Title 9. Rules on Law Practice, Attorneys, and Judges
Division 1. General Provisions
Rule 9.0. Title and source

Rule 9.0. Title and source

(a) Title
The rules in this title may be referred to as the Rules on Law Practice, Attorneys,
and Judges.

(b) Source

The rules in this title were adopted by the Supreme Court under its inherent
authority over the admission and discipline of attorneys and under subdivisions (d)
and (f) of section 18 of article VI of the Constitution of the State of California.
Rule 9.0 amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2018, adopted as rule 9.1 effective
January 1, 2007.
Division 2. Attorney Admission and Disciplinary Proceedings and Review of State
Bar Proceedings

Chapter 1. General Provisions

Rule 9.1. Definitions
Rule 9.2. Interim special regulatory assessment for Attorney Discipline

Rule 9.1. Definitions
As used in this division, unless the context otherwise requires:
(1) “Licensee” means a person licensed by the State Bar to practice law in this state.

(2) “State Bar Court” means the Hearing Department or the Review Department
established under Business and Professions Code sections 6079.1 and 6086.65.

(3) “Review Department” means the Review Department of the State Bar Court
established under Business and Professions Code section 6086.65.

(4) “General Counsel” means the general counsel of the State Bar of California.

(5) “Chief Trial Counsel” means the chief trial counsel of the State Bar of California
appointed under Business and Professions Code section 6079.5.



Rule 9.1 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as rule 950 effective December 1, 1990;
previously amended and renumbered as rule 9.5 effective January 1, 2007; previously
renumbered as 9.1 effective January 1, 2018.

Rule 9.2. Interim Special Regulatory Assessment for Attorney Discipline

(@

(b)

This rule is adopted by the Supreme Court solely as an emergency interim measure
to protect the public, the courts, and the legal profession from the harm that may be
caused by the absence of an adequately functioning attorney disciplinary system.
The Supreme Court contemplates that the rule may be modified or repealed once
legislation designed to fund an adequate attorney disciplinary system is enacted and
becomes effective.

(1

2)

3)

Each active licensee shall pay a mandatory regulatory assessment of two
hundred ninety-seven dollars ($297) to the State Bar of California. This
assessment is calculated as the sum of the following amounts:

(A) Two hundred eighty-three dollars ($283) to support the following

(B)

©

departments and activities:

Office of Chief Trial Counsel

Office of Probation

State Bar Court

Mandatory Fee Arbitration program

Office of Professional Competence

Office of General Counsel

Office of Licensee Records and Compliance

Licensee Billing

Office of Communications (support of discipline only)
California Young Lawyers Association (discipline-related only).

Nine dollars ($9) to fund implementation of the workforce plan
recommendations from the National Center for State Courts.

Five dollars ($5) to make up for revenue the State Bar will forgo
because of assessment scaling and assessment waivers, as provided for
under this rule.

The $297 assessment specifically excludes any funding for the State Bar’s
legislative lobbying, elimination of bias, and bar relations programs.

Payment of this assessment is due by March 1, 2017. Late payment or
nonpayment of the assessment shall subject a licensee to the same penalties
and/or sanctions applicable to mandatory fees authorized by statute.



(4) The provisions regarding fee scaling, fee waivers, and penalty waivers
contained in Business and Professions Code section 6141.1 and rules 2.15
and 2.16 of the Rules of the State Bar of California shall apply to requests for
relief from payment of the assessment or any penalty under this rule.
Applications for relief from payment shall be made to the State Bar, which
may grant or deny waivers in conformance with its existing rules and
regulations. The State Bar shall keep a record of all fee scaling and fee
waivers approved and the amount of fees affected.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019.)

(¢) A special master appointed by the Supreme Court shall establish the Special
Master’s Attorney Discipline Fund, into which all money collected pursuant to this
rule shall be deposited. The special master shall oversee the disbursement and
allocation of funds from the Special Master’s Attorney Discipline Fund for the
limited purpose of maintaining, operating, and supporting an attorney disciplinary
system, including payment of the reasonable costs and expenses of the special
master as ordered by the Supreme Court. The special master shall exercise
authority pursuant to the charge of the Supreme Court and shall submit quarterly
reports and recommendations to the Supreme Court regarding the supervision and
use of these funds. The State Bar shall respond in timely and accurate fashion to the
special master’s requests for information and reports.

Should any funds collected pursuant to this rule not be used for the limited purpose
set forth in the rule, the Supreme Court may order the refund of an appropriate
amount to licensees or take any other action that it deems appropriate.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Rule 9.2 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as rule 9.9 effective November 16, 2016,
previously renumbered effective January 1, 2018.

Chapter 2. Attorney Admissions

Rule 9.3. Inherent power of Supreme Court

Rule 9.4. Nomination and appointment of members to Committee of Bar Examiners
Rule 9.5. Supreme Court approval of admissions rules

Rule 9.6. Supreme Court approval of bar examination

Rule 9.7. Oath required when admitted to practice law

Rule 9.8. Roll of attorneys admitted to practice

Rule 9.8.5. State Bar Client Trust Account Protection Program

Rule 9.9. Online reporting by attorneys

Rule 9.9.5. Attorney fingerprinting

Rule 9.3. Inherent power of Supreme Court



(@

(b)

Inherent power over admissions

The Supreme Court has the inherent power to admit persons to practice law in
California. The State Bar serves as the administrative arm of the Supreme Court for
admissions matters and in that capacity acts under the authority and at the direction
of the Supreme Court. The Committee of Bar Examiners, acting under authority
delegated to it by the State Bar Board of Trustees, is authorized to administer the
requirements for admission to practice law, to examine all applicants for admission,
and to certify to the Supreme Court for admission those applicants who fulfill the
admission requirements.

Inherent jurisdiction over practice of law

Nothing in this chapter may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme
Court to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in this state.

Rule 9.3 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted effective January 1, 2018.

Rule 9.4. Nomination and appointment of members to the Committee of Bar

(@)

(b)

Examiners
Appointments

The Supreme Court is responsible for appointing ten examiners to the Committee
of Bar Examiners, each for a four-year term. At least one of the ten examiners must
be a judicial officer in this state, and the balance must be licensees of the State Bar.
At least one of the attorney examiners shall have been admitted to practice law in
California within three years from the date of his or her appointment. The court
may reappoint an attorney or judicial officer examiner to serve no more than three
additional full terms, and may fill any vacancy in the term of any appointed
attorney or judicial officer examiner.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019.)
Nominations
The Supreme Court must make its appointments from a list of candidates

nominated by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar pursuant to a procedure
approved by the court.

Rule 9.4 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted effective January 1, 2018.

Rule 9.5. Supreme Court approval of admissions rules

All State Bar rules adopted by the State Bar Committee of Bar Examiners pertaining to
the admission to practice law must be approved by the Board of Trustees and then
submitted to the Supreme Court for its review and approval.



Rule 9.5 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted effective January 1, 2018.

Rule 9.6. Supreme Court approval of bar examination

(@)

(b)

(c)

Bar examination

The Committee of Bar Examiners, pursuant to the authority delegated to it by the
Board of Trustees, is responsible for determining the bar examination’s format,
scope, topics, content, questions, and grading process, subject to review and
approval by the Supreme Court. The Supreme Court must set the passing score of
the examination.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019.)
Analysis of validity

The State Bar must conduct an analysis of the validity of the bar examination at
least once every seven years, or whenever directed by the Supreme Court. The
State Bar must prepare and submit a report summarizing its findings and
recommendations, if any, to the Supreme Court. Any recommendations proposing
significant changes to the bar examination, and any recommended change to the
passing score, must be submitted to the Supreme Court for its review and approval.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019.)
Report on examination

The State Bar must provide the Supreme Court a report on each administration of
the bar examination in a timely manner.

Rule 9.6 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted effective January 1, 2018.

Rule 9.7. Oath required when admitted to practice law

In addition to the language required by Business and Professions Code section 6067, the
oath to be taken by every person on admission to practice law is to conclude with the
following: “As an officer of the court, I will strive to conduct myself at all times with
dignity, courtesy and integrity.”

Rule 9.7 renumbered effective January 1, 2018, adopted as rule 9.4 effective May 27, 2014.

Rule 9.8. Roll of attorneys admitted to practice

(@

State Bar to maintain the roll of attorneys



(b)

(c)

(d)

The State Bar must maintain, as part of the official records of the State Bar, a roll
of attorneys, which is a list of all persons admitted to practice in this state. Such

records must include the information specified in Business and Professions Code
section 6002.1 and 6064 and other information as directed by the Supreme Court.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as unlettered subdivision
effective May 1, 1996, previously amended effective January 1, 2007; previously
lettered effective June 1, 2007.)

Annual State Bar recommendation for one-time expungement of suspension
for nonpayment of license fees

The State Bar is authorized to transmit to the Supreme Court on an annual basis the
names of those licensees who meet all of the following criteria, along with a
recommendation that their public record of suspension for nonpayment of license
fees be expunged:

(1) The licensee has not on any previous occasion obtained an expungement
under the terms of this rule or rule 9.31;

(2) The suspension was for 90 days or less;

(3) The suspension ended at least seven years before the date of the submission
of the licensee’s name to the Supreme Court;

(4) The licensee has no other record of suspension or involuntary inactive
enrollment for discipline or otherwise.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted effective June 1, 2007,
previously amended effective August 1, 2017.)

Records to be maintained by State Bar

Upon order of the Supreme Court of expungement of a licensee’s record under (b)
of this rule, the State Bar will remove or delete the record of such suspension from
the licensee’s public record. Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, the
State Bar must maintain such internal records as are necessary to apply the terms of
(b) of this rule and to report to the Commission on Judicial Nominees Evaluation or
appropriate governmental entities involved in judicial elections the licensee’s
eligibility for a judgeship under the California Constitution, article VI, section 15.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted effective June 1, 2007.)
Duty of disclosure by licensee

Expungement of a licensee’s suspension under (b) of this rule will not relieve the
licensee of his or her duty to disclose the suspension for purpose of determining the



(e)

®

licensee’s eligibility for a judgeship under the California Constitution, article VI,
section 15. For all other purposes the suspension expunged under (b) of this rule is
deemed not to have occurred and the licensee may answer accordingly any question
relating to his or her record.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted effective June 1, 2007.)

