
 
Rule 10.492 of the California Rules of Court would be added, effective January 1, 2021, 
to read: 
 
Rule 10.492. Extension	of	time	for	judicial	branch	education	requirements	1 
 2 
(a) Application 3 
 4 

This rule applies to the requirements and expectations in the California Rules of 5 
Court relating to judicial branch education, except rule 10.491 on minimum 6 
education requirements for Judicial Council employees. 7 

 8 
(b) Definitions  9 
 10 

As used in this rule: 11 
 12 
(1) “Content-based education requirement” means a requirement or expectation 13 

of: 14 
 15 

(A) Attendance at any specific program; 16 
 17 

(B) A course of study on any specific topic or topics; or 18 
 19 
(C) A course of study limited to a specific delivery method, such as 20 

traditional (live, face-to-face) education. 21 
 22 

(2) “Hours-based education requirement” means a requirement or expectation of 23 
a specified number of hours of education to be completed within a specified 24 
time period.  25 

 26 
(c) Content-based education requirement 27 
 28 

Notwithstanding any other rule, any deadline for completion of a content-based 29 
education requirement or expectation is extended for 12 months from that 30 
deadline, even if the deadline has passed. 31 

 32 
(d) Hours-based education requirement 33 
 34 

Notwithstanding any other rule, the months of April 2020 through March 2021 are 35 
excluded from the education cycles in which those months fall, and the number of 36 
hours of education to complete hours-based education requirements or 37 
expectations is prorated accordingly. 38 

 39 
(e) Sunset 40 
 41 



 
Rule 10.492 of the California Rules of Court would be added, effective January 1, 2021, 
to read: 
 

This rule remains in effect until December 31, 2022, or until amended or repealed. 1 
 2 

Advisory Committee Comment  3 
 4 
Various rules in Title 10, Chapter 7 of the California Rules of Court, authorize, for good cause, 5 
the granting of an extension of time to complete content-based and hours-based education 6 
requirements and expectations. Nothing in this rule modifies that authority. 7 
 8 
Nothing in this rule alters education requirements and expectations outside the California Rules 9 
of Court, including education requirements mandated by statute or regulation (e.g., Welfare & 10 
Institutions Code section 304.7) or required by Judicial Council policy (e.g., the Qualifying 11 
Ethics Program and the Temporary Assigned Judges Program).  12 
 13 
Subdivision (c). This subsection applies to all rules of court containing content-based education 14 
requirements. Below are examples of this subsection in practice.  15 
 16 
Rule 10.462(c)(1) contains education requirements for new trial court judges and subordinate 17 
judicial officers. Based on the date an individual took his or her oath of office, a judge has 6 18 
months to attend the New Judge Orientation (NJO) Program, 1 year to attend an orientation 19 
course in his or her primary assignment, and 2 years to attend the B. E. Witkin Judicial College of 20 
California.  21 
 22 
Under 10.462(c)(1), a judge who took her oath of office on January 1, 2020, would need to 23 
complete these programs by June 30, 2020 (NJO), December 31, 2020 (primary assignment), and 24 
December 31, 2021 (Judicial College), respectively. With the 12-month extension under rule 25 
10.492(c), this same judge would now need to complete these programs by June 30, 2021 (NJO), 26 
December 31, 2021 (primary assignment), and December 31, 2022 (Judicial College).   27 
 28 
As another example of the 12-month extension under rule 10.492(c), a judge who took his oath of 29 
office on December 1, 2018, would need to complete NJO by April 30, 2020 (within 18 months), 30 
a primary assignment by November 30, 2020 (within 2 years), and the Judicial College by 31 
November 30, 2021 (within 3 years).  32 
 33 
Using a different rule as an additional example, rule 10.478(b)(1) requires court investigators to 34 
complete 18 hours of education within 1 year of their start date on specified topics. 35 
Rule 10.492(c) would allow a court investigator up to 2 years to complete this education.  36 
 37 
Subdivision (d). This subsection applies to all rules of court containing hours-based education 38 
requirements. Below are examples of this subsection in practice. 39 
 40 



