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Executive Summary and Origin 
Assembly Bill 1396 (Obernolte; Stats. 2019, ch. 628) provides that a court, when issuing an 
order for elder or dependent adult abuse prevention, may, if appropriate, also issue an order 
requiring the restrained party to attend mandatory clinical counseling or anger management 
courses. The legislation also requires the Judicial Council to revise or adopt forms to do so. The 
Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee recommends revising three mandatory elder or 
dependent adult abuse prevention forms to implement this legislation.  

Background 
Elder or dependent adult abuse is a significant problem for a large portion of the population in 
California. In 2009, the California Senate Office of Oversight and Outcomes reported that 13 
percent of all complaints to the California Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 
involved abuse, gross neglect, or exploitation—over twice the national rate of 5 percent.1 A bill 
to create a civil action for elder or dependent adult abuse prevention was passed in 1992 (Sen. 
Bill 679 (Mello); Stats. 1991, ch. 774). The author of AB 1396, Assembly Member 
Jay Obernolte (R-Hesperia), states that elder or dependent adult abuse prevention (elder abuse) 
cases and domestic violence prevention cases are similar “in that almost 60% of elder and 
dependent adult abuse and neglect incidents, the perpetrator is a family member. However, in 
domestic violence cases more tools are available to prevent reoccurrence of the abuse.”2 

1 California Senate Office of Oversight and Outcomes, California’s Elder Abuse Investigators: Ombudsmen 
Shackled by Conflicting Laws and Duties (Nov. 3, 2009), p. 7. 
2 Jay Obernolte, Fact Sheet Assembly Bill 1396—Elder Abuse Prevention Programs (no date), p. 1. 
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The goal of AB 1396 is to help prevent ongoing elder and dependent adult abuse by giving 
judges the ability to order the restrained person to attend clinical counseling or to enroll in anger 
management courses.3  

Different prevention tool provided in domestic violence restraining order cases 
In domestic violence restraining order (DVRO) cases, a court may order that the restrained 
person complete a certified 52-week batterer intervention program that has been approved by the 
probation department.4 Batterer intervention programs (BIPs) were created to address the unique 
challenges of domestic violence cases. Courts can order a restrained person to attend a BIP in a 
civil DVRO case and that person is required as a condition of probation to complete a BIP if 
convicted of domestic violence in criminal court. Until recently, the required length of certified 
programs was at least 52 weeks. Currently, there are six counties piloting alternative lengths of 
programming.5 

AB 1396 does not include BIPs as a treatment option. Anger management courses generally do 
not address coercive behaviors and power dynamics. Instead, the focus is on preventing loss of 
control. AB 1396 also authorizes the court to order the restrained party to participate in clinical 
counseling, which could address other issues such as mental health issues or substance use 
disorders.  

The Proposal 
This proposal would add items to the elder or dependent adult abuse prevention forms to reflect 
the new types of orders a judge may consider under AB 1396. The following forms are proposed 
to be revised: 

• Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders (form EA-100); 
• Response to Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders (form 

EA-120); and 
• Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or 

EAF) (form EA-130). 
 
The recommended revisions are discussed below. 

Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders (form EA-100) would be 
revised to add an item that allows the protected person to request that the restrained party be 
ordered to attend clinical counseling or anger management courses (item 14). The statute 
requires specific provider types to deliver the clinical counseling or anger management courses, 
which are listed in the item. The description of abuse would be moved from item 10 to item 8 so 
the relevant information the judge considers when reviewing the petition is grouped together. 

                                                 
3 Id. at p. 1. 
4 Fam. Code, § 6343. 
5 Assembly Bill 372 (Stats. 2018, ch. 290) authorized the creation of alternative pilot programs. 
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And the items following would be renumbered accordingly. The committee also would revise 
the order of the items to move the description of abuse higher on the form because it is important 
information to have closer to the beginning of the form.   

Response to Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders (form EA-120) 
would be revised to add an item with check boxes (item 7) for the party responding to the 
petition to respond to these orders requested by the protected person on form EA-100. This item 
is modeled after existing items on form EA-120 that allow the respondent to indicate whether the 
respondent agrees or disagrees with the orders requested or agrees to other orders that are 
specified.  

Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or EAF) (form 
EA-130) would be revised to include an option (item 9) for the judge to order clinical counseling 
or an anger management course and a required date of enrollment or a default of 30 days if there 
is no date specified. In addition, there is an option to allow a judge to order a person to submit 
proof of completion of clinical counseling or an anger management course or appear for a 
hearing on a specified date.  