Authorization for the Board of Trustees of the State Bar to adopt rules and
regulations

The Board of Trustees of the State Bar is authorized to adopt such rules and
regulations as it deems necessary and appropriate in order to comply with this rule.

(Subd (e) amended effective August 1, 2017; adopted effective June 1, 2007.)
Inherent power of Supreme Court

Nothing in this rule may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme Court
to exercise its inherent power to direct the State Bar to expunge its records.

(Subd (f) adopted effective June 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.8 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as rule 950.5 by the Supreme Court
effective May 1, 1996, previously amended and renumbered as rule 9.6 effective January 1, 2007,
previously amended effective June 1, 2007, and August 1, 2017; previously renumbered effective
January 1, 2018.

Rule 9.8.5. State Bar Client Trust Account Protection Program

(@

Client trust account protection program requirements

The State Bar of California must establish and administer a Client Trust Account
Protection Program for the protection of client funds held in trust by a licensee that
facilitates the State Bar’s detection and deterrence of client trust accounting
misconduct.

(1)  The State Bar must impose the following requirements under this program:

(A) Annual Trust Account Certification - All licensees must annually (1)
report whether or not, at any time during the prior year, they were
responsible for client funds and funds entrusted by others under the
provisions of rule 1.15 of the Rules of Professional Conduct and (2) if
they were responsible, certify that they are knowledgeable about, and in
compliance with, applicable rules and statutes governing client trust
accounts and the safekeeping of funds entrusted by clients and others;
and



(b)

(c)

(B) Annual Trust Account Registration - All licensees who were
responsible for client funds and funds entrusted by others under the
provisions of rule 1.15 of the Rules of Professional Conduct must,
annually, register each and every trust account in which the licensee
held such funds at any time during the prior year by identifying account
numbers and financial institutions in a manner prescribed by the State
Bar for such reporting that will securely maintain the information
submitted.

(2) Among the other requirements the State Bar may impose under this program
are the following:

(A) Annual Self-Assessment - All licensees who were responsible, at any
time during the prior year, for a client trust account under the
provisions of rule 1.15 of the Rules of Professional Conduct must
complete an annual self-assessment on client trust accounting duties
and practices;

(B) Compliance Review - If selected by the State Bar, a licensee must
complete and submit to the State Bar a client trust accounting
compliance review to be conducted by a certified public accountant at
the licensee’s expense; and

(C) Additional Actions - If selected by the State Bar, an additional action or
actions based on the results of a compliance review may include an
investigative audit, a notice of mandatory corrective action, and a
referral for disciplinary action.

Authorization for the Board of Trustees of the State Bar to adopt rules and
regulations

The Board of Trustees of the State Bar is authorized to formulate and adopt such
rules and regulations as it deems necessary and appropriate to comply with this
rule, including a rule or regulation that defines a licensee who is responsible for
client funds and funds entrusted by others under the provisions of rule 1.15 of the
Rules of Professional Conduct.

Failure to comply with program

A licensee who fails to satisfy the requirements of this program must be enrolled as
an inactive licensee of the State Bar under the rules to be adopted by the Board of
Trustees of the State Bar. Inactive enrollment imposed for noncompliance with the
requirements of this program is cumulative and does not preclude a disciplinary
proceeding or other actions for violations of the State Bar Act, the Rules of
Professional Conduct, or other applicable laws.



(d) Fees and penalties
The State Bar has the authority to set and collect appropriate fees and penalties.
Rule 9.8.5. adopted effective January 1, 2023.
Rule 9.9. Online reporting by attorneys
(a) Required information
To maintain the roll of attorneys required by rule 9.8 and to facilitate
communications by the State Bar with its licensees, each licensee must use an

online account on a secure system provided by the State Bar to report:

(1) A current office address and telephone number, or if none, an alternative
address;

(2) A current e-mail address not to be disclosed on the State Bar’s website or
otherwise to the public without the licensee’s consent;

(3) The URL of the licensee’s professional website, if one is maintained;
(4) The licensee’s practice sector, if applicable;

(5) The number of attorneys employed by the licensee’s law firm, agency, or
other legal employer, if any;

(6) Information about the licensee’s trust account or accounts, if any, as set out in
the Rules of the State Bar of California, rule 2.5;

(7) Legal specialties in which the licensee is certified, if any;

(8)  Any other jurisdictions in which the licensee is admitted and the date(s) of
admission;

(9) The jurisdiction, and the nature and date of any discipline imposed by another
jurisdiction, if any, including the terms and conditions of any probation
imposed, and, if suspended or disbarred in another jurisdiction, the date of
any reinstatement in that jurisdiction;

(10) Any other information as directed by the California Supreme Court;

(11) Any other information as may be required by agreement with, or by
conditions of probation imposed by, any other government agency; and

(12) Any other information as required by law.



(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

(Subd (a) amended effective Januayl, 2024: previously amended effective January 1,
2019.)

Optional information
A licensee may also use an online attorney records account to provide:
(1) ane-mail address for disclosure to the public on the State Bar website; and

(2) additional information as authorized by statute, rule, or Supreme Court
directive, or as requested by the State Bar.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2024, previously amended effective January
1, 2019.)

Exclusions

Unless otherwise permitted by law or the Supreme Court, the State Bar may not use
e-mail as substitute means of providing a notice required to initiate a State Bar
disciplinary or regulatory proceeding or to otherwise change a licensee’s status
involuntarily.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019.)
Exemption

A licensee who does not have online access or an e-mail address may claim an
exemption from the reporting requirements of this rule. The exemption must be
requested in the manner prescribed by the State Bar.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019.)
Failure to Comply

A licensee who fails to satisfy the requirements of this rule will be enrolled as an
inactive licensee of the State Bar under the rules to be adopted by the Board of
Trustees of the State Bar. Inactive enrollment imposed for noncompliance with the
requirements of this rule is cumulative and does not preclude a disciplinary
proceeding or other action for violation of the State Bar Act, the Rules of
Professional Conduct, or other applicable laws.

(Subd (e) adopted effective January 1, 2024.)

10
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Fees and penalties

The State Bar has the authority to set and collect appropriate fees and penalties.

(Subd (f) adopted effective January 1, 2024.)

Rule 9.9 amended effective January 1, 2024, adopted as rule 9.7 effective February 1, 2010;
previously renumbered effective January 1, 2018, previously amended effective January 1, 2019.

Rule 9.9.5. Attorney Fingerprinting

(@

(b)

(c)

(d)

Subsequent arrest notification

(1) The State Bar must enter into a contract with the California Department of
Justice for subsequent arrest notification services for attorneys whose license
is on active status with the State Bar (“active licensed attorneys™) and
attorneys permitted to practice in the State of California pursuant to rules
9.44, 9.45, and 9.46 of the California Rules of Court (“special admissions
attorneys”).

(2) The State Bar must consider those active licensed attorneys and special
admissions attorneys for whom it is already receiving subsequent arrest
notification services as having satisfied the fingerprinting requirement of this
rule and thereby exempt. The State Bar must adopt a procedure for
notification of all attorneys as to whether they have been deemed to have
already satisfied the requirement.

Active licensed attorneys

Each active licensed attorney, with the exception of those attorneys specifically
exempt under (a)(2) of this rule, must, pursuant to the procedure identified by the
State Bar, be fingerprinted for the purpose of obtaining criminal offender record
information regarding state and federal level convictions and arrests from the
Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. These fingerprints
will be retained by the Department of Justice for the limited purpose of subsequent
arrest notification.

Inactive licensed attorneys

An attorney whose license is on inactive status with the State Bar (“inactive
licensed attorneys”), with the exception of those attorneys specifically exempt
under (a)(2) of this rule, must, pursuant to the procedure identified by the State Bar,
be fingerprinted prior to being placed on active status for the purposes described in

(b) of this rule.

Active licensed attorneys in foreign countries

11



(e)
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@

Active licensed attorneys who are residing outside the United States and required to
submit fingerprints under this rule should have their fingerprints taken by a
licensed fingerprinting service agency and submit the hard copy fingerprint card to
the State Bar. If fingerprinting services are not provided in the jurisdiction where
the attorney is physically located, or the attorney is able to provide evidence that
he/she is unable to access or afford such services, the attorney must notify the State
Bar pursuant to the procedure identified by the State Bar. The attorney will be
exempt from providing fingerprints until he or she returns to the United States for a
period of not less than 60 days.

Special admissions attorneys

Attorneys permitted to practice in the State of California pursuant to rules 9.44,
9.45, and 9.46 of the California Rules of Court, with the exception of those
attorneys specifically exempt under (a)(2) of this rule, must, pursuant to the
procedure identified by the State Bar, be fingerprinted for the purpose of obtaining
criminal offender record information regarding state and federal level convictions
and arrests from the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
These fingerprints will be retained by the Department of Justice for the limited
purpose of subsequent arrest notification.

Implementation schedule and penalty for noncompliance

(1) The State Bar must develop a schedule for implementation that requires all
attorneys subject to fingerprinting under (b) of this rule to be fingerprinted by
December 1, 2019. The State Bar must develop a schedule for
implementation that requires all special admissions attorneys subject to
fingerprinting under (e) of this rule to be fingerprinted by the renewal of their
application to practice law in the State of California.

(2) The State Bar has ongoing authority to require submission of fingerprints
after December 1, 2019 for attorneys for whom it is not receiving subsequent
arrest notification services and for attorneys transferring to active status.
Failure to be fingerprinted if required by this rule may result in involuntary
inactive enrollment pursuant to Business and Professions Code section
6054(d).

(3) The State Bar has ongoing authority to require submission of fingerprints
after December 1, 2019, for special admissions attorneys for whom it is not
receiving subsequent arrest notification services. Failure to be fingerprinted if
required may result in a State Bar determination that the attorney cease
providing legal services in California.

Information obtained by fingerprint submission; disclosure limitations

12



(h)

(@

Any information obtained by the State Bar as a result of fingerprint submission
under this rule must be kept confidential and used solely for State Bar licensing and

regulatory purposes.