 
Rule 10.492 of the California Rules of Court would be added, effective January 1, 2021, 
to read: 
 
Rule 10.461(c)(1) contains education requirements for Supreme Court and appellate justices. 1 
Each justice must complete 30 hours of education every three years.  2 
 3 
Under rule 10.492(d), a justice’s hours requirements are prorated for the education cycle that runs 4 
from January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2021. For justices who were confirmed for 5 
appointment before January 1, 2019, they must complete 20 hours of education by December 31, 6 
2021.  7 
 8 
Education requirements for justices who were confirmed for appointment on or after January 1, 9 
2019, would also be prorated by rule 10.492(d) and prorated additionally based on the number of 10 
years remaining in the three-year educational cycle. For example, a justice confirmed for 11 
appointment on October 1, 2020, would ordinarily have 10 hours of hours-based education 12 
requirements to complete for the last year of the three-year cycle. Under 10.492(d), the months of 13 
January 2021 through March 2021 would be excluded, and the justice must complete 7.5 hours 14 
rather than 10 hours of hours-based education.  15 
 16 
As an additional example, rule 10.474(c)(2) requires 8 hours of continuing education every 2 17 
years for non-management court staff. For a court employee hired on or before January 1, 2020, 18 
rule 10.492(d) prorates the number of hours for the cycles that run from January 1, 2020, through 19 
December 31, 2021. For this cycle, the number of hours required would be prorated for 4 20 
quarters, April 1, 2020, through March 31, 2021. This results in a reduced hours-based 21 
requirement of 4 hours.  22 



 
Rule 10.492 of the California Rules of Court would be added, effective January 1, 2021, 
to read: 

Attachment C –  

Draft – Rule 10.492 
 
Rule 10.492. Extension	of	time	for	judicial	branch	education	requirements	1 
 2 
(a) Application 3 
 4 

This rule applies to the requirements and expectations in the California Rules of 5 
Court relating to judicial branch education, except rule 10.491 on minimum 6 
education requirements for Judicial Council employees. 7 

 8 
(b) Definitions  9 
 10 

As used in this rule: 11 
 12 
(1) “Content-based education requirement” means a requirement or expectation 13 

of: 14 
 15 

(A) Attendance at any specific program; 16 
 17 

(B) A course of study on any specific topic or topics; or 18 
 19 
(C) A course of study limited to a specific delivery method, such as 20 

traditional (live, face-to-face) education. 21 
 22 

(2) “Hours-based education requirement” means a requirement or expectation of 23 
a specified number of hours of education to be completed within a specified 24 
time period.  25 

 26 
(c) Content-based education requirement 27 
 28 

Notwithstanding any other rule, any deadline for completion of a content-based 29 
education requirement or expectation is extended for 12 months from that 30 
deadline, even if the deadline has passed. 31 

 32 
(d) Hours-based education requirement 33 
 34 

Notwithstanding any other rule, the months of April 2020 through March 2021 are 35 
excluded from the education cycles in which those months fall, and the number of 36 
hours of education to complete hours-based education requirements or 37 
expectations is prorated accordingly. 38 

 39 



 
Rule 10.492 of the California Rules of Court would be added, effective January 1, 2021, 
to read: 

Attachment C –  

Draft – Rule 10.492 
 
(e) Sunset 1 
 2 

This rule remains in effect until December 31, 2022, or until amended or repealed. 3 
 4 

