
SP07-13 
Invitation to Comment 

Title Probate:  Notices of Changes of Residence of Conservatees and Wards 
(adopt rules 7.1013 and 7.1063 of the California Rules of Court; revise 
form GC-080; and approve form GC-080(MA)). 

Summary Revised form GC-080 would provide both the newly-required advance 
notice of intent to change a conservatee’s or ward’s personal residence 
and the currently-required notice of a completed move by a 
conservatee or ward.  Proposed rules 7.1013 and 7.1063 would clarify 
the statutory requirements for these notices.  Proposed new form  
GC-080(MA) would provide a means to show proof of service of these 
notices on more persons than can be listed in the proof of mailing on 
the second page of the notice. 

Source Probate and Mental Health Advisory Committee 
Hon. Don Edward Green, Chair 

Staff Douglas C. Miller, Attorney 
Committee Counsel 
Office of the General Counsel, Administrative Office of the Courts 
(415) 865-7535 
douglas.miller@jud.ca.gov 

Discussion The Omnibus Conservatorship and Guardianship Reform Act of 20061 
substantially rewrote existing law concerning notice of changes of a 
conservatee’s or ward’s residence within California.  Before the 
changes made by the Omnibus Act, Probate Code section 2352(c) 
merely required conservators or guardians to mail notices to the court 
of all changes in the conservatee’s or ward’s residence within the state.  
No time period within which to mail this notice was specified, no one 
other than the court was required to be notified about these changes, 
and no notice to the court in advance of the move was required.  A 
Judicial Council form, Change of Residence Notice (form GC-080), 
was adopted in 2000 to provide the notice to the court required by 
section 2352(c). 

                                              
1  Stats 2006, chapters 490–493 (respectively, SB 1116, SB 1550, SB 1716, and AB 1363), referred to collectively 
as the Omnibus Act.  Section 2352 was amended by section 1 of chapter 490 (SB 1116). 
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The Omnibus Act amended section 2352 to require two notices, the 
first to certain persons before a proposed move, and the second to the 
court and the same persons within 30 days of completion of a move.  
The Probate and Mental Health Advisory Committee proposes a 
revision of form GC-080 to provide both notices required by the Act 
and proof of their mailing. 

A new section 2352(e) contains the notice provisions added or 
modified by the Omnibus Act, including the post-move notice 
provision formerly contained in section 2352(c).  Section 2352(e) 
provides in full as follows: 

“(e)(1) The guardian or conservator shall file a notice of 
change of residence with the court within 30 days of 
the date of the change.  The conservator shall include 
in the notice of change of residence a declaration 
stating that the conservatee's change of residence is 
consistent with the standard described in subdivision 
(b).2  The Judicial Council shall, on or before 
January 1, 2008, develop one or more forms of 
notice and declaration to be used for this purpose. 

(2) The guardian or conservator shall mail a copy of the 
notice to all persons entitled to notice under 
subdivision (b) of Section 1511 or subdivision (b) of 
Section 1822 and shall file proof of service of the 
notice with the court. The court may, for good cause, 
waive the mailing requirement pursuant to this 
paragraph in order to prevent harm to the 
conservatee or ward. 

(3) If the guardian or conservator proposes to remove 
the ward or conservatee from his or her personal 
residence, the guardian or conservator shall mail a 
notice of his or her intention to change the residence 
of the ward or conservatee to all persons entitled to 
notice under subdivision (b) of Section 1511 and 

                                              
2  Section 2352(b), as amended by the Omnibus Act, requires the conservator to select “[t]he least restrictive 
appropriate residence, as described in section 2352.5, that is available and necessary to meet the needs of the 
conservatee, and that is in the best interests of the conservatee.” 
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subdivision (b) of Section 1822. In the absence of an 
emergency, that notice shall be mailed at least 15 
days before the proposed removal of the ward or 
conservatee from his or her personal residence. If the 
notice is served less than 15 days prior to the 
proposed removal of the ward or conservatee, the 
guardian or conservatee shall set forth the basis for 
the emergency in the notice. The guardian or 
conservator shall file proof of service of that notice 
with the court.” 

