prosecuting agency and appropriate
law enforcement officials. The prosecuting agency and law enforcement must take all necessary
action to obtain the firearms and ammunition as soon as practicable.’

Effective January 1, 2025, Penal Code section 29825.5 requires a defendant subject to specified
postconviction protective orders® to relinquish firearms to law enforcement or a licensed firearms
dealer within 24 hours of being served with the order and to file proof with the court within a
specified period. The court is required to provide information on how to relinquish firearms and
ammunition, according to local procedures, and the process for submitting a receipt to the court
showing proof of relinquishment.” The bill also adds exemption criteria for sworn peace officers
and others.®

!'See Link A.
2 All further statutory references are to the Penal Code unless otherwise specified.
3 See Link B.

4§ 273.75(d). Section 273.75(d) applies to protective orders issued in a case involving acts of domestic violence
under section 136.2(h) and (i), and sections 273.5(j), 368(/), 646.9(k), and 1203.097(a)(2). Section 136.2(h)(1)
concerns pretrial domestic violence protective orders and (h)(2) concerns a pretrial protective order issued when a
sex offense is charged. Because section 273.75 addresses domestic violence offenses, the reference to orders issued
under section 136.2(h) likely only applies to cases involving domestic violence.

5§ 273.75(d).

6 Specifically, orders issued under section 273.5(j), 368(/), or 646.9(k).
7§ 29825.5(b).

8§29825.5(g).



Senate Bill 899

Effective January 1, 2026, Senate Bill 899 (Stats. 2024, ch. 544)° requires the relinquishment of
ammunition for a defendant subject to a criminal protective order under section 136.2 and adds
new court procedures related to firearms and ammunition relinquishment: '°

e Upon the issuance of a protective order:

o The court is required to provide information on how to relinquish firearms and
ammunition, according to local procedures, and the process for submitting a receipt to the
court showing proof of relinquishment. !!

o A court holding a hearing on the matter must determine whether a receipt has been filed
and inquire of the respondent whether they have complied.'?

o Any violations of the firearms prohibition must be reported to the prosecutor within two
business days of the court hearing unless the restrained person provides a receipt showing
compliance at a subsequent hearing or by direct filing with the clerk.'?

o If the restrained person does not file a receipt within 48 hours after receiving the order for
a firearm in their possession, the court must notify appropriate law enforcement
officials. '

o The court may grant an exemption based on modified criteria for sworn peace officers
and others. '

? See Link C.

10°SB 899 also amended statutes governing civil harassment, elder and dependent abuse, postsecondary private
school violence, workplace violence, and gun violence restraining orders. The Civil and Small Claims Advisory
Committee is circulating an invitation to comment proposing changes to several forms to implement SB 899.
Similarly, the Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee is circulating an invitation to comment proposing form
revisions to implement AB 2759, which changed the requirements for granting a firearm exception to a domestic
violence or juvenile restraining order. See SPR25-27, Protective Orders: Civil Restraining Order Forms to
Implement SB 899 and SPR25-26, Protective Orders: Changes to Domestic Violence and Juvenile Forms to
Implement AB 2759, available at https://courts.ca.gov/policy-administration/invitations-comment.

"' Code Civ. Proc., § 527.9(b).
12 Ibid.
13 Ibid.
14 Ibid.
15 Code Civ. Proc., § 527.9(f).
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e  When relevant information is provided to the court at any noticed hearing that the restrained
person has a firearm:

o The court must determine whether the restrained person has a firearm in violation of the
order. !¢

o In making the determination, the court may consider whether the restrained person has
filed a firearm relinquishment receipt or if an exemption was granted.!”

o The court may make the determination at any noticed hearing where a restraining order is
issued, at a subsequent review hearing, or at any subsequent hearing while the order
remains in effect. '8

o The court may set a review hearing within 10 court days after the hearing at which the
information was presented. '

o If the restrained person is not present when the court sets the review hearing, the
protected person must provide notice of the review hearing to the restrained person.?’

Previously, Senate Bill 320 (Stats. 2021, ch. 685) implemented similar relinquishment
procedural requirements for civil domestic violence restraining orders, and SB 899 was intended
to replicate that framework for other civil and criminal protective orders.?! As a result, many of
the committee’s proposed amendments to implement SB 899 are modeled after those adopted for
domestic violence restraining orders in light of SB 320.

Confidential CLETS information form

Confidential Information for Law Enforcement (form CLETS-001) must be submitted with
requests for specified civil protective orders.?? The form requires the protected person’s age and
gender, and gives the option of including the protected person’s date of birth, telephone number,
and whether they speak English or another language. The form also requires the name and
gender of additional protected people and gives the option of including their race and date of

16 § 18120.5(a).

17§ 18120.5(b)(1).
18§ 18120.5(b)(2).
19§ 18120.5(c)(1), (2).
20§ 18120.5(c)(2).

2 See Sen. Rules Com., Off. of Sen. Floor Analyses, Rep. on Sen. Bill 899 (2023-2024 Reg. Sess.) Aug. 28, 2024,
pp- 5, 7.

22 Cal. Rules of Court, rule 1.51(a).



birth. After the protected person’s information from the form is entered into the California Law
Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS),?* the form must be promptly destroyed.?*

The Judicial Council first adopted a confidential CLETS information form to address safety
concerns raised by domestic violence victim advocates about how including the protected
person’s date of birth and other identifying information on a domestic violence restraining order
could be used to harass or stalk the protected person.?> Subsequently, similar forms were adopted
for use with juvenile protective orders and proceedings to prevent elder and dependent abuse,
civil harassment, private postsecondary school violence, and workplace violence. These forms
were consolidated into a single form, CLETS-001, effective January 1, 2012.

Adopted effective January 1, 2011, California Rules of Court, rule 1.51 provides direction to the
public and the courts about how the confidential CLETS information form should be used, who
has access to the information it contains, and how long courts should retain the form.

Protected person’s date of birth

All restraining orders issued in California must be entered into the California Department of
Justice’s restraining order database (CARPOS). Eligible restraining orders entered into CARPOS
are then forwarded to a federal electronic database called the National Crime Information Center
Protection Order File (NCIC-POF), which is maintained by the U.S. Department of Justice. The
NCIC-POF is used by law enforcement agencies to verify and enforce out-of-state protective
orders.

Currently, civil and criminal restraining orders do not require the protected person’s

date of birth, and only the age of the protected person is required for entry into CARPOS.
However, the federal database will not display the protected person’s name in a restraining order
record unless the protected person’s date of birth is provided. This proposal includes the option
of providing the protected person’s date of birth through a confidential CLETS information form
for inclusion in the federal database.

The Proposal

The Criminal Law Advisory Committee proposes amending rule 1.51, repealing rule 4.700,
revising forms CR-160, CR-161, and CR-162, and adopting two new forms and approving four
new forms and an information sheet, effective January 1, 2026, as described below.

Confidential CLETS information form
The committee proposes adoption of a new form, Confidential Information for Law
Enforcement—Criminal (form CLETS-002), modeled after form CLETS-001, for use in criminal

23 CLETS is a state law enforcement database.
24 Cal. Rules of Court, rule 1.51(e).

25 See Judicial Council of Cal., Advisory Com. Rep., Domestic Violence Prevention Act Forms (Aug. 27, 2003),
p. 2.



cases to provide the protected person’s gender, age, and date of birth, as well as additional
information about the protected person and the defendant. The committee anticipates that the
prosecuting agency would fill out and submit the form with the protected person’s information.
Forms CR-160 and CR-161 would be revised to delete the protected person’s gender and age and
the gender of additional protected persons, and to include a reference to using form CLETS-002.
These changes would align the criminal protective orders with all other protective orders with a
protected party that are entered into CLETS, address concerns with the protected person’s
identifying information being available on the order, and allow the protected person’s date of
birth to be provided for inclusion in the federal database in a confidential manner.

Additionally, the committee proposes amending rule 1.51 by adding to subdivision (a) that a
prosecuting agency requesting protective orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2, 273.5(j),
368(1), 646.9(k), or 1203.097(a)(2) must submit to the court with the request a completed form
CLETS-002.2° The committee also proposes amending the rule where necessary to refer to
“Confidential CLETS Information forms,” plural, to make clear that the rule’s other provisions
apply to form CLETS-002, including the requirement in rule 1.51(b) that CLETS forms be kept
confidential.

Unlike form CLETS-001, form CLETS-002 does not include an item regarding the protected
person and defendant/restrained person’s language preferences and an item for the petitioner to
identify whether the defendant has firearms, firearm parts, ammunition, or body armor. The
criminal protective orders do not currently ask for the language preferences of the protected
person and defendant, so the committee preferred not to require this additional information. The
committee also did not think information about prohibited items needed to be included on the
CLETS form in criminal cases, given that the protective orders include that information.

While the committee’s consensus was that adopting form CLETS-002 would result in a modest
but manageable workload increase, the committee seeks specific comments on whether requiring
the use of form CLETS-002 would create workload pressures for prosecuting agencies, law
enforcement, or the courts. It is the committee’s understanding that several prosecuting agencies
already use form CLETS-001 in conjunction with forms CR-160 and CR-161.

Repealing rule 4.700
The committee proposes repealing rule 4.700 and seeks specific comments on whether there are
reasons to retain all or part of the rule.