Alternatives Considered 
The committee considered including on form EA-100 the option for the petitioner to request 
either clinical counseling or anger management, and to provide lines for the petitioner to explain 
why they made the specific request. However, the committee thought that the petitioner might 
not understand the distinction between clinical counseling and anger management courses or 
know what is appropriate in the circumstances. The committee requests comments on whether 
the petitioner should be able to request either clinical counseling or anger management courses, 
and whether there should be a line asking for more information.  

The committee also considered revising two information sheets, Can a Restraining Order to 
Prevent Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Help Me? (form EA-100-INFO) and How Can I 
Respond to a Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders? (form 
EA-120-INFO), to add information about the new types of orders, but determined that it is not 
necessary, as the current information on the information sheets will remain accurate without 
these revisions. In addition, the elder abuse forms are proposed to be redesigned next year with 
special attention to the information sheets. Making changes to these forms during this rule-
making cycle would not be an efficient use of time or resources. 

Fiscal and Operational Impacts 
The cost and operational impacts from this proposal would be minimal. The forms are currently 
in existence and there are no requirements for enforcement or additional court hearings as a 
result of the changes to the forms. Courts may incur minimal costs and operational impacts in 
training staff and adding the new forms to case management systems. 
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Request for Specific Comments 
The advisory committee is interested in comments on the following: 

• Does the proposal appropriately address the stated purpose? 
• Should form EA-100, new item 14, include an option for the petitioner to request 

either clinical counseling or anger management?  
• Should form EA-100, new item 14, include lines asking for the reasons why the 

petitioner is requesting clinical counseling or an anger management course?  

The advisory committee also seeks comments from courts on the following cost and 
implementation matters: 

• What would the implementation requirements be for courts—for example, training 
staff (please identify position and expected hours of training), revising processes and 
procedures (please describe), changing docket codes in case management systems, or 
modifying case management systems? 

• Would three months from Judicial Council approval of this proposal until its effective 
date provide sufficient time for implementation? 

• How well would this proposal work in courts of different sizes? 

Attachments  
1. Forms EA-100, EA-120, and EA-130, at pages XX–XX 



Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Restraining Orders 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-100, Page 1 of 8Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov 
Rev. January 1, 2021, Mandatory Form 
Welfare & Institutions Code, § 15657.03 
Code of Civil Procedure, § 527.9

Contact information for the person asking the court for protection

Contact Information

This is not a Court Order.

EA-100 Request for Elder or Dependent 
Adult Abuse Restraining Orders

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

Read Can an Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Order Help Me?
(form EA-100-INFO) before completing this form. Also fill out Confidential 
CLETS Information (form CLETS-001) with as much information as you 
know.

Elder or Dependent Adult in Need of Protection

Full Name:

Age:M FSex:

Person From Whom Protection Is Sought

Full Name:

Address (if known):

City: State: Zip:

1

2

3

4

(Show this person’s legal authority to make this request on an attached sheet of paper. Write “Attachment 
3c—Information About Person Requesting Protective Order” for a title. You may use form MC-025, 
Attachment.)

of the person named in      , appointed by (name of court):
conservator of the person and estateestateperson

Case No.:

1

Who is asking the court for protection? (Check a, b, or c):
a.

b.

c.

Person Requesting Order

The elder or dependent adult named in       .

Name:

Other 

1

(name)

Your Lawyer (if you have one for this case)

Name:  State Bar No.:

Firm Name:

b. Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s information. If you do not have a lawyer and want to 
keep your  home address private, you may give a different mailing address instead. The person in        does not 
have to give telephone, fax, or e-mail.)

1

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone: Fax:

E-Mail Address:

a.

KMorioka
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a.

b.

The person named in       (check a or b):

Description of Protected Person

Is age 65 or older and a resident of California.

Is a resident of California and an adult under age 65. This person has physical or mental limitations that 
restrict his or her ability to carry out normal activities or to protect his or her rights. (Briefly describe 
limitations on the attached sheet of paper or form MC-025. Write “Attachment 5b—Description of 
Protected Person” for a title.)

Case Number:

5

6

7

1

Additional Protected Persons
a. Are you asking for protection for any other family or household members or for the conservator of the elder or 

dependent adult listed in      ? NoYes (If yes, list them):1

Full Name Sex Age Lives with you? How are they related to you?

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Yes No

Check here if there are more persons. Attach a sheet of paper and write “Attachment 6a—Additional  Protected 
Persons” for a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.

Why do these people need protection? (Explain below):
Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of  
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 6b—Why Others Need Protection” for a title.

b.

This is not a Court Order.

2How does the person in       know the person in        ? (Explain below): 

Relationship of Parties
1

Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Restraining Orders 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-100, Page 2 of 8Rev. January 1, 2021

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of  
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 7—Relationship of Parties” for a title.