 Revised form GC-080 
Section 2352(e)(3) requires a conservator or guardian to mail a notice 
of intent to change the conservatee’s or ward’s personal residence to 
the persons entitled to notice of the hearing on a petition for 
appointment of a guardian under Probate Code section 1511(b) or the 
persons entitled to notice of the hearing on a petition for appointment 
of a conservator under Probate Code section 1822(b).3  This notice 
must be mailed at least 15 days before the move, in the absence of an 
emergency.  If there is an emergency requiring a shorter period of 
notice, the notice must include a statement of the basis for the 
emergency.  Proof of the notice must be filed with the court.   

Items 1 and 2 on page 1 of revised form GC-080 contains the notice 
described in section 2352(e)(3). 

Amended section 2352(e)(1) requires the conservator or guardian to 
file a notice of change of residence with the court within 30 days of 
the date of the change.  The notice must also be served on the persons 
identified in the above footnote and a proof of service must be filed 
with the court. 

 

                                              
3  For guardianships, the persons entitled to notice under section 1511(b) are the ward if twelve years of age or 
older, the ward’s parents, any person having legal custody of the ward or a serving guardian of the estate, and any 
person nominated by the ward’s parents as guardian.  For conservatorships, the persons entitled to notice under 
section 1822(b) are the conservatee’s spouse or domestic partner and the conservatee’s second-degree relatives 
(grandparents, parents, siblings, children, and grandchildren).  If none of these relatives are known, certain relatives 
of the conservatee’s spouse or domestic partner and parents identified in section 1821(b)(1)–(4) become entitled to 
notice under section 1822(b). 
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Items 3 and 4 on page 1 of revised form GC-080 contain the notice 
described in section 2352(e)(1).  Item 4 is the declaration required by 
that section.  It states the standard described in section 2352(b) for a 
change in the conservatee’s residence.   

The name of form GC-080 would be changed from Change of 
Residence Notice to Notice of Proposed Change of Personal 
Residence or Completed Change of Residence of Conservatee or Ward 
to reflect the new intended dual use of the form. 

The form must be served twice if the conservatee’s or ward’s personal 
residence is changed.  Both original forms with completed proofs of 
service must be filed with the court.  The first notice filed would show 
item 1 and possibly item 2 checked and completed. The second notice 
filed would show item 3 and, if a conservatorship, item 4 checked and 
completed.  Only the second (post-move) notice must state the address 
of the new residence. 

Because amended section 2352(e) provides that the conservator or 
guardian is to “mail” the notices, the proof of mailing on page 2 of the 
form is designed for the conservator or guardian, or his or her attorney 
or an employee of the attorney, to sign.  This is consistent with the 
normal practice in probate matters where the fiduciary is represented 
by counsel, but would permit an unrepresented guardian or 
conservator to complete the mailing and fill out and sign the proof of 
mailing. 

 Rules 7.1013 and 7.1063 
These proposed rules governing, respectively, guardianships and 
conservatorships are proposed to clarify amended section 2352 and to 
prescribe the use of revised form GC-080.  Rules 7.1013(b) and 
7.1063(b) would define a ward’s or conservatee’s personal residence 
for purposes of the notice required under section 2352(e)(3) (the pre-
move notice).  Rule 7.1013(b) would define a ward’s personal 
residence as his or her residence at the time the first petition for 
appointment of a guardian was filed in the case.  The definition of a 
conservatee’s personal residence is more complex.  Rule 7.1063(b) 
would define the term as the conservatee’s non-institutional residence 
when the first petition for appointment of a conservator was filed in 
the case.  If the conservatee was living in an institutional residential 
setting when the petition was filed, his or her personal residence would 
be defined as his or her residence prior to moving to the institutional 
setting if that residence is an asset of the conservatorship estate or a 
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trust of which the conservatee is a settlor and beneficiary.  A change of 
personal residence in that situation would be a move from the 
institutional setting to any residence other than the prior residence. 

The terms “residence of the ward” and “residence of the conservatee” 
for purposes of the notice required under section 2352(e)(1) (the post-
move notice) would be defined in rules 7.1013(d) and 7.1063(d) as the 
ward’s or conservatee’s residence at any time after appointment of a 
guardian or conservator. 

This interpretation of amended section 2352(e) is supported by the 
statute’s use of the term “personal residence” when describing the pre-
move notice required under section 2352(e)(3), but merely the word 
“residence” when describing the post-move notice required under 
section 2352(e)(1).  The special requirements of the pre-move notice 
seem clearly to have been intended for possible moves from the 
residence of the ward or conservatee at the beginning of the 
guardianship or conservatorship, and to give the conservatee and other 
interested persons an opportunity to object to the move before it takes 
place.  This interpretation is also consistent with the term “personal 
residence” as used in new section 2352.5(a), which establishes a 
presumption that the “personal residence of the conservatee at the time 
of commencement of the proceeding is the least restrictive appropriate 
residence for the conservatee.”  A guardianship or conservatorship 
proceeding is commenced when the first petition for appointment of a 
guardian or conservator is filed. 