Rule 4.700 requires a court, upon issuing specified criminal protective orders, to set a review
hearing to determine whether the defendant relinquished firearms if the court has good cause to
believe that the defendant owns a firearm. The main rationale for the rule was that at the time,
there were no statutory provisions to ensure that a court’s order to relinquish firearms had been

26 The Judicial Council is considering amendments to rule 1.51, effective July 1, 2025. (See Judicial Council of Cal.,
W25-07, Protective Orders: New Civil Retail Crime Restraining Order, p. 7,
https.//courts.ca.gov/system/files/itc/w25-07.pdf).
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followed,?” and one of the rule’s stated purposes is to assist courts issuing criminal protective
orders to determine whether a defendant has a firearm and assist courts to determine compliance
with orders to relinquish under Code of Civil Procedure section 527.9.%8

A similar rule governing civil domestic violence restraining orders, rule 5.495, was adopted by
the Judicial Council effective July 1, 2014. The rationale for that rule was also the lack of
statutory provisions around following up on relinquishment orders issued as part of restraining
orders.?® Subsequently, SB 320 codified rule 5.495 as Family Code section 6322.5, and the rule
was repealed as of January 1, 2023.

Under Penal Code section 18120.5, which largely mirrors Family Code section 6322.5, it appears
that the statutory gaps around firearm relinquishment compliance that rule 4.700 sought to
address no longer exist. Though section 18120.5 does not directly codify rule 4.700, it does
address when and how a court must determine whether a restrained person has a prohibited
firearm, and the consequences of noncompliance.

Revising form CR-160
The committee proposes revising Criminal Protective Order—Domestic Violence (form CR-160)
by:

e Removing the protected person’s gender and age and the item on the gender of additional
protected persons and adding a reference to use form CLETS-002, where that information
will be provided;

e Adding a statement that orders issued under section 273.5(j) last to up to 15 years;
¢ Adding, in item 8:
o Ammunition as an item that must be relinquished;

o A statement that the defendant may use Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, and
Ammunition (form CR-800); and

o New item 8e for the court to indicate if a firearm exemption was granted, and if so, to
see detailed orders on attached Permission to Have Firearm or Ammunition for Work

(form CR-850);

27 See Judicial Council of Cal., Advisory Com. Rep., Domestic Violence: Firearms Relinquishment in Criminal
Protective Order Cases (Apr. 19, 2010), p. 1.

28 Cal. Rules of Court, rule 4.700(b)(2).

2 See Judicial Council of Cal., Advisory Com. Rep., Domestic Violence: Firearms Relinquishment in Family and
Juvenile Law Restraining Order Cases (Apr. 2,2014), p. 1.



Adding new item 9, “Possession of prohibited items,” for the court to list prohibited firearms
and ammunition, note when the defendant provided proof of compliance, and set a review
hearing on compliance;

Adding new item 10, “Noncompliance with surrendering prohibited items,” stating that the
court will notify the prosecuting attorney and law enforcement that the defendant has not
complied with relinquishment orders; and

Adding citations to Code of Civil Procedure section 527.12 to the Instructions for Law
Enforcement on page 5.

Revising form CR-161
The committee proposes revising Criminal Protective Order—Other Than Domestic Violence
(form CR-161) by:

Removing the protected person’s gender and age and the item on the gender of additional
protected persons, and adding a reference to use form CLETS-002, where that information
will be provided;

Adding, in item 8:

o Relinquishment requirements and time frames for orders issued under section 136.2 (item
8b) and sections 368(/) and 646.9(k) (new item 8c);

o New item 8d stating that the defendant may use Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, and
Ammunition (form CR-800); and

o New item 8e for the court to indicate if a firearm exemption was granted, and if so, to see
detailed orders on attached Permission to Have Firearm or Ammunition for Work (form
CR-850);

Adding new item 9, “Possession of prohibited items,” for the court to list prohibited firearms
and ammunition, note when the defendant provided proof of compliance, and set a review
hearing on compliance;

Adding new item 10, “Noncompliance with surrendering prohibited items,” stating that the
court will notify the prosecuting attorney and law enforcement that the defendant has not
complied with relinquishment orders; and

Adding citations to Code of Civil Procedure section 527.12 to the Instructions for Law
Enforcement on page 4.

Revising form CR-162
The committee proposes revising Order to Surrender Firearms in Domestic Violence Case (form
CR-162) by:



e Changing the form title to Order to Surrender Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Ammunition
in Domestic Violence Case;

e Revising item 4 to follow the structure and language of forms CR-160 and CR-161;

e Adding new item 4b for the court to indicate if a firearm exemption was granted, and if
s0, to see detailed orders on attached Permission to Have Firearm or Ammunition for
Work (form CR-850);

e Adding new item 5, “Relinquishment of prohibited items,” for the court to list prohibited
firearms and ammunition, note when the defendant provided proof of compliance, and set
a review hearing on compliance; and

e Adding new item 6, “Noncompliance with surrendering prohibited items,” stating that the
court will notify the prosecuting attorney and law enforcement that the defendant has not
complied with relinquishment orders.

Approving forms CR-800, CR-800-INFO, CR-830, CR-840, and CR-850
The committee proposes several new forms to implement the changes in law:

e Approve Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Ammunition (form CR-800) and a
corresponding information sheet (form CR-800-INFO). Under SB 899, courts must provide
information to a defendant subject to a criminal protective order on how to relinquish
firearms and ammunition, according to local procedures, and the process for submitting a
receipt to the court showing proof of relinquishment.*’ Forms CR-800 and CR-800-INFO are
modeled after existing forms for use with civil restraining orders.

e Approve Noncompliance With Firearms and Ammunition Order (form CR-830). This form
would be used by a court to report noncompliance with relinquishment orders to both the
prosecuting agency and law enforcement.®! In domestic violence cases, the agencies must
“take all actions necessary to obtain those and any other firearms or ammunition owned,
possessed, or controlled by the defendant and to address any violation of the order with
respect to firearms or ammunition as appropriate and as soon as practicable.”*? This directive
is not included for cases that do not involve domestic violence. To reflect these differences,
the form has separate items for domestic violence cases and cases not involving domestic
violence.

e Approve Prohibited Items Finding and Orders (form CR-840). This form is intended for use
by the court when it learns that the restrained person has a firearm after a protective order has
issued, pursuant to the procedures under Penal Code section 18120.5 and Code of Civil

30 Code Civ. Proc., § 527.9(b).
31 Code Civ. Proc., § 527.9(b); Pen. Code, § 273.75(d).
2 §273.75(d).



Procedure section 527.9. The form allows the court to list prohibited firearms and
ammunition, note when the defendant provided proof of compliance, set a review hearing on
compliance, and state that the court will notify the prosecuting attorney and law enforcement
if the defendant has not complied with relinquishment orders.

e Adopt Permission to Have Firearm or Ammunition for Work (form CR-850). This form
allows the court to make appropriate findings and orders when granting a request for a
firearm exemption under Code of Civil Procedure section 527.9(f) or Penal Code section
29825.5(g).

Alternatives Considered

The committee did not consider the alternative of taking no action because form revisions are
needed to comply with AB 2308, AB 2907, and SB 899. To the extent the proposed revisions
were not required by the terms of the new laws, the committee considered taking no action but
ultimately determined the revisions were warranted in light of the benefits the revisions would
provide to the courts and court users.

Conflict between relinquishment procedures in SB 899 and AB 2907

Though AB 2907 and SB 899 both address relinquishment of prohibited items due to a criminal
protective order, there are some discrepancies on requirements and procedures depending on
whether the order was issued pretrial, postconviction, or in a domestic violence case. Because the
discrepancies appear to be due to oversight, the committee discussed whether to attempt to
reconcile or standardize the requirements and procedures, but decided to directly reflect the
applicable statutory language.

For example, while ammunition must now be relinquished with most criminal protective
orders,>* no statute requires ammunition relinquishment for postconviction criminal protective
orders issued under Penal Code section 273.5(j), 368(/), or 646.9(k) in a case not involving
domestic violence (see form CR-161, item 8c), because section 29825.5, the only statute
addressing these types of cases, does not include clear language on ammunition relinquishment.

Additionally, section 273.75(d), regarding criminal protective orders issued in domestic violence
cases, does not specify how prohibited items should be relinquished but requires the court to
provide information to the defendant on how to comply with the prohibition. Given that
relinquishment in the criminal context generally involves surrendering to law enforcement or
selling to a licensed gun dealer, the committee proposes directing relinquishment to law
enforcement or a licensed gun dealer for orders issued under Penal Code section 1203.097.3*

33 See Code Civ. Proc., § 527.9(b); Pen. Code, § 273.75(d).

3% All other criminal protective orders are subject to statutes requiring relinquishment to law enforcement or a
licensed gun dealer (see Code Civ. Proc., § 527.9(b); Pen. Code, § 29825.5(b).)
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Conflict between conviction-based relinquishment procedures under Penal Code section
29810 and postconviction criminal protective order relinquishment procedures
Postconviction criminal protective orders are generally issued in cases in which a conviction of
the underlying offense also prohibits the defendant from possessing a firearm. In these matters,
the postconviction criminal protective order relinquishment procedures conflict with some of the
conviction-based relinquishment procedures under Penal Code section 29810, and there are no
cross-references in the statutory language.

It is not certain which provisions supersede, and the committee noted the difficulty for litigants
and judges to understand how to navigate the conflicting procedures. The committee discussed
whether to try to reconcile the procedures in the forms but decided that it would require
legislative clarity or resolution by the courts.

