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Hon. Jerilyn L. Borack, Cochair
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Executive Summary and Origin

The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee recommends amending one rule and
repealing and adopting one rule of the California Rules of Court, and approving two forms, to
conform to recent statutory changes regarding who a child welfare agency must notice when
moving a foster child to a different county.

Background

Assembly Bill 1688 (Rodriguez; Stats 2016, ch. 608) requires the county to provide notice to the
child’s attorney and to the child, if 10 years of age or older, before moving the child to a
placement outside the county, and allows for the child and child’s attorney to object to the move.
When this legislation was passed, the committee determined that rules and forms were not
necessary to implement the changes to the intercounty placement notice requirements. Since
then, Judicial Council staff has been asked by both the California Department of Social Services,
and a large law office representing children, to create forms for both the notice of, and potential
objection to, the proposed move.

The proposals have not been approved by the Judicial Council and are not intended to represent the
views of the council, its Rules and Projects Committee, or its Policy Coordination and Liaison Committee.
These proposals are circulated for comment purposes only.



The Proposal
Rules 5.610 and 5.614 would be amended to ensure they conform to the requirements in Welfare
and Institutions Code section 361.2(h) and to remove any language that is repetitive of statute.!

Rule 5.610. Transfer-out hearing
Rule 5.610(c) would be amended to delete the specific findings drawn from sections 375 and
750.

Rule 5.614. Courtesy supervision (§§ 380, 755)
Rule 5.614 would be repealed because it simply restates the text in sections 380 and 755.

Rule 5.614. Intercounty placements
Rule 5.614 would be replaced with a rule governing intercounty placements.

To streamline the rule, it would contain a cross-reference to section 361.2(h). This would obviate
the need to amend the rule again if this code section is amended in the future. The rule would
also identify the optional forms that can be used for notice and objection.

Notice

While section 361.2(h) requires that notice of a need to place the child out of county be provided
to the child’s parent or guardian, the child’s attorney, and the child, if the child is 10 years of age
or older, it does not provide for notice to two important groups: the child’s identified Indian tribe
and the child’s Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) volunteer. Proposed rule 5.614
includes notice to these two additional participants.

Federal and state law protect the relationship between an Indian child and the child’s tribe.? In
particular, the law requires that whenever an Indian child is removed from his or her home for
placement or further placement, the placement must comply with the placement preferences of
the Indian Child Welfare Act.> Furthermore, the child’s tribe must be consulted on any

! Many of the rules of court concerning juvenile dependency court hearings were adopted in the early 1990s at a
time when access to statutory materials via electronic devices and online resources was far more limited by judicial
officers than at present. To ensure that juvenile courts had comprehensive information about the requirements in
these cases, the original drafters of the rules paraphrased or directly included extensive sections of the relevant
underlying statutes in the rules. Since that time, the statutes have become longer and more complicated, and the rules
have been repeatedly amended to include the amended statutory provisions. The rule amendments frequently lag the
underlying statutory amendments by a year because of the time needed for the Judicial Council rule-making process.
At the same time, the growth of online legal resources such as the California Legislative Information website allows
any judicial officer or member of the public to access up-to-date statutory materials easily and at no cost. This major
change in the information infrastructure for juvenile courts warranted a reexamination of the roles of the rules of
court in these proceedings. Effective January 1, 2017, the Judicial Council amended 21 rules and repealed three to
delete language that duplicated statute. This approach streamlines the rules and reduces the frequency with which
the rules need to be amended to reflect changes in the statutory text.

225 U.S.C. §§ 1901-1903; Welf. & Inst. Code, § 224.
325U.S.C. § 1915; 25 C.F.R. §§ 23.129-23.132; Welf. & Inst. Code, §§ 224(b), 361.31.



placement or change in placement.* A child’s identified Indian tribe is entitled to receive notice
of every hearing in a dependency case.’