KMorioka
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This is not a Court Order.

Case Number:

Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Restraining Orders 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-100, Page 3 of 8Rev. January 1, 2021

Describe what happened below.

Was the abuse solely financial abuse unaccompanied by force, threat, harassment, intimidation, or any 
other form of abuse?

(4)

Tell the court about the last time the person in       abused the person in      .

(3)

Physical abuse, neglect, financial abuse, abandonment, isolation, abduction, or other treatment with 
resulting physical harm or pain or mental suffering; or

(1)

(2) The withholding by a caretaker of goods or services that are necessary to avoid physical harm or mental 
suffering.

No, the abuse included other forms of abuse described above.Yes, only financial abuse.

When did it happen? (Provide date or estimated date):(1)

(2) Who else was there?

Description of Abuse
a. Abuse means either:

8

b. 2 1

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached 
sheet of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 8b(3)—Describe Abuse” for a title.

(5) 2Did the person in       use or threaten to use a gun or any other weapon? 
                              (If yes, explain below):

Was the person in       harmed or injured as a result of the acts of abuse described above?

NoYes (If yes, explain below):

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached 
sheet of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 8b(6)—Harm or Injury” for a title.

(6)  1

Yes No
Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached 
sheet of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 8b(5)—Use of Weapons” for a title.

Did the police come? NoYes

If yes, did they give the person in        or the person in       an Emergency Protective Order?2 Yes No
If yes, the order protects (check all that apply):

the person in the person in 2 the persons in       .

(Attach a copy of the order if you have one.)

(7)
1

61
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This is not a Court Order.

Case Number:

Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Restraining Orders 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-100, Page 4 of 8Rev. January 1, 2021

10

(If yes, specify the kind of each case and indicate where and when each was filed):YesNo2 ?

b. Are there now any protective or restraining orders in effect relating to the person in      or any of the persons 
named in       and the person in       ? (If yes, attach a copy if you have one.)No Yes

1
6 2

Other Court Cases
a. Has the person in        or any of the persons named in        been involved in another court case with the person in

(1) Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse

Civil Harassment

Domestic Violence

Divorce, Nullity, Legal Separation

Paternity, Parentage, Child Custody

Eviction

Guardianship

Workplace Violence

Small Claims

Criminal

Other (specify):

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

(9)

(10)

(11)

Kind of Case Filed in (County/State) Year Filed Case Number (if known)

1 6

9

The person in       lives in this county.2

The person in       was abused by the person in      in this county.21

Other (specify):

Why are you filing in this county? (Check all that apply):

b.
c.

a.

Venue

Is the person in   2   a care custodian who deprived the person in   1   of (kept from him or her, did not allow him 
or her to have or receive, or did not provide him or her with) goods or services that the person needed to avoid 
physical harm or mental suffering?  
(If yes, describe below what the person was deprived of and how that affected him or her):

12c.

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 8c—Deprivation by Care Custodian” for a title.

NoYes

8

Has the person in        abused the person in        at other times?  
                             (If yes, describe prior incidents and provide dates below):

12d.

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 8d—Previous Abuse” for a title.

Yes No
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If the court orders the person in   2    to stay away from all the places listed above, will he or she still be able to 
get to his or her home, school, or job?                                   (If no, explain below):

This is not a Court Order.

Case Number:

Personal Conduct Orders

Physically abuse, financially abuse, intimidate, molest, attack, strike, stalk, threaten, assault (sexually or 
otherwise), hit, harass, destroy the personal property of, or disturb the peace of the person.

Contact the person, either directly or indirectly, in any way, including, but not limited to, in person, by  
telephone, in writing, by public or private mail, by interoffice mail, by e-mail, by text message, by fax, or by
other electronic means. 

Other (specify):

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached  
sheet of paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 11c—Other Personal Conduct Orders” for a  
title.

Check the orders you want. 

c.

I ask the court to order the person in        not  to do any of the following things to the person in       or to any person 
to be protected listed in      :

a.

b.

The person in        will be ordered not to take any action to get the addresses or locations of any protected person  
unless the court finds good cause not to make the order.

2

6

2

I ask the court to order the person in       to stay at least               yards away from (check all that apply):

The elder or dependent adult in  1   .

The persons in  6  .6

The home of the elder or dependent adult.

The job or workplace of the elder or dependent adult.

The vehicle of the elder or dependent adult.

a.

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(1)

(2)

2

2

1

Other (specify):

b.

Stay-Away Orders

1
11

12

Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Restraining Orders 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-100, Page 5 of 8Rev. January 1, 2021

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 12b—Stay-Away Orders” for a title.