Service by protected person

Penal Code section 18120.5(¢c)(1), which applies to gun violence restraining orders and criminal
protective orders issued under section 136.2, states that if the restrained person is not present
when the court sets a review hearing regarding their compliance with relinquishment orders, the
protected person must provide notice of the review hearing to the restrained person at least two
court days before the review hearing, by personal service or by mail to the restrained person’s
last known address.

Despite the statutory language, the committee is not including an item addressing service of the
defendant by the protected person on form CR-840, as this is not a common practice in a
criminal case and the likelihood that the protected person would be present at the time a review
hearing is set is minimal. The committee discussed the option of including an item about service
of the defendant by the protected person and modifying it to state that the protected person may
seek assistance from the prosecuting agency, but ultimately preferred excluding the language
entirely.

Mandatory or optional forms

Forms CR-830 and CR-840 are modeled after forms DV-830 and DV-840, which are used for
proceedings related to domestic violence restraining orders. Forms CR-830 and DV-830 allow a
court to report a restrained person’s noncompliance with a relinquishment order to the
prosecuting agency and law enforcement, and forms CR-840 and DV-840 are for courts to use
when compliance issues arise after a restraining order has issued. Forms DV-830 and DV-840
are mandatory forms. Though there is a preference for Judicial Council forms to be as consistent
as possible, the committee proposes making forms CR-830 and CR-840 optional rather than
mandatory, since criminal courts have additional avenues to address noncompliance, such as a
probation revocation, or may have local preferences to communicate with the prosecuting agency
and law enforcement.

Firearm exemption advisement
On form CR-850, the committee initially considered presenting item 2c as a stand-alone warning
text box:
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Warning: The court orders listed above in (Z) only apply to this restraining order. If
you are prohibited from having firearms or ammunition by another order or law, you
may be in violation of state or federal law.

The committee discussed how to make this advisement as clear as possible to the defendant to
avoid any confusion in the future, including whether to require the defendant to initial the
warning to confirm it was received. The committee decided it would be clearer to make the
advisement part of the order as item 2c. The committee seeks specific comments on whether the
advisement is more clearly communicated as a stand-alone warning text box.

Notice of noncompliance to law enforcement and the prosecuting agency

For the notice to the law enforcement and prosecuting agency of a defendant’s noncompliance
with surrendering prohibited items,* the committee considered deriving the time frame for such
notification from the statutory language of Code of Civil Procedure section 527.9(b)*® and Penal
Code section 273.75(d)*” rather than calling for the court’s immediate notification of law
enforcement and prosecuting agencies. The committee modeled the language to immediately
notify the agencies after the language implementing SB 320 in the domestic violence restraining
orders, communicating to the restrained person that this exchange would occur swiftly.

Review hearings

Under new Penal Code section 18120.5, when relevant information is provided to the court at
any noticed hearing that a person subject to a criminal protective order issued under section
136.2 has a firearm, the court must determine if the person has a firearm in violation of the order,
with the option of setting a review hearing.*® Section 18120.5 does not discuss ammunition,
though under SB 899, it is now a prohibited item that must be relinquished, alongside firearms,
under Code of Civil Procedure section 527.9(b).

35 See item 10 of forms CR-160 and CR-161, and item 5 on form CR-840.

36 “Violations of the firearms prohibition of any restraining order under this section shall be reported to the
prosecuting attorney in the jurisdiction where the order has been issued within two business days of the court
hearing unless the restrained party provides a receipt showing compliance at a subsequent hearing or by direct filing
with the clerk of the court. If the person does not file a receipt with the court within 48 hours after receiving the
order for a firearm in their possession, the court shall order the clerk of the court to immediately notify, by the most
effective means available, appropriate law enforcement officials of the issuance and contents of a protective order,
information about the firearm or ammunition, and of any other information the court deems appropriate.” (Code Civ.
Proc., § 527.9(b).)

37 “If evidence of compliance with firearms prohibitions is not provided within 48 hours of the defendant being
served with the protective order or after a review hearing under rule 4.700 of the California Rules of Court if
required or as may be required otherwise, the court shall order the clerk of the court to notify within two business
days, by the most effective means available, the prosecuting agency and appropriate law enforcement officials of the
issuance and contents of the protective order, information about the firearm or ammunition, and of any other
information obtained through the search that the court determines is appropriate.” (Pen. Code, § 273.75(d).)

3 § 18120.5(a), (c)(1).
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To maintain consistency between the prohibited items that are required to be relinquished and the
court findings and review hearings, the committee proposes adding ammunition as an item
subject to the court findings and review hearings.*® While new Penal Code section 18120.5 only
expressly requires the court to determine if a person has a firearm in violation of an order, there
is nothing precluding the court from making findings regarding ammunition as well.

Service by peace officer

SB 899 introduced new Code of Civil Procedure section 527.12, requiring a peace officer, “upon
the request of a petitioner,” to serve specified protective orders on the respondent, including
criminal protective orders issued under section 136.2. The committee considered but declined to
include language on the existing or proposed forms regarding this provision, noting that a
defendant will generally be personally served at the time the order is issued.

Use of form CLETS-001

The committee initially proposed including criminal protective orders in form CLETS-001,
alongside civil restraining orders. However, the committee ultimately proposes a separate form
due to the differences present in criminal cases. Form CLETS-002 is intended to be completed
by a prosecuting agency rather than a petitioner and is designed for streamlined use by focusing
on the protected person’s information.

Fiscal and Operational Impacts

The proposal will require training of court staff and judicial officers on the revised and new
forms and amended rules. Additional expected costs include case management system updates
and the production of new forms.

While the committee anticipates that requiring the use of form CLETS-002 for criminal
protective orders will result in a modest but manageable workload increase, the committee seeks
specific comments on whether this may create workload pressures for the courts, prosecuting
agencies, or law enforcement.

39 See item 9b on forms CR-160 and CR-161, and item 4 on form CR-840.
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Request for Specific Comments

In addition to comments on the proposal as a whole, the advisory committee is interested in
comments on the following:

e Does the proposal appropriately address the stated purpose?

e Should all or parts of California Rules of Court, rule 4.700 be retained rather than
repealed? If so, why?

e Item 2c on form CR-850 is an advisement to the defendant that a granted firearm
exemption only applies to the specific restraining order, and that if the defendant is
prohibited from having firearms or ammunition by another order or law, the defendant
may be in violation of state or federal law. Is such information more clearly
communicated as a stand-alone warning box?

e  Would proposed form CLETS-002 increase the workload for courts, prosecuting
agencies, and law enforcement?

e Would it be helpful to include language preferences and prohibited item information
on form CLETS-002, similar to form CLETS-001?

The advisory committee also seeks comments from courts on the following cost and
implementation matters:

e Would the proposal provide cost savings? If so, please quantify.

e What would the implementation requirements be for courts—for example, training
staff (please identify position and expected hours of training), revising processes and
procedures (please describe), changing docket codes in case management systems, or
modifying case management systems?

e  Would two months from Judicial Council approval of this proposal until its effective
date provide sufficient time for implementation?

e How well would this proposal work in courts of different sizes?

Attachments and Links

1. Cal. Rules of Court, rules 1.51 and 4.700, at pages 15—18

2. Form CLETS-002, CR-160, CR-161, CR-162, CR-800, CR-800-INFO, CR-830, CR-840,
and CR-850, at pages 1941

3. Link A: Assem. Bill 2308,
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill id=2023202404B2308

4. Link B: Assem. Bill 2907,
https.//leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill id=2023202404B2907

5. Link C: Sen. Bill 899,
https.//leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill id=202320240SB899
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Rule 1.51 of the California Rules of Court would be amended and rule 4.700 would be
repealed, effective January 1, 2026, to read:

Rule 1.51. California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS)
information form

(@

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

Confidential CLETS Information form to be submitted to the court

(1) A person requesting protective orders under Code of Civil Procedure section
527.6, 527.8, or 527.85; Family Code section 6320, 6404, or 6454; Penal
Code sections 18100—-18205; or Welfare and Institutions Code section 213.5
or 15657.03 must submit to the court with the request a completed
Confidential CLETS Information form.

(2) A prosecuting agency requesting protective orders under Penal Code section
136.2, 273.5()), 368(/), 646.9(k), or 1203.097(a)(2) must submit to the court
with the request a completed Confidential Information for Law
Enforcement—Criminal (form CLETS-002).

Confidentiality of the form

The Confidential CLETS Information forms is are confidential, and access to the
information on the forms is limited to the persons listed in (c).

Access to information on the form

The Confidential CLETS Information forms must not be included in the court file.
After the form is submitted to the court, only the following persons may have
access to the information on the form:

(1)  Authorized court personnel; and

(2) Law enforcement and other personnel authorized by the California
Department of Justice to transmit or receive CLETS information.

Amendment of the form

A person or party requesting protective orders or the person’s attorney may submit
an amended Confidential CLETS Information form as a matter of right to provide
updated or more complete and accurate information.

Retention and destruction of the form

(1)  When a Confidential CLETS Information form is submitted to the court, the
court, if a temporary restraining order or order after hearing is entered, may:

15



Rule 1.51 of the California Rules of Court would be amended and rule 4.700 would be
repealed, effective January 1, 2026, to read:

(A) Transmit the form to a law enforcement agency for entry into CLETS
and not retain any copy; or

(B) Enter the information on the form into CLETS itself and promptly
destroy the form or delete it from its records.