Fingerprint submission and processing costs

(1)

)

Except as described in (h)(2), all costs incurred for the processing of
fingerprints for the State Bar, including print furnishing and encoding, as
required by Business and Professions Code section 6054, must be borne by
the licensed attorney or special admissions attorney.

The State Bar must develop procedures for granting waivers of the processing
costs of running Department of Justice and Federal Bureau of Investigation
background checks for licensed attorneys with demonstrable financial
hardship.

Attorneys who are physically unable to be fingerprinted

(1)

)

3)

If the Department of Justice makes a determination pursuant to Penal Code
section 11105.7 that any attorney required to be fingerprinted under this rule
is presently unable to provide legible fingerprints, the attorney will be
deemed to have complied with the fingerprinting requirements of this rule.

Attorneys required to be fingerprinted under this rule may also submit
notification to the State Bar that they are unable to submit fingerprints due to
disability, illness, accident, or other circumstances beyond their control. The
State Bar must evaluate the notification and may require additional evidence.
If the State Bar determines that the attorney is unable to submit fingerprints
based on the information provided, the attorney will be deemed to have
complied with the fingerprinting requirements of this rule.

A determination of deemed compliance under (i)(1) and (i)(2) will apply only
to those attorneys who are unable to supply legible fingerprints due to
disability, illness, accident, or other circumstances beyond their control and
will not apply to attorneys who are unable to provide fingerprints because of
actions they have taken to avoid submitting their fingerprints.

Rule 9.9.5 adopted effective June 1, 2018.

Chapter 3. Attorney Disciplinary Proceedings

Rule 9.10. Authority of the State Bar Court

Rule 9.11. State Bar Court judges

Rule 9.12. Standard of review for State Bar Court Review Department

Rule 9.13. Review of State Bar Court decisions

Rule 9.14. Petitions for review by the Chief Trial Counsel

Rule 9.15. Petitions for review by the State Bar; grounds for review; confidentiality

13



Rule 9.16. Grounds for review of State Bar Court decisions in the Supreme Court
Rule 9.17. Remand with instructions

Rule 9.18. Effective date of disciplinary orders and decisions

Rule 9.19. Conditions attached to reprovals

Rule 9.20. Duties of disbarred, resigned, or suspended attorneys

Rule 9.21. Resignations of licensees of the State Bar with disciplinary charges
pending

Rule 9.22. Suspension of licensees of the State Bar for failure to comply with
Jjudgment or order for child or family support

Rule 9.23. Enforcement as money judgment disciplinary orders directing the
payment of costs and disciplinary orders requiring reimbursement of the Client
Security Fund

Rule 9.10. Authority of the State Bar Court
(a) Conviction proceedings

The State Bar Court exercises statutory powers under Business and Professions
Code sections 6101 and 6102 with respect to the discipline of attorneys convicted
of crimes. (See Bus. & Prof. Code §6087.) For purposes of this rule, a judgment of
conviction is deemed final when the availability of appeal has been exhausted and
the time for filing a petition for certiorari in the United States Supreme Court on
direct review of the judgment of conviction has elapsed and no petition has been
filed, or if filed the petition has been denied or the judgment of conviction has been
affirmed. The State Bar Court must impose or recommend discipline in conviction
matters as in other disciplinary proceedings. The power conferred upon the State
Bar Court by this rule includes the power to place attorneys on interim suspension
under subdivisions (a) and (b) of section 6102, and the power to vacate, delay the
effective date of, and temporarily stay the effect of such orders.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
(b) Professional responsibility examination
The State Bar Court may:

(1) Extend the time within which a licensee of the State Bar must take and pass a
professional responsibility examination;

(2) Suspend a licensee for failing to take and pass such examination; and
(3) Vacate licensee’s suspension for failing to take and pass such examination.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

14



(c)

(d)

(e)

4

Probation
The State Bar Court for good cause, may:

(1)  Approve stipulations between the licensee and the Chief Trial Counsel for
modification of the terms of a licensee’s probation; and

(2) Make corrections and minor modifications to the terms of a licensee’s
disciplinary probation.

The order of the State Bar Court must be filed promptly with the Clerk of the
Supreme Court.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Rule 9.20 compliance

The State Bar Court for good cause, may extend the time within which a licensee
must comply with the provisions of rule 9.20 of the California Rules of Court.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Commencement of suspension
The State Bar Court for good cause, may delay temporarily the effective date of, or
temporarily stay the effect of, an order for a licensee’s disciplinary suspension from

practice.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Readmission and reinstatement

Applications for readmission or reinstatement must, in the first instance, be filed
and heard by the State Bar Court, except that no applicant who has been disbarred
by the Supreme Court on two previous occasions may apply for readmission or
reinstatement. Applicants for readmission or reinstatement must:

(1) Pass a professional responsibility examination;

(2) Establish their rehabilitation and present moral qualifications for
readmission; and

(3) Establish present ability and learning in the general law. Applicants who
resigned without charges pending more than five years before filing an

15



application for reinstatement or readmission must establish present ability
and learning in the general law by providing proof, at the time of filing the
application, that they have taken and passed the Attorneys’ Examination
administered by the Committee of Bar Examiners pursuant to the authority
delegated to it by the Board of Trustees within five years prior to the filing of
the application for readmission or reinstatement. Applicants who resigned
with charges pending or who were disbarred must establish present ability
and learning in the general law by providing proof, at the time of filing the
application for readmission or reinstatement, that they have taken and passed
the Attorneys’ Examination by State Bar within three years prior to the filing
of the application for readmission or reinstatement.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007, and January 1, 2010.)

(g) Inherent power of Supreme Court

Nothing in these rules may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme
Court to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the lawyer discipline and admissions
system.

(Subd (g) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.10 amended effective January 1, 2010; adopted as rule 951 effective December 1, 1990;
previously amended by the Supreme Court effective April 1, 1996, and January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.11. State Bar Court judges

(a) Applicant Evaluation and Nomination Committee

(1)

)

In order to ensure that individuals appointed by the Supreme Court or by the
executive or legislative branches have been evaluated objectively, the
Supreme Court has established an independent Applicant Evaluation and
Nomination Committee (committee) to solicit, receive, screen, and evaluate
all applications for appointment or reappointment to any position of judge of
the State Bar Court (hearing judge, presiding judge, and review department
judge). The role of the committee is to determine whether appointees possess
not only the statutorily enumerated qualifications, but also any qualifications
that may be required by the Supreme Court to assist in the exercise of its
ultimate authority over the discipline and admission of attorneys (see Obrien
v. Jones (2000) 23 Cal.4th 40; In re Attorney Discipline System (1998) 19
Cal.4th 582; Cal. Const., art. VI, sec. 9).

The committee serves at the pleasure of the Supreme Court. It shall consist of
seven members appointed by the court of whom no more than four may be
licensees of the State Bar in good standing, two must be retired or active
judicial officers, and no more than three may be public members who have

16



(b)

)

4

never been a licensees of the State Bar or admitted to practice before any
court in the United States. Two members of the committee must be present
members of the Board of Trustees of the State Bar.

The committee must adopt, and implement upon approval by the Supreme
Court, procedures for:

(A) Timely notice to potential applicants of vacancies;

(B) Receipt of applications for appointments to those positions from both
incumbents and other qualified persons;

(C) Solicitation and receipt of public comment;

(D) Identification and collection of actual and potential conflicts of interest
for those applicants selected for interviews by the committee. These
procedures, at a minimum, must require these applicants to
confidentially disclose any financial and nonfinancial interests that
might affect or might be affected by service by the applicant as a State
Bar Court judge and a list of attorneys whom each applicant would
identify as creating a conflict in any future service by the applicant as a
State Bar Court judge;

(E) Evaluation and rating of applicants; and

(F) Transmittal of the materials specified in (b) of this rule to the Supreme
Court and, as applicable, other appointing authorities.

The procedures adopted by the committee must include provisions to
ensure confidentiality comparable to those followed by the Judicial
Nominees Evaluation Commission established under Government Code
section 12011.5.

The Board of Trustees of the State Bar, in consultation with the Supreme
Court if necessary, must provide facilities and support staff needed by the
committee to carry out its obligations under this rule.

(Subd (a) amended effective December 1, 2023; previously amended effective
February 15, 1995, July 1, 2000, January 1, 2007, January 1, 2009 January 1, 2019,
and July 1, 2022.)

Evaluations

(1)

The committee must evaluate the qualifications of and rate all applicants for
positions appointed by the Supreme Court and must submit to the Supreme
Court the nominations of at least two candidates for each vacancy.
Candidates shall be rated as “not recommended,” “recommended,” or “highly
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)

3)

recommended.” A rating of “not recommended” relates only to the position
under consideration and does not indicate any lack of ability or expertise of
the applicant generally. The committee must report in confidence to the
Supreme Court its evaluation, rating and recommendation for applicants for
appointment and the reasons therefore, including a succinct summary of their
qualifications, at a time to be designated by the Supreme Court. The report
must include written comments received by the committee, which must be
transmitted to the Supreme Court together with the nominations.

The committee must evaluate the qualifications of and rate all applicants for
positions appointed by the Governor, the Senate Committee on Rules, or the
Speaker of the Assembly, and must submit in confidence to the Supreme
Court and, as applicable, to other appointing authorities, all applications for
such positions together with the committee's evaluation, rating and
recommendation for these applicants, including any written comments
received by the committee, at a time to be designated by the Supreme Court.

In determining the qualifications of an applicant for appointment or
reappointment the committee must consider, among other appropriate factors,
the following: industry, legal and judicial experience (including prior service
as a judge of the State Bar Court), judicial temperament, honesty, objectivity,
community respect, integrity, and ability. The committee must consider legal
work experience broadly, including, but not limited to, litigation and non-
litigation experience, legal work for a business or nonprofit entity, experience
as a law professor or other academic position, legal work in any of the three
branches of government, and legal work in dispute resolution.