NoYes
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The person in       assaulted or threatened the person in       ; and12a.

1b.

The person in       will suffer physical or emotional harm if the person in      does not leave the residence. The 
person in      is not named in the title or lease of the residence, either alone or with others beside the person 
in      .

2
2

1

1

The person in      has the right to live at the above residence. (Explain below):

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 13b—My Right to Residence” for a title.

I ask for this move-out order right away to last until the hearing, because:

Move-Out Order

I ask the court to order the person in       to move out from and not return to the residence at (address):2

13

This is not a Court Order.

Case Number:

Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Restraining Orders 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-100, Page 6 of 8Rev. January 1, 2021

14 Order for Counseling or Anger Management Courses

2

15

I don’t knowNoYesDoes the person in       own or possess any guns or other firearms?2

Unless the abuse is only financial, if the judge grants a protective order, the person in       will be prohibited from 
owning, possessing, purchasing, receiving, or attempting to purchase or receive a gun, other firearm, and 
ammunition while the protective order is in effect. The person in        will also be ordered to turn in to law 
enforcement, or sell to or store with a gun dealer, any guns or firearms within his or her immediate possession or 
control.

2

2

Guns or Other Firearms and Ammunition

16  Temporary Restraining Order
I request that a Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) be issued against the person in       to last until the hearing. I 
am presenting form  EA-110, Temporary Restraining Order, for the court’s signature together with this Request.  

Has the person in      been told that you were going to go to court to seek a TRO against them?  
                                    (If you answered no, explain why below):

2

NoYes
Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 16—Temporary Restraining Order” for a title.

I request the person in item       be ordered by the court to attend clinical counseling or anger management courses 
provided by a professional (a counselor, psychologist, psychiatrist, therapist, clinical social worker, or mental or 
behavioral health professional licensed in the state of California to provide counseling or anger management 
courses).

2
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I request sole possession of the animals because (specify good cause for granting order):

This is not a Court Order.

Case Number:

Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Restraining Orders 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-100, Page 7 of 8Rev. January 1, 2021

17 Request to Give Less Than Five Days' Notice of Hearing

2You must have your papers personally served on the person in        at least five days before the hearing, unless the  
court orders a shorter time for service. (Read form EA-200-INFO, What Is “Proof of Personal Service”?, to learn 
about serving legal papers. Form  EA-200, Proof of Personal Service, may be used to show the court that the papers
have been served.)

If you want there to be less than five days between service and the hearing, explain why:

18 Lawyer's Fees and Costs
lawyer’s fees court costs.

$ $
$ $
$ $

Check here if there are more items. Put the items and amounts on the attached sheet of paper or form 
MC-025 and write “Attachment 18—Lawyer’s Fees and Costs” for a title.

I ask the court to order payment of my

Item Amount Item Amount
The amounts requested are:

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of  
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 17—Request to Give Less Than Five Days’ Notice” for a title.

19 Possession and Protection of Animals

I ask the court to order the following:

a. That the person in       be given the sole possession, care, and control of the animals listed below, which they 
own, possess, lease, keep, or hold, or which reside in their household. 
(Identify animals by, e.g., type, breed, name, color, sex.)

1

b. That the person in      must stay at least             yards away from, and not take, sell, transfer, encumber, 
conceal, molest, attack, strike, threaten, harm, or otherwise dispose of, the animals listed above.

2

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of 
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 19a—Possession of Animals” for a title.
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Case Number:

Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse
Restraining Orders 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-100, Page 8 of 8Rev. January 1, 2021

This is not a Court Order.

Check here if there is not enough space for your answer. Put your complete answer on the attached sheet of  
paper or form MC-025 and write “Attachment 21—Additional Orders Requested” for a title.

I ask the court to make the following additional orders (specify):

Additional Orders Requested21

No Fee to Serve Orders If you want the sheriff or marshal to serve (notify) the person in        about the orders 
for free, ask the court clerk what you need to do.

220

22 Number of pages attached to this form, if any:

Date:

Lawyer’s name (if any) Lawyer’s signature

Signature of person filling out this request

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above and on all 
attachments is true and correct.

Date:

Type or print your name
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(This is the 
person named in item       of the request (form EA-100).)

EA-120, Page 1 of 4Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov  
Rev. January 1, 2021, Mandatory Form  
Welfare & Institutions Code, § 15657.03

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

EA-120
Response to Request for Elder or 
Dependent Adult Abuse 
Restraining Orders

Name of person asking for the protection, if different

1

Use this form to respond to the Request (form EA-100)
Read  How Can I Respond to a Request for Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse 
Restraining Orders? (form EA-120-INFO) to protect your rights.
Fill out this form and take it to the court clerk. 
Have someone age 18 or older—not you—serve the person requesting 
protection in       by mail with a copy of this form and any attached  pages. 
(Use form EA-250, Proof of Service of Response by Mail.)