0 3N L AW IN —

(2) If no temporary restraining order or order after hearing is entered, the court
9 may promptly destroy the form or delete it from its records.

11 (3)  Until the court has completed (1) or (2), the form must be retained in a secure
12 manner that prevents access to the information on the form except to those
13 persons identified in (c).

16  Rule 4.700. Firearm relinquishment procedures for criminal protective orders

17 [Repealed]

38 (&) Settingreview-hearing

16
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Rule 1.51 of the California Rules of Court would be amended and rule 4.700 would be
repealed, effective January 1, 2026, to read:
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Rule 1.51 of the California Rules of Court would be amended and rule 4.700 would be
repealed, effective January 1, 2026, to read:
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Draft-Not approved by Judicial Council.03.12.25

(o B =0 EsE¥ [\ VA Confidential Information for Law Enforcement—Criminal

-

N

Instructions: The information on this form must be

\ To Court Clerk: Do not file this form.

The prosecuting agency seeking the criminal order must complete item @ entered into the protective order
and (2) of this form and give it to the court clerk along with form CR-160 | | registry in CLETS.
or CR-161. Ttem (3) is optional.

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

V.
If the judge grants the protective order, information on this form will be DEFENDANT:

entered into the California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System
(CLETS) and may be entered into a federal law enforcement database.

Court fills in case number when form is received.
If information changes later, this form may be completed again and turned | [ case Number:
in to the court. /

Date received by court:

Information that has a star (*) next to it is required. All other information is helpful.

®

*Protected Person's Information

*Name:

*Gender: [ M [JF [] Nonbinary  *Race:
*Age: Date of Birth (month, day, year):

(Date of birth is required for the protected person’s information to appear in a federal law
enforcement database. )

Telephone:

Other Protected People

(Date of birth is required for the information of any protected people listed below to appear in a federal law
enforcement database. )

*Name: *Gender:  Race: Date of Birth:
*Name: *Gender:  Race: Date of Birth:
*Name: *Gender:  Race: Date of Birth:
*Name: *Gender: Race: Date of Birth:

[] Check here if you have more people to list. Write them on a separate piece of paper, write “Item 4” at the top,
and attach it to this form.

This is not a Court Order—Do not place in court file.

R e, Momanton P22 Confidential Information for Law CLETS-002, Page 1 of 2
Cal. Rules of Court, rule 1.51 Enforcement—criminal 9
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Case Number:

@ Defendant

*Name:

[] See form CR-160 or CR-161 for all additional information.

Other names used:

*Gender: [JM [JF [ Nonbinary  *Race:

*Age: (estimate, if age unknown)  Date of Birth:

Marks, scars, or tattoos:

Driver’s license (number and state): SSN:
Vehicle type: Model: Year: Plate number:
Telephone:

Name of employer and address:

This is not a Court Order—Do not place in court file.

New January 1, 2026

Confidential Information for Law CLETS-002, Page 2 of 2
Enforcement—Criminal

20



CR-160

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA
V.

DEFENDANT:

CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

(CLETS—CPO)

[ ] ORDER PENDING TRIAL (Pen. Code, § 136.2)
[ |PROBATION CONDITION ORDER (Pen. Code, § 1203.097(a)(2))

[_] MODIFICATION

FOR COURT USE ONLY

04/08/2025
DRAFT
Not approved by
the Judicial Council

ORDER UPON [ | PENAL CODE, § 136.2(i)
CONVICTION: [ ] PENAL CODE, § 368(/)

[ ] PENAL CODE, § 273.5(j)
[ ] PENAL CODE, § 646.9(k)

CASE NUMBER:

This order may take precedence over other conflicting orders; see item 4 on page 5.

1. Restrained person/defendant

*Name:

*Date of birth: Height:
2. Protected person (use form CLETS-002)

*Name:
3. Additional protected persons (use form CLETS-002)

*Name

| Nonbinary  *Race:

Eye color:

*Gender: |
Weight:

IM [ JF |
Hair color:

Relationship to person in item 2

a. [__] The court finds that the additional protected persons were also victims of the crime (finding required for postconviction
orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2(i)(1)).
b. [_] The court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the above named percipient witnesses have been harassed by the
defendant (finding required for postconviction orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2(i)(1)).
(For items 1, 2, and 3: Information that has a star (*) next to it is required to add this order into the California Restraining and Protective
Order System. Please provide all known information.)

4. Expiration date
a. For pretrial orders, this order remains in effect until further court order. To terminate, courts must use Notice of Termination of

Protective Order in Criminal Proceeding (form CR-165).
b. For postconviction orders, this order expires on(date): . (Orders under Penal Code sections
136.2(i), 368(/), and 646.9(k) may be valid for up to 10 years, and orders under section 273.5(j) may be valid for up to 15 years.)

5. Hearing
This proceeding was heard on (date):

by (judicial officer):

at (time): in Dept.:

6. Personal service
[ ] Defendant was personally served with a copy of this order at the court hearing, and no additional proof of service of this order

is required.
7. The court finds good cause to grant a protective order. See items 8-21.

To the defendant

¢ If you do not obey these orders, you can be charged with a crime, go to jail or prison, and/or pay a fine.
« ltis a felony to take or hide a child in violation of this order.

« Traveling across state or tribal boundaries with the intent to violate the order may be punishable as a federal offense.
(18 U.S.C. § 2261(a)(1).)

Page 1 of 5

Penal Code, §§ 136.2, 136.2(i)(1), 166,
273.5(j), 273.75, 368(/), 646.9(k),
1203.097(a)(2), 18120.5, 29825.5;
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.9
courts.ca.gov

CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—DOMESTIC VIOLENCE
(CLETS—CPO)

21

Form Adopted for Mandatory Use
Judicial Council of California
CR-160 [Rev. January 1, 2026]
Approved by Department of Justice
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CR-160

CASE NUMBER:
DEFENDANT:

8. No firearms (guns), firearm parts, or ammunition

a. The defendant must not own, possess, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or in any other way get any firearms (guns),
firearm parts (meaning receivers, frames, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame; see Penal
Code section 16531), or ammunition. Possession of firearms, firearm parts, or ammunition while this order is in effect may
subject the defendant to state or federal prosecution and may include jail or prison time and/or a fine.

b. Within 24 hours of receiving this order, the defendant must turn in to local law enforcement, or sell to or store with a licensed

gun dealer, any firearms, firearm parts, and ammunition owned by the defendant or within the defendant's immediate
possession or control.

c. Within 48 hours of receiving this order the defendant must file a receipt with the court showing that all firearms, firearm parts,
and ammunition have been turned in, sold or stored.

d. The defendant may use Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Ammunition (form CR-800).

(0]

. [__] The court has granted a limited exception to allow firearms or ammunition for work only. See detailed orders on attached
form CR-850.

9. [ ] Possession of prohibited items

a. [ | The court finds that the defendant has the following prohibited items:
(1) Firearms and/or firearm parts
Description (include serial

- Proof of compliance
LT B LR Location, if known received by the court

(a) [ (date):

(b) [ ] (date):

(2) Ammunition

Proof of compliance
Description Amount, if known Location, if known received by the court

[ ] (date):

[_] Check here to list additional items. List them on a separate piece of paper, write “Restrained Person Has Prohibited
Items” at the top, and attach it to this form.

b. [ IThe court sets a review hearing for (date): (time): (dept.): to determine whether the
defendant has properly turned in, sold, or stored all prohibited items, including any items listed in item 9a. If the defendant

does not attend the review hearing, the court may find that the defendant has violated the protective order and notify law
enforcement and a prosecuting attorney of the violation.

10.[ ] Noncompliance with surrendering prohibited items

a. The court finds that the defendant has not fully complied with the orders previously granted on (date): . The
court has not received a receipt or proof of compliance for all the items listed in item 9a.

b. [ ] The court will immediately notify the following law enforcement agency of this violation (law enforcement agency or
agencies):

c. [ ] The court will immediately notify the following prosecuting agency of this violation (prosecuting agency):

11. No body armor

The defendant must not own, possess, or buy any body armor (defined in Penal Code section 16288). Defendant must relinquish
any body armor in their possession.

12.[ ] No dissuading victim or witness (for pretrial orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2(a)(1))

The defendant must not attempt to or actually prevent or dissuade any victim or witness from attending a hearing, testifying,
or making a report to any law enforcement agency or person.

CR-160 [Rev. January 1, 2026]

CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Page 2 of §
(CLETS—CPO)
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CR-160

DEFENDANT:

CASE NUMBER:

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

No obtaining addresses (for orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2)

a. The defendant must take no action to obtain the addresses or locations of protected persons or their family members,
caretakers, or guardians unless good cause exists otherwise.
b. [ ] The court finds good cause not to make this order.

[ ] Order to not abuse

Defendant must not harass, strike, threaten, assault (sexually or otherwise), hit, follow, stalk, molest, destroy or damage personal
or real property, disturb the peace of, keep under surveillance, annoy by phone or other electronic means (including repeatedly
contact), impersonate (on the internet, electronically, or otherwise), or block movements of the protected persons named in items 2
and 3.
« “Disturb the peace of’ means to destroy someone's mental or emotional calm. This can be done directly or indirectly, such
as through someone else. This can also be done in any way, such as by phone, over text, or online. Disturbing the peace
includes coercive control.

