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California Rules of Court, rules 10.5(h) and 10.13(d) allow the Judicial Council to act on business 
between meetings, including urgent matters, by circulating order. This memorandum is not a Judicial 
Council meeting, circulating orders are conducted via electronic communications. Prior public notice of a 
proposed circulating order is not required. 

Executive Summary 
The enactment of the Tenant, Homeowner, and Small Landlord Relief and Stabilization Act of 
2020 (Assem. Bill 3088; Stats. 2020, ch. 37) changes the practice and procedures relating to all 
residential unlawful detainer actions from now until January 31, 2021, and for a longer period for 
actions based on unpaid rent or other charges due at any time between March 1, 2020, and 
January 31, 2021. The Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee is recommending new and 
revised forms to assist courts in determining how to properly proceed with cases under the new 
law, and to assist parties in understanding their rights and responsibilities. 

DRAFT

mailto:judicialcouncil@jud.ca.gov


CO-20-15 

 2 

Because the new law was enacted as urgency legislation late on August 31, 2020, with many of 
the new procedures relating to unlawful detainers based on nonpayment of rent becoming 
operative on October 5, this proposal was developed on a highly accelerated timeline with the 
intent of having new and revised forms effective by that date. 

Recommendation 
The Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee recommends that the Judicial Council, 
effective October 5, 2020: 

1. Adopt as mandatory Plaintiff’s Mandatory Cover Sheet and Supplemental Allegations—
Unlawful Detainer (form UD-101); 

2. Approve as optional Cover Sheet for Declaration of COVID-19–Related Financial Distress 
(form UD-104) and Attachment—Declaration of COVID-19–Related Financial Distress 
(form UD-104(A)); and 

3. Revise Answer—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-105). 

The proposed new forms are attached at pages 20–29. 

Relevant Previous Council Action 
On March 27, 2020, the Governor issued an executive order1 giving the Judicial Council of 
California and the Chief Justice as Chair of the Judicial Council authority to take necessary 
action to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, including by adopting emergency rules that 
otherwise would be inconsistent with statutes concerning civil or criminal practice or procedure. 
The Governor’s order also suspended statutes to the extent that they would be inconsistent with 
such emergency rules. At the time of this order and for several weeks thereafter the Legislature 
was not in session. Under that order, the council adopted emergency rules 1 through 11 on 
April 6, 2020.2 

Among those rules, the Judicial Council adopted emergency rule 1, which prevented courts from 
issuing summons on unlawful detainer complaints or issuing defaults in such actions, unless the 
plaintiff could show the need to proceed on public health and safety grounds, and continued trials 
in any unlawful detainer actions for at least 60 days, with no new trials to be set until at least 60 
days after a request for trial is filed. By its term, emergency rule 1 was to remain in effect until 
90 days after the Governor declares that the state of emergency related to the COVID-19 
pandemic was lifted, or until amended or repealed by the Judicial Council. On August 13, 2020, 
the Judicial Council amended emergency rule 1 to sunset on September 1, 2020. 

 
1 Executive Order N-38-20, www.gov.ca.gov/wp-content/uploads/2020/03/3.27.20-N-38-20.pdf. 
2 The council also subsequently adopted emergency rules 12 and 13 by circulating order. 
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Analysis/Rationale 

Background 
Assembly Bill 3088, which includes the COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act of 2020 (adding sections 
1179.01 through 1179.07 to the Code of Civil Procedure3), was enacted as urgency legislation, 
and so put in place new provisions addressing unlawful detainer actions that are already in effect. 
(See Link A.) The bill provides, among other things, certain protections to residential tenants 
being terminated for failure to pay rent due from March 1, 2020, through January 31, 2021. In 
order for courts to determine whether, in light of these new protections, judgments may issue on 
unlawful detainer cases over the coming months, plaintiffs will need to provide information 
beyond the allegations contained in Judicial Council form Complaint—Unlawful Detainer (form 
UD-100) or included in individually drafted complaints prior to the enactment of AB 3088. The 
changes in the law that result in the courts needing this additional information are summarized 
below. 

AB 3088 provisions effective before October 5, 2020 
To begin, plaintiffs in all unlawful detainer actions must file a supplemental cover sheet that 
states whether the property at issue is residential or commercial, and whether the reason for 
termination is based in whole or in part on failure to pay rent or other charges. (§ 1179.01.5(c).) 

Until October 5, 2020, for unlawful detainer actions for residential tenancies (including for 
mobile homes) based in whole or in part on nonpayment of rent or other charges, the new law 
continues the prohibition on a court issuing a summons or default judgment that was in effect 
under California Rules of Court, emergency rule 1. (§ 1179.01.5(b).) AB 3088 contains no 
similar stay for actions on residential tenancies solely for reasons other than failure to pay—
although they have to meet certain requirements (§ 1179.03.5(a)(3))—and no prohibitions at all 
on actions for commercial tenancies.4 

AB 3088 provisions effective October 5, 2020, through January 31, 2021 
During this period the following provisions apply: 

• Actions in unlawful detainer based on a termination notice or notices that demand 
payment of rent or other financial obligations may proceed if: 

o The time to pay in the termination notice ended before March 1, 2020 
(§ 1179.03.5(a)(1)); or 

 
3 All further statutory references are to the Code of Civil Procedure unless otherwise indicated. 
4 For purposes of the COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act of 2020, “tenant” does not include tenants of commercial 
properties. (§ 1179.02(h).) 
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o The rent or other financial obligation was due between March 1, 2020, and January 
31, 2021 (COVID-19 rental debt5) and both of the following apply: 

 Landlord provided tenant with the newly required 15-day termination notice that 
includes an unsigned copy of a declaration of financial distress (§ 1179.03(b) & 
(c).) (This notice can only be served after or at the same time as service of a more 
general notice of the tenant’s rights. (§ 1179.04(c).) 

 Tenant did not provide landlord with a signed declaration of financial distress in 
response, and in certain instances with documentation to support the declaration 
(§ 1179.02.5(c)), within the 15-day period.6 (§ 1179.03.5(a)(2).) 

• If the tenant in an action based on a termination notice that demands payment of 
COVID-19 rental debt does timely provide the landlord with a declaration of financial 
distress, stating under penalty of perjury that the tenant has experienced a loss of income 
or increase in expenses related to the COVID-19 pandemic: 

o For rents due between March 1, 2020, and August 31, 2020 (COVID-19 rental debt 
due during the protected time period),7 no unlawful detainer judgment may ever issue 
based on that unpaid rent. (§ 1179.03(g)(1).) The tenant is still liable for the protected 
COVID-19 rental debt (see notice to tenant in section 1179.03(b)(4)), but that debt 
cannot be a basis for an unlawful detainer action. 

o For rents due between September 1, 2020, and January 31, 2021 (COVID-19 rental 
debt due during the transition period):8 

 No unlawful detainer action may be initiated by the landlord until February 1, 
2021 (§ 1179.03(g)(2)(A)). 

 No unlawful detainer judgment may ever issue based on that unpaid rent if the 
tenant, by January 31, 2021, pays the landlord at least 25 percent of all 
COVID-19 rental debt due during the transition period. (§ 1179.03(g)(2)(B).) The 

 
5 “COVID-19 rental debt” is defined in the statute as “unpaid rent or on any other unpaid financial obligation of a 
tenant under the tenancy that came due during the covered time period.” (§ 1179.02(c).) The phrase is not further 
defined, and the meaning of other financial obligations will ultimately have to be determined by a court. 
6 If the tenant does not provide the landlord with the declaration of financial distress within the required time, the 
tenant may file one with the court within the time for answering the complaint. If the court, after a noticed hearing, 
finds good cause for failure to meet the deadline, the protections in the act will apply and the case may be dismissed 
or conditionally dismissed. (§ 1179.03(h).) One of the forms the advisory committee proposes is a cover sheet for 
such filings. 
7 AB 3088 defines “protected time period” as the “time period between March 1, 2020, and August 31, 2020.” 
(§ 1179.02(f).) 
8 AB 3088 defines “transition time period” as the “time period between September 1, 2020, and January 31, 2021.” 
(§ 1179.02(i).) 
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tenant is still liable for the other 75 percent of the COVID-19 rental debt from the 
transition period (see notice to tenant in section 1179.03(c)(4)), but that debt 
cannot be a basis for an eviction. 

 If the tenant does not pay the 25 percent minimum by January 31, 2021, an 
unlawful detainer action may proceed after January 31, 2021. 

o After March 1, 2021, and through January 31, 2025, actions to recover the unpaid 
protected or transitional COVID-19 rental debt that are over the small claims court 
jurisdictional amount may be brought in small claims court.9 (§ 116.223(a)(4).) In 
addition, a landlord of residential rental property may bring more than two such 
actions in small claims court in any calendar year during that period, notwithstanding 
the limit in section 116.231. (§ 116.223(c).) 