•

•
•

3

Elder or Dependent Adult Seeking Protection
Name:

1

Your Lawyer (if you have one for this case)

Person From Whom Protection Is Sought
a. Your Name:

Name: State Bar No.:

Firm Name:

Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s 
information. If you do not have a lawyer and want to keep 
your home address private, you may give a different mailing 
address instead. You do not  have to give telephone, fax, or 
e-mail.)

b.

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone: Fax:

E-Mail Address:

Present your response and any opposition at the  
hearing. Write your hearing date, time, and place  
from form EA-109, item      , here:

If you were served with a Temporary  
Restraining Order, you must obey it until the  
hearing. At the hearing, the court may make  
orders against you that last for up to five years.

3

Hearing 
Date

Date: Time:

Dept.: Room:

Response to Request for Elder 
or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders  

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

a.

b.

I agree to the orders requested.

I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item       on page 4.)

c. I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item       on page 4):

Personal Conduct Orders

a.

b.
c.

I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item       on page 4.)

I agree to the orders requested.

I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item       on page 4):

2

3

4 Stay-Away Orders

13

13

13

13
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EA-120, Page 2 of 4Rev. January 1, 2021 Response to Request for Elder 
or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders  

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

Case Number:

5

6

8

a.

b.

c.

I agree to the orders requested.

I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item       on page 4.)

I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item       on page 4):

Move-Out Orders

a.   

b.

6

6

I agree that the persons listed in item       of form EA-100 may be protected by the order requested.

I do not agree that the persons listed in item       of form EA-100 may be protected by the order requested.

Additional Protected Persons 

A copy of the receipt

a.

c.

I do not own or control any guns, firearms, magazines or ammunition.

I have turned in my guns and firearms to the police or sold them to or stored them with a licensed gun dealer.

is attached. has already been filed with the court.

Guns or Other Firearms and Ammunition

If you were served with form EA-110, Temporary Restraining Order, you cannot own or possess any guns,  
other firearms, or ammunition. (See item       of form EA-110.) You must sell to or store with a licensed gun 
dealer, or turn in to a law enforcement agency, any guns or other firearms in your immediate possession or 
control within 24 hours of being served with form EA-110. You must file a receipt with the court. You may 
use form EA-800, Proof of Firearms Turned In, Sold, or Stored, for the receipt.

8

b.

Check here if there is not enough space below for your answer. Put your complete answer on an attached
sheet of paper and write “Attachment 8b—Firearms Surrender Exemption” as a title. You may use form 
MC-025, Attachment.  

I ask for an exemption from the firearms prohibition under Code of Civil Procedure section 527.9(f) because
carrying a firearm is a condition of my employment, and my employer is unable to reassign me to another 
position where a firearm is unnecessary. (Explain): 

13

13

7 Order for Counseling or Anger Management Courses
a.

b.

c.

I agree to the orders requested.

I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item       on page 4.)

I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item       on page 4):

13

13

KMorioka
Highlight

KMorioka
Highlight

KMorioka
Highlight

KMorioka
Highlight

KMorioka
Highlight

KMorioka
Highlight

KMorioka
Highlight

KMorioka
Highlight



If I did some or all of the things that the person in  1   has accused me of, my actions were justified or excused for 
the following reasons (explain):

Justification or Excuse

Case Number:

EA-120, Page 3 of 4Response to Request for Elder 
or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders  

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

Rev. January 1, 2021

10
a.

b.

c.

I agree to the orders requested.

I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item       on page 4.)

I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item       on page 4):

Other Orders

I did not do anything described in item       of form EA-100. (Skip to      ..)
11

1310

Denial

12
1

13

13

Check here if there is not enough space below for your answer. Put your complete answer on an attached sheet
of paper and write “Attachment 12–Justification or Excuse” as a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.

a.
b.
c.

I agree to the orders requested.
I do not agree to the orders requested. (Specify why you disagree in item        on page 4.)
I agree to the following orders (specify below or in item        on page 4):

Possession and Protection of Animals9

13

13
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I ask the court to deny the request of the person asking for protection named in        that I pay his or her 
lawyer’s fees and costs. 

Explain your answers to each order requested that you do not agree with.

Case Number:

EA-120, Page 4 of 4Response to Request for Elder 
or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Orders  

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

Rev. January 1, 2021

15

Date:

Lawyer’s name (if any) Lawyer’s signature

Sign your name

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information above and on  
all attachments is true and correct.