« “Coercive control” means a number of acts that unreasonably limit the free will and individual rights of any person protected
by this restraining order. Examples include isolating them from friends, relatives, or other support; keeping them from food
or basic needs; controlling or keeping track of them, including their movements, contacts, activities, money, or access to
services; and making them do something by force, threat, or intimidation, including threats based on actual or suspected
immigration status; and reproductive coercion, meaning controlling someone's reproductive choices, such as using force,
threat, or intimidation to pressure someone to be or not be pregnant, and to control or interfere with someone's
contraception, birth control, pregnancy, or access to related health information.

[ ] No-contact order

Defendant must not contact the protected persons named in items 2 and 3, directly or indirectly, by any means, including by
telephone, mail, email or other electronic means, or through a third party. Contact through an attorney under reasonable restrictions
set by the court does not violate this order.

[ ] Stay-away order
Defendant must stay at least yards away from (check all that apply):
a. [ ] The protected person

b. [ ] The protected person's [ | home [ | joborworkplace [ ] vehicle
c. [_] other protected persons initem3 d. [_| Other location:

[ | Exceptions
Defendant may have peaceful contact with the protected persons named in items 2 and 3, as an exception to the no-contact and

stay-away orders in items 15 and 16 of this order, only for the safe exchange of children and court-ordered visitation as stated in

a. [__] the family, juvenile, or probate court order in (case number):
issued on (date):
b. [__] any family, juvenile, or probate court order issued after the date this order is signed.

The restrained and protected persons should always carry a certified copy of the most recent order issued by the family, juvenile, or
probate court.

[ | Protected animals
a. The protected persons named in items 2 and 3 are given the exclusive care, possession, and control of the animals listed below:

Name: Type of animal: Breed (optional): Color (optional):

b. [_] Defendant must not take, transfer, sell, encumber, conceal, molest, attack, strike, threaten, harm, or otherwise dispose of
the animals listed above.

c. [__] Defendant must not come within yards of the animals listed above.

CR-160 [Rev. January 1, 2026] CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Page 3 of 5

(CLETS—CPO)
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CR-160

CASE NUMBER:
DEFENDANT:

19.[ ] Electronic monitoring
Defendant must be placed on electronic monitoring for (specify length of time):
(Not to exceed one year from the date of this order. Pen. Code, § 136.2(a)(1)(G)(iv), (i)(3).)

20.[ ] Recordings
The protected person in item 2 may record communications made by the person in item 1 who violated this order.

21.[ ] Other orders

Executed on (date):

JUDICIAL OFFICER

Certificate of Compliance With Violence Against Women Act (VAWA)

This protective order meets all full faith and credit requirements of the Violence Against Women Act, 18 U.S.C. § 2265
(1994). This court has jurisdiction over the parties and the subject matter, and the restrained person has been afforded
notice and a timely opportunity to be heard as provided by the laws of this jurisdiction. This order is valid and entitled to
enforcement in each jurisdiction throughout the 50 states of the United States, the District of Columbia, all tribal
lands, and all U.S. territories, and shall be enforced as if it were an order of that jurisdiction.

CR-160 [Rev. January 1, 2026]

CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Page 4 of 5
(CLETS—CPO)
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear 24
This Form button after you have printed the form. | Print this form | | Save this form Clear this form
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CR-160

CASE NUMBER:
DEFENDANT:

Instructions for Law Enforcement

1. Start Date and End Date of Order
This order starts on the date it was issued by a judicial officer.
This order ends as ordered in item 4 on page 1 of this order.

« Orders under Penal Code section 136.2(a) are valid as long as the court has jurisdiction over the case. They are not valid after
imposition of a county jail or state prison commitment. (People v. Stone (2004) 123 Cal.App.4th 153.)

o Orders issued under Penal Code sections 136.2(i)(1), 368(/), and 646.9(k) are valid for up to 10 years, and orders under section
273.5(j) are valid for up to 15 years, and may be issued by the court regardless of whether the defendant is sentenced to state
prison, county jail, or subject to mandatory supervision or if imposition of sentence is suspended and the defendant is placed on
probation.

« Orders under Penal Code section 1203.097(a)(2) are probationary orders, and the court has jurisdiction as long as the
defendant is on probation.

« To terminate this protective order, courts should use Notice of Termination of Protective Order in Criminal Proceeding (form
CR-165).

2. If the Protected Person Contacts the Restrained Person

Even if the protected person invites or consents to contact with the restrained person, the orders remain in effect and must be
enforced. The protected person cannot be arrested for inviting or consenting to contact with the restrained person. The orders can
be changed only by another court order. (Pen. Code, § 13710(b).)

3. Enforcing This Order in California

« This order must be enforced in California by any law enforcement agency that has received the order, or is shown a copy of the
order, or has verified its existence on the California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS).

« The peace officer or law enforcement officer must first determine if the restrained person had notice of the order. If notice
cannot be verified, the restrained person must be advised of the terms of the order. If the restrained person fails to obey the
order, the officer must enforce it. (Code Civ. Proc., § 527.12; Fam. Code, § 6383.)

4. Conflicting Orders—Priority of Enforcement
If more than one restraining order has been issued protecting the protected person from the restrained person, the orders must be
enforced in the following priority (see Code of Civil Procedure, section 517.12(d)(2), Penal Code section 136.2 and Family Code
sections 6383(h)(2), 6405(b)):

* Emergency Protective Order (EPO): If one of the orders is an Emergency Protective Order (form EPO-001), provisions (e.g.,
stay-away order) that are more restrictive than in the other restraining/protective orders must be enforced. Provisions of another
order that do not conflict with the EPO must also be enforced.

« No-Contact Order: If a restraining/protective order includes a no-contact order, the no-contact order must also be enforced.
Item 15 is an example of a no-contact order.

« Criminal Protective Order (CPO): If none of the orders includes an EPO or a no-contact order, the most recent CPO must be
enforced. (Code of Civil Procedure section 517.12(d)(2), Family Code sections 6383(h)(2), 6405(b).) Additionally, a CPO issued
in a criminal case involving charges of domestic violence, Penal Code sections 261, 261.5, or former 262, or charges requiring
sex offender registration must be enforced over any civil court order. (Penal Code section 136.2(e)(2).) All provisions in the civil
court order that do not conflict with the CPO must also be enforced.

« Civil Restraining Orders: If there is more than one civil restraining order (e.g., domestic violence, juvenile, elder abuse, civil
harassment), then the order that was issued last must be enforced. Provisions that do not conflict with the most recent civil
restraining order must also be enforced.

CR-150 [Rev. IS CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Page 5 of 5
(CLETS—CPO)
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear 25

This Form button after you have printed the form. \ Print this form | \ Save this form Clear this form
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CR-161
SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF FOR COURT USE ONLY
STREET ADDRESS:
MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY AND ZIP CODE:
BRANCH NAME:

PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA 04/08/2025
v DRAFT
DEFENDANT: Not approved by
the Judicial C il
CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—OTHER THAN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ¢ Judieal Fotna
(CLETS—CPO) (Pen. Code, §§ 136.2, 136.2(i), 368(/), and 646.9(k))
ORDER
Pen. Code, § 136.2 MODIFICATION
PENDING TRIAL: ] § ]
ORDER UPON l:l Pen. Code, § 1362(I) |:| Pen. Code, § 6469('() CASE NUMBER:
CONVICTION: [ Pen. Code, § 368(/)
1. Restrained person/defendant
*Name: *Gender: [ | M | | F [ ] Nonbinary *Race:
*Date of birth: Height: Weight: Hair color: Eye color:
2. Protected person (use form CLETS-002)
*Name:
3. Additional protected persons (use form CLETS-002)
*Name Relationship to person in item 2

a. [__] The court finds that the additional protected persons were also victims of the crime (finding required for postconviction
orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2(i)(1)).

b. [_] The court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the above named percipient witnesses have been harassed by the
defendant (finding required for postconviction orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2(i)(1)).

(For items 1, 2, and 3: Information that has a star (*) next to it is required to add this order into the California Restraining and Protective
Order System. Please provide all known information.)

4. Expiration date
a. For pretrial orders, this order remains in effect until further court order. To terminate, courts must use Notice of Termination of
Protective Order in Criminal Proceeding (form CR-165).

b. For postconviction orders, this order expires on (date): . (Postconviction orders under
Penal Code sections 136.2(i) and 646.9(k) may be valid for up to 10 years.)

5. Hearing
This proceeding was heard on (date): at (time): in Dept.:
by (judicial officer):

6. Personal service

[ ] Defendant was personally served with a copy of this order at the court hearing, and no additional proof of service of this order
is required.

7. The court finds good cause to grant a protective order. See items 8—19.

To the defendant
« If you do not obey these orders, you can be charged with a crime, go to jail or prison, and/or pay a fine.