• Other actions in unlawful detainers for residential tenancies may proceed to judgment 
before February 1, 2021, but until that date the following provisions apply: 

o The time period in which to act in the termination notice provided to the tenant ended 
before March 1, 2020 (§ 1179.03.5(a)(1)); 

o If the time period ended March 1, 2020, or later: 

 The basis for the termination must be either an “at-fault just cause” or a “no-fault 
just cause,” as those terms are defined in Civil Code section 1946.2(b)(1) and (2), 
with some additional requirements for two just cause reasons (§ 1179.03.5(a)(3)); 
and 

 Damages for COVID-19 rental debt may not be included in the unlawful detainer 
judgment unless the action is also based on a failure to pay such rent and the 
tenant did not provide the declaration of financial distress. (§ 1179.03.5(a)(3)(B).) 

Federal protections 
The CARES Act10 prohibits evictions from rental units in properties with federally backed 
multifamily mortgages if subject to a mortgage forbearance, and for 30 days after the 
forbearance ends (15 U.S.C. § 9507).11  

 
9 This may require a new Judicial Council small claims form for actions to recover COVID-19 rental debt that are 
over the jurisdictional limit, but because such cases may not be brought in small claims court until March 1, 2021, 
there is more time for that form to be developed. 
10 The Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (Pub. L. No. 116-136 (Mar. 27, 2020) 134 Stat. 281). 
11 The CARES Act’s broader eviction protection of rental units in all properties that participate in federal assistance 
programs or have a federally backed mortgage or multifamily mortgage loan ended on July 24, 2020 and has not 
been extended as of this time. 
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There is also a new federal order to be considered. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention (CDC) issued an agency order temporarily halting evictions for failure to pay rent on 
public health grounds (to keep people out of shelters and shared accommodations), effective 
September 4, 2020, through December 31, 2020. The order provides that during that period a 
landlord or property owner 

shall not evict any covered person from any residential property in any State or 
U.S. territory … that provides a level of public-health protections below the 
requirements listed in this Order. 
 

(Temporary Halt in Residential Evictions to Prevent the Further Spread of COVID-19, 85 Fed. 
Reg. 55292 at 55296 (Sept. 4, 2020); see Link B (CDC order).) 

New form for plaintiffs (form UD-101) 
The advisory committee is recommending the expedited adoption of a mandatory form, effective 
October 5, 2020, that must be filed by any plaintiff seeking court action on a pending unlawful 
detainer case or filing a new unlawful detainer complaint: Plaintiff’s Mandatory Cover Sheet and 
Supplemental Allegations—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-101). This form will comprise the 
cover sheet mandated by the statute, along with allegations as to the various facts that a court 
will need to know to properly apply the new provisions in the COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act of 
2020 to both pending cases and new cases. Without such information, it will be difficult, and in 
some situations—including entry of default judgments—may not be possible, for a court to 
proceed under the new law. Section 1179.01.5(c)(4) expressly provides that the Judicial Council 
may develop a form for mandatory use that includes the information required to be in the cover 
sheet. 

The content of form UD-101 and why it is needed is summarized below. 

• The instructions advise plaintiffs that they must file this form in unlawful detainer 
actions, whether asking the court to act in a pending unlawful detainer proceeding or 
filing a new complaint. They are also advised that this form takes the place of the cover 
sheet required in section 1179.01.5(c), and that they need to serve it either with the 
summons (for new complaints being filed) or, in pending cases, by mail or any other 
means authorized by law. The instructions also inform the parties that, if the form is filed 
in a pending action in which the defendant has already filed an answer, the defendant is 
not required to respond to any new allegations in the form before trial. 

• Items 2a and 2b provide the information that section 1179.01.5 requires in a cover sheet 
for all unlawful detainer actions. The instructions in item 2a note that if the plaintiff 
indicates that the property at issue is only commercial, no other information is required. 
They also note that if the property is residential, all remaining items that apply to the 
action should be completed. 
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• Item 3, added in light of comments received on the forms, addresses the fact that 
“tenants” is defined in AB 3088 to exclude not only tenants on commercial properties, 
but also tenants that are not natural persons, and people who live in transient tenancies. 

• Item 4 addresses federal law protections that might be available, both under the CDC 
order (asking whether or not the defendant has provided a hardship statement under the 
CDC order and warning plaintiffs that they may face penalties if they proceed in violation 
of the order) and under the CARES Act (asking whether the property is subject to a 
mortgage forbearance, which would preclude evictions under title 15 United States Code 
section 9507). If a court determines that either protection applies in a given case, the 
court can determine appropriate action based on this information. 

• Item 5, clarified in light of comments received, allows a plaintiff to allege that the action 
is based on a termination notice that expired before March 1, 2020 (and so can go 
forward before February 1, 2021, under section 1179.03.5(a)(1)). If the action is based 
solely on this pre-COVID-19 notice, the instructions note that no further items in the 
form need be completed. 

• Item 6 provides the new information the court will need to proceed on actions based on 
rent or other financial obligations due during the protected time period (between March 1, 
2020, and August 31, 2020): 

o Did the landlord provide the “Notice From the State of California” regarding the 
tenant’s rights required by section 1179.04? (Item 9 asks for information regarding 
when and how it was provided.) 

o Did the landlord serve the newly required 15-day termination notice with a blank 
declaration of financial distress (§ 1179.03(b))? If not, the notice is not sufficient to 
support an unlawful detainer judgment and any case—no matter when filed—based 
on a different notice may be dismissed. (§ 1179.03(a).) If so, that is the notice of 
termination that should be attached to the complaint. (Instructions to that effect are 
included for those using the form complaint.) 

There are also instructions that if the 15-day termination notice identifies the 
defendant as a “high-income tenant” and asks for documentation of the financial 
distress, then the plaintiff must provide additional information, as required by section 
1179.02.5, in item 9. 

o Did the defendant timely provide a declaration of financial distress? If so, an unlawful 
eviction judgment may not issue (§ 1179.03(g)); if not, the case may proceed to 
judgment before February 1, 2021 (§ 1179.03.5(a)(2)). 

• Item 7 is essentially the same as item 6 but is for actions based on rent or other financial 
obligations due during the transition time period (between September 1, 2020, and January 
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31, 2021). This separate item is needed because a landlord must give different 15-day 
notices for the different periods. (§ 1179.03(c) & (e).) Item 7 also includes an item to be 
completed only in cases filed after January 31, 2021, to provide information as to the 
amount the tenant paid for rent due during the transition time period. Only if a defendant 
who has filed a declaration of financial distress has failed to pay the 25 percent minimum 
may an unlawful detainer judgment be issued. (§ 1179.03(g).)12 

• Item 9 addresses the additional information needed if the 15-day termination notice 
identified the defendant as a high-income tenant. If so, the plaintiff must allege having 
proof of the tenant’s high income before sending the 15-day termination notice. 
(§ 1179.02.5(f).) In addition, a tenant must have complied in two different ways to receive 
the protection of the new law and preclude an action from proceeding (at least before 
February 1, 2021): (1) have timely returned the declaration of financial distress and 
(2) have timely submitted documentation supporting that declaration. Item 9 includes 
allegations about both. 

• Item 10 addresses the additional information required for unlawful detainer judgments to 
be issued on residential tenancies before February 1, 2021 (beyond that provided 
elsewhere on the form—action based on termination notices that expired before March 1, 
2020, or declaration of financial risk not timely provided): that the termination is based on 
either at-fault or no-fault just cause as defined in Civil Code section 1946.2(b)(1) or (2) 
(albeit with some specified additional requirements for two of the bases for no-fault just 
cause). (§ 1179.03.5(a)(3).)13 Because, through January 31, 2021, the just cause 
requirements are not limited to only those tenancies to which Civil Code section 1946.2 
otherwise applies, this supplemental information is needed for a court to determine if a 
judgment can proceed  under this provisions of AB 3088.14 

Item 10c is included to put the party and the court on notice that, before February 1, 2021, 
COVID-19 rental debt cannot be recovered in an action based solely on these just-cause 
claims. (§ 1179.03.5(a)(3)(B).) Damages are available in such actions only if the 

 
12 The California Apartment Association has commented that the information in this item may not reflect whether 
the amount paid is sufficient under the statute to preclude eviction because there may have been one or more months 
during the period covered by the complaint when no declaration of financial distress  was filed was filed in response 
to a 15-day notice and so 100 percent of the rent must be paid for that month. The committee notes that the plaintiff 
can include such allegations in the complaint and declines to modify this item. 
13 At-fault just cause, as defined in Civil Code section 1946.2(b)(1), includes failure to pay rent. Some commenters, 
including the tenant advocates and the California legislators, requested that item 10a regarding the “at-fault just 
cause” basis for termination of a tenancy be modified to expressly exclude nonpayment of rent from the at-fault 
bases permitted, on the ground that including nonpayment of rent would be inconsistent with the purpose and intent 
of AB 3088. However, the committee concluded it could not carve out an exception in the form from what is set out 
in the plain language of the statute. The position of the commenters may well have merit—but reconciling the intent 
of the legislation with the reference to Civil Code section 1946.2(b)(1) is a matter that will have to be resolved by a 
court and not in the drafting of a form or in this recommendation to the Judicial Council. 
14 In Complaint—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-100), the item stating whether good cause exists is limited to 
tenancies subject to the Tenant Protection Act of 2019 (Assem. Bill 1482; Stats. 2019, ch. 597). 
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termination of the tenancy is also based on a cause for nonpayment of rent and the tenant 
did not return the declaration of financial distress in compliance with section 1179.03. 
(Id.) 