The committee shall consider whether an applicant has demonstrated the
ability to write cogently and to analyze legal provisions and principles.
Among the issues the committee may also consider are (1) the applicant’s
demonstrated capacity to work independently and to set and meet
performance goals, (2) the applicant’s knowledge and experience relevant to
issues that give rise to the majority of State Bar Court proceedings, including
professional ethics and fiduciary obligations, (3) knowledge of practice and
demeanor in the courtroom, and (4) whether the applicant has been in
practice for 10 or more years. The committee shall accord weight to all
experience that has provided the applicant with legal experience and
exposure during which the individual has demonstrated the underlying skills
necessary to serve as an effective State Bar Court judge. The committee shall
apply the same criteria to candidates seeking appointment from all of the
appointing authorities. Any evaluation or rating of an applicant and any
recommendation for appointment or reappointment by the committee must be
made in conformity with Business and Professions Code section 6079.1(b)
and in light of the factors specified in Government Code section 12011.5(d),
and those specified in this paragraph.
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(c)

(d)

(4) The committee must use the information obtained under the procedures
developed pursuant to (a)(3)(D) of this rule to evaluate the actual or potential
conflicts of interest of applicants selected for interviews. The committee
shall consider whether the applicant’s actual or potential conflicts of interest
should disqualify the applicant or reduce the applicant’s rating under
(a)(3)(E) of this rule. In making this determination, the committee shall
consider whether the applicant has financial or nonfinancial interests or
relationships with other attorneys that may impact the applicant’s ability to
perform the duties of a State Bar Court judge in a manner that avoids
impropriety, the appearance of impropriety, or frequent disqualification. The
committee shall include its determination on this issue in the report to the
Supreme Court required under (b)(1) of this rule, and, as applicable, to other
appointing authorities under (b)(2) of this rule.

(5) Upon transmittal of its report to the Supreme Court under (b)(1) of this rule,
and, as applicable, to other appointing authorities under (b)(2) of this rule, the
committee must notify any incumbent who has applied for reappointment by
the Supreme Court if he or she is or is not among the applicants
recommended for appointment to the new term by the committee. The
applicable appointing authority must notify as soon as possible an incumbent
who has applied for reappointment but is not selected.

(Subd (b) amended effective December 1, 2023, adopted effective February 15, 1995,
previously amended effective July 1, 2000, January 1, 2007, January 1, 2009, and
July 1, 2022.)

Appointments

Only applicants who are rated as recommended or highly recommended by the
committee or by the Supreme Court may be appointed. At the request of the
Governor, the Senate Committee on Rules, or the Speaker of the Assembly, the
Supreme Court will reconsider a finding by the committee that a particular
applicant is not recommended. The Supreme Court may make such orders as to the
appointment of applicants as it deems appropriate, including extending the term of
incumbent judges pending such order or providing for staggered terms.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2009, adopted effective February 15, 1995;
previously amended effective July 1, 2000, and January 1, 2007.)

Discipline for misconduct or disability

A judge of the State Bar Court is subject to discipline or retirement on the same
grounds as a judge of a court of this state. Complaints concerning the conduct of a
judge of the State Bar Court must be addressed to the Executive Director-Chief
Counsel of the Commission on Judicial Performance, who is the Supreme Court's
investigator for the purpose of evaluating those complaints, conducting any
necessary further investigation, and determining whether formal proceedings
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should be instituted. If there is reasonable cause to institute formal proceedings, the
investigator must notify the Supreme Court of that fact and must serve as or
appoint the examiner and make other appointments and arrangements necessary for
the hearing. The Supreme Court will then appoint one or more active or retired
judges of superior courts or Courts of Appeal as its special master or masters to
hear the complaint and the results of the investigation, and to report to the Supreme
Court on the resulting findings, conclusions, and recommendations as to discipline.
The procedures of the Commission on Judicial Performance must be followed by
the investigator and special masters, to the extent feasible. The procedures in the
Supreme Court after a discipline recommendation is filed will, to the extent
feasible, be the same as the procedures followed when a determination of the
Commission on Judicial Performance is filed.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (b) effective
December 1, 1990; relettered effective February 15, 1995, previously amended
effective July 1, 2000.)

Rule 9.11 amended effective December 1, 2023, adopted as rule 961 effective December 1, 1990;
previously amended February 15, 1995, July 1, 2000, January 1, 2009, January 1, 2019, and July
1, 2022; previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007

Rule 9.12. Standard of review for State Bar Court Review Department

In reviewing the decisions, orders, or rulings of a hearing judge under rule 301 of the
Rules of Procedure of the State Bar of California or such other rule as may be adopted
governing the review of any decisions, orders, or rulings by a hearing judge that fully
disposes of an entire proceeding, the Review Department of the State Bar Court must
independently review the record and may adopt findings, conclusions, and a decision or
recommendation different from those of the hearing judge.

Rule 9.12 amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as rule 951.5 by the
Supreme Court effective February 23, 2000.

Rule 9.13. Review of State Bar Court decisions
(a) Review of recommendation of disbarment or suspension

A petition to the Supreme Court by a licensee to review a decision of the State Bar
Court recommending his or her disbarment or suspension from practice must be
served and filed within 60 days after a certified copy of the decision complained of
is filed with the Clerk of the Supreme Court. The State Bar may serve and file an
answer to the petition within 15 days after filing of the petition. Within 5 days after
filing of the answer, the petitioner may serve and file a reply. If review is ordered
by the Supreme Court, the State Bar must serve and file a supplemental brief within
45 days after the order is filed. Within 15 days after filing of the supplemental
brief, the petitioner may serve and file a reply brief.
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(b)

(c)

(d)

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously relettered and amended
effective October 1, 1973, previously amended effective July 1, 1968, December 1,
1990, and January 7, 2007.)

Review of recommendation to set aside stay of suspension or modify probation

A petition to the Supreme Court by a licensee to review a recommendation of the
State Bar Court that a stay of an order of suspension be set aside or that the
duration or conditions of probation be modified on account of a violation of
probation must be served and filed within 15 days after a certified copy of the
recommendation complained of is filed with the Clerk of the Supreme Court.
Within 15 days after filing of the petition, the State Bar may serve and file an
answer. Within 5 days after filing of the answer, the petitioner may serve and file a

reply.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted effective October 1, 1973;
previously amended effective December 1, 1990; and January 1, 2007.)

Review of interim decisions

A petition to the Supreme Court by a licensee to review a decision of the State Bar
Court regarding interim suspension, the exercise of powers delegated by rule
9.10(b)—(e), or another interlocutory matter must be served and filed within 15 days
after written notice of the adverse decision of the State Bar Court is mailed by the
State Bar to the petitioner and to his or her counsel of record, if any, at their
respective addresses under section 6002.1. Within 15 days after filing of the
petition, the State Bar may serve and file an answer. Within 5 days after filing of
the answer, the petitioner may serve and file a reply.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted effective December 1, 1990;
previously amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Review of other decisions

A petition to the Supreme Court to review any other decision of the State Bar Court
or action of the Board of Trustees of the State Bar, or of any board or committee
appointed by it and authorized to make a determination under the provisions of the
State Bar Act, or of the chief executive officer of the State Bar or the designee of
the chief executive officer authorized to make a determination under article 10 of
the State Bar Act or these rules of court, must be served and filed within 60 days
after written notice of the action complained of is mailed to the petitioner and to his
or her counsel of record, if any, at their respective addresses under Business and
Professions Code section 6002.1. Within 15 days after filing of the petition, the
State Bar may serve and file an answer and brief. Within 5 days after filing of the
answer and brief, the petitioner may serve and file a reply. If review is ordered by
the Supreme Court, the State Bar, within 45 days after filing of the order, may
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(e)

serve and file a supplemental brief. Within 15 days after filing of the supplemental
brief, the petitioner may serve and file a reply brief.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective July 1,
1968, May 1, 1986, April 2, 1987, and January 1, 2007, previously relettered and
amended effective October 1, 1973, and December 1, 1990.)

Contents of petition

(1)

)

3)

(4)

A petition to the Supreme Court filed under (a) or (b) of this rule must be
verified, must specify the grounds relied upon, must show that review within
the State Bar Court has been exhausted, must address why review is
appropriate under one or more of the grounds specified in rule 9.16, and must
have attached a copy of the State Bar Court decision from which relief is
sought.

When review is sought under (c) or (d) of this rule, the petition must also be
accompanied by a record adequate to permit review of the ruling, including:

(A) Legible copies of all documents and exhibits submitted to the State Bar
Court or the State Bar supporting and opposing petitioner’s position;

(B) Legible copies of all other documents submitted to the State Bar Court
or the State Bar that are necessary for a complete understanding of the
case and the ruling; and

(C) A transcript of the proceedings in the State Bar Court leading to the
decision or, if a transcript is unavailable, a declaration by counsel
explaining why a transcript is unavailable and fairly summarizing the
proceedings, including arguments by counsel and the basis of the State
Bar Court’s decision, if stated; or a declaration by counsel stating that
the transcript has been ordered, the date it was ordered, and the date it
is expected to be filed, which must be a date before any action is
requested from the Supreme Court other than issuance of a stay
supported by other parts of the record.

A petitioner who requests an immediate stay must explain in the petition the
reasons for the urgency and set forth all relevant time constraints.

If a petitioner does not submit the required record, the court may summarily
deny the stay request, the petition, or both.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously repealed and adopted by the
Supreme Court effective December 1, 1990, and February 1, 1991, previously
repealed and adopted effective March 15, 1991, previously amended effective
January 1, 2007.)
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(f) Service

All petitions, briefs, reply briefs, and other pleadings filed by a petitioner under this
rule must be accompanied by proof of service of three copies on the General
Counsel of the State Bar at the San Francisco office of the State Bar, and of one
copy on the Clerk of the State Bar Court at the Los Angeles office of the State Bar
Court. The State Bar must serve the licensee at his or her address under Business
and Professions Code section 6002.1, and his or her counsel of record, if any.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted by the Supreme Court effective
December 1, 1990; previously amended by the Supreme Court effective February 1,
1991, previously amended effective March 15, 1991, and January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.13 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 59 by the Supreme Court effective
April 20, 1943, and by the Judicial Council effective July 1, 1943, previously amended and
renumbered as rule 952 effective October 1, 1973, and as 9.13 effective January 1, 2007,
previously amended effective July 1, 1976, May 1, 1986, April 2, 1987, December 1, 1990,
February 1, 1991, and March 15, 1991.