Page 1 of 4
Form Adopted for Mandatory Use _ Penal Code, §§ 136.2, 136.2(i)(1), 166,
e oy i o CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—OTHER THAN 273.5(). 273.75. 368(1), 646.9(K).
CR-161 [Rev. January 1, 2026] DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 1203.097(a)(2), 18120.5, and 29825.5;
Approved by Department of Justice (CLETS—CPO) Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.9

26 courts.ca.gov
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CR-161

CASE NUMBER:
DEFENDANT:

8. No firearms (guns), firearm parts, or ammunition

a. The defendant must not own, possess, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or in any other way get any firearms (guns),
firearm parts (meaning receivers, frames, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame; see Penal
Code section 16531), or ammunition. Possession of firearms, firearm parts, or ammunition while this order is in effect may
subject the defendant to state or federal prosecution and may include jail or prison time and/or a fine.

b. [__] For orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2: Within 24 hours of receiving this order the defendant must turn in to
local law enforcement, or sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, any firearms, firearm parts, and ammunition owned
by the defendant or within the defendant's immediate possession or control. Within 48 hours of receiving this order the
defendant must file a receipt with the court showing that all firearms, firearm parts, and ammunition have been turned in,
sold, or stored.

c. [__] Fororders issued under Penal Code sections 368(/) or 646.9(k): Within 24 hours of receiving this order the defendant
must turn in to local law enforcement, or sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, any firearms and firearm parts owned
by the defendant or within the defendant's immediate possession or control. By (date): the defendant
must file a receipt with the court showing that all firearms and firearm parts have been turned in, sold, or stored.

d. The defendant may use Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Ammunition (form CR-800).

)

. [__] The court has granted a limited exception to allow firearms or ammunition for work only. See detailed orders on attached
form CR-850.

9. [ ] Possession of prohibited items
a. [ | The court finds that the defendant has the following prohibited items:
(1) Firearms and/or firearm parts

Description (include serial

- Proof of compliance
number, if known)

Location, if known received by the court
(a) [ ] (date):
(b) [ (date):

(2) Ammunition
Proof of compliance
Description Amount, if known Location, if known received by the court

[ ] (date):

[_] Check here to list additional items. List them on a separate piece of paper, write “Restrained Person Has Prohibited
Items” at the top, and attach it to this form.

b. [__JThe court sets a review hearing for (date): (time): (dept.): to determine whether the
defendant has properly turned in, sold, or stored all prohibited items, including any items listed in item 9a. If the defendant
does not attend the review hearing, the court may find that the defendant has violated the protective order and notify law
enforcement and a prosecuting attorney of the violation.

10.[_] Noncompliance with surrendering prohibited items (for orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2)

a. The court finds that the defendant has not fully complied with the orders previously granted on (date): . The
court has not received a receipt or proof of compliance for all the items listed in item 9a.

b. [ ] The court will immediately notify the following law enforcement agency of this violation (law enforcement agency or
agencies):

€. [__] The court will immediately notify the following prosecuting agency of this violation (prosecuting agency):

11. No body armor

The defendant must not own, possess, or buy any body armor (defined in Penal Code section 16288). Defendant must relinquish
any body armor in their possession.

12.[ ] No dissuading victim or witness (for pretrial orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2(a)(1))
The defendant must not attempt to or actually prevent or dissuade any victim or witness from attending a hearing, testifying,
or making a report to any law enforcement agency or person.

CR-161 [Rev. January 1,202 CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—OTHER THAN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Page 2 of 4
(CLETS—CPO)
27



HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight

HQutob
Highlight


CR-161

DEFENDANT:

CASE NUMBER:

13.No obtaining addresses (for orders issued under Penal Code section 136.2)

14.

15.

16.

17.

18.

19.

Executed on (date):

a. The defendant must take no action to obtain the addresses or locations of protected persons or their family members,
caretakers, or guardians unless good cause exists otherwise.

b. [ ] The court finds good cause not to make this order.

[ ] Order to not abuse

Defendant must not harass, strike, threaten, assault (sexually or otherwise), hit, follow, stalk, molest, destroy or damage personal or
real property, disturb the peace of, keep under surveillance, annoy by phone or other electronic means (including repeatedly
contact), impersonate (on the internet, electronically, or otherwise), or block movements of the protected persons named in items 2
and 3.

[ ] No-contact order

Defendant must not contact the protected persons named in items 2 and 3, directly or indirectly, by any means, including by
telephone, mail, email or other electronic means, or through a third party. Contact through an attorney under reasonable restrictions
set by the court does not violate this order.

[ ] Stay-away order
Defendant must stay at least yards away from (check all that apply):
a. [__] The protected person

b. [__] The protected person's [ | home [ | joborworkplace [ ] vehicle
c. [__] Other protected persons initem3 d. [ | Other location:

[ ] Exceptions
Defendant may have peaceful contact with the protected persons named in items 2 and 3, as an exception to the no-contact and

stay-away orders in items 15 and 16 of this order, only for the safe exchange of children and court-ordered visitation as stated in
a. [__] the family, juvenile, or probate court order in (case number):

issued on (date):
b. [__] any family, juvenile, or probate court order issued after the date this order is signed.

The restrained and protected persons should always carry a certified copy of the most recent order issued by the family, juvenile, or
probate court.

[ ] Electronic monitoring
Defendant must be placed on electronic monitoring for (specify length of time):
(Not to exceed one year from the date of this order. Pen. Code, § 136.2(a)(1)(G)(iv), (i)(3).)

[ ] Other orders

JUDICIAL OFFICER

CR-161 [Rev. January 1,2026] - GRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—OTHER THAN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Page 3 of4

(CLETS—CPO)
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CR-161

CASE NUMBER:
DEFENDANT:

Instructions for Law Enforcement
1. Start Date and End Date of Order
This order starts on the date it was issued by a judicial officer.
This order ends as ordered in item 4 on page 1 of this order.

« Orders under Penal Code section 136.2(a) are valid as long as the court has jurisdiction over the case. They are not valid after
imposition of a county jail or state prison commitment. (People v. Stone (2004) 123 Cal.App.4th 153.)

o Orders issued under Penal Code sections 136.2(i)(1) and 646.9(k) are valid for up to 10 years and may be issued by the court
regardless of whether the defendant is sentenced to state prison, county jail, or subject to mandatory supervision or if imposition
of sentence is suspended and the defendant is placed on probation.

« To terminate this protective order, courts should use Notice of Termination of Protective Order in Criminal Proceeding (form
CR-165).

2. Enforcing This Order in California

« This order must be enforced in California by any law enforcement agency that has received the order, or is shown a copy of the
order, or has verified its existence on the California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS).

« The peace officer must first determine if the restrained person had notice of the order. If notice cannot be verified, the restrained
person must be advised of the terms of the order. If the restrained person fails to obey the order, the officer must enforce it.
(Code Civ. Proc., § 527.12.)

3. Conflicting Orders—Priority of Enforcement

If more than one restraining order has been issued protecting the protected person from the restrained person, the orders must be
enforced in the following priority (see Code of Civil Procedure, section 527.12(d)(2), Penal Code section 136.2, and Family Code
sections 6383(h)(2), 6405(b)):

« Emergency Protective Order (EPO): If one of the orders is an Emergency Protective Order (form EPO-001), provisions (e.g.,
stay-away order) that are more restrictive than in the other restraining/protective orders must also be enforced. Provisions of
another order that do not conflict with the EPO must be enforced.

« No-Contact Order: If a restraining/protective order includes a no-contact order, the no-contact order must also be enforced.
Item 15 is an example of a no-contact order.

« Criminal Protective Order (CPO): If none of the orders includes an EPO or a no-contact order, the most recent CPO must be
enforced (Code of Civil Procedure, section 527.12(d)(2) & Family Code sections 6383(h)(2), 6405(b).) Additionally, a CPO
issued in a criminal case involving charges of domestic violence, Penal Code sections 261, 261.5, or former 262, or charges
requiring sex offender registration must be enforced over any civil court order. (Penal Code section 136.2(e)(2).) All provisions in
the civil court order that do not conflict with the CPO must also be enforced.

« Civil Restraining Orders: If there is more than one civil restraining order (e.g., domestic violence, juvenile, elder abuse, civil
harassment), then the order that was issued last must be enforced. Provisions that do not conflict with the most recent civil
restraining order must also be enforced.

CR-161 [Rev. January 1,2026]  CRIMINAL PROTECTIVE ORDER—OTHER THAN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE Page 4 of 4
(CLETS—CPO)
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear 20
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CR-162

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF FOR COURT USE ONLY
STREET ADDRESS:
MAILING ADDRESS:
CITY AND ZIP CODE:
BRANCH NAME: 04/08/2025
DRAFT
PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA

Not approved by
V. the Judicial Council

DEFENDANT:

ORDER TO SURRENDER FIREARMS, FIREARM PARTS, AND AMMUNITION IN
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CASE
(CLETS—CPO)
(Penal Code, § 136.2(a)(1)(G)(ii))

PERSON TO SURRENDER FIREARMS/DEFENDANT (complete name):

CASE NUMBER:

Gender: [ ] M [] F [] Nonbinary Race: Date of birth:
Ht.: Wt.: Hair color: Eye color:
1. This proceeding was heard on (date): at (time): in Dept.:
Room: by judicial officer (name):
2. This order expires on (date): . If no date is listed, this order remains in effect until further court order.

To terminate, courts must use Notice of Termination of Protective Order in Criminal Proceeding (form CR-165).

3. [___]Defendant was personally served with a copy of this order at the court hearing, and no additional proof of service of this
order is required.
4. No firearms (guns), firearm parts, or ammunition
a. The defendant must not own, possess, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or in any other way get any firearms (guns),
firearm parts (meaning receivers, frames, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame; see Penal
Code section 16531), or ammunition. Possession of firearms, firearm parts, or ammunition while this order is in effect may
subject the defendant to state or federal prosecution and may include jail or prison time and/or a fine.
b. [] The court has granted a limited exception to allow firearms or ammunition for work only. See detailed orders on attached
form CR-850.