• Item 11 allows a plaintiff filing after February 1, 2021, to state that the action is based on 
a demand for payment of rent due after January 31, 2021. Because this form is mandatory 
and will be needed for as long as a plaintiff may seek an eviction based on COVID-19 
rental debt,15 this item is needed to indicate that certain actions based on nonpayment of 
rent after February 1, 2021, are not subject to the provisions in AB 3088. 

New and revised forms for defendants 

Answer—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-105) 
The intent of form UD-101 is to provide courts with the information needed to know how an 
unlawful detainer case should proceed under the new—and complex—provisions of AB 3088. 
For pending cases, the form will do no more than provide that information. But for new unlawful 
detainer cases, the supplemental allegations will effectively act as a supplement to the complaint, 
the impact of which was not fully considered when the forms were originally proposed. As many 
commenters have asserted, tenants should have the right to contest those allegations through a 
denial—if they do not, then, as several commenters have noted, plaintiffs may argue that the 
allegations cannot later be contested. 

In addition, many commenters asserted that the proposal unfairly benefits plaintiff landlords, by 
providing them in new form UD-101 a checklist of the new requirements under AB 3088 and 
allowing them to make the additional allegations needed to comply with that law, without 
providing similar assistance to defendant tenants in asserting defenses under the new act, or even 
to contest the new supplemental allegations. They assert that the new form UD-101 should not 
go forward without corresponding revisions to the Answer—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-105). 

Although the committee in no way intended the proposal to benefit one party over the other, in 
light of the comments received, it understands that there is a perception of unfairness. The 
committee is also concerned that defendants, particularly self-represented defendants who rely 
on Judicial Council forms, need to be able to deny allegations in the new form UD-101 that they 
disagree with because, if they do not, it can be argued that they have waived their right to do so. 

To address these issues, the committee proposes revising the Answer—Unlawful Detainer (form 
UD-105 to be effective October 5, 2020, even though this form has not yet been circulated. The 
recommended revisions are two-fold: 

• Add new items in which a defendant may deny any of the supplemental allegations 
provided in form UD-101, either as part of a general denial (item 2a) or a specific denial 
(items 2b(3) and (4)); and 

 
15 A termination notice for default in rent payment may be served for up to one year after the default. (§ 1161, 
para. 2.) 
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• Add new affirmative defenses at items 3l and 3m, adding to the checklist in the form 

those affirmative defenses that a defendant can raise under AB 3088, plus two under 
federal eviction protections. In addition, there is an “other” item for any affirmative 
defenses under AB 3088’s COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act of 2020 or local COVID-19–
related ordinances to cover any affirmative defenses not identified here (item 3m(7)). 
 

Recommending a form without prior circulation for public comment is rare, but the current 
situation calls for urgent action. With courts authorized to proceed under AB 3088 with unlawful 
detainer cases for nonpayment of rent beginning October 5, 2020, the revised answer form with 
affirmative defenses under that new law and under federal eviction protections should be 
available by that same date. In addition, while the revised answer form has not yet been 
circulated, many commenters on the proposal that was circulated urged that revisions to the 
answer form are necessary if proposed form UD-101 is to be adopted by the council. The 
committee recommends that the council revise the answer form now, and that the form be 
circulated for comment shortly after it goes into effect. Although the committee has tried to 
identify all the affirmative defenses that apply at this time, circulation could identify additional 
ones that could be added to the form. 

Cover sheet for late declaration and attachment (forms UD-104 and UD-104(A)) 
The advisory committee also proposes the expedited adoption of a form for defendants to use to 
file a declaration of financial distress received from the landlord with the court: Cover Sheet for 
Declaration of COVID-19–Related Financial Distress (form UD-104). As noted above, if the 
tenant has been served with an unsigned declaration of financial distress with a 15-day notice but 
does not deliver the signed declaration to the landlord within the statutorily required time, and 
the landlord files an unlawful detainer action, the tenant may file a signed declaration directly 
with the court within the time for answering the complaint. (§ 1179.03(h).) The court is to set a 
hearing if a late declaration is filed, providing between 5 and 10 days’ notice to the parties, to 
determine if there is just cause for the late filing using the standard set out in section 473 and, if 
so, to dismiss the case. (Id.) 

The proposed cover sheet identifies the action with which the declaration is connected and also 
provides the defendant’s contact information in the event the defendant does not file an answer at 
the same time (contact information the court will need to notice a hearing). The filing of the 
cover sheet will act as a trigger for the court, so that the court knows to set the mandated hearing 
and provide required notice to the parties. 

Originally this form was proposed as a mandatory form, to ensure that the court would be able to 
identify in what case the declaration should be filed and the hearing set, and would know that a 
hearing needed to be set.16 However, the committee received extensive comments asserting that 

 
16 The committee was concerned that should the late declaration instead be attached to the answer or some other 
responsive pleading, for example, the court would not be aware of it or of the need to set a hearing until close to or 
at the time of trial. 
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making this form mandatory would unfairly burden defendants, who, if self-represented, are 
unlikely to know of the requirement and, in light of the short time frame for filing the declaration 
with the court, may lose the protection of the law if the declaration is rejected because it was not 
attached to this cover sheet. In light of those comments, the committee is recommending this 
form be an optional one. Although the committee is concerned that declarations provided to the 
court without any cover sheet may be impossible for a court to associate with the correct action, 
it has concluded that the burden on all defendants to be required to use the cover sheet outweighs 
the potential impact on those defendants who do not identify their declarations in such a way that 
they can be filed in an ongoing action. 

The new optional form UD-104 also, at the suggestion of commenters, now includes links to two 
websites where defendants can find legal resources and information about other protections that 
may be available under federal or local law. The form links to the website that AB 3088 
mandates be identified in the notices to tenants, and the website that the California Department 
of Real Estate has created to assist all parties with this new law. 

The form also advises the defendant of the timeline for filing the late declaration (the same time 
frame within which the defendant must file an answer), of the actions the court will take upon 
receiving the form (including the standard the court will apply to determine if the case should be 
dismissed), and a link to a website from which anyone filing a non-English-language version of 
the declaration can find an English-language version to attach as well. 

The recommended form UD-104 no longer includes an optional item that was included in the 
form that was circulated for comment. That item would have allowed the defendant to provide 
the court an explanation of the reasons for the late provision of the declaration, in advance of the 
hearing. Although the committee had intended that to be helpful to defendants, inclusion of that 
item also meant that the form must be served on all parties to the action, since otherwise it would 
have constituted an ex parte communication with the court. Because of the concerns raised by 
many commenters that requiring service of this form would place a significant burden on self-
represented defendants, particularly those without access to printers or copiers, the committee 
concluded that the burden to the parties was not worth what advantage they might gain by being 
able to provide a written explanation of their actions in advance of the hearing. Therefore, the 
form now being recommended is only a cover sheet for the declaration, with no option on it for 
adding statements by the defendant, and the prior instruction that it must be served is no longer 
on the form. 

For defendants who want to file a late declaration but no longer have the declaration form served 
on them by the landlord, a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress is also included in 
the proposal (form UD-104(A)), containing the text required for such a declaration in 
section 1179.02(d), which can be signed and either attached to the cover sheet or filed on its 
own. 
DRAFT
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Policy implications 
The COVID-19 pandemic presents an unprecedented crisis that threatens the lives, health, and 
safety of all Californians. In AB 3088 the Legislature has enacted policies balancing protections 
for tenants, who are facing the loss of housing and potentially face homelessness as a result of 
financial losses or expenditures related to the pandemic, with the rights of property owners who 
also have financial interests at stake. Because the legislation changes the practice and procedures 
relating to all residential unlawful detainer actions, it will have a significant impact on the courts 
in coming months. The council could choose to not adopt or revise any forms for this period, 
particularly since it may only last for a few months, instead leaving it up to each party and each 
court to determine their own way through the new laws. However, as noted in the comment from 
the Joint Rules Committee (JRS) of the Trial Court Presiding Judges Committee and Court 
Executives Advisory Committee, the proposed forms will assist courts in providing consistent 
experiences to court users attempting to navigate the challenging new provisions set forth in 
AB 3088. 