Rule 9.14. Petitions for review by the Chief Trial Counsel
(a) Time for filing

The Chief Trial Counsel may petition for review of recommendations and decisions
of the State Bar Court as follows:

(1) From recommendations that a licensee be suspended, within 60 days of the
date the recommendation is filed with the Supreme Court.

(2) From recommendations that the duration or conditions of probation be
modified, or a reinstatement application be granted, within 15 days of the
date the recommendation is filed with the Supreme Court.

(3) From decisions not to place an eligible licensee on interim suspension, or
vacating interim suspension, or a denial of a petition brought under Business
and Professions Code section 6007(c), within 15 days of notice under the
rules adopted by the State Bar.

(4) From decisions dismissing disciplinary proceedings or recommending
approval, within 60 days of notice under the rules adopted by the State Bar.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted effective March 15, 1991;
previously adopted by the Supreme Court effective December 10, 1990, previously
amended effective January 1, 2007.)

(b) Procedures
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Proceedings under this rule with regard to briefing, service of process, and
applicable time periods therefor must correspond to proceedings brought under rule
9.13, except that the rights and duties of the licensee and the State Bar under that
rule are reversed.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as part of subd (d) effective
March 15, 1991, previously adopted by the Supreme Court effective December 10,
1991, previously amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.14 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 952.5 effective March 15, 1991,
previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.15. Petitions for review by State Bar; grounds for review; confidentiality

(@

(b)

(c)

Petition for review by the State Bar

The State Bar may petition for review of the decision of the Review Department of
the State Bar Court in moral character proceedings. All petitions under this rule
must be served and filed with the Clerk of the Supreme Court within 60 days after
the State Bar Court decision is filed and served on the General Counsel of the State
Bar at the San Francisco office of the State Bar. The applicant may file and serve
an answer within 15 days after filing of the petition. Within 5 days after filing of
the answer the State Bar may serve and file a reply. If review is ordered by the
Supreme Court, within 45 days after filing and service of the order, the applicant
may serve and file a supplemental brief. Within 15 days after filing of the
supplemental brief, the petitioner may serve and file a reply brief.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Contents of petition

A petition to the Supreme Court filed under this rule must show that review within
the State Bar Court has been exhausted, must address why review is appropriate
under one or more of the grounds specified in rule 9.16, and must have attached a
copy of the State Bar Court decision for which review is sought.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
Service

All petitions, briefs, reply briefs, and other pleadings filed by the State Bar must
include a proof of service by mail to the applicant’s last address provided to the
State Bar or the applicant’s attorney of record, if any. Filings by the applicant must
include a proof of service of three copies on the General Counsel of the State Bar at
the San Francisco office of the State Bar and one copy on the Clerk of the State Bar
Court at the Los Angeles office of the State Bar Court.
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(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective April 20,
1998, and January 1, 2007.)

(d) Confidentiality
All filings under this rule are confidential unless: (1) the applicant waives
confidentiality in writing; or (2) the Supreme Court grants review. Once the
Supreme Court grants review, filings under this rule are open to the public;
however, if good cause exists, the Supreme Court may order portions of the record
or the identity of witnesses or other third parties to the proceedings to remain

confidential.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2007; adopted effective April 20, 1998.)

Rule 9.15 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 952.6 by the Supreme Court
effective July 1, 1993, and by the Judicial Council May 6, 1998, previously amended by the

Supreme Court effective April 20, 1998; previously amended and renumbered effective January 1,
2007.

Rule 9.16. Grounds for review of State Bar Court decisions in the Supreme Court
(a) Grounds

The Supreme Court will order review of a decision of the State Bar Court
recommending disbarment or suspension from practice when it appears:

(1) Necessary to settle important questions of law;

(2) The State Bar Court has acted without or in excess of jurisdiction;
(3) Petitioner did not receive a fair hearing;

(4) The decision is not supported by the weight of the evidence; or

(5) The recommended discipline is not appropriate in light of the record as a
whole.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2007, adopted by the Supreme Court
effective February 1, 1991.)

(b) Denial of review
Denial of review of a decision of the State Bar Court is a final judicial

determination on the merits and the recommendation of the State Bar Court will be
filed as an order of the Supreme Court.
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(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2007; adopted by the Supreme Court
effective February 1, 1991.)

Rule 9.16 amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as rule 954 effective
February 1, 1991.

Rule 9.17. Remand with instructions

The Supreme Court may at any time remand a matter filed under this chapter to the State
Bar Court or the State Bar with instructions to take such further actions or conduct such
further proceedings as the Supreme Court deems necessary.

Rule 9.17 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 953.5 effective February 1, 1991;
previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.18. Effective date of disciplinary orders and decisions
(a) Effective date of Supreme Court orders

Unless otherwise ordered, all orders of the Supreme Court imposing discipline or
opinions deciding causes involving the State Bar become final 30 days after filing.
The Supreme Court may grant a rehearing at any time before the decision or order
becomes final. Petitions for rehearing must be served and filed within 15 days after
the date the decision or order was filed. Unless otherwise ordered, when petitions
for review under rules 9.13(c) and 9.14(a)(3) are acted upon summarily, the orders
of the Supreme Court are final forthwith and do not have law-of-the-case effect in
subsequent proceedings in the Supreme Court.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted effective March 15, 1991;
previously adopted by the Supreme Court effective December 1, 1990, previously
amended effective January 1, 2007.)

(b) Effect of State Bar Court orders when no review sought

Unless otherwise ordered, if no petition for review is filed within the time allowed
by rule 9.13(a), (b), and (d), or rule 9.14(a)(1) and (2), as to a recommendation of
the State Bar Court for the disbarment, suspension, or reinstatement of a licensee,
the vacation of a stay, or modification of the duration or conditions of a probation,
the recommendation of the State Bar Court will be filed as an order of the Supreme
Court following the expiration of the time for filing a timely petition. The Clerk of
the Supreme Court will mail notice of this effect to the licensee and his or her
attorney of record, if any, at their respective addresses under Business and
Professions Code section 6002.1 and to the State Bar.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted effective March 15, 1991;

previously adopted by the Supreme Court effective December 1, 1990, previously
amended effective January 1, 2007.)
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(c)

Effect of State Bar Court orders in moral character proceedings when no
review sought

Unless otherwise ordered, if no petition for review is filed within the time allowed
by rule 9.15(a), as to a recommendation of the State Bar Court in moral character
proceedings, the recommendation of the State Bar Court will be filed as an order of
the Supreme Court following the expiration of the time for filing a timely petition.
The Clerk of the Supreme Court will mail notice of this effect to the applicant’s last
address provided to the State Bar or to the applicant’s attorney of record, if any,
and to the State Bar.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.18 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 953 effective March 15, 1991;
previously amended effective February 1, 1996, previously amended and renumbered effective
January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.19. Conditions attached to reprovals

(@)

(b)

Attachment of conditions to reprovals

The State Bar may attach conditions, effective for a reasonable time, to a public or
private reproval administered upon a licensee of the State Bar. Conditions so
attached must be based on a finding by the State Bar that protection of the public
and the interests of the licensee will be served thereby. The State Bar when
administering the reproval must give notice to the licensee that failure to comply
with the conditions may be punishable.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Sanctions for failure to comply
A licensee’s failure to comply with conditions attached to a public or private
reproval may be cause for a separate proceeding for willful breach of 8.1.1 of the

Rules of Professional Conduct.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Rule 9.19 amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended and renumbered effective
January 1, 2007, adopted as rule 956 effective November 18, 1983.

Rule 9.20. Duties of disbarred, resigned, or suspended attorneys
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(@

(b)

(c)

Disbarment, suspension, and resignation orders

The Supreme Court may include in an order disbarring or suspending a licensee of
the State Bar, or accepting his or her resignation, a direction that the licensee must,
within such time limits as the Supreme Court may prescribe:

(1) Notify all clients being represented in pending matters and any co-counsel of
his or her disbarment, suspension, or resignation and his or her consequent
disqualification to act as an attorney after the effective date of the disbarment,
suspension, or resignation, and, in the absence of co-counsel, also notify the
clients to seek legal advice elsewhere, calling attention to any urgency in
seeking the substitution of another attorney or attorneys;

(2) Deliver to all clients being represented in pending matters any papers or other
property to which the clients are entitled, or notify the clients and any co-
counsel of a suitable time and place where the papers and other property may
be obtained, calling attention to any urgency for obtaining the papers or other

property;
(3) Refund any part of fees paid that have not been earned; and

(4) Notify opposing counsel in pending litigation or, in the absence of counsel,
the adverse parties of the disbarment, suspension, or resignation and
consequent disqualification to act as an attorney after the effective date of the
disbarment, suspension, or resignation, and file a copy of the notice with the
court, agency, or tribunal before which the litigation is pending for inclusion
in the respective file or files.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective
December 1, 1990, and January 1, 2007.)

Notices to clients, co-counsel, opposing counsel, and adverse parties

All notices required by an order of the Supreme Court or the State Bar Court under
this rule must be given by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, and
must contain an address where communications may be directed to the disbarred,
suspended, or resigned licensee.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective
December 1, 1990, and January 1, 2007.)

Filing proof of compliance
Within such time as the order may prescribe after the effective date of the
licensee’s disbarment, suspension, or resignation, the licensee must file with the

Clerk of the State Bar Court an affidavit showing that he or she has fully complied
with those provisions of the order entered under this rule. The affidavit must also
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specify an address where communications may be directed to the disbarred,
suspended, or resigned licensee.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective
December 1, 1990, and January 1, 2007.)

(d) Sanctions for failure to comply

A disbarred or resigned licensee’s willful failure to comply with the provisions of
this rule is a ground for denying his or her application for reinstatement or
readmission. A suspended licensee’s willful failure to comply with the provisions
of this rule is a cause for disbarment or suspension and for revocation of any
pending probation. Additionally, such failure may be punished as a contempt or a
crime.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007, previously relettered and amended effective December 1, 1990.)

Rule 9.20 amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended and renumbered effective
January 1, 2007, adopted as rule 955 effective April 4, 1973; previously amended effective
December 1, 1990.