The post-move notice appears to be a continuation of the previously-
required notice to the court, with the addition of notice to interested 
persons so they will continue to know where the ward or conservatee 
is living.  

Rule 7.1013(a) and (c) would require mailing of the pre-and post-
move notices to a ward’s attorney of record, in addition to the persons 
mentioned in Probate Code section 1511(b).  Although a notice mailed 
to a ward over the age of 12 under the latter section and sections 
2352(e)(1) and (3) must also be mailed to the ward’s attorney of 
record,4 the advisory committee concluded that express provisions of 

                                              
4  See Probate Code section 1214.  
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the rule requiring mailing of the notices to the ward’s attorney in every 
case would be appropriate to ensure that a ward’s attorney receives the 
notices even though his or her client is under the age of 12 and thus 
not entitled to receive copies of the notices under section 1511(b). 

Rule 7.1063(a) and (c) would also require mailing of the pre- and post-
move notices to the conservatee and the conservatee’s attorney of 
record, in addition to the persons listed in Probate Code section 
1822(b).  The conservatee is not listed in that section, which identifies 
the persons who must be served by mail with notice of the hearing on 
a petition for appointment of a conservator, because the conservatee 
must be personally served with notice of that hearing in the form of a 
citation under section 1823.   

The advisory committee believes that omission of the conservatee as a 
person entitled to receive both notices required under section 2352(e) 
was inadvertent.  On the other hand, service of the post-move notice 
on a ward of any age or the conservatee under section 2352(e)(1) 
seems unnecessary because the move will have already been 
completed when the notice is served. 

Comments are requested concerning the mailing provisions of the 
proposed rules. 

Form GC-080(MA) 
This proposed new optional form is an attachment to revised form GC-
080 to show the names and addresses of persons served with the notice 
who could not be listed on the proof of service on page 2 of that form. 

The text of rules 7.1013 and 7.1063 and forms GC-080 and GC-
080(MA) are attached beginning at page 7. 

  

 Attachments 
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Rule Proposal 
 

Rules 7.1013 and 7.1063 of the California Rules of Court would be adopted, 
effective January 1, 2008, to read: 
 
Rule 7.1013.  Change of ward’s residence 1 

2  
(a) Advance notice of change of personal residence required 3 

4  
5 Unless an emergency requires a shorter period of notice, the guardian of the 
6 person must mail notice of an intended change of the ward’s personal 
7 residence at least 15 days before the date of the proposed change. The notice 
8 must be mailed to the attorney of record for the ward and the persons entitled 
9 to notice of the hearing on the petition for appointment of a guardian under 

10 Probate Code section 1511(b). The guardian must file proof of mailing with 
11 
12 

the court. 
 
(b) Personal residence of the ward 13 

14  
15 The “ward’s personal residence” under (a) is the ward’s residence when the 
16 
17 

first petition for appointment of a guardian was filed in the case. 
 
(c) Notice of a change of residence required 18 

19  
20 The guardian of the person of a minor must file a notice of a change of the 
21 ward’s residence with the court within 30 days of the date of the change. 

Unless waived by the court for good cause, the guardian must also mail a 22 
23 copy of the notice to the attorney of record for the ward and the persons 
24 entitled to notice of the hearing on a petition for appointment of a guardian 
25 
26 

under Probate Code section 1511(b). 
 
(d) Residence of the ward 27 

28  
The “ward’s residence” under (c) is the ward’s residence at any time after 29 

30 
31 

appointment of a guardian. 
 

(e) Use of Judicial Council form GC-080 32 
33  

Notice of Proposed Change of Personal Residence or Completed Change of 34 
Residence of Conservatee or Ward (form GC-080) must be used for the 35 

36 notices required under this rule and Probate Code section 2352(e). The 
37 guardian, the guardian’s attorney, or an employee of the attorney may 
38 complete the mailing and sign the Proof of Mailing on page 2 of the form. 
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Rule 7.1063.  Change of conservatee’s residence 1 
2  

(a) Advance notice of change of personal residence required 3 
4  
5 Unless an emergency requires a shorter period of notice, the conservator of 

the person must mail notice of an intended change of the conservatee’s 
personal residence at least 15 days before the date of the proposed change.