5. [ ] Relinquishment of prohibited items

a. Within 24 hours of receiving this order the defendant must turn in to local law enforcement, or sell to or store with a licensed
gun dealer, any firearms, firearm parts, and ammunition owned by the defendant or within the defendant's immediate
possession or control. Within 48 hours of receiving this order the defendant must file a receipt with the court showing that all
firearms, firearm parts, and ammunition have been turned in, sold, or stored.

b. ] The court finds that the defendant has the following prohibited items:

(1) Firearms and/or firearm parts

Description (include serial Proof of compliance

number, if known) Location, if known received by the court
(a) [] (date):
(b) [ ] (date):

(2) Ammunition
Proof of compliance

Description Amount, if known Location, if known received by the court
] (date):

[ ] Check here to list additional items. List them on a separate piece of paper, write “Restrained Person Has Prohibited
ltems” at the top, and attach it to this form.

c. [__] The court sets a review hearing for (date): (time): (dept.): to determine whether the
defendant has properly turned in, sold, or stored all prohibited, including items described in item 5b. (Code Civ. Proc., §
527.9; Pen. Code, § 18120.5.) If the defendant does not attend the review hearing, the court may find that the defendant
has violated the protective order and notify law enforcement and a prosecuting attorney of the violation.

Page 1 of 2
Form Adopted for Mandatory Use ORDER TO SURRENDER FIREARMS, FIREARM PARTS, AND AMMUNITION  Penal Code, §§ 136.2, 166, 18120.5
Judicial Council of California IN DOMEST'C V|OLENCE CASE courts.ca.gov

CR-162 [Rev. January 1, 2026]
Approved by Department of Justice (C LETS—C PO)
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CR-162

CASE NUMBER:
DEFENDANT:

6. [ ] Noncompliance with surrendering prohibited items

a. The court finds that the defendant has not fully complied with the orders previously granted on (date): . The
court has not received a receipt or proof of compliance for all the items listed in item 5b.

b. [_] The court will immediately notify the following law enforcement agency of this violation (/aw enforcement agency or
agencies):

€. [_] The court will immediately notify the following prosecuting agency of this violation (prosecuting agency):

7. No body armor
The defendant must not own, possess, or buy any body armor (defined in Penal Code section 16288). Defendant must relinquish

any body armor in their possession.

Executed on:

(DATE) (SIGNATURE OF JUDICIAL OFFICER)

NOTICES
e This order is effective as of the date it was issued by the judicial officer and expires as ordered in item 2.

« This order is to be used ONLY when the court orders firearms relinquishment but does not make any other protective or
restraining orders. Do NOT use in conjunction with other criminal protective orders (form CR-160 or CR-161).

Form Adopted for Mandatory Use ORDER TO SURRENDER FIREARMS, FIREARM PARTS, AND AMMUNITION Page 2 of 2
Form _ dato

el f§§3°j'aifu§?y"ff,'2'§261 IN DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CASE

Approved by Department of Justice (CLETS—CPO)
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N . . Clerk d h hen f is filed.
X ) Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Stamps date here when form is e

Ammunition

This form provides information for a restrained person/defendant who is
ordered to turn in firearms, firearm parts, and ammunition under a
criminal protective order (form CR-160 or CR-161) or Order to Surrender 03/18/2025

Firearms in Domestic Violence Case (form CR-162). DRAFT
Not approved by

the Judicial Council

Protected Person:

Name:
Fill in court name and street address:
@ Restrained Person / Defendant Superior Court of California, County of
a. Name:

Lawyer (if you have one for this case):
Name: State Bar No.:

Firm Name:

b. Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s information. If you  Court fills in case number when form is filed.
do not have a lawyer and want to keep your home address private, Case Number:
you may give a different mailing address instead. You do not have to
give telephone, fax, or email.)

Address: City:
State: Zip: Telephone: Fax:
Email Address:

@ To the Restrained Person:

If a judge has ordered you to turn in, sell, or store your firearms (guns), firearm parts, and ammunition—meaning
receivers, frames, or any item that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or frame (see Penal Code section
16531)—use this form to prove to the judge that you have obeyed their orders. Take this form to a law enforcement
officer or a licensed gun dealer to complete (&) or (2). For more information on how to properly turn in your items,
read form CR-800-INFO, How Do I Turn In, Sell, or Store My Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Ammunition?

@ To Law Enforcement

(Complete the section below. Keep a copy and give the original to the person in @ )

Name of Law Enforcement Agency:

Name of Law Enforcement Agent:

Address:

Telephone number: Email address:

Items Surrendered

a. Firearms, firearm parts, and ammunition transferred on:

Date: Time: 0 am. ] p.m.
Judicial Council of California, courts.ca.gov Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts’ CR-800, Page 1 of 3
New January 1, 2026, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.9 and Ammunition %

Penal Code, § 273.75

(Criminal Protective Order)
32



‘ Case Number:

@ To Law Enforcement

b. List of items. (List all the items surrendered by the person in@. You may attach a separate form from your
agency (e.g., a property report), use @ or both.) Check below if you have attached a separate form:

[] Separate form is attached. (If it does not include all surrendered items, list additional items in @ )

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is
true and correct.

P Signature of law enforcement agent

@ To Licensed Gun Dealer

(Complete the section below. Keep a copy and give the original to the person in (2).)

Name of Licensed Gun Dealer:

License number:
Address:

Telephone number: Email address:

Items Stored or Sold

a. Firearms, firearm parts, and ammunition transferred on:
Date: Time: [] am. ] p.m.

b. List of items. (List all the items surrendered by the person in @ You may attach a separate form (e.g.,
Department of Justice’s Report of Firearm Acquisition), use @ or both.) Check below if you have attached
a separate form:

[] Separate form is attached. (If it does not include all surrendered items, list additional items in @ )

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is
true and correct.

} Signature of licensed gun dealer

@ [] List of Items Surrendered

a. Firearms and firearm parts Serial Number To be
Make Model if there is one Sold Stored destroyed
(1 [] [] []
(2) [] [] []
3) [] [] []
“4) [] [] []
(5) [] [] []
(6) [] [] ]
New January 1, 2028 Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, CR-800, Page 2 of 3

and Ammunition -
(Criminal Pr%t?)ective Order)



‘ Case Number: \

b. Ammunition

To be
Brand Type Amount Sold  Stored destroyed
(1) U] U] L]
() ] ] [
A3) ] [ [
4) ] [] ]
5 L] L] l
(6) L] L] L]

L1 Check here if there is not enough space above for your answer. Use a separate sheet of paper to list other
items “CR-800, item 6 at the top, and attach it to this form.

@ To the Restrained Person:

Besides the items listed on page 2 or in an attached form, do you have or own any other firearms (guns), firearm
parts, or ammunition?

[] No
[1Yes (Ifyes, check one of the boxes below:)

a. ] I filed a Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Ammunition (form CR-800) or other proof for those
items with the court on (date):

b.[] I am filing the proof for those firearms (guns), firearm parts, or ammunition along with this proof.

c.[] T'have not yet filed the proof for the other firearms (guns), firearm parts, or ammunition. (Explain why not):

Your signature

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above is true and

correct.

Date:

Type or print your name Sign your name
Your Next Steps

e After the form is complete, make two additional copies. Take the copies and original to the court clerk to file.

e Keep a copy for yourself.

Note that failure to file a receipt with the court is a violation of the court's order.

New January 1, 2026 Receipt for Firearms, Firearm Parts, CR-800, Page 3 of 3
and Ammunition

(Criminal Protective Order)
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear

This Form button after you have printed the form. ’ 34 ‘ Save this form Clear this form




Draft-Not approved by Judicial Council.03.18.25

CR-800-INFO How Do | Turn In, Sell, or Store My Firearms, Firearm Parts, and

Ammunition?

This form provides information for a restrained person/defendant who is ordered to turn in firearms,
firearm parts, and ammunition under a criminal protective order (form CR-160 or CR-161) or Order
to Surrender Firearms in Domestic Violence Case (form CR-162).

What do | need to turn in, sell, or store?

You must turn in, sell, or store all of the following
prohibited items that you have or own:

¢ Firearms, including any handgun, rifle, shotgun, and
assault weapon;

e Firearm parts, includes receivers, frames, and any item
that may be used as or easily turned into a receiver or
frame (also called “ghost guns™); and

e Ammunition, including bullets, shells, cartridges, and
clips.

How do | properly turn in, sell, or store the
prohibited items?

You must take them to:

e [aw enforcement, who will accept all prohibited items
for safekeeping or to destroy,

or

e A licensed gun dealer, who can buy or store your
firearms. If you have firearm parts or ammunition, call
ahead for more information.

When do | turn in, sell, or store prohibited
items?

In most cases, within 24 hours of being served with the
protective order. Check the protective order or court order
for further details.

Can | give my prohibited items to family or
friends?

No, only to law enforcement or a licensed gun dealer. You
cannot give your prohibited items to a family member,
friend, or anyone else.

Do | have to pay a fee to store prohibited
items?

You may have to pay a fee. Contact law enforcement or a

licensed gun dealer about fees and whether they have space

to store your items.

How do | take prohibited items to law
enforcement?