Rule 9.21. Resignations of licensees of the State Bar with disciplinary charges
pending

(a) General provisions

A licensee of the State Bar against whom disciplinary charges are pending may
tender a written resignation from the State Bar and relinquishment of the right to
practice law. The written resignation must be signed and dated by the licensee at
the time it is tendered and must be tendered to the Office of the Clerk, State Bar
Court, 845 S. Figueroa Street, Los Angeles, California 90017. The resignation must
be substantially in the form specified in (b) of this rule. In submitting a resignation
under this rule, a licensee of the State Bar agrees to be transferred to inactive status
in the State Bar effective on the filing of the resignation by the State Bar. Within 30
days after filing of the resignation, the licensee must perform the acts specified in
rule 9.20(a)(1)—(4) and (b) and within 40 days after filing of the resignation, the
licensee must file with the Office of the Clerk, State Bar Court, at the above
address, the proof of compliance specified in rule 9.20(c). No resignation is
effective unless and until it is accepted by the Supreme Court after consideration
and recommendation by the State Bar Court.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2021; previously amended effective January
1, 2007, January 1, 2010, and January 1, 2019.)

(b) Form of resignation
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(c)

The licensee’s written resignation must be in substantially the following form:

“I, [name of licensee,] against whom charges are pending, hereby resign from the
State Bar of California and relinquish all right to practice law in the State of
California. I agree that, in the event that this resignation is accepted and I later file a
petition for reinstatement, the State Bar will consider in connection therewith all
disciplinary matters and proceedings against me at the time this resignation is
accepted, in addition to other appropriate matters, I also agree that the Supreme
Court may decline to accept my resignation unless I reach agreement with the Chief
Trial Counsel on a written stipulation as to facts and conclusions of law regarding
the disciplinary matters and proceedings that were pending against me at the time
of my resignation. I further agree that, on the filing of this resignation by the Office
of the Clerk, State Bar Court, I will be transferred to inactive status with the State
Bar. On such transfer, I acknowledge that I will be ineligible to practice law or to
advertise or hold myself out as practicing or as entitled to practice law. I further
acknowledge that in the event the Supreme Court does not accept my resignation, I
will remain an inactive licensee of the State Bar, pending any further order of the
Supreme Court or the State Bar Court. I further agree that, within 30 days of the
filing of the resignation by the Office of the Clerk, State Bar Court, I will perform
the acts specified in rule 9.20(a)—(b) of the California Rules of Court, and within 40
days of the date of filing of this resignation by the Office of the Clerk, State Bar
Court, I will notify that office as specified in rule 9.20(c) of the California Rules of
Court.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007, January 1, 2010, and January 1, 2014.)

Consideration of resignation by State Bar Court and Supreme Court

When the Office of the Clerk of the State Bar Court receives a licensee’s
resignation tendered in conformity with this rule, it must promptly file the
resignation. The State Bar Court must thereafter consider the licensee’s resignation
and the stipulated facts and conclusions of law, if any, agreed upon between the
licensee and the Chief Trial Counsel, and must recommend to the Supreme Court
whether the resignation should be accepted. The State Bars Court’s
recommendation must be made in light of the grounds set forth in d) of this rule
and, if the State Bar Court recommends acceptance of the resignation
notwithstanding the existence of one or more of the grounds set forth in subsection
(d), the State Bar Court’s recommendation must include an explanation of the
reasons for the recommendation that the resignation be accepted. The Office of the
Clerk of the State Bar Court must transmit to the Clerk of the Supreme Court, three
certified copies of the State Bar Court’s recommendation together with the
licensee’s resignation, when, by the terms of the State Bar Court’s
recommendation, the resignation should be transmitted to the Supreme Court.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007, and January 1, 2010.)
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(d)

(e)

Grounds for rejection of resignation by the Supreme Court

The Supreme Court will make such orders concerning the licensee’s resignation as
it deems appropriate. The Supreme Court may decline to accept the resignation
based on a report by the State Bar Court that:

(1) Preservation of necessary testimony is not complete;

(2) After transfer to inactive status, the licensee has practiced law or has
advertised or held himself or herself out as entitled to practice law;

(3) The licensee has failed to perform the acts specified by rule 9.20(a)—(b);

(4) The licensee has failed to provide proof of compliance as specified in rule
9.20(c);

(5) The Supreme Court has filed an order of disbarment as to the licensee;

(6) The State Bar Court has filed a decision or opinion recommending the
licensee’s disbarment;

(7)  The licensee has previously resigned or has been disbarred and reinstated to
the practice of law;

(8) The licensee and the Chief Trial Counsel have not reached agreement on a
written stipulation as to facts and conclusions of law regarding the
disciplinary matters and proceedings that were pending against the licensee at
the time the resignation was tendered; or

(9)  Acceptance of the resignation of the licensee will reasonably be inconsistent
with the need to protect the public, the courts, or the legal profession.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2010, previously amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007; adopted as
part of subd (c) effective December 14, 1984.)

Rejection of resignation by the Supreme Court

A licensee whose resignation with charges pending is not accepted by the Supreme
Court will remain an inactive licensee of the State Bar. The licensee may move the
Review Department of the State Bar Court to be restored to active status, at which
time the Office of the Chief Trial Counsel may demonstrate any basis for the
licensee’s continued ineligibility to practice law. The Review Department will
expedite a motion to be restored to active status. Any return to active status will be
conditioned on the licensee’s payment of any due, penalty payments, and restitution
owed by the licensee.
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(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted effective January 1, 2014.)

Rule 9.21 amended effective January 1, 2021, adopted as rule 960 by the Supreme Court effective
December 14, 1984, previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007, previously
amended effective January 1, 2010, January 1, 2014, and January 1, 2019.

Rule 9.22. Suspension of licensees of the State Bar for failure to comply with

(@

(b)

(c)

judgment or order for child or family support
State Bar recommendation for suspension of delinquent licensees

Under Family Code section 17520, the State Bar is authorized to transmit to the
Supreme Court twice a year the names of those licensees listed by the State
Department of Child Support Services as delinquent in their payments of court-
ordered child or family support with a recommendation for their suspension from
the practice of law.

(Subd (a) amended effective October 20, 2023, previously amended effective January
1, 2007 and January 1, 2019.)

Conditions for reinstatement of a suspended licensees

The Supreme Court may reinstate a licensee suspended under this rule may be
reinstated only after receipt by the Supreme Court of notification from the State Bar
that the licensee’s name has been removed from the State Department of Child
Support Services list as provided in Family Code section 17520(h) and that the
licensee has submitted a declaration under penalty of perjury stating whether the
licensee practiced law during the suspension.

(Subd (b) amended effective October 20, 2023, adopted as part of subd (a) effective
January 31, 1993, previously amended and lettered effective January 1, 2007;
previously amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Subsequent recommendation for suspension by the State Bar

Under Family Code section 17520(/), the State Bar is further authorized to
promptly transmit to the Supreme Court with a recommendation for their
suspension from the practice of law the name any licensee previously listed by the
State Department of Child Support Services as delinquent in their payments of
court-ordered child or family support, who has been reinstated under (b) of this
rule, who has subsequently been identified by the Department of Child Support
Services as again being delinquent.

(Subd (c) amended effective October 20, 2023; adopted as part of subd (a) effective

January 31, 1993; previously amended and lettered effective January 1, 2007;
previously amended effective January 1, 2019.)
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(d)

(e)

Compliance with Rule 9.20(a)-(c)

A licensee suspended under this rule must comply with the requirements of rule
9.20 in connection with an initial suspension under (a) of this rule and any
subsequent suspension under (c) of this rule.

(Subd (d) adopted effective October 20, 2023.)
Authorization for the Board of Trustees of the State Bar to adopt rules

The Board of Trustees of the State Bar is authorized to adopt such rules as it deems
necessary and appropriate in order to comply with this rule. The rules of the State
Bar must contain procedures governing the notification, suspension, and
reinstatement of licensees of the State Bar in a manner not inconsistent with Family
Code section 17520.

(Subd (e) amended and relettered effective October 20, 2023, adopted as subd (b)
effective January 31, 1993, previously amended and relettered as subd (d) effective
January 1, 2007; previously amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Rule 9.22 amended effective October 20, 2023, adopted as rule 962 effective January 31, 1993;
previously amended by the Supreme Court effective April 1, 1996 and January 1, 2019;
previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.23. Enforcement as money judgment disciplinary orders directing the

(@)

(b)

payment of costs and disciplinary orders requiring reimbursement of the
Client Security Fund

Authority to obtain money judgment

Under Business and Professions Code section 6086.10(a) the State Bar is
authorized to enforce as a money judgment any disciplinary order assessing costs.
Under Business and Professions Code section 6140.5(d) the State Bar is authorized
to enforce as a money judgment any disciplinary order requiring reimbursement of
the State Bar Client Security Fund.

Duty of clerk of the superior court

The State Bar may file a certified copy of a final disciplinary order assessing costs
or requiring reimbursement to the Client Security Fund, along with a certified copy
of the certificate of costs and any record of Client Security Fund payments and
costs, with the clerk of the superior court of any county. The clerk must
immediately enter judgment in conformity with the order.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019.)
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(¢) Compromise of judgment

Motions for the compromise of any judgment entered under this rule must, in the
first instance, be filed and heard by the State Bar Court.

(d) Power of the Supreme Court

Nothing in this rule may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme Court
to alter the amounts owed.

Rule 9.23 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted by the Supreme Court effective April 1,
2007.

Chapter 4. Legal Education

Rule 9.30. Law school study in schools other than those accredited by the
examining committee

Rule 9.31. Minimum continuing legal education

Rule 9.32 New Attorney Training

Rule 9.30. Law school study in schools other than those accredited by the
examining committee

(a) Receipt of credit

A person who seeks to be certified to the Supreme Court for admission in and
licensed to practice law under section 6060(e)(2) of the Business and Professions
Code may receive credit for:

(1) Study in a law school in the United States other than one accredited by the
examining committee established by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar
under Business and Professions Code section 6046 only if the law school
satisfies the requirements of (b) or (c) of this rule; or

(2) Instruction in law from a correspondence school only if the correspondence
school requires 864 hours of preparation and study per year for four years and
satisfies the requirements of (d) of this rule; or

(3) Study in a law school outside the United States other than one accredited by
the examining committee established by the Board of Trustees of the State
Bar under Business and Professions Code section 6046 only if the examining
committee is satisfied that the academic program of such law school is
substantially equivalent to that of a law school qualified under (b) of this rule.
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(b)

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective April 2,
1984, and January 1, 2007.)