6 
 

The notice must be mailed to the conservatee, the attorney of record for the 
7 
8 
9 conservatee, and the persons entitled to notice of the hearing on the petition 

10 for appointment of a conservator under Probate Code section 1511(b). The 
11 
12 

conservator must file proof of mailing with the court. 
 
(b) Personal residence of the conservatee 13 

14  
15 (1) The “conservatee’s personal residence” under (a) is the conservatee’s 
16 non-institutional residence when the first petition for appointment of a 
17 
18 

conservator was filed in the case.  
 

19 (2) If the conservatee was living in an institutional residential setting when 
20 the first petition for appointment of a conservator was filed in the case, 
21 the “conservatee’s personal residence” under (a) is his or her residence 

before moving to the institutional residential setting if the prior 22 
23 residence is an asset of the conservatorship estate or a trust of which the 
24 conservatee is a settlor and a beneficiary. A change of the conservatee’s 
25 personal residence under (a) for a conservatee with a prior residence 
26 under this paragraph is removal from the institutional residential setting 
27 
28 

to any residence other than the prior residence. 
 
(c) Notice of a change of residence required 29 

30  
31 The conservator of the person must file a notice of a change of the 
32 conservatee’s residence with the court within 30 days of the date of the 
33 change. Unless waived by the court for good cause, the conservator must 
34 mail a copy of the notice to the conservatee, the conservatee’s attorney of 
35 record, and the persons entitled to notice of the hearing on a petition for 
36 
37 

appointment of a conservator under Probate Code section 1822(b). 
 
(d) Residence of the conservatee 38 

39  
The “conservatee’s residence” under (c) is the conservatee’s residence at any 40 

41 time after appointment of a conservator. 
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(e) Use of Judicial Council form GC-080 1 
2  

Notice of Proposed Change of Personal Residence or Completed Change of 3 
Residence of Conservatee or Ward (form GC-080) must be used for the 4 

5 notices required under this rule and Probate Code section 2352(e). The 
6 conservator, the conservator’s attorney, or an employee of the attorney may 
7 complete the mailing and sign the Proof of Mailing on page 2 of the form. 

9 



GC-080
FOR COURT USE ONLY

CASE NUMBER:

NOTICE IS GIVEN as follows (check all that apply):

Unless there is an emergency requiring a shorter period of time, you must mail, at least 15 days before the date of the proposed 
move, a notice of your intention to change the conservatee's or ward's personal residence at the beginning of the conservatorship 
or guardianship to the conservatee, the conservatee's or ward's attorney of record, and the persons mentioned in Probate Code 
sections 1822(b) (conservatorship) or 1511(b) (guardianship).  If an emergency requires a shorter period of time, your notice must 
include a statement of the basis for the emergency.  You must file proof of the mailing of this notice with the court.  Items 1 and 2 
below apply to this notice.  (See Cal. Rules of Court, rules 7.1013(a) and (b) and 7.1063(a) and (b).)

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:

(SIGNATURE OF CONSERVATOR  OR GUARDIAN )(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF CONSERVATOR OR GUARDIAN)

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGE OF PERSONAL RESIDENCE OR 
COMPLETED CHANGE OF RESIDENCE OF CONSERVATEE OR WARD

(Probate—Guardianships and Conservatorships)

Form Adopted for Mandatory Use 
Judicial Council of California 

GC-080 [Rev.  January 1, 2008]

Probate Code, § 2352
Cal. Rules of Court, rules 7.1013, 

7.1063
www.courtinfo.ca.gov

CONSERVATEE

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY (Name, State Bar number, and address):

FAX NO. (Optional):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF 

TELEPHONE NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional):

ATTORNEY FOR (Name):

STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

(Name):

CONSERVATORSHIP  AND ESTATE     OF

MINOR

NOTICE OF
COMPLETED CHANGE OF RESIDENCE     OF CONSERVATEE WARD

GUARDIANSHIP     OF THE PERSON 

INFORMATION FOR CONSERVATORS AND GUARDIANS: 
(1)

(2)

(3) You must obtain court permission BEFORE the conservatee or ward can move to a new residence outside California.