Date:

Type or print your name

Number of pages attached to this form, if any:

14
a. The amounts requested are:

Lawyer's Fees and Costs

b.

I ask the court to order payment of my

Item Amount Item Amount
$
$
$

$
$
$

1

lawyer’s fees court costs. 

Check here if there are more items. Put the items and amounts on the attached sheet of paper and write 
“Attachment 14—Lawyer’s Fees and Costs” for a title. You may use form  MC-025, Attachment.

13 Reasons I Do Not Agree to the Orders Requested

Check here if there is not enough space below for your answer. Put your complete answer on an attached sheet 
of paper and write “Attachment 13—Reasons I Disagree” as a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.  
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EA-130, Page 1 of 7Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining 
Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or EAF) 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov 
Rev. January 1, 2021, Mandatory Form 
Welfare & Institutions Code, § 15657.03 
Approved by DOJ

Person in       must complete items      ,      , and       only.1

Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.

Fill in court name and street address:

Superior Court of California, County of

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

EA-130 Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse 
Restraining Order After Hearing 

Name of person asking for the protection, if different (This is the 
person named in item       of the request (form EA-100).)

1

3

Elder or Dependent Adult Seeking Protection
Full Name:

1 2 3

Name: State Bar No.:

Firm Name:

Your Address (If you have a lawyer, give your lawyer’s information.  
If you do not have a lawyer and want to keep your home address  
private, you may give a different mailing address instead. You do not  
have to give telephone, fax, or e-mail.)

Address:

City: State: Zip:

Telephone: Fax:

E-Mail Address:

Lawyer for person named above (if any for this case):

b.

Full Name:

a.

2

3

4

Full Name:

Height: Weight:

Race:Hair Color:

Date of Birth:

Eye Color: Age:

Home Address (if known):

State:City: Zip:

Relationship to Protected Person:

M FSex:

Description

Restrained Person

Additional Protected Persons

NoYes
NoYes

Check here if there are additional protected persons. List them on an attached sheet of paper and write 
“Attachment 3—Additional Protected Persons” as a title. You may use form MC-025, Attachment.

This Order, except for any award of lawyer’s fees, expires at

(date):Time: a.m. p.m. midnight on

Expiration Date

If no expiration date is written here, this Order expires three years from the date of issuance.

Relation to Protected PersonAgeSex Lives with you?

In addition to the elder or dependent adult named in      , the following family or household members or 
conservator of the elder or dependent adult named in      are protected by the orders indicated below:

1

Full Name

This is a Court Order.

1
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Each person in      . 

 and to the other protected persons listed in      : 

Case Number:

Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining 
Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or EAF) 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

This is a Court Order.

EA-130, Page 2 of 7

5

 (date): at (time): in Dept.: Room:
(Name of judicial officer):

The elder or dependent adult in need of protection

The lawyer for the elder or dependent adult (name):

1The person in       asking for protection (if not the elder or dependent adult)

The lawyer for the person in 2 (name):

(2)

(6)
The person in      2

Additional persons present are listed at the end of this Order on Attachment 5.

The hearing is continued. The parties must return to court on (date): at (time): .

These people were at the hearing:
(1)

(3)

Hearing

There was a hearing on

made the orders at the hearing.

a.

b.

c.

(5)
The lawyer for the person in        asking for protection1 (name):(4)

The court has granted the orders checked below. If you do not obey these orders, you can be arrested 
and charged with a crime. You may be sent to jail for up to one year, pay a fine of up  to $1,000, or both.

You must not do the following things to the elder or dependent adult named in      

3

(3)

(4)

(1)

(2)

Physically abuse, financially abuse, intimidate, molest, attack, strike, stalk, threaten, assault (sexually 
or otherwise), hit, harass, destroy personal property of, or disturb the peace of the person.
Contact the person, either directly or indirectly, in any way, including, but not limited to, in person, by 
telephone, in writing, by public or private mail, by interoffice mail, by e-mail, by text message, by fax, 
or by other electronic means. 

Take any action to obtain the person’s address or location. If this item (3) is not checked, the court has  
found good cause not to make this order.
Other (specify):

1a.

Personal Conduct Orders

Other personal conduct orders are attached at the end of this Order on Attachment 6a(4).

To the Person in     :2

b. Peaceful written contact through a lawyer or a process server or other person for service of legal papers related 
to a court case is allowed and does not violate this order.

6

7
a. You must stay at least                         yards away from (check all that apply):

(1)
(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)
(6)

1The elder or dependent adult in      .
3

The home of the elder or dependent 
adult.