Advisory Committee Comment  5 
 6 
Various rules in Title 10, Chapter 7 of the California Rules of Court, authorize, for good cause, 7 
the granting of an extension of time to complete content-based and hours-based education 8 
requirements and expectations. Nothing in this rule modifies that authority. 9 
 10 
Nothing in this rule alters education requirements and expectations outside the California Rules 11 
of Court, including education requirements mandated by statute or regulation (e.g., Welfare & 12 
Institutions Code section 304.7) or required by Judicial Council policy (e.g., the Qualifying 13 
Ethics Program and the Temporary Assigned Judges Program).  14 
 15 
Subdivision (c). This subsection applies to all rules of court containing content-based education 16 
requirements. Below are examples of this subsection in practice.  17 
 18 
Rule 10.462(c)(1) contains education requirements for new trial court judges and subordinate 19 
judicial officers. Based on the date an individual took his or her oath of office, a judge has 6 20 
months to attend the New Judge Orientation (NJO) Program, 1 year to attend an orientation 21 
course in his or her primary assignment, and 2 years to attend the B. E. Witkin Judicial College of 22 
California.  23 
 24 
Under 10.462(c)(1), a judge who took her oath of office on January 1, 2020, would need to 25 
complete these programs by June 30, 2020 (NJO), December 31, 2020 (primary assignment), and 26 
December 31, 2021 (Judicial College), respectively. With the 12-month extension under rule 27 
10.492(c), this same judge would now need to complete these programs by June 30, 2021 (NJO), 28 
December 31, 2021 (primary assignment), and December 31, 2022 (Judicial College).   29 
 30 
As another example of the 12-month extension under rule 10.492(c), a judge who took his oath of 31 
office on December 1, 2018, would need to complete NJO by April 30, 2020 (within 18 months), 32 
a primary assignment by November 30, 2020 (within 2 years), and the Judicial College by 33 
November 30, 2021 (within 3 years).  34 
 35 
Using a different rule as an additional example, rule 10.478(b)(1) requires court investigators to 36 
complete 18 hours of education within 1 year of their start date on specified topics. 37 
Rule 10.492(c) would allow a court investigator up to 2 years to complete this education.  38 
 39 



 
Rule 10.492 of the California Rules of Court would be added, effective January 1, 2021, 
to read: 

Attachment C –  

Draft – Rule 10.492 
 
Subdivision (d). This subsection applies to all rules of court containing hours-based education 1 
requirements. Below are examples of this subsection in practice. 2 
 3 
Rule 10.461(c)(1) contains education requirements for Supreme Court and appellate justices. 4 
Each justice must complete 30 hours of education every three years.  5 
 6 
Under rule 10.492(d), a justice’s hours requirements are prorated for the education cycle that runs 7 
from January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2021. For justices who were confirmed for 8 
appointment before January 1, 2019, they must complete 20 hours of education by December 31, 9 
2021.  10 
 11 
Education requirements for justices who were confirmed for appointment on or after January 1, 12 
2019, would also be prorated by rule 10.492(d) and prorated additionally based on the number of 13 
years remaining in the three-year educational cycle. For example, a justice confirmed for 14 
appointment on October 1, 2020, would ordinarily have 10 hours of hours-based education 15 
requirements to complete for the last year of the three-year cycle. Under 10.492(d), the months of 16 
January 2021 through March 2021 would be excluded, and the justice must complete 7.5 hours 17 
rather than 10 hours of hours-based education.  18 
 19 
As an additional example, rule 10.464474(c)(2) requires 8 hours of continuing education every 2 20 
years for non-management court staff. For a court employee hired on or before January 1, 21 
202019, rule 10.492(d) prorates the number of hours for the cycles that run from January 1, 22 
202019, through December 31, 20210, and the cycle that runs from January 1, 2021, through 23 
December 31, 2022. For thise cycle that runs from January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2020, 24 
the number of hours required would be prorated for 43 quarters, April 1, 2020, through December 25 
March 31, 20210. This results in a reduced hours-based requirement of 45 hours. For the 26 
following cycle, the hours-based requirement is reduced by 1 quarter, January 1, 2021, through 27 
March 30, 2022. For this cycle, the hours-based requirement is reduced to 7 hours.  28 
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