Within 30 days of the date of the move, you must give notice to the court and, unless for good cause the court excuses you, 
the persons named in (1), every time the conservatee or ward moves to a new residence in the State of California.  Items 3 and 4 
below apply to this notice, which may be given after the move.  Item 4 applies to changes of residence in a conservatorship only.  
(See Cal. Rules of Court, rules 7.1013(c) and (d) and 7.1063(c) and (d).)

New address:

1. I intend to change the above-named conservatee's or ward's personal residence on (date):
I cannot give at least 15 days' notice of this intended change because of the emergency described below (specify):2.

3. On (date): the conservatee or ward named above moved to the following residence:

Other contact number:Telephone number:

4. The conservatee's new residence identified in 3 is the least restrictive appropriate residence that is available to meet his or 
her needs, and is in the conservatee's best interest.

Page 1 of 2

Draft 4, 
05/11/07  

Not Approved by the 
Judicial Council

PROPOSED CHANGE OF PERSONAL RESIDENCE 
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PROOF OF MAILING

NAME AND ADDRESS OF EACH PERSON TO WHOM NOTICE WAS MAILED

Name and relationship of addressee 
to conservatee or ward

Address (number, street, city, state, and zip code)

1.

2.

3.

Conservatee or Ward 
at least 12 years of age

Attorney for conservatee or ward 

Spouse or domestic partner of conservatee

4.

5.

CONSERVATORSHIP CASE NUMBER:

CONSERVATEE

GC-080

(Name):

AND ESTATE     OF

MINOR

GUARDIANSHIP     OF THE PERSON 

GC-080 [Rev.  January 1, 2008] Page 2 of 2

Parent of ward

Parent of ward

Continued on an attachment.  (You may use form GC-080 (MA) to show additional addressees.)

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGE OF PERSONAL RESIDENCE 
OR COMPLETED CHANGE OF RESIDENCE OF CONSERVATEE OR WARD

(Probate—Guardianships and Conservatorships)

I am over the age of 18.  I am the appointed conservator or guardian of the above-named conservatee or ward, the conservator's or 
guardian's attorney, or an employee of the attorney.  I am a resident of or employed in the county where the mailing occurred.  

placing the envelope for collection and mailing on the date and at the place shown in item 4 following our ordinary 
business practices.  I am readily familiar with this business's practice for collecting and processing correspondence for 
mailing.  On the same day that correspondence is placed for collection and mailing, it is deposited in the ordinary 
course of business with the United States Postal Service in a sealed envelope with postage fully prepaid.

Date mailed: Place mailed (city, state):

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM) (SIGNATURE OF PERSON COMPLETING THIS FORM)

a. depositing the sealed envelope on the date and at the place shown in item 4 with the United States Postal Service 
with the postage fully prepaid. 

b.

1.

My residence or business address is (specify):

I mailed the foregoing Notice of Proposed Change of Personal Residence  or Completed Change of Residence of Conservatee or 
Ward to each person named below by enclosing a copy in an envelope addressed as shown below AND

3.

4. a. b.

2.

.
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NAME AND ADDRESS OF EACH PERSON TO WHOM NOTICE WAS MAILED

 of 

Name and relationship of addressee
to conservatee or ward 

Address (number, street, city, state, and zip code)

GC-080(MA)

Relationship:

Relationship:

Relationship:

Relationship:

Relationship:

Relationship:

Relationship:

Relationship:

Relationship:

Page 

Form Approved for Optional Use 
Judicial Council of California

GC-080(MA) [New January 1, 2008]

ATTACHMENT TO NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGE OF PERSONAL RESIDENCE 
OR COMPLETED CHANGE OF RESIDENCE OF CONSERVATEE OR WARD

(This Attachment is for use with Form GC-080.)

CONSERVATORSHIP CASE NUMBER:

CONSERVATEE

(Name):

AND ESTATE     OF

MINOR

GUARDIANSHIP     OF THE PERSON 

Draft 3, 05/03/07  Not Approved by the Judicial Council

ATTACHMENT TO NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGE OF 
PERSONAL RESIDENCE OR COMPLETED CHANGE OF 

RESIDENCE OF CONSERVATEE OR WARD
(Probate—Guardianships and Conservatorships)
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Item SP07-13    Response Form 
 

Circulation for comment does not imply endorsement by the Judicial Council or the Rules and Projects Committee.  
All comments will become part of the public record of the council’s action. 

Title: Probate:  Notices of Changes of Residence of Conservatees and Wards (adopt 
rules 7.1013 and 7.1063 of the California Rules of Court; revise form GC-080; 
and approve form GC-080(MA)). 