Call your local law enforcement agency to ask about
their procedures. They will give you specific
instructions, like making sure your firearms are
unloaded and in the trunk of the car. Take a copy of the
protective order or court order with you. Do not bring
your firearms to court.

If | turn in my firearms to law enforcement,
how long will they keep them?

It depends. There are procedures for getting your
firearms back after a protective order or court order
expires. Ask the law enforcement agency.

After | give my firearms to law
enforcement, can | change my mind?

Yes. You are allowed to make one sale through a
licensed gun dealer. To do this, a licensed gun dealer
must present a bill of sale to your local law enforcement
agency. The law enforcement agency will give the
licensed gun dealer the firearms you are selling.

How do | prove to the judge that | have
complied with (obeyed) the orders?

@ Bring a copy of form CR-800, Receipt for
Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Ammunition, with
you, and ask the dealer or officer to complete and
sign the form.

@ File form CR-800 with the court. Make sure you
get two copies. All receipts must be filed with the
court within 48 hours from the time you were
served with the protective order or court order,
unless the judge gave you another deadline.

Judicial Council of California, courts.ca.gov
New January 1, 2026, Optional Form

Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.9

Penal Code, § 273.75

How Do | Turn In, Sell, or Store My
Firearms, Firearm Parts, and Ammunition?

CR-800-INFO, Page 1 of 1

(Criminal Protective Order)



- Noncompliance With Firearms and
CR-830 Ammunition Order CONFIDENTIAL

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

This notice is provided to the agency or agencies listed below.

@ Protected Person 03/19/2025
DRAFT

Not approved by
the Judicial Council

Name:

@ Restrained Person / Defendant

Name:

Fill in court name and street address:
Superior Court of California, County of

@ [] Noncompliance—Domestic Violence

a. The court has found that the person listed in @ has firearms
(guns), firearm parts, or ammunition in violation of the following
order in a case involving domestic violence (choose one):

(1) [] Criminal Protective Order—Domestic Violence (form
CR-160) Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:
(2) [] Order to Surrender Firearms, Firearm Parts, and

Ammunition in Domestic Violence Case (form CR-162)

b. [] Notice to Law Enforcement Agency (name of agency or agencies):

[] The person listed in is subject to a criminal protective order in a case involving domestic violence.
Notice is provided under Penal Code section 273.75(d). The agency must take all actions necessary to
obtain firearms and ammunition.

c. [] Notice to Prosecuting Agency (name of agency):

[] The person listed in @ is subject to a criminal protective order in a case involving domestic violence.
Notice is provided under Penal Code section 273.75(d). The agency must take all actions necessary to
obtain firearms and ammunition.

d. [] Additional information

The court has conducted a background search pursuant to Penal Code section 273.75. In addition to the
information provided above, the court is attaching the following information found in the background
search. (Briefly describe information):

@ [] Noncompliance—Other Than Domestic Violence

a. The court has found that the person listed in @has firearms (guns), firearm parts, or ammunition in
violation of the following order:

L] Criminal Protective Order—Other Than Domestic Violence (form CR-161)

b. [] Notice to Law Enforcement Agency (name of agency or agencies):

[] The person listed in @ is subject to a criminal protective order issued under Penal Code section 136.2.
Notice is provided under Code of Civil Procedure section 527.9(b).

Judicial Council of Californlia, courts.ca.gov Noncom pliance With Firearms and CR_830’ Page 10f2
New January 1, 2026, Optional Form
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.9 Ammunition Order 9

Penal Code, § 273.75 . . .
(Criminal Protective Order)
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Case Number:

@ c. [] Notice to Prosecuting Agency (name of agency):

[] The person listed in @ is subject to a criminal protective order issued under Penal Code section 136.2.
Notice is provided under Code of Civil Procedure section 527.9(b).

@ Number of pages attached to this form, if any:

Judge's Signature

Date:
Judge or Judicial Officer
—Clerk's Certificate—
I certify that I am not a party to this case and that a true copy of Noncompliance with Firearms and
[seal] Ammunition Order (form CR-830), was sent to the agency or agencies listed on page 1:

a. [ ] Law enforcement agency listed in (check one): item [] 3b or [] 4b

(1) [ by fax, email, or other electronic means [] by personal delivery

(2) (Phone number, email address, or address):

(3) Date of transmission or delivery:

b. [] Prosecuting agency listed in (check one): item [ ] 3c or [] 4c
(1) [ by fax, email, or other electronic means [] by personal delivery

(2) (Phone number, email address, or address):

(3) Date of transmission or delivery:

Date: Clerk, by , Deputy

New January 1, 2026 Noncompliance With Firearms and CR-830, Page 2 of 2

Ammunition Order
(Criminal Protective Order)

For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear 37
This Form button after you have printed the form. ‘ Print this form | ‘ Save this form |

Clear this form




CR-840 Prohibited Items Finding and Orders

@ Protected Person

Name:

@ Restrained Person/Defendant

a. Name:

b. The defendant is subject to a criminal protective order issued under
Penal Code section 136.2.

@ [ ] Restrained Person Has Prohibited Items

The court has found that you have the following prohibited items:
a. Firearms and/or firearm parts

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

03/19/2025
DRAFT
Not approved by
the Judicial Council

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

Proof of compliance
Description (include serial number, if known) Location, if known received by the court
(1) L] (date):
(2) [ (date):
3) [ (date):
4) L] (date):

b. Ammunition Amount, Proof of compliance
Description ifknown  Location, if known received by the court
(1) ] (date):

(2) [ (date):
3) [] (date):
4) [] (date):

L] Check here to list additional items. List them on a separate piece of paper, write “CR-840, item 3" at the top,

and attach it to this form.

Judicial C il of California, rts.ca.g T . .
v som o Prohibited Items Finding
Penal Code, § 18120.5 and Orders

(Criminal Protective Order)
38

CR-840, Page 1 of 2
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Case Number:

@ [1 Notice of Compliance Hearing
To the person in (2):

The restrained person must attend the court hearing listed below to prove that all prohibited items have been
properly turned in, sold, or stored. If the restrained person does not attend the hearing listed below, the court may
find that the restrained person has violated the protective order and notify law enforcement and a prosecuting
attorney of the violation.

Name and address of court, if different from the one

L5 listed above:
4 ‘ Date: Dept.:
Time: Room:

@ [] Restrained Person Has Not Complied With Surrendering Prohibited Items

a. The court finds that you have not fully complied with (obeyed) the orders previously granted on
(date): . The court has not received a receipt or proof of compliance for all the items listed in @

b. Notify Law Enforcement
The court will immediately notify the following law enforcement agency of this violation (rame of agency):

c. Notify Prosecutor
The court will immediately notify the following prosecuting agency of this violation
(prosecuting agency):

Judge's Signature

Date:
Judge or Judicial Officer
This is a Court Order.
New January 1, 2026 Prohibited Items Finding CR-840, Page 2 of 2

and Orders

(Criminal Protective Order)
For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear
This Form button after you have printed the form. | Print this form | | Save this form | Clear this form




Draft-Not approved by Judicial Council.03.19.25
CR-850 Permission to Have Firearm or Case Number:
Ammunition for Work

This form is attached to (check one): [ ] CR-160 [] CR-161 [] CR-162 [ Other:

@ Court Findings

The court finds that the restrained person/defendant (name):

a. Isrequired to carry a specific firearm or ammunition during scheduled work hours as a condition of their
continued employment.

b. Cannot be reassigned by their employer to another position where having a firearm or ammunition is not
needed.

c. Isnot otherwise prohibited from having firearms or ammunition under state of federal law.

d. Does not pose an additional threat of harm to any protected person or the public by having access to a specific
firearm or ammunition.

e. [ Is asworn peace officer and:

(1) The court ordered and reviewed a completed psychological evaluation of the restrained person by a
licensed mental health professional with domestic violence expertise; and

(2) The personal safety of the restrained person depends on their ability to carry a specific firearm or

ammunition outside of scheduled work hours.

f. [ Is not a sworn peace officer and (check (1) or (2)):

(1) [J The court did not order the restrained person to complete a psychological evaluation.

(2) U] The court ordered and reviewed a completed psychological evaluation of the restrained person by a
licensed mental health professional with domestic violence expertise.

g. [ Other
This is a Court Order.
Judicial Council of California, courtscagov  Parmission to Have Firearm or Ammunition for Work CR-850, Page 1 of 2
New January 1, 2026, Mandatory Form . . .
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.9() (Criminal Protective Order) —>

Penal Code, § 29825.5(g)

40



Case Number:

@ Court Order

a. The restrained person is (check one):

(1) [ Not a sworn peace officer and may have the items listed in 2b only during scheduled work hours.

(2) L A sworn peace officer and (check one):
(A) L] May have the items listed in 2b while on duty.
(B) L] May have the items listed in 2b while on or off duty.

b. This restraining order does not require the restrained person to relinquish the specific firearm or ammunition
listed below:

[ ] Firearm (make): (model): (serial no.):

[] Ammunition (description):

C. The court orders listed above only apply to this restraining order. If you are prohibited from having firearms or
ammunition by another order or law, you may be in violation of state or federal law.

This is a Court Order.

New January 1, 2026 Permission to Have Firearm or Ammunition for Work CR-850, Page 2 of 2

(Criminal Protective Order)

For your protection and privacy, please press the Clear
This Form button after you have printed the form. ‘ 41 | ‘ Save this form | Clear this form
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