Comments 
Because of the short time between the enactment of the law and the October 5 operative date of 
many of its provisions, proposed new forms UD-101, UD-104, and UD-104(A) were circulated 
for only a three-day comment period. During that time, 55 comments (totaling 195 pages of 
comments) were received. They came from 23 legal service and public advocacy groups 
(hereafter referred to as tenant advocates); 7 courts and the JRS; the California Apartment 
Association and Southern California Rental Housing Association and several individual landlord 
attorneys; a group of six state legislators; a union, SEIU California; and various other individuals 
and attorneys. The comments are provided in their entirety with this memo,17 starting with a list 
of all commenters, and their position on the proposal if indicated in the comment.18 The content 
of the significant comments is summarized below, along with the committee’s responses. 

The JRS and the Superior Courts of Los Angeles and Monterey Counties agreed with the 
proposal, with the latter stating it would prove valuable to parties and courts. 

A few other courts agreed with the concept generally but requested modifications, some 
commenting that they thought form UD-101 should be split in two, with the very brief cover 
sheet mandated by the statute (essentially, item 2 in form UD-101) as one form, and the 
supplemental allegations as a separate form, either mandatory (Superior Court of Riverside 
County), or permissive (Superior Court of San Diego County), or incorporated into revised UD 
complaint and answer forms (Superior Court of Santa Barbara County). The committee 
considered these and concluded that the single mandatory form UD-101 would best assure 
consistency for court users throughout the state. 

 
17 Comments are attached at the ending of the Circulating Order Memorandum, following the voting pages. The 
comments are in alphabetical order by name of entity or individual making the comment, and are bookmarked so 
that a particular comment can be easily located. 
18 “A” for agree with proposal, “AM” for agree if modified, “N” for not agree, and “NI” for position not indicated. 
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The comment from a group of six California legislators (in the comments under “California 
Legislators”) agreed with the proposal generally, but requested some changes that, they believe, 
would better reflect the intent behind the legislation. Those changes are discussed below. The 
California Apartment Association had a similar position, although the changes they requested are 
different. 

A few commenters strongly opposed the proposal, including UCLA law professor emeritus Gary 
Blasi, Neighborhood Legal Services of Los Angeles County, and the Legal Aid Foundation of 
Los Angeles, opining that the proposed form UD-101 aided landlords, while no similar 
assistance was provided for tenants and the proposed form UD-104 placed multiple burdens on 
them. For the reasons stated above, the committee concluded the proposal should move forward, 
although it is now proposing an additional form to provide more help to defendants. From the 
other side of the bar, four landlord attorneys from the Fresno area (starting with attorney John 
Cadwalader19) also oppose the forms, stating, “The parties should be permitted to fully litigate 
the requirements of the [COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act of 2020] without being handicapped by 
the Judicial Council.” Although the committee accepted and incorporated into form UD-101 
several of the more technical points offered by these commenters, it disagreed that forms would 
in any way handicap plaintiffs in unlawful detainer cases. 

The California Access to Justice Commission did not expressly state that it opposed the forms 
but commented that the forms as proposed are unfair to tenants and suggested the forms should 
be delayed until the council could proactively provide further information to all parties. Several 
other commenters also suggested delaying implementation of the form, to give parties and courts 
more time to be educated on the provisions of AB 3088. While the advisory committee agrees 
that the proposal is moving at a much faster pace than is ideal, the committee concluded that a 
delay would not ultimately be helpful to anyone, as the cases can proceed beginning October 5 
whether or not the forms are available to aid courts and parties. As to the suggestions to 
proactively provide information to all parties, this action is outside the scope of this forms 
proposal by the Civil and Small Claims Advisory Committee but has been referred to council 
staff working on self-help centers and the California Courts self-help website. 

The tenant advocates, other than the two legal services groups mentioned above, did not indicate 
a position on the proposal but raised several concerns, which are summarized below. 

Tenant advocates comments 
In addition to comments on the content of each of the proposed forms, most of the tenant 
advocates comments raise the same three issues: (1) that the forms should give greater effect to 
the federal CDC order, including adding instructions to the court clerk to not accept the unlawful 
detainer complaint if plaintiff indicates that a tenant had provided a declaration under that order; 
(2) that there is a due process issue because the statute and form are silent on whether an answer 

 
19 This commenter also raised several more technical points regarding AB 3088 that have now been incorporated 
into the proposed form. 
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must be filed at the same time as the declaration; and (3) that the proposal provides inequitable 
access to justice by aiding plaintiff landlords but not defendant tenants. 

Giving effect to the CDC order 
The proposed form UD-101 does include an item in which the plaintiff must state whether the 
tenant has provided a declaration under the CDC order. (See item 4a.) However, the tenant 
advocates assert that such a statement, by itself, is insufficient. The commenters argue that the 
only evictions that can go forward if a declaration has been provided to the landlord under that 
order are those based on wrongful actions by the tenant. They assert that this means that the CDC 
order is broader in scope than AB 3088, in that it prohibits no-fault evictions as well as 
nonpayment evictions from an earlier period than the state law prohibits and that, therefore, the 
CDC eviction moratorium applies here in California.20 

The tenant advocates assert that form UD-101 needs to include instructions to the clerk to refuse 
to accept a filing if item 4a indicates a declaration has been provided to the plaintiff under the 
CDC order, unless the action is being filed on a basis permitted under that order. The committee 
concluded that this is not an appropriate instruction to include on the form. Clerks may only 
refuse to accept filings if the clerks can act on a ministerial basis. Having a clerk determine if an 
action is “permitted” under the CDC order goes far beyond ministerial action. In addition, it is 
not yet clear that the CDC order applies in California. The CDC order “does not apply in any 
State, local, territorial, or tribal area with a moratorium on residential evictions that provides the 
same or greater level of public-health protection than the requirements listed in this Order.” This 
could be interpreted to mean that the order does not apply in this state, because California 
provides a greater level of protection overall (e.g., for a longer period of time, and to renters of 
all income levels) than the CDC order. This is the position the California Apartment Association 
takes in their comment. (That commenter believes there should be no mention at all of the CDC 
order in form UD-101.) A contrary interpretation—the one asserted by the tenant advocates 
here—is that the CDC order applies in California, at least with respect to certain categories of 
renters who may not be protected by AB 3088. But which interpretation applies and whether the 
CDC order applies to a particular case will likely require a judicial determination. The committee 
concluded that this is not a determination that it could make and that it should not revise the form 
to direct a clerk to refuse to accept a complaint if a plaintiff had received a declaration under the 
CDC order. 

Other suggestions relating to the CDC order by the tenant advocates and other commenters 
include the following: 

• Add to item 4 on form UD-101 a reference to the penalties that a plaintiff might face if 
proceeding in violation of the order. The committee agreed with this suggestion and has 
added such a warning. 

 
20 The comment by the National Housing Law Project provides a more detailed presentation of this argument. 
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• Provide advice on form UD-104 that the CDC order might provide tenants with 
protection if AB 3088 does not. The committee has added advice to that form to seek 
more legal resources and information about other protections under federal or local law, 
and provided links to two websites, the one cited in AB 3088 and the one put up by the 
California Department of Real Estate. 

• Attach a copy of an unsigned declaration under the CDC order to form UD-104. (This in 
comments from the six California legislators and Public Advocates Inc.) In light of the 
discussion above, and the fact that the declaration is based on federal rather than state 
law, the committee concluded it was not appropriate to include it as part of a Judicial 
Council form. 

• Include an emergency rule of court staying all residential unlawful detainer actions until 
such time as the court could provide defendants with information about the CDC order 
and an unsigned copy of a declaration under that order, and provide parties with time to 
provide a signed order. The committee considered but rejected this suggestion by 
commenter Public Advocates Inc. The committee concluded that, even putting aside the 
uncertainty of the applicability of the CDC order, such a recommendation would be 
recommending substantive policy in place of the Legislature rather than providing for 
procedure, and goes beyond the purview of this committee. 

Revising UD-104 to clarify necessity of filing a responsive pleading 
The tenant advocates argue that the defendant’s filing of a late declaration with the court relieves 
the defendant from having to file an answer until after such time as the court holds a hearing, 
rules on whether the case should be dismissed and, if not, provides additional time for the answer 
to be filed. They consider this a due process issue and express concerns that it is not addressed in 
form UD-104. The commenters concede that the statute, as well as proposed form UD-104, is 
silent as to how the filing of the late declaration permitted under section 1179.03(h) may affect 
the requirement for filing a responsive pleading. 

The commenters argue that the tenants should not be required to file an answer with their 
declaration “because the statute creates a procedure where the declaration functions similarly to a 
‘motion to dismiss.’” They propose that, in order to preserve a defendant’s right to file a 
responsive pleading, form UD-104 should state in bold letters at the top that, once filed, no 
default may be entered against the defendant. And they propose that no default should be entered 
unless and until the court rules against the defendant and the tenant fails to file a responsive 
pleading after the hearing, within a time to be set by the court (presumably at the hearing or as 
part of the court’s ruling after the hearing). 