    Agree with proposed changes 
 
    Agree with proposed changes if modified 
 
    Do not agree with proposed changes 
 

Comments:             
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
              
 
 

Name:      Title:       
 
Organization:            
 
  Commenting on behalf of an organization 
 
Address:             
 
City, State, Zip:            
 
Please write or fax or respond using the Internet to: 
 

Address: Ms. Camilla Kieliger, 
Judicial Council, 455 Golden Gate Avenue, 
San Francisco, CA  94102 

Fax: (415) 865-7664 Attention: Camilla Kieliger 
Internet: http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/invitationstocomment/commentform.htm

 

DEADLINE FOR COMMENT:  5:00 p.m.,  Friday, July 13, 2007 
Your comments may be written on this Response Form or directly on the proposal or as a letter.  If you 
are not commenting directly on this sheet please remember to attach it to your comments for 
identification purposes. 

http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/invitationstocomment/commentform.htm
http://www.courtinfo.ca.gov/invitationstocomment/commentform.htm
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	Rule 7.1013.  Change of ward’s residence
	(a) Advance notice of change of personal residence required
	Unless an emergency requires a shorter period of notice, the guardian of the person must mail notice of an intended change of the ward’s personal residence at least 15 days before the date of the proposed change. The notice must be mailed to the attorney of record for the ward and the persons entitled to notice of the hearing on the petition for appointment of a guardian under Probate Code section 1511(b). The guardian must file proof of mailing with the court.

	(b) Personal residence of the ward
	The “ward’s personal residence” under (a) is the ward’s residence when the first petition for appointment of a guardian was filed in the case.

	(c) Notice of a change of residence required
	The guardian of the person of a minor must file a notice of a change of the ward’s residence with the court within 30 days of the date of the change. Unless waived by the court for good cause, the guardian must also mail a copy of the notice to the attorney of record for the ward and the persons entitled to notice of the hearing on a petition for appointment of a guardian under Probate Code section 1511(b).
	The “ward’s residence” under (c) is the ward’s residence at any time after appointment of a guardian.

	(e) Use of Judicial Council form GC-080
	Notice of Proposed Change of Personal Residence or Completed Change of Residence of Conservatee or Ward (form GC-080) must be used for the notices required under this rule and Probate Code section 2352(e). The guardian, the guardian’s attorney, or an employee of the attorney may complete the mailing and sign the Proof of Mailing on page 2 of the form.


	 Rule 7.1063.  Change of conservatee’s residence
	(a) Advance notice of change of personal residence required
	Unless an emergency requires a shorter period of notice, the conservator of the person must mail notice of an intended change of the conservatee’s personal residence at least 15 days before the date of the proposed change. The notice must be mailed to the conservatee, the attorney of record for the conservatee, and the persons entitled to notice of the hearing on the petition for appointment of a conservator under Probate Code section 1511(b). The conservator must file proof of mailing with the court.

	(b) Personal residence of the conservatee
	(1) The “conservatee’s personal residence” under (a) is the conservatee’s non-institutional residence when the first petition for appointment of a conservator was filed in the case. 
	(2) If the conservatee was living in an institutional residential setting when the first petition for appointment of a conservator was filed in the case, the “conservatee’s personal residence” under (a) is his or her residence before moving to the institutional residential setting if the prior residence is an asset of the conservatorship estate or a trust of which the conservatee is a settlor and a beneficiary. A change of the conservatee’s personal residence under (a) for a conservatee with a prior residence under this paragraph is removal from the institutional residential setting to any residence other than the prior residence.


	(c) Notice of a change of residence required
	The conservator of the person must file a notice of a change of the conservatee’s residence with the court within 30 days of the date of the change. Unless waived by the court for good cause, the conservator must mail a copy of the notice to the conservatee, the conservatee’s attorney of record, and the persons entitled to notice of the hearing on a petition for appointment of a conservator under Probate Code section 1822(b).
	The “conservatee’s residence” under (c) is the conservatee’s residence at any time after appointment of a conservator.

	 (e) Use of Judicial Council form GC-080
	Notice of Proposed Change of Personal Residence or Completed Change of Residence of Conservatee or Ward (form GC-080) must be used for the notices required under this rule and Probate Code section 2352(e). The conservator, the conservator’s attorney, or an employee of the attorney may complete the mailing and sign the Proof of Mailing on page 2 of the form.