Due to the significant role a dependent child’s CASA volunteer plays in the child’s life, CASA
volunteers are entitled to notice of all hearings under the California Rules of Court. (Cal. Rules
of Court, rules 5.710-5.725, 5.740, 5.810.) Given the potentially life-changing importance of an
out-of-county placement, the CASA volunteer should receive notice of the agency’s request to

remove the child, as the volunteer receives notice of other important court events regarding the
child.

The Family and Juvenile Law Advisory Committee considered possibilities regarding who
should have the duty of providing notice of the hearing. Options included requiring the clerk of
the court to provide notice and requiring the agency requesting out-of-county placement to
provide notice. Workload concerns arose about both options. Another option is to have the party
requesting the hearing provide notice; this caused concern, since children are unlikely to have the
necessary procedural knowledge.

The proposed rule takes a “hybrid” approach. It would require that if the party objecting is
represented by counsel, that counsel must provide notice. The clerk would be required to give
notice of a hearing requested by a participant not represented by counsel. The committee’s
intention is to ensure proper notice and somewhat reduce the burden this new procedure places
on court clerks.

Burden of Proof

Section 362.1(h) is silent about the burden of proof for the hearing on the proposed out-of-county
placement. Evidence Code section 115 establishes that, except as otherwise provided by the law,
the burden of proof requires proof by a preponderance of the evidence. Proposed rule 5.614
would clarify that the agency must show by a preponderance of the evidence that the standard in
section 361.2(h) is met.

Notice of Intent to Place Child Out of County (form JV-555) and Objection to Out-of-
County Placement (form JV-556)

The proposal creates two optional forms for use to notice, and object to, a planned out-of-county
placement. One benefit to proposed form JV-555 is that it contains a statement informing the
person notified that if he or she does not agree with the proposed placement, they may request a
court hearing.

Alternatives Considered

As mentioned above, when AB 1688 was passed, the committee determined that rules and forms
were not necessary to implement the changes to the intercounty placement notice requirements.
However, since then, both the California Department of Social Services, and a large law office
representing children, have asked Judicial Council staff to create forms for both the notice of,

4 Welf. & Inst. Code, § 361.31(g).
> Welf. & Inst. Code, § 224.2(b).



and potential objection to, the proposed move. The committee now recognizes a potential need
for optional forms to ensure the required written notice.

The committee considered not creating optional Judicial Council forms and only amending rule
5.614. The committee questioned whether the forms were necessary. Ultimately, the committee
decided to circulate the forms for public comment and to seek specific comment on whether the
forms were helpful.

Implementation Requirements, Costs, and Operational Impacts

This proposal restates the law that became effective January 1, 2017; therefor courts are already
receiving objections to, and setting hearings on, out-of-county placements. Similarly, the written
notice requirements to parents and guardians have been in place for many years, and the written
notice requirements to the child’s attorney and the child age 10 or older have been in place since
January 1, 2017; therefor this should not result in increased workload for social workers, except
in counties that are not currently providing the required written notice.

Request for Specific Comments

In addition to comments on the proposal as a whole, the advisory committee is interested in
comments on the following:

e Does the proposal appropriately address the stated purpose?

e Should the child’s CASA be included in the list of those who should receive notice of
the agency’s proposed placement of the child out of the county?

e Are forms JV-555 and JV-556 helpful in providing guidance in implementation of AB
1688, or is rule 5.614 sufficient?

e The “hybrid” notice approach requires that the clerk determine whether the person
objecting has an attorney who should notice the hearing, or whether the clerk should
notice the hearing. Is this too much of a burden on the clerk? Will the “hybrid” notice
approach help to somewhat lessen the burden of notice on the clerk?

The advisory committee also seeks comments from courts on the following cost and
implementation matters:

e Would the proposal provide cost savings? If so, please quantify.

e What would the implementation requirements be for courts—for example, training
staff (please identify position and expected hours of training), revising processes and
procedures (please describe), changing docket codes in case management systems, or
modifying case management systems?

e  Would two months from Judicial Council approval of this proposal until its effective
date provide sufficient time for implementation?

e How well would this proposal work in courts of different sizes?