The job or workplace of the elder 
or dependent adult.

The vehicle of the elder or dependent adult.

Other (specify):

Stay-Away Orders

Rev. January 1, 2021

This stay-away order does not prevent you from going to or from your home or place of employment.b.
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The court has made the necessary findings and applies the firearm relinquishment exemption under Code of 
Civil Procedure section 527.9(f). Under California law, the person in       is not required to relinquish this 
firearm (specify make, model, and serial number of firearm): 
 
The firearm must be in his or her physical possession only during scheduled work hours and during travel to 
and from his or her place of employment. Even if exempt under California law, the person in       may be 
subject to federal prosecution for possessing or controlling a firearm.

Case Number:

8 Move-Out Order
You must immediately move out from and not return to (address):

and must take only the personal clothing and belongings you need.

10

The court has received information that you own or possess a firearm.

If you have not already done so, you must:

Sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, or turn in to a law enforcement agency, any guns or other firearms 
in your immediate possession or control. This must be done within 24 hours of being served with this Order. 

File a receipt with the court within 48 hours of receiving this Order that proves that your guns or firearms 
have been turned in, sold, or stored. (You may use form EA-800, Proof of Firearms Turned In, Sold, or Stored,
for the receipt.)

b.

•

•

c.

No Guns or Other Firearms and Ammunition

a. You cannot own, possess, have, buy or try to buy, receive or try to receive, or in any other way get guns,  
other firearms, or ammunition.

This Order must be granted unless the abuse is financial only.

Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining 
Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or EAF) 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

This is a Court Order.

EA-130, Page 3 of 7Rev. January 1, 2021

d.
2

2

     The person in item        is ordered to attend: 
       clinical counseling for _______ (specify number) sessions; or 
       an anger management course 
provided by a professional (a counselor, psychologist, psychiatrist, therapist, clinical social worker, or mental or 
behavioral health professional licensed in the state of California to provide counseling or anger management 
courses).   
  
      The person in item        must enroll in clinical counseling or an anger management course by (date): 
___________________, or if no date is listed, within 30 days after this order is made. The person in item       is 
ordered to file written proof of scheduling or enrollment with the court.   
   
            Written proof of completion of the ordered number of clinical counseling sessions or written proof of 
completion of the court-ordered anger management course must be filed with the court by 
_________________________________ (date) or the person in item       must appear for a court date on 
_________________________________ (date) at ___________________ (time) in ____________ Dept./ Room. 

Order for Counseling or Anger Management9

2

2

2

2

a.

c.

b.
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Case Number:

Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining 
Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or EAF) 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

This is a Court Order.

EA-130, Page 4 of 7Rev. January 1, 2021

14 Other Orders (specify):

Additional orders are attached at the end of this Order on Attachment 14.

13 Lawyer's Fees and Costs

You must pay to the person in        the following amounts for lawyer’s fees costs:

Additional amounts are attached at the end of this Order on Attachment 13.

Item Amount

$

Item Amount

$$

$

1

11
This case                                            involve solely financial abuse unaccompanied by force, threat, harassment,  
intimidation, or any other form of abuse.

Financial Abuse

does not does

12

a. The person in      is given the sole possession, care, and control of the animals listed below, which are 
owned, possessed, leased, kept, or held by him or her, or reside in his or her household.

1

(Identify animals by, e.g., type, breed, name, color, sex.)

b. The person in       must stay at least           yards away from, and not take, sell, transfer, encumber, conceal, 
molest, attack, strike, threaten, harm, or otherwise dispose of, the animals listed above.

2

Possession and Protection of Animals
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Case Number:

Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining 
Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or EAF) 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

This is a Court Order.

EA-130, Page 5 of 7Rev. January 1, 2021

17

18

If the sheriff or marshal serves this Order, they will do so for free.

No Fee to Serve (Notify) Restrained Person

Number of pages attached to this Order, if any:

Date:

Judicial Officer

16

The person in       was at the hearing. The person in       was not.

The person in        personally attended the hearing. No other proof of service is needed.a.

b.

Service of Order on Restrained Person
2

2

Proof of service of form EA-110, Temporary Restraining Order, was presented to the court. The judge’s
orders in this form are different from the orders in form EA-110. Someone—but not anyone in 
      or      —must personally serve a copy of this Order on the person in       .

Proof of service of form EA-110, Temporary Restraining Order, was presented to the court. The judge’s
orders in this form are the same as in form EA-110 except for the end date. The person in       must be 
served with this Order. Service may be by mail.

2

1 3 2

(2)

(1)

1

The clerk will transmit this Order and its proof-of-service form to a law enforcement agency to be entered 
into CARPOS.