Requirements for unaccredited law schools in state

A law school in this state that is not accredited by the examining committee must:

(1)
2)

3)

(4)

)

(6)

Be authorized to confer professional degrees by the laws of this state;

Maintain a regular course of instruction in law, with a specified curriculum
and regularly scheduled class sessions;

Require classroom attendance of its students for a minimum of 270 hours a
year for at least four years, and further require regular attendance of each
student at not less than 80 percent of the regularly scheduled class hours in
each course in which such student was enrolled and maintain attendance
records adequate to determine each student’s compliance with these
requirements;

Maintain, in a fixed location, physical facilities capable of accommodating
the classes scheduled for that location,;

Have an adequate faculty of instructors in law. The faculty will prima facie
be deemed adequate if at least 80 percent of the instruction in each academic
period is by persons who possess one or more of the following qualifications:

(A)

(B)

©)

Admission to the general practice of the law in any jurisdiction in the
United States;

Judge of a United States court or a court of record in any jurisdiction in
the United States; or

Graduation from a law school accredited by the examining committee.

Own and maintain a library consisting of not less than the following sets of
books, all of which must be current and complete:

(A)

(B)
©
(D)

The published reports of the decisions of California courts, with
advance sheets and citator;

A digest or encyclopedia of California law;
An annotated set of the California codes; and

A current, standard text or treatise for each course or subject in the
curriculum of the school for which such a text or treatise is available.
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(c)

(d)

(e)

(7) Establish and maintain standards for academic achievement, advancement in
good standing and graduation, and provide for periodic testing of all students
to determine the quality of their performance in relation to such standards;
and

(8) Register with the examining committee, and maintain such records (available
for inspection by the examining committee) and file with the examining
committee such reports, notices, and certifications as may be required by the
rules of the examining committee.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2007; previously amended effective April 2,
1984.)

Requirements for unaccredited law schools outside the state

A law school in the United States that is outside the state of California and is not
accredited by the examining committee must:

(1) Be authorized to confer professional degrees by the law of the state in which
it is located;

(2) Comply with (b)(2), (3), (4), (5), (7), and (8) of this rule; and

(3) Own and maintain a library that is comparable in content to that specified in
(b)(6) of this rule.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2007, previously amended effective April 2,
1984.)

Registration and reports

A correspondence law school must register with the examining committee and file
such reports, notices, and certifications as may be required by the rules of the
examining committee concerning any person whose mailing address is in the state
of California or whose application to, contract with, or correspondence with or
from the law school indicates that the instruction by correspondence is for the
purpose or with the intent of qualifying that person for admission to practice law in
California.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Inspections

The examining committee may make such inspection of law schools not accredited
by the committee or correspondence schools as may be necessary or proper to give

effect to the provisions of Business and Professions Code section 6060, this rule,
and the rules of the examining committee.

36



(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
(f) Application

This rule does not apply to any person who, on the effective date of the rule, had
commenced the study of law in a manner authorized by Business and Professions
Code section 6060(e) and registered as a law student before January 1, 1976 (as
provided in Business and Professions Code section 6060(d) and otherwise satisfies
the requirements of Business and Professions Code section 6060(e), provided that
after January 1, 1976, credit will be given such person for any study in an
unaccredited law school or by correspondence only if the school complies with the
requirements of (b)(8) or (d) of this rule, whichever is applicable, and permits
inspection under (e) of this rule.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
Rule 9.30 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 957 by the Supreme Court effective

October 8, 1975, previously amended effective April 2, 1984, previously amended and
renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.31. Minimum continuing legal education

(a) Statutory authorization
This rule is adopted under Business and Professions Code section 6070.
(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

(b) State Bar minimum continuing legal education program
The State Bar must establish and administer a minimum continuing legal education
program under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar. These rules
may provide for carryforward of excess credit hours, staggering of the education

requirement for implementation purposes, and retroactive credit for legal education.

(Subd (b) amended effective August 1, 2017, previously amended effective September
27, 2000, and January 1, 2007.)

(¢) Minimum continuing legal education requirements

Each active licensee of the State Bar (1) not exempt under Business and
Professions Code section 6070, (2) not a full-time employee of the United States
Government, its departments, agencies, and public corporations, acting within the
scope of his or her employment, and (3) not otherwise exempt under rules adopted
by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar, must, within 36-month periods
designated by the State Bar, complete at least 25 hours of legal education approved
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(d)

(e)

4

(@

by the State Bar or offered by a State Bar-approved provider. Four of those hours
must address legal ethics. Licensees may be required to complete legal education in
other specified areas within the 25-hour requirement under rules adopted by the
State Bar. Each active licensee must report his or her compliance to the State Bar
under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar.

(Subd (c) amended effective August 1, 2019; previously amended effective September
27, 2000, January 1, 2007, and August 1, 2017.)

Failure to comply with program

A licensee of the State Bar who fails to satisfy the requirements of the State Bar's
minimum continuing legal education program must be enrolled as an inactive
licensee of the State Bar under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State
Bar.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007, and August 1, 2017.)

Fees and penalties
The State Bar has the authority to set and collect appropriate fees and penalties.
(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

One-time expungement of a record of inactive enrollment for failure to comply
with program

The State Bar is authorized to expunge a public record of a period of inactive
enrollment for failure to comply with the minimum continuing legal education

program for those licensees who meet all of the following criteria:

(1) The licensee has not on any previous occasion obtained an expungement
under the terms of this rule or rule 9.6;

(2) The period of inactive enrollment was for 90 days or less;

(3) The period of inactive enrollment ended at least seven years before the date
of expungement;

(4) The licensee has no other record of suspension or involuntary inactive
enrollment for discipline or otherwise.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted effective August 1, 2017.)

Records to be maintained by State Bar
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(h)

Under (f) of this rule, the State Bar will remove or delete the record of such period
of inactive enrollment from the licensee’s record. Notwithstanding any other
provision of this rule, the State Bar must maintain such internal records as are
necessary to apply the terms of (f) of this rule and to report to the Commission on
Judicial Nominees Evaluation or appropriate governmental entities involved in
judicial elections the licensee’s eligibility for a judgeship under the California
Constitution, article VI, section 15.

(Subd (g) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted effective August 1, 2017.)
Duty of disclosure by licensee

Expungement of the record of a licensee’s period of inactive enrollment under (f)
of this rule will not relieve the licensee of his or her duty to disclose the period of
inactive enrollment for purpose of determining the licensee’s eligibility for a
judgeship under the California Constitution, article VI, section 15. For all other
purposes, the record of inactive enrollment expunged under (f) of this rule is
deemed not to have occurred and the licensee may answer accordingly any question
relating to his or her record.

(Subd (h) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted effective August 1, 2017.)

Rule 9.31 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as rule 958 effective December 6, 1990,
previously amended effective December 25, 1992, previously amended by the Supreme Court
effective September 27, 2000; previously amended and renumbered as rule 9.31 effective January
1, 2007, previously amended effective August 1, 2017.

Rule 9.32 New Attorney Training

(@)

(b)

(c)

State Bar New Attorney Training

The State Bar must establish and administer a New Attorney Training program
under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar, including Rules of
the State Bar of California, Rules 2:140-2:144.

State Bar New Attorney Training requirements

All new licensees of the State Bar must, by the last day of the month of their one
year anniversary as a State Bar licensee, complete the New Attorney Training
program and report having done so as provided in Rules of the State Bar of
California, Rule 2:141.

Failure to comply with program

A licensee of the State Bar who fails to satisfy the requirements of the State Bar
New Attorney Training program will be enrolled as an inactive licensee of the State
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(d)

Bar under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar, including Rules
of the State Bar of California, Rules 2:150-2:153.

Fees and penalties

The State Bar has the authority to set and collect appropriate fees and penalties.

Rule 9.32 adopted effective January 1, 2024.

Division 3. Legal Specialists

Rule 9.35. Certified legal specialists

Rule 9.35. Certified legal specialists

(@)

(b)

(c)

(d)

Definition

A “certified specialist” is a California attorney who holds a current certificate as a
specialist issued by the State Bar of California Board of Legal Specialization or any
other entity approved by the State Bar to designate specialists.

State Bar Legal Specialization Program

The State Bar must establish and administer a program for certifying legal
specialists and may establish a program for certifying entities that certify legal
specialists under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Authority to practice law

No attorney may be required to obtain certification as a certified specialist as a
prerequisite to practicing law in this state. Any attorney, alone or in association
with any other attorney, has the right to practice in any field of law in this state and
to act as counsel in every type of case, even though he or she is not certified as a
specialist.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
Failure to comply with program
A certified specialist who fails to comply with the requirements of the Legal

Specialization Program of the State Bar will have her or his certification suspended
or revoked under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar.
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(e)

®

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Fee and penalty

The State Bar has the authority to set and collect appropriate fees and penalties for
this program.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
Inherent power of Supreme Court

Nothing in these rules may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme
Court to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in California.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.35 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 983.5 effective January 1, 1996,
amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Division 4. Appearances and Practice by Individuals Who Are Not Licensees of the

State Bar of California

Rule 9.40. Counsel pro hac vice
Rule 9.41. Appearances by military counsel
Rule 9.41.1. Registered military spouse attorney
Rule 9.42. Certified law students
Rule 9.43. Out-of-state attorney arbitration counsel
Rule 9.44. Registered foreign legal consultant
Rule 9.45. Registered legal aid attorneys
Rule 9.46. Registered in-house counsel
Rule 9.47. Attorneys practicing law temporarily in California as part of litigation
Rule 9.48. Nonlitigating attorneys temporarily in California to provide legal
services
Rule 9.49. Provisional Licensure of 2020 Law School Graduates
Rule 9.49.1 Provisional Licensure with Pathway to Full Licensure for Certain
Individuals
Rule 9.40. Counsel pro hac vice

(@)

Eligibility

A person who is not a licensee of the State Bar of California but who is an attorney
in good standing of and eligible to practice before the bar of any United States

court or the highest court in any state, territory, or insular possession of the United
States, and who has been retained to appear in a particular cause pending in a court
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of this state, may in the discretion of such court be permitted upon written
application to appear as counsel pro hac vice, provided that an active licensee of
the State Bar of California is associated as attorney of record. No person is eligible
to appear as counsel pro hac vice under this rule if the person is:

(1) A resident of the State of California;
(2) Regularly employed in the State of California; or

(3) Regularly engaged in substantial business, professional, or other activities in
the State of California.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

(b) Repeated appearances as a cause for denial

Absent special circumstances, repeated appearances by any person under this rule is
a cause for denial of an application.