The statute does not actually require a motion or any pleading at all be filed with the declaration 
(a point the commenters themselves raise in arguing that form UD-104—the cover sheet for the 
declaration—should not be mandatory), so the committee was not convinced that the form 
should treat the filing of the declaration as the equivalent of a responsive pleading. There is 
nothing in the statute to indicate that the defendant, having been served a summons and 
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complaint, is relieved of the requirement of filing an answer by filing the late declaration. 
Indeed, the fact that the hearing on a late declaration “may be held in conjunction with any other 
regularly noticed hearing in the case” (§1179.03(h)(1)(C)) seems to indicate otherwise—that the 
case is to proceed as any unlawful detainer case would unless dismissed. The committee 
concluded that there is nothing in the plain language of the statute that would support the 
council’s interpreting the law on this point and positing in a form that the filing of a declaration 
eliminates or defers the statutory requirement of filing an answer to an unlawful detainer 
complaint. The instructions in proposed form UD-104 have been revised to warn parties of the 
time frame for filing an answer. 

Inequitable access to justice 
The tenant advocates, and some other commenters, including the California Access to Justice 
Commission, assert that the proposal unfairly benefits plaintiff landlords by providing them a 
checklist of the new requirements of AB 3088 and allowing them to make the additional 
allegations needed to comply with that law, without providing similar assistance to defendant 
tenants in asserting defenses under the new act, or even to contest the new supplemental 
allegations. They argue that new form UD-101 should not go forward without corresponding 
revisions to Answer—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-105). As discussed in more detail above, 
after considering these comments the committee agreed to address this issue by recommending 
revisions to form UD-105 as part of this proposal. 

The other aspect of the proposal that the tenant advocates, the California legislators, and other 
commenters found unfair was the fact that the proposal would require that the defendant tenant 
use a Judicial Council form to file a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress with the 
court. Commenters were concerned that requiring defendants to use a specific form to file the 
declaration was too burdensome for many tenants, primarily due to self-represented tenants’ lack 
of knowledge that the requirement exists, and also due to lack of access to copiers or printers 
during this pandemic. They argued that rejection of the filings for lack of the mandatory form 
could result in defendants losing their rights, especially in light of the short period within which 
the form must be filed. As discussed above, the committee agreed and is now proposing form 
UD-104 as an optional form. 

Specific changes to the forms 
Commenters also raised other, more specific concerns about the proposed forms. The committee 
considered all of the points raised and incorporated many of the suggested changes, while 
declining others. In addition to the modifications that have already been described, the more 
significant comments on the proposal and the committee’s responses are noted below. 

Form UD-101 
• Item 4b has been added in light of the comment by the group of six California legislators, 

which requested incorporating an item addressing a potential eviction moratorium under 
federal law for multifamily properties with federally backed loans that are in forbearance. 
(The committee also included affirmative defenses for federal eviction protections to 
form UD-105, including that a 30-day notice is required for some.) 
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• In light of comments from several landlord advocates and others, any place where the law 
uses the phrase “COVID-19 rental debt” and the form had stated just “rent,” the phrase 
“rent and other financial obligations” has been added to more closely reflect the 
definition in the statute. (See, for example, the title of item 6.) 

• Because, as several commenters noted, the general “Notice From the State of California” 
required by section 1179.04 must be provided before the 15-day notice in the transition 
time period as well as the protected time period, and may be provided on a form with a 
different title, items regarding that notice have been modified. 

• Because many commenters found the items regarding whether the 15-day notice 
designated the tenant as a “high-income tenant” confusing (former items 6d(3) and 
8b(3)), the committee rewrote the items as instructions to complete item 9 if the tenant is 
so designated. (Item 9 contains more specific information relating to high-income 
tenants.) 

• In light of comments questioning what the content of some subitems in item 10 is based 
on, cites to the specific code sections that support each subitem were added. 

• The committee considered, but did not agree with, comments from tenant advocates that 
instructions should be added at the beginning of form UD-101 mandating that the 
plaintiff serve the tenant with a blank form UD-104 and unsigned declaration of financial 
distress along with this form. AB 3088 requires a landlord to provide to a tenant, along 
with the 15-day notice, an unsigned declaration and information about when it must be 
delivered back to the landlord. There is nothing in the statute that mandates that the 
landlord must do that a second time if the tenant does not return the declaration and the 
landlord files an action. That form UD-104 is now proposed as an optional form makes 
such a requirement even less appropriate. 

Forms UD-104 and UD-104(A) 
• Based on comments received, including comments from the Oakland City Attorney’s 

Office, the committee revised form UD-104 to make the five-day time frame for filing 
the declaration more obvious and to state more clearly that the case against the defendant 
may be dismissed if the form and signed declaration are filed. 

• The committee declined to accept the suggestions in comments from the tenant advocates 
and California legislators to remove the statement that written filings must be in English 
(citing to section 185). This is a long-standing and specific law, which AB 3088 did not 
address. The committee did adopt the suggestion from the California legislators that 
defendants be allowed to provide, as the English translation for non-English-language 
declarations, a copy of the declaration from the Department of Real Estate (DRE) 
website, and have added that advice to the form, along with a link to the site where the 
DRE forms are available. 
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• The committee declined to accept the comment from the California Apartment 
Association that there should be advice to only file the declaration if it is a true statement; 
that is advice that could be given for any document filed under penalty of perjury and is 
not something specific to declarations under AB 3088. 

• The committee declined to add advice as requested by the Family Violence Appellate 
Project about additional protections under federal law for domestic violence victims that 
may be a defense to an eviction, citing title 34 United States Code section 12491. Those 
defenses are not specific to COVID-19 eviction protections, which are the impetus for 
this expedited proposal. 

• The committee declined to add advice as requested by the tenant advocates that tenants 
with disabilities can request reasonable accommodations from landlords at any time 
during the process, citing California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 12176. 
Although this is correct, such accommodations are not specific to COVID-19 eviction 
protections, which are the impetus for this expedited proposal. 

o To the extent such advice regarding accommodations from a landlord (and 
regarding federal domestic violence defenses) should be included in an 
information sheet regarding responding to unlawful detainers generally, the 
committee will consider them in the future as time and resources allow. 

o To the extent the comments relate to reasonable accommodations at a court, there 
is a process in place already to address this issue. (See Cal. Rules of Court, rule 
1.100 and Request for Accommodations by Persons with Disabilities and 
Response (form MC-410).)21 

• The committee declined all suggestions on clarifying or adding check boxes to optional 
item 2 (about why a declaration had not been delivered to the landlord) because that item 
has been removed from the form, but considered them all and incorporated several when 
adding new affirmative defenses to the revised answer form. 

• The committee added a full header to the top of form UD-104(A). Because the cover 
sheet is no longer required, this header will provide the information a court needs about 
the party should the party not include a cover sheet and merely file this version of the 
declaration with the court. 

Alternatives considered 
In addition to the alternatives discussed above, the committee considered not recommending any 
new form for plaintiffs, leaving it to each individual party to determine what specific allegations 

 
21 As to the suggestion by Disability Rights California that the form itself be made more accessible, the committee 
notes instructions on increasing font size and color contrast of the electronic versions of Judicial Council forms can 
be found on the “Website Technical Assistance” page of the California Courts website at 
www.courts.ca.gov/8563.htm. 
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would be required to obtain an unlawful detainer judgment under the new requirements in 
AB 3088. However, because of the difficulty both courts and parties might have in determining 
if cases could proceed under the law without such a form, and because the new law expressly 
authorizes the Judicial Council to adopt one,22 the committee concluded that a new form would 
be helpful to all involved. Similarly, the committee concluded that the new declaration cover 
sheet, even as an optional form, will help courts to identify when a hearing must be set, as well 
as assist self-represented tenants in exercising their right to provide the declaration of financial 
distress beyond the statutory deadline. 

Fiscal and Operational Impacts 
Although AB 3088 will have a significant impact on court operations, the new forms are 
intended to assist courts in dealing with that impact, making it easier for clerks and judicial 
officers to process and adjudicate unlawful detainer proceedings in compliance with the new law. 
Court staff, judicial officers, and self-help center staff will need to be trained on the newly 
required forms, when the forms are required, and what they contain. Case management systems 
may need to be adjusted to appropriately deal with the new forms. 