Attachments and Links

1. Cal. Rules of Court, rules 5.610 and 5.614, at pages 69
2. Forms JV-555 and JV-556, at pages 1013

3. Assembly Bill 1688,

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/bilINavClient.xhtmlI?bill_id=201520160AB1688
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Rule 5.610 of the California Rules of Court would be amended, and rule 5.614 would be
repealed and adopted, effective January 1, 2019, to read:

Chapter 7. Intercounty Transfers and Placements; Interstate Compact on the
Placement of Children

Rule 5.610. Transfer-out hearing
(a) Determination of residence—special rule on intercounty transfers (§§ 375, 750)
(1) For purposes of rules 5.610, and 5.612, and 5.614, the residence of the child is
the residence of the person who has the legal right to physical custody of the
child according to prior court order, including:
(A) A juvenile court order under section 361.2; and
(B) An order appointing a guardian of the person of the child.
@) * * *
(b) ***

(c) Transfer to county of child’s residence (§§ 375, 750)

(1) If the court decides to transfer a delinquency case, the court must order the
transfer before beginning the disposition hearing without adjudging the child
to be a ward.

3)(2)If the court decides to transfer a dependency case, the court may order the
transfer before or after the disposition hearing.

(@-G) ***
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Rule 5.614. Intercounty Placements

(a)

Procedure

Whenever a social worker must place a child outside the child’s county of
residence, the procedures in section 361.2(h) must be followed.

Participants to be served with notice

Unless the requirements for emergency placement in section 361.2 are met, before
placing a child out of county, the agency must notify the following participants of
the proposed removal:

(1) The participants listed in section 362.1(h);

(2) The child’s identified Indian tribe if any;

(3) The child’s Indian custodian if any; and

(4) The child’s CASA program if any.

Form of notice

The social worker may provide the required written notice to the participants in (b)
with Notice of Intent to Place Child Out of County (form JV-555). If form JV-555 is
used, the social worker must also provide a blank copy of Objection to Out-of-
County Placement (form JV-556).

Service of notice

The agency must serve notice of its intent to place the child out of county as
follows:

(1) The agency must serve notice either by first-class mail, sent to the last known
address of the person to be noticed, or by personal service;
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(2) Notice to the child’s identified Indian tribe and Indian custodian must comply
with the requirements of section 224.2; and

(3) Proof of Notice (form JV-326) must be filed with the court before the hearing
on the proposed out-of-county placement.

Objection to proposed removal

Each participant who receives notice under (b) may object to the proposed removal
of the child and the court must set a hearing as required by section 361.2(h).

(1) Objection to the proposed intercounty placement can be done by using
Objection to Out-of-County Placement (form JV-556).

(2) A request for hearing on the proposed removal must be made no later than
seven days of receipt of the notice.

Notice of hearing on proposed removal

After the court has ordered a hearing on a proposed intercounty placement, notice
of the hearing must be as follows:

(1) If the party objecting is not represented by counsel, the clerk must provide
notice of the hearing to the agency and the participants listed in (b) above;

(2) If the party objecting to the removal is represented by counsel, that counsel
must provide notice of the hearing to the agency and the participants listed in

(b) above;

(3) Notice must be by personal service or mail; and

(4) Proof of Notice (form JV-326) must be filed with the court before the hearing
on the proposed removal.

Burden of proof

At a hearing on an out-of-county placement, the agency intending to move the child

must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the standard in section 361.2(h)

is met.

Emergency placements

If the requirements for emergency placement in section 361.2 are met. the agency
must provide notice as required in section 16010.6.