15

By the close of business on the date that this Order is made, you or your lawyer should deliver a copy of 
the Order and its proof-of-service form to the law enforcement agency listed below to  enter into 
CARPOS:

The clerk will enter this Order and its proof-of-service form into CARPOS.

b.

a.

c.

Name of Law Enforcement Agency Address (City, State, Zip)

Additional law enforcement agencies are listed at the end of this Order on Attachment 15.

Mandatory Entry of Order Into CARPOS Through CLETS
This Order must be entered into the California Restraining and Protective Order System (CARPOS) through the  
California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System (CLETS). (Check one):

To the Person in     :1
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Warning and Notice to the Restrained Person in     : 

Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining 
Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or EAF) 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

This is a Court Order.

EA-130, Page 6 of 7Rev. January 1, 2021

Case Number:

Notice/Proof of Service
The law enforcement agency must first determine if the restrained person had notice of the order. Consider the restrained 
person “served” (given notice) if (Pen. Code, § 836(c)(2)):

•  The officer sees a copy of the Proof of Service or confirms that the Proof of Service is on file; or
•  The restrained person was informed of the order by an officer.
An officer can obtain information about the contents of the order and proof of service in CARPOS. If proof of service on 
the restrained person cannot be verified, the agency must advise the restrained person of the terms of the order and  then 
enforce it.

Arrest Required if Order Is Violated
If an officer has probable cause to believe that the restrained person had notice of the order and has disobeyed the order, 
the officer must arrest the restrained person. (Pen. Code, §§ 836(c)(1), 13701(b).) A violation of the order may be a 
violation of Penal Code section 166 or 273.6. Agencies are encouraged to enter violation messages into CARPOS.

This order starts on the date next to the judge’s signature on page 5. The order ends on the expiration date in item       on 
page 1.

Start Date and End Date of Order
4

This order is enforceable by any law enforcement agency that has received the order, is shown a copy of the order, or has 
verified its existence on the California Restraining and Protective Order System (CARPOS). If the law enforcement 
agency has not received proof of service on the restrained person, the agency must advise the restrained person of the 
terms of the order and then must enforce it. Violations of this order are subject to criminal penalties.

Instructions for Law Enforcement

Enforcing the Restraining Order

You Cannot Have Guns or Firearms
If the court grants the orders in item       on page 3 (unless item 10d is checked), you cannot own, have, possess, buy or try
to buy, receive or try to receive, or otherwise get guns, other firearms, or ammunition while this Order is in effect. If you 
do, you can go to jail and pay a $1,000 fine. You must sell to or store with a licensed gun dealer, or turn in to a law 
enforcement agency, any guns or other firearms that you have or control as stated in item       . The court will require you 
to prove that you did so.

10

10

2

If the Protected Person Contacts the Restrained Person
Even if the protected person invites or consents to contact with the restrained person, this order remains in effect and must
be enforced. The protected person cannot be arrested for inviting or consenting to contact with the restrained person. The 
order can be changed only by another court order. (Pen. Code, § 13710(b).)
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Case Number:

Rev. January 1, 2021 Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining 
Order After Hearing (CLETS-EAR or EAF) 

(Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Prevention)

EA-130, Page 7 of 7

If more than one restraining order has been issued, the orders must be enforced in the 
following order of precedence: (See Pen. Code, § 136.2; Fam. Code, §§ 6383(h)(2), 6405(b).) 

1.  EPO: If one of the orders is an Emergency Protective Order (form EPO-001) and is more restrictive than other 
restraining or protective orders, it has precedence in enforcement over all other orders. 

2.  No-Contact Order: If there is no EPO, a no-contact order that is included in a restraining or protective order has 
precedence over any other restraining or protective order. 

3.  Criminal Order: If none of the orders includes a no-contact order, a domestic violence protective order issued in a 
criminal case takes precedence in enforcement over any conflicting civil court order. Any nonconflicting terms of 
the civil restraining order remain in effect and enforceable. 

4.  Family, Juvenile, or Civil Order: If more than one family, juvenile, or other civil restraining or protective order 
has been issued, the one that was issued last must be enforced. 

Conflicting Orders—Priority of Enforcement

—Clerk's Certificate—
I certify that this Elder or Dependent Adult Abuse Restraining Order After Hearing 
is a true and  correct copy of the original on file in the court. 

Clerk’s Certificate 
[seal]

(Clerk will fill out this part.)

Instructions for Law Enforcement

Clerk, byDate: , Deputy

KMorioka
Highlight


	RUPRO Action Request Form
	ITC
	EA-100
	EA-120
	EA-130