Attachments and Links 
1. Forms UD-101, UD-104, UD-104(A), and UD-105 at pages 20–29 
2. Voting instructions at page 30 
3. Vote and signature pages 31-32 
4. Comments, following page 32. 
5. Link A: Assembly Bill 3088, 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201920200AB3088 
6. Link B: Temporary Halt in Residential Evictions to Prevent the Further Spread of 

COVID-19, 85 Fed. Reg. 55292, www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/09/04/2020-
19654/temporary-halt-in-residential-evictions-to-prevent-the-further-spread-of-COVID-19 

 

 
22 Section 1179.01.5(c)(4). 
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2. 
This action seeks possession of real property that is (check all that apply):

Form Adopted for Mandatory Use 
Judicial Council of California 
UD-101 [New October 5, 2020]

Code of Civil Procedure, § 1179.01 et seq.
www.courts.ca.gov

PLAINTIFF'S MANDATORY COVER SHEET AND 
SUPPLEMENTAL ALLEGATIONS—UNLAWFUL DETAINER

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER:

NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

BRANCH NAME:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

PLAINTIFF:

DEFENDANT:

PLAINTIFF'S MANDATORY COVER SHEET AND  
SUPPLEMENTAL ALLEGATIONS—UNLAWFUL DETAINER

FOR COURT USE ONLY

DRAFT  
09/28/20 

NOT APPROVED BY
JUDICIAL COUNCIL

CASE NUMBER:

UD-101

(If "residential" is checked, complete items 3 and 4 and all remaining items that apply to this action. If only "commercial" is 
checked, no further items need to be completed except the signature and verification.)

Residential Commerciala.

A plaintiff filing a complaint for unlawful detainer, or requesting any court action in an unlawful detainer proceeding filed before October
5, 2020, must complete all sections of this form applicable to the action. Filing this form complies with the requirement in Code of Civil 
Procedure section 1179.01.5(c).  

• Serve this form with the summons.

• If a summons has already been served, then serve by mail or any other means of service authorized by law.

• If defendant has already answered, there is no requirement for defendant to respond to the supplemental allegations
before trial.

1. PLAINTIFF (name each):

alleges causes of action in the complaint filed in this action against DEFENDANT (name each):

For action filed (check one):

 on October 5, 2020, or later

 before October 5, 2020

This action is based, in whole or in part, on an alleged default payment of rent or other charges. Yes No

Page 1 of 4

3.

a. (1) One or more defendants in this action is a natural person: Yes No

(2) Identify any defendant not a natural person:
(If no is checked, then no further items need to be completed except the signature and verification.)

b. (1) All defendants named in this action maintain occupancy as described in Civil Code section 1940(b). Yes No

(2) Identify any defendant who does not:

(If yes is checked, then no further items need to be completed except the signature and verification.)

Statutory cover sheet allegations (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.01.5(c))

b.

Tenants subject to COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act of 2020 (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.02(h))
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UD-101 [New October 5, 2020] PLAINTIFF'S MANDATORY COVER SHEET AND  
SUPPLEMENTAL ALLEGATIONS—UNLAWFUL DETAINER

Page 2 of 4

UD-101
PLAINTIFF:

DEFENDANT:

CASE NUMBER:

(name each)Defendant(2)

did not deliver a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress on landlord in the time required.(Code Civ. Proc.,  
§ 1179.03(f).)

d. Response to notice (check all that apply):

(name each):Defendant(1)

delivered a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress on landlord in the time required. (Code Civ. Proc., 
§ 1179.03(f).)

(name each):Defendantc.

was served with at least 15 days' notice to pay rent or other financial obligations, quit, or deliver a declaration, and an unsigned 
declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress, in the form and with the content required in Code of Civil Procedure section 
1179.03(b) and (d). 

b. One or more defendants was served with the notice in item 6a on a different date or in a different manner, which service is
described in attachment 8c.

6. Rent or other financial obligations due between March 1, 2020, and August 31, 2020 (protected time period)
The unlawful detainer complaint in this action is based, at least in part, on a demand for payment of rent or other financial
obligations due in the protected time period. (Check all that apply.)

(name each):Defendanta.

was served the "Notice from the State of California" required by Code of Civil Procedure section 1179.04, and if more than one 
defendant, on the same date and in the same manner. (Provide information regarding service of this notice in item 8 below.)

5.

(If the notice identified defendant as a high-income tenant and requested submission of documentation supporting any 
declaration the defendant submits, complete item 9 below. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.02.5(c).))

(If filing form UD-100 with this form and item 6c is checked, specify this 15-day notice in item 9a(7) on form UD-100, attach
a copy of the notice to that complaint form, and provide all requested information about service on that form.)

b. This action                               seek possession of a dwelling unit in property that has a federally backed multifamily 
mortgage for which forbearance has been granted under title 15 United States Code section 9057. 

Date forbearance began(1)

Date forbearance ended(2)

does does not

4.

(Complete this item if action filed before December 31, 2020) Defendant      provided a statement 
under penalty of perjury for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's order for Temporary Halt in Evictions to Prevent 
Further Spread of COVID-19 (85 Federal Register 55292). (Note to plaintiff: Proceeding in violation of the federal order may 
result in civil or criminal penalties.

has has not

 Federal law allegations 

a.

Unlawful detainer notice expired before March 1, 2020
The unlawful detainer complaint in this action is based solely on a notice to quit, to pay or quit, or to perform covenants or
quit, in which the time period specified in the notice expired before March 1, 2020. (If this is the only basis for the action, no
further items on this form need to be completed except the signature and verification on page 4. (Code Civ. Proc.,
§ 1179.03.5(a)(1).)

7. Rent or other financial obligations due between September 1, 2020, and January 31, 2021 (the transition time period) 
The unlawful detainer complaint in this action is based, at least in part, on a demand for payment of rent or other financial 
obligations due during the transition time period.

(name each):Defendanta.

was served the "Notice from the State of California"  required by Code of Civil Procedure section 1179.04, and if more than one 
defendant, on the same date and in the same manner. (Provide information regarding service of this notice in item 8 below.)
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SUPPLEMENTAL ALLEGATIONS—UNLAWFUL DETAINER

Page 3 of 4

UD-101
PLAINTIFF:

DEFENDANT:

CASE NUMBER:

8.

a. The notice identified in item 6a and 7a was served on the defendant named in those items as follows:

(1) (date):By personally handing a copy to defendant on

(2) (name or description):By leaving a copy with

a person of suitable age and discretion, on (date): 

,

at defendant's

residence business AND mailing a copy to defendant at defendant's place of residence.

(3) (date):By posting a copy on the premises on

(date):
AND giving a copy to a person found residing at the premises AND mailing a copy to defendant at the premises on

(a) because defendant's residence and usual place of business cannot be ascertained OR

(b) because no person of suitable age or discretion can be found there.

(4) (date):By sending a copy by mail addressed to the defendant on

Service of Code Civ. Proc. section 1179.04 Notice From the State of California (check all that apply)

b.

was served on behalf of all defendants who signed a joint written rental agreement.

c. Information about service of notice on the defendants alleged in items 6b and 7b is stated in Attachment 9c.

(Name):

d. Proof of service of the notice or notices in items 6a, 6b, 7a, and 7b is attached to this form and labeled Exhibit 1.

e. Rent due (complete only if action filed after January 31, 2021):

Rent in the amount  of $(1) was due between September 1 and January 31, 2021.

Payment of $(2) for that period was received by January 31, 2021.

(name each)Defendant(2)

did not deliver a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress on the landlord in the time required. (Code Civ. Proc., 
§ 1179.03(f).

(name each)Defendant(1)

delivered a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress on the landlord in the time required. (Code Civ. Proc., 
§ 1179.03(f).)

d. Response to notice (check all that apply):

(name each):Defendantc.

was served with at least 15 days' notice to pay rent or other financial obligations, quit, or deliver a declaration, and an unsigned 
declaration of COVID-19-related financial distress, in the form and with the content required in Code of Civil Procedure  
section 1179.03(c) and (d). 

(If the notice identified defendant as a high-income tenant and requested submission of documentation supporting any 
declaration the defendant submits, complete item 9 below. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.02.5(c).))

(If filing form UD-100 with this form and item 6c is checked, specify this 15-day notice in item 9a(7) on form UD-100, attach
a copy of the notice to that complaint form, and provide all requested information about service on that form.)

b. One or more defendants was served with the notice in item 7a on a different date or in a different manner, which service is
described in attachment 8c.

7.

9. High-income tenant. The 15-day notice in item 6c or 7c above identified defendant as a high-income tenant and requested
submission of documentation supporting the tenant's claim that tenant had suffered COVID-19–related financial distress.
Plaintiff had proof before serving that notice that the tenant has an annual income that is at least 130 percent of the median
income for the county the rental property is located in and not less than $100,000. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.02.5.)

a. The tenant did not deliver a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress within the required time. (Code Civ. Proc.,
§ 1179.03(f).)

b. The tenant did not deliver documentation within the required time supporting that the tenant had suffered COVID-19–
related financial distress as asserted in the declaration. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.02.5(c).)
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UD-101 [New October 5, 2020] PLAINTIFF'S MANDATORY COVER SHEET AND 
SUPPLEMENTAL ALLEGATIONS—UNLAWFUL DETAINER

4 of 4

UD-101
PLAINTIFF:

DEFENDANT:

CASE NUMBER:

(SIGNATURE OF PLAINTIFF OR ATTORNEY)

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

VERIFICATION

(Use a different verification form if the verification is by an attorney or for a corporation or partnership.)

I am the plaintiff in this proceeding and have read this complaint. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 
California that the foregoing is true and correct.

(SIGNATURE)

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

12. Number of pages attached (specify):

b. The tenancy identified in the unlawful detainer complaint in this action was terminated for no-fault just cause as defined in 
Civil Code section 1946.2(b)(2), which reason is in the notice of termination. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.03.5(a)(3)(A)(ii).) 
(Complete (1) or (2) below, only if applicable.) 

(2) The tenancy identified in the complaint in this action was terminated because the owner of the property has entered 

(1) is is not
necessary to comply with codes, statutes, or regulations relating to the habitability of the rental units. (Code Civ. 
Proc., § 1179.03.5(a)(3)(A)(ii).)

c. This action is based solely on the cause of termination checked in item 10a or b above, and is not for nonpayment of rent 
or other financial obligations. (If this item applies, plaintiff may not recover any rental debt due from the period between 
March 1, 2020, and January 31, 2021, as part of the damages in this action. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.03.5(a)(3)(B).)

The no-fault just cause is the intent to demolish or substantially remodel, which

into a contract with a buyer who intends to occupy the property and the property 
meets all the requirements of Civil Code section 1946.2(e)(8). (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.03.5(a)(3)(A)(ii)(II).)

does does not

11. Rent or other financial obligations due after January 31, 2021. (Only applicable if action is filed on or after February 1, 
2021.) The only demand for rent or other financial obligations on which the unlawful detainer complaint in this action is based 
is a demand for payment of rent due after January 31, 2021.

10.

a.

Just cause eviction. (Only applicable if action is filed before February 1, 2021. Note: If the tenancy is subject to the Tenant 
Protection Act of 2019 (including Civil Code section 1946.2), plaintiff must, if using form UD-100, complete item 8 on that form
in addition to this item.)

The tenancy identified in the unlawful detainer complaint in this action was terminated for at-fault just cause as defined in 
Civil Code section 1946.2(b)(1), which reason is in the notice of termination. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.03.5(a)(3)(A)(i).)
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Information for Defendant 

A defendant tenant may use this form to file a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress with the court if a plaintiff has filed 
an unlawful detainer action against the defendant and asserts that a defendant did not deliver a declaration within the required 15-day
period after service of a notice demanding payment of rent or other financial obligations. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.03(h).)   

For information about legal resources that may be available and to learn about other protections that may be available to you under 
federal or local law, go to                         or                                                       .

• Written filings with the court must be provided in English. (Code Civ. Proc., §185 (a).)

• If attaching a non-English-language declaration provided by the landlord, you should also attach an English-language
version, either a copy that was given to you by the landlord or one from                                                                        .  

• You can attach a translation of the declaration instead, if signed by the translator.

Form Approved for Optional Use 
Judicial Council of California 
UD-104 [New October 5, 2020]

Code of Civil Procedure, § 1179.03(h)
www.courts.ca.gov

COVER SHEET FOR DECLARATION OF  
COVID-19–RELATED FINANCIAL DISTRESS

Page 1 of 1

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER:

NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

BRANCH NAME:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

PLAINTIFF:

DEFENDANT:

COVER SHEET FOR DECLARATION OF  
COVID-19–RELATED FINANCIAL DISTRESS 

FOR COURT USE ONLY

DRAFT  
09/28/20 

NOT APPROVED BY
JUDICIAL COUNCIL

CASE NUMBER:

UD-104

1.  Defendant (name ):
has attached a declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress to this form, signed by defendant.

(SIGNATURE OF DEFENDANT OR ATTORNEY)(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

Date:

2. Number of pages attached, including signed declaration (specify):

• If the declaration is filed within the time frame described above, the case against you may be dismissed. The court will set a
hearing to determine if there was good cause for your not delivering the declaration to the plaintiff in the time required.
• The court will provide a notice of the time and place of the hearing to all plaintiffs and defendants.

• At the hearing, you may explain why you did not deliver this the to landlord in the time required.

• If the court finds that your failure to provide the declaration was due to mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable
neglect, the court will dismiss the case against you.

• The signed declaration (you may use form UD-104(A)) must be filed within 5 days after the summons and legal papers in the
case are served on you, not counting Saturdays, Sundays, and other judicial holidays. This is the same time frame in which
you must file an answer or other response to the complaint.

lawhelpca.org https://landlordtenant.dre.ca.gov/

landlordtenant.dre.ca.gov/tenant/forms.html
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ATTACHMENT—DECLARATION OF  
COVID-19–RELATED FINANCIAL DISTRESS

Form Approved for Optional Use 
Judicial Council of California 
UD-104(A)  [New October 5, 2020]

Code of Civil Procedure, § 1179.02(d)
www.courts.ca.gov

I am currently unable to pay my rent or other financial obligations under the lease in full because of one or more of the 
following:  

1. Loss of income caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

2. Increased out-of-pocket expenses directly related to performing essential work during the COVID-19 pandemic.

3. Increased expenses directly related to health impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic.

4. Childcare responsibilities or responsibilities to care for an elderly, disabled, or sick family member directly related to
the COVID-19 pandemic that limit my ability to earn income.

5. Increased costs for childcare or attending to an elderly, disabled, or sick family member directly related to the
COVID-19 pandemic.

6. Other circumstances related to the COVID-19 pandemic that have reduced my income or increased my expenses.

Any public assistance, including unemployment insurance, pandemic unemployment assistance, state disability insurance 
(SDI), or paid family leave, that I have received since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic does not fully make up for my 
loss of income and/or increased expenses. 

 I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

(SIGNATURE)

Date:

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

Page 1 of 1

Review the information on form UD-104 to learn more about when to file this form.

UD-104(A)
ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER:

NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

BRANCH NAME:

PLAINTIFF:

DEFENDANT:

ATTACHMENT—DECLARATION OF COVID-19–RELATED  
FINANCIAL DISTRESS

FOR COURT USE ONLY

DRAFT 
09/28/20 

NOT APPROVED 
BY JUDICIAL 

COUNCIL

CASE NUMBER:
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Form Approved for Optional Use 
Judicial Council of California 
UD-105 [Rev. October 5, 2020]

Civil Code, § 1940 et seq.;
Code of Civil Procedure, §§ 425.12,

1161 et seq., 1179.01 et seq.
www.courts.ca.gov

ANSWER—UNLAWFUL DETAINER

Page 1 of 4

ATTORNEY OR PARTY WITHOUT ATTORNEY STATE BAR NUMBER:

NAME:

FIRM NAME:

STREET ADDRESS:

CITY: STATE: ZIP CODE:

TELEPHONE NO.: FAX NO.:

E-MAIL ADDRESS:

ATTORNEY FOR (name):

SUPERIOR COURT OF CALIFORNIA, COUNTY OF
STREET ADDRESS:

MAILING ADDRESS:

BRANCH NAME:

CITY AND ZIP CODE:

PLAINTIFF:

DEFENDANT:

ANSWER—UNLAWFUL DETAINER

FOR COURT USE ONLY

DRAFT 
9/28/2020 

NOT APPROVED BY
THE JUDICIAL 

COUNCIL

CASE NUMBER:

UD-105

answers the complaint as follows: 

2. Check ONLY ONE of the next two boxes:

a.

b.

Defendant has no information or belief that the following statements of the complaint are true, so defendant denies them 
(state paragraph numbers from the complaint or explain below or, if more room needed, on form MC-025):

(1)

(2)

1.  Defendant (each defendant for whom this answer is filed must be named and must sign this answer unless his or her attorney
signs):

Defendant generally denies each statement of the complaint and of the Mandatory Cover Sheet and Supplemental 
Allegations—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-101). (Do not check this box if the complaint demands more than $1,000.)

Defendant claims the following statements of the complaint are false (state paragraph numbers from the complaint  or 
explain below or, if more room needed, on form MC-025):                              Explanation is on MC-025, titled as Attachment 2b(1).

 Explanation is on MC-025, titled as Attachment 2b(2).

(3)

(4)

Defendant claims the following statements on the Mandatory Cover Sheet and Supplemental Allegations—Unlawful 
Detainer (form UD-101) are false (state paragraph numbers from form UD-101 or explain below or, if more room needed, 
on form MC-025):                                              

Defendant has no information or belief that the following statements on the Mandatory Cover Sheet and Supplemental 
Allegations—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-101) are true, so defendant denies them (state paragraph numbers from 
form UD-101 or explain below or, if more room needed, on form MC-025):

 Explanation is on MC-025, titled as Attachment 2b(3).

 Explanation is on MC-025, titled as Attachment 2b(4).

Defendant admits that all of the statements of the complaint and of the Mandatory Cover Sheet and Supplemental 
Allegations—Unlawful Detainer (form UD-101) are true EXCEPT:
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UD-105 [Rev. October 5, 2020]

ANSWER—UNLAWFUL DETAINER
Page 2 of 4

UD-105
CASE NUMBER:

b.

c.

d.

e.

(Nonpayment of rent only) Defendant made needed repairs and properly deducted the cost from the rent, and plaintiff did 
not give proper credit.

(Nonpayment of rent only) On (date):

Plaintiff served defendant with the notice to quit or filed the complaint to retaliate against defendant.

Plaintiff waived, changed, or canceled the notice to quit.

f. By serving defendant with the notice to quit or filing the complaint, plaintiff is arbitrarily discriminating against the 
defendant in violation of the Constitution or the laws of the United States or California.

before the notice to pay or quit expired, defendant offered 
the rent due but plaintiff would not accept it. 

(Also, briefly state in item 3o the facts showing violation of the ordinance.) 

g. Plaintiff's demand for possession violates the local rent control or eviction control ordinance of (city or county, title of 
ordinance, and date of passage):

j. Plaintiff seeks to evict defendant based on an act against defendant or a member of defendant's household that 
constitutes domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, human trafficking, or abuse of an elder or a dependent adult. (This
defense requires one of the following: (1) a temporary restraining order, protective order, or police report that is not 
more than 180 days old; OR (2) a signed statement from a qualified third party (e.g., a doctor, domestic violence or 
sexual assault counselor, human trafficking caseworker, or psychologist) concerning the injuries or abuse resulting from 
these acts.)

i. Plaintiff accepted rent from defendant to cover a period of time after the date the notice to quit expired.

Plaintiff violated the Tenant Protection Act in another manner that defeats the complaint.

(4)

(5)

h. Plaintiff's demand for possession is subject to the Tenant Protection Act, Civil Code section 1946.2 or 1947.12, and is not 
in compliance with the act. (Check all that apply and briefly state in item 3m the facts that support each.)

Plaintiff failed to state a just cause for termination of tenancy in the written notice to terminate.

Plaintiff failed to provide an opportunity to cure any alleged violations of terms and conditions of the lease (other than 
payment of rent) as required under Civ. Code, § 1946.2(c).

(1)

(2)

Plaintiff failed to comply with the relocation assistance requirements of Civ. Code, § 1946.2(d).(3)

k. Plaintiff seeks to evict defendant based on defendant or another person calling the police or emergency assistance (e.g., 
ambulance) by or on behalf of a victim of abuse, a victim of crime, or an individual in an emergency when defendant or 
the other person believed that assistance was necessary.

l. Plaintiff's demand for possession is in retaliation for nonpayment of rent or other financial obligations due between March 
1, 2020, and January 31, 2021, even though it is alleged to be based on other reasons. (Civ. Code, § 1942.5(d).)

m. Plaintiff's demand for possession is based on nonpayment of rent or other financial obligations due between March 1, 
2020, and January 31, 2021, and (check all that apply):

Plaintiff has raised the rent more than the amount allowed under Civ. Code, § 1946.12, and the only unpaid rent is the
unauthorized amount.   

(1)

(2)

(3)

Plaintiff did not serve the required 15-day notice. (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.03(b) or (c).)

Plaintiff did not provide an unsigned declaration of COVID-19  related financial distress with the 15-day notice. (Code 
Civ. Proc., § 1179.03(b) or (c).)

–

Plaintiff identified defendant as a “high-income tenant” in the 15-day notice, but plaintiff did not possess proof of 
income establishing that at the time the notice was served.

AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES (NOTE: For each box checked, you must state brief facts to support it in item 3o (page 2) or, if more 
room needed, on form MC-025.)

a.

3.   

(Nonpayment of rent only) Plaintiff has breached the warranty to provide habitable premises.
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UD-105 [Rev. October 5, 2020]

ANSWER—UNLAWFUL DETAINER
Page 3 of 4

UD-105
CASE NUMBER:

n. Other affirmative defenses are stated in item 3o.

(b)

  (describe when and how provided):

Declaration under penalty of perjury for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention's temporary halt in 
evictions to prevent further spread of COVID-19 (85 Federal Register at 55297)

(5) Defendant is currently filing or has already filed a declaration of COVID-19-related financial distress with the court. 
(Code Civ. Proc. § 1179.03(h).)

(6) Plaintiff violated the federal CARES Act because the property is covered by that act and

(a) The federally backed mortgage on the property was in forbearance when plaintiff brought the action. (15 U.S.C. 
§ 9057.)

(b) The plaintiff did not give the required 30 days' notice. (15 U.S.C. § 9058(c).)

(7) Plaintiff violated the COVID-19 Tenant Relief Act of 2020 (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.01 et seq.) or a local COVID-19  
–related ordinance regarding evictions in some other way (briefly state facts describing this in item o)

(4) Defendant provided the following declaration to plaintiff (check all that apply and describe when and how provided):

(a) Declaration of COVID-19–related financial distress (Code Civ. Proc., § 1179.03(b) or (c))

(describe when and how delivered):

o.
Description of facts is on MC-025, titled as Attachment 3o.

(Provide facts for each item checked above, either below, or, if more room needed, on form MC-025):

m.

OTHER STATEMENTS
a.

4.
Defendant vacated the premises on (date):

b. The fair rental value of the premises alleged in the complaint is excessive (explain below or, if more room needed, on 
form MC-025):
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ANSWER—UNLAWFUL DETAINER
Page 4 of 4UD-105 [Rev. October 5, 2020]

UD-105
CASE NUMBER:

 Explanation is on MC-025, titled as Attachment 4b.

c. Other (specify below or, if more room needed, on form MC-025 in attachment):
Other statements are on MC-025, titled as Attachment 4c.

Number of pages attached:6.

DEFENDANT REQUESTS
a. that plaintiff take nothing requested in the complaint.

costs incurred in this proceeding.
c.

d.

e.

5.

reasonable attorney fees.

that plaintiff be ordered to (1) make repairs and correct the conditions that constitute a breach of the warranty to provide  
habitable premises and (2) reduce the monthly rent to a reasonable rental value until the conditions are corrected.

Other (specify below or on form MC-025):

All other requests are stated on MC-025, titled as Attachment 5e.

b.

UNLAWFUL DETAINER ASSISTANT (Bus. & Prof. Code, §§ 6400–6415)

(Must be completed in all cases.) An unlawful detainer assistant for compensation give advice or
assistance with this form. (If defendant has received any help or advice for pay from an unlawful detainer assistant, state):

Assistant's Name:

Street address, city, and zip code:

County of registration: Registration number: Expiration date:

7.

a.

c.

d.

b.

e. f.

did not did

Telephone number:

(Each defendant for whom this answer is filed must be named in item 1 and must sign this answer unless defendant's attorney signs.)

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME) (SIGNATURE OF DEFENDANT OR ATTORNEY)

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME) (SIGNATURE OF DEFENDANT OR ATTORNEY)

b.4.

(Use a different verification form if the verification is by an attorney or for a corporation or partnership.)
I am the defendant in this proceeding and have read this answer. I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of 
California that the foregoing is true and correct.

(SIGNATURE OF DEFENDANT)

VERIFICATION

(TYPE OR PRINT NAME)

Date:
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Instructions for Review and Action by Circulating Order 
 
 

Voting members 
• Please reply to the email message with “I approve,” “I disapprove,” or “I abstain,” by 

October 2, 2020 at 12:00 noon. 
 

• If you are unable to reply by October 2, 2020 at 12:00 noon, please do so as soon as possible 
thereafter. 

 

Advisory members 
The circulating order is being emailed to you for your information only. There is no need to sign 
or return any documents. 
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CIRCULATING ORDER 
Judicial Council of California 
Voting and Signature Pages 

Effective immediately, the Judicial Council approves the recommendation by Civil and Small 
Claims Advisory Committee to adopt form UD-101; approve forms UD-104 and UD-104(A); 
and revise form UD-105, effective October 5, 2020. 

My vote is as follows: 

 Approve  Disapprove  Abstain

Tani G. Cantil-Sakauye, Chair Marla O. Anderson 

Richard Bloom C. Todd Bottke

Stacy Boulware Eurie Kevin C. Brazile 

Kyle S. Brodie Jonathan B. Conklin 

Carol A. Corrigan Samuel K. Feng 

Brad R. Hill Rachel W. Hill 

Harold W. Hopp Harry E. Hull, Jr. 
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My vote is as follows: 
 

   Approve   Disapprove   Abstain 
 
 
 
                                    
Hannah-Beth Jackson 

 
 
                                    
Patrick M. Kelly 

 
 
                                    
Dalila Corral Lyons 

 
 
                                    
Gretchen Nelson 

 
 
                                    
Maxwell V. Pritt 

 
 
                                    
David M. Rubin 

 
 
                                    
Marsha G. Slough 

 
 

 
 
 

 

  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Date:  ______________ 
 
      Attest:         
     _______________________________________ 
                    Administrative Director and      
                       Secretary of the Judicial Council 
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