1  Rule 5.616. Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children
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Notice of Intent to Place Child Out Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.
JV-555 of County

This notice must be served with a blank copy of form JV-556, Objection to Out-

of-County Placement. DRAFT
@ To: Not approved by
©: the Judicial Council

a. Parent or Guardian (name):

b. Parent or Guardian (name):

Fill in court name and street address:
c. Child’s attorney (name): Superior Court of California, County of

d. Child, if 10 years of age or older (name):

e. Child’s identified Indian tribe, if any (name):

Fill in child's name and date of birth:

Child's Name:
Date of Birth:

f. Child’s Indian custodian, if any (name):

Court fills in case number when form is filed.

g. Child’s Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) program, if any

(name of person notified): Case Number:

@ Name of agency proposing move:
Address:
Phone number:

The agency is placing the child out of county. The reasons that require placement outside of the county are:

If more space is needed, attach a sheet of paper and write "JV-555, Item 2—Reasons for Out-of-County Placement"
at the top.

Number of pages attached:

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov H H JV-555, Page 10f2
Now Janusry 1, 2015, Oplional Form Notice of Intent to Place Child

Welfare and Institutions Code, § 366.21(n) E
California Rules of Court, rules 5.610, 5.614 OUt Of county

10



Case Number:

Child’s name:

@ If you do not agree with the out-of-county placement, you may request a court hearing. To do this, you can fill
out form JV-556, Objection to Out-of-County Placement, and file it with the court within seven days from the date
you received this notice.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information in items 1 and 2 is
true and correct, which means that if I lie on the form, I am committing a crime.

Date:
Type or print your name Sign your name
New January 1, 2019 Notice of Intent to Place Child JV-555, Page 2 of 2

Out of County
11




Objection to Out-of-Cou nty Clerk stamps date here when form is filed.
JV-556 Placement

If you do not agree with the out-of-county placement, you can request a court

hearing by filling out this form. The following people can object to removal: the DRAFT
child’s parent or guardian, the child’s attorney, the child (if 10 years of age or Not approved by
older), the child’s identified Indian tribe or custodian, and the child’s CASA the Judicial Council

program. Bring this form to the clerk of the court.

If you are not an attorney and you requested the hearing, the clerk will provide
notice of the hearing to you and any other participants.

If you are an attorney in this matter and you requested the hearing, you must
provide notice of the hearing to all other participants.

@ a. Name:

b. Iamthe [ ] child [] child’s attorney [] child’s parent
[] child’s identified Indian tribe [ ] child’s CASA program
[] child’s Indian custodian

Fill in court name and street address:
Superior Court of California, County of

Fill in child's name and date of birth:

] Child’'s Name:
¢. [] Confidential address
Date of Birth:
d. Address: Court fills in case number when form is filed.

Case Number:

e. Phone number:

@ If you are not the child’s attorney and you know who the child’s attorney is, fill out below.

a. Name of child’s attorney:

b. Address of child’s attorney:

c. Phone number of child’s attorney:

@ [] The child is 10 years of age or older. Child’s phone number:
[] Confidential phone number in court file

@ [] The child has a Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) volunteer.
Phone number of CASA program, if known:

(5) O The child has an identified Indian tribe (specify tribe):
Phone number of tribe:

[ ] The child has an Indian custodian (name):
Phone number of custodian, if known:

Judicial Council of California, www.courts.ca.gov H H JV-556, Page 1 of 2
New January 1, 2019, Optional Form ObjeCtlon to OUt'Of'Cou nty g

Welfare and Institutions Code, § 366.21(n) E
California Rules of Court, rules 5.610, 5.614 Placement

12



Case Number:

Child’s name:

@ The social worker should not place the child outside the county because (give reasons):

If you need more space, attach a sheet of paper and write "JV-556, Item 7—Reasons to Not Place the Child Outside
the County™ at the top.
Number of pages attached:

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the information on this form is true
and correct, which means that if I lie on this form, I am committing a crime.

Date:

4

Type or print your name Sign your name

What if | am deaf or hard of hearing?
Requests for Accommodations
Assistive listening systems, computer-assisted real-time captioning, or sign language interpreter services are
available if you ask at least five days before the proceeding. Contact the clerk’s office or go to
www.courts.ca.gov/forms for a Request for Accommodations by Persons With Disabilities and Response (form
MC-410). (Civ. Code, § 54.8.)

New January 1, 2019 Objection to Out-of-County JV-556, Page 2 of 2

Placement
13