(Subd (b) lettered effective January 1, 2007; adopted as part of subd (a) effective
September 13, 1972.)

(©) Application
(1)  Application in superior court

A person desiring to appear as counsel pro hac vice in a superior court must
file with the court a verified application together with proof of service by
mail in accordance with Code of Civil Procedure section 1013a of a copy of
the application and of the notice of hearing of the application on all parties
who have appeared in the cause and on the State Bar of California at its San
Francisco office. The notice of hearing must be given at the time prescribed
in Code of Civil Procedure section 1005 unless the court has prescribed a
shorter period.

(2) Application in Supreme Court or Court of Appeal

An application to appear as counsel pro hac vice in the Supreme Court or a
Court of Appeal must be made as provided in rule 8.54, with proof of service
on all parties who have appeared in the cause and on the State Bar of
California at its San Francisco office.

(Subd (c) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as part of subd
(b) effective September 13, 1972; subd (b) previously amended effective October 3,
1973, September 3, 1986, January 17, 1991, and March 15, 1991.)
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(d)

(e)

4

Contents of application
The application must state:
(1) The applicant’s residence and office address;

(2) The courts to which the applicant has been admitted to practice and the dates
of admission;

(3) That the applicant is a licensee in good standing in those courts;
(4) That the applicant is not currently suspended or disbarred in any court;

(5) The title of each court and cause in which the applicant has filed an
application to appear as counsel pro hac vice in this state in the preceding
two years, the date of each application, and whether or not it was granted,
and

(6) The name, address, and telephone number of the active licensee of the State
Bar of California who is attorney of record.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as part of subd (b) effective
September 13, 1972, subd (b) previously amended effective October 3, 1973,
September 3, 1986, January 17, 1991, and March 15, 1991, previously amended and
lettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Fee for application

An applicant for permission to appear as counsel pro hac vice under this rule must
pay a reasonable fee not exceeding $50 to the State Bar of California with the copy
of the application and the notice of hearing that is served on the State Bar. The
Board of Trustees of the State Bar of California will fix the amount of the fee:

(1) To defray the expenses of administering the provisions of this rule that are
applicable to the State Bar and the incidental consequences resulting from
such provisions; and

(2) Partially to defray the expenses of administering the Board’s other
responsibilities to enforce the provisions of the State Bar Act relating to the
competent delivery of legal services and the incidental consequences
resulting therefrom.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as subd (c) effective
September 3, 1986, previously amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Counsel pro hac vice subject to jurisdiction of courts and State Bar
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(2

(h)

A person permitted to appear as counsel pro hac vice under this rule is subject to
the jurisdiction of the courts of this state with respect to the law of this state
governing the conduct of attorneys to the same extent as a licensee of the State Bar
of California. The counsel pro hac vice must familiarize himself or herself and
comply with the standards of professional conduct required of licensees of the State
Bar of California and will be subject to the disciplinary jurisdiction of the State Bar
with respect to any of his or her acts occurring in the course of such appearance.
Article 5 of chapter 4, division 3.of the Business and Professions Code and the
Rules of Procedure of the State Bar govern in any investigation or proceeding
conducted by the State Bar under this rule.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously relettered as subd (d)
effective September 3, 1986, previously amended and relettered effective January 1,
2007.)

Representation in cases governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act (25 U.S.C. §
1903 et seq.)

(1) The requirement in (a) that the applicant associate with an active licensee of
the State Bar of California does not apply to an applicant seeking to appear in
a California court to represent an Indian tribe in a child custody proceeding
governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act; and

(2) An applicant seeking to appear in a California court to represent an Indian
tribe in a child custody proceeding governed by the Indian Child Welfare Act
constitutes a special circumstance for the purposes of the restriction in (b)
that an application may be denied because of repeated appearances.

(Subd (g) adopted effective January 1, 2019.)

Supreme Court and Court of Appeal not precluded from permitting argument
in a particular case

This rule does not preclude the Supreme Court or a Court of Appeal from
permitting argument in a particular case from a person who is not a licensee of the
State Bar, but who is licensed to practice in another jurisdiction and who possesses
special expertise in the particular field affected by the proceeding.

(Subd (h) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, previously relettered as
subd (e) effective September 3, 1986, previously amended and relettered as subd (g)
effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.40 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 983 by the Supreme Court effective
September 13, 1972, previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007; previously
amended effective October 3, 1973, September 3, 1986, January 17, 1991, and March 15, 1991.
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Rule 9.41. Appearances by military counsel

(@

(b)

Permission to appear

A judge advocate (as that term is defined at 10 U.S.C. §801(13)) who is not a
licensee of the State Bar of California but who is an attorney in good standing of
and eligible to practice before the bar of any United States court or of the highest
court in any state, territory, or insular possession of the United States may, in the
discretion of a court of this state, be permitted to appear in that court to represent a
person in the military service in a particular cause pending before that court, under
the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act, 50 United States Code Appendix section 501
et seq., if:

(1) The judge advocate has been made available by the cognizant Judge
Advocate General (as that term is defined at 10 United States Code section
801(1)) or a duly designated representative; and

(2) The court finds that retaining civilian counsel likely would cause substantial
hardship for the person in military service or that person’s family; and

(3) The court appoints a judge advocate as attorney to represent the person in
military service under the Servicemembers Civil Relief Act.

Under no circumstances is the determination of availability of a judge advocate to
be made by any court within this state, or reviewed by any court of this state. In
determining the likelihood of substantial hardship as a result of the retention of
civilian counsel, the court may take judicial notice of the prevailing pay scales for
persons in the military service.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Notice to parties

The clerk of the court considering appointment of a judge advocate under this rule
must provide written notice of that fact to all parties who have appeared in the
cause. A copy of the notice, together with proof of service by mail in accordance
with Code of Civil Procedure section 1013a, must be filed by the clerk of the court.
Any party who has appeared in the matter may file a written objection to the
appointment within 10 days of the date on which notice was given unless the court
has prescribed a shorter period. If the court determines to hold a hearing in relation
to the appointment, notice of the hearing must be given at least 10 days before the
date designated for the hearing unless the court has prescribed a shorter period.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
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(c) Appearing judge advocate subject to court and State Bar jurisdiction

A judge advocate permitted to appear under this rule is subject to the jurisdiction of
the courts of this state with respect to the law of this state governing the conduct of
attorneys to the same extent as licensee of the State Bar of California. The judge
advocate must become familiar with and comply with the standards of professional
conduct required of licensees of the State Bar of California and is subject to the
disciplinary jurisdiction of the State Bar of California. Division 3, chapter 4, article
5 of the Business and Professions Code and the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar
of California govern any investigation or proceeding conducted by the State Bar
under this rule.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

(d) Appearing judge advocate subject to rights and obligations of State Bar
licensees concerning professional privileges

A judge advocate permitted to appear under this rule is subject to the rights and
obligations with respect to attorney-client privilege, work-product privilege, and
other professional privileges to the same extent as a licensee of the State Bar of
California.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Rule 9.41 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as rule 983.1 by the Supreme Court
effective February 19, 1992; adopted by the Judicial Council effective February 21, 1992;
amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.41.1. Registered military spouse attorney
(a) Definitions
(1) “Military Spouse Attorney” means an active licensee in good standing of the
bar of a United States state, jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency
and who is married to, in a civil union with, or a registered domestic partner

of, a Service Member.

(2) “Service Member” means an active duty member of the United States
Uniformed Services who has been ordered stationed within California.

(3) ““Active licensee in good standing of the bar of a United States state,
jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency" means an attorney who:

(A) Isalicensee in good standing of the entity governing the practice of
law in each jurisdiction in which the attorney is licensed to practice
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(b)

(c)

law, who has not been disbarred, has not resigned with charges
pending, or is not suspended from practicing law for disciplinary
misconduct in any other jurisdiction; and;

(B) Remains an active licensee in good standing of the entity governing the
practice of law in at least one United States state, jurisdiction,
possession, territory, or dependency other than California while
practicing law as a registered military spouse attorney in California.

Scope of Practice

Subject to all applicable rules, regulations, and statutes, an attorney practicing law
under this rule is permitted to practice law in California, under supervision, in all
forms of legal practice that are permissible for a licensed attorney of the State Bar
of California, including pro bono legal services.

Requirements

For an attorney to qualify to practice law under this rule, the attorney must:

(1)

)

)
(4)

)

(6)

Be an active licensee in good standing of the bar of a United States state,
jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency;

Be married to, be in a civil union with, or be a registered domestic partner of,
a Service Member, except that the attorney may continue to practice as a
registered military spouse attorney for one year after the termination of the
marriage, civil union, or domestic partnership as provided in (i)(1)(G);

Reside in California;

Meet all of the requirements for admission to the State Bar of California,
except that the attorney:

(A) Need not take the California bar examination or the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination; and

(B) May practice law while awaiting the result of his or her Application for
Determination of Moral Character from the State Bar of California.

Comply with the rules adopted by the Board of Trustees relating to the State
Bar Registered Military Spouse Attorney Program;

Practice law under the supervision of an attorney who is an active licensee in

good standing of the State Bar of California who has been admitted to the
practice of law for two years or more;
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(d)

(e)

®

(7)

(8)

)

Abide by all of the laws and rules that govern licensees of the State Bar of
California, including the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (“MCLE”)
requirements;

Satisty in his or her first year of practice under this rule all of the MCLE
requirements, including ethics education, that licensees of the State Bar of
California must complete every three years and, thereafter, satisty the MCLE
requirements for the registered military spouse attorney’s compliance group
as set forth in State Bar Rules 2