

JUDICIAL COUNCIL of CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel. 415-865-4200 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. PATRICIA GUERRERO

Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

HON. BRAD R. HILL

Chair, Executive and Planning Committee

HON. ANN C. MOORMAN

Chair, Judicial Branch Budget Committee Chair, Litigation Management Committee

HON. STACY BOULWARE EURIE

Chair, Legislation Committee

HON. CARIN T. FUJISAKI

Chair, Rules Committee

HON. KYLE S. BRODIE

Chair, Technology Committee

Hon. Maria Lucy Armendariz

Hon, Bunmi O, Awoniui

Hon. C. Todd Bottke

Hon. Carol A. Corrigan

Hon. Charles S. Crompton

Hon. Judith K. Dulcich

Hon Maureen F Hallahan

Hon. Maria D. Hernandez

Ms. Rachel W. Hill

Ms. Gretchen Nelson

Mr. Craig M. Peters

Mr. Maxwell V. Pritt

Hon. Tamara L. Wood

ADVISORY MEMBERS

Hon. Khymberli S. Apaloo Ms. Kate Bieker

Hon. Ryan Davis

Hon. Joan K. Irion Mr. Charles Johnson

Mr. Darrel E. Parker

Hon. Lisa M. Rogan

Mr. David H. Yamasaki

MS. MICHELLE CURRAN

Administrative Director Judicial Council

December 13, 2024

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Legislative Counsel 1021 O Street, Suite 3210 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Erika Contreras Secretary of the Senate State Capitol, Room 305 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: Report on Allocation of Funding in 2023–24 for Support of New Judgeships Authorized in 2007–08, as required under the Budget Act of 2007

Dear Ms. Jenkins, Ms. Contreras, and Ms. Parker:

Under provision 11 of item 0250-101-0932 of the Budget Act of 2007 (Stats. 2007, ch. 171), the Judicial Council is submitting the annual Report on Allocation of Funding in 2023–24 for Support of New Judgeships Authorized in 2007–08. This report details the continuous allocations of funding for support of the new judgeships authorized by Assembly Bill 159 (Jones; Stats. 2007, ch. 722) until all judgeships are appointed and new staff hired.

In fiscal year 2022–23, all 50 judgeships authorized by AB 159 were funded by the Legislature. For fiscal year 2023-24, a total of \$59.7 million was allocated in support of new judgeships: \$59.2 million for operations costs from the Trial Court Trust Fund for 54 courts and \$452,000 for facilities costs from the Court Facilities Trust Fund for 2 courts. As of October 2023, all 50 of the authorized judgeships were appointed.

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 13, 2024 Page 2

The table below displays the fiscal year 2023–24 allocation of the ongoing funding for operations and facilities costs by individual court.

| 2023–24 Allocation of Funding for New Judgeships | | | | |
|--|-------------|------------|-------------|--|
| Court | Operations | Facilities | Total | |
| Alameda | \$1,058,883 | | \$1,058,883 | |
| Amador | 338,004 | | 338,004 | |
| Butte | 239,642 | | 239,642 | |
| Calaveras | 258,489 | | 258,489 | |
| Contra Costa | 1,081,989 | | 1,081,989 | |
| Del Norte | 157,767 | | 157,767 | |
| El Dorado | 105,826 | | 105,826 | |
| Fresno | 1,411,090 | | 1,411,090 | |
| Glenn | 237,292 | | 237,292 | |
| Humboldt | 100,046 | | 100,046 | |
| Imperial | 68,847 | | 68,847 | |
| Inyo | 101,856 | | 101,856 | |
| Kern | 1,416,963 | | 1,416,963 | |
| Kings | 245,882 | | 245,882 | |
| Lake | 148,867 | | 148,867 | |
| Lassen | 6,676 | | 6,676 | |
| Los Angeles | 20,060,940 | | 20,060,940 | |
| Madera | 284,459 | | 284,459 | |
| Marin | 167,506 | | 167,506 | |
| Mariposa | 166,462 | | 166,462 | |
| Mendocino | 89,208 | | 89,208 | |
| Merced | 413,415 | | 413,415 | |
| Modoc | 43,095 | | 43,095 | |
| Mono | 92,051 | | 92,051 | |
| Monterey | 551,314 | | 551,314 | |
| Napa | 111,503 | | 111,503 | |
| Nevada | 137,804 | | 137,804 | |
| Orange | 3,704,998 | | 3,704,998 | |
| Placer | 592,122 | | 592,122 | |
| Plumas | 133,971 | | 133,971 | |
| Riverside | 4,817,288 | | 4,817,288 | |
| Sacramento | 5,973,619 | | 5,973,619 | |
| San Benito | 321,938 | | 321,938 | |
| San Bernardino | 3,412,409 | | 3,412,409 | |

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 13, 2024 Page 3

| 2023–24 Allocation of Funding for New Judgeships | | | | |
|--|--------------|-----------|--------------|--|
| San Diego | 1,987,106 | | 1,987,106 | |
| San Joaquin | 1,678,121 | | 1,678,121 | |
| San Luis Obispo | 412,740 | | 412,740 | |
| San Mateo | 522,558 | | 522,558 | |
| Santa Barbara | 341,641 | | 341,641 | |
| Santa Clara | 1,054,784 | | 1,054,784 | |
| Santa Cruz | 286,571 | | 286,571 | |
| Shasta | 356,131 | | 356,131 | |
| Siskiyou | 81,831 | | 81,831 | |
| Solano | 416,385 | \$201,750 | 618,135 | |
| Sonoma | 644,062 | 250,250 | 894,312 | |
| Stanislaus | 687,994 | | 687,994 | |
| Sutter | 264,115 | | 264,115 | |
| Tehama | 73,239 | | 73,239 | |
| Trinity | 14,524 | | 14,524 | |
| Tulare | 668,769 | | 668,769 | |
| Tuolumne | 57,391 | | 57,391 | |
| Ventura | 1,159,024 | | 1,159,024 | |
| Yolo | 438,669 | | 438,669 | |
| Yuba | 3,012 | | 3,012 | |
| Total | \$59,200,888 | \$452,000 | \$59,652,888 | |

This is the final report to the Legislature because all 50 of the judgeships have been appointed and the reporting requirement per the Budget Act of 2007 has been fully met.

If you have any questions related to this report, please contact Mr. Zlatko Theodorovic, Director, Judicial Council Budget Services, at 916-263-1397 or zlatko.theodorovic@jud.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

Michelle Curran

Administrative Director

Milelle J. Curan

Judicial Council

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 13, 2024 Page 4

MC/OT/kc

cc: Eric Dang, Counsel, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Mike McGuire Emelyn Rodriguez, General Counsel, Office of Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas Anita Lee, Principal Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Shaun Naidu, Policy Consultant, Office of Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Mark Jimenez, Principal Program Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Henry Ng, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Margie Estrada, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee Mary Kennedy, Chief Counsel, Senate Public Safety Committee Liah Burnley, Principal Consultant, Senate Appropriations Committee Hans Hemann, Principal Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Eric Csizmar, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Matt Osterli, Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office Morgan Branch, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Alison Merrilees, Chief Counsel, Assembly Judiciary Committee Andrew Ironside, Chief Counsel, Assembly Public Safety Committee Nora Brackbill, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Jennifer Kim, Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee Annika Carlson, Principal Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Lyndsay Mitchell, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Gary Olson, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Cory T. Jasperson, Director, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council Zlatko Theodorovic, Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Donna Newman, Manager, Budget Services, Judicial Council Thera Hearne, Supervisor, Budget Services, Judicial Council Alona Daniliuk, Administrative Coordinator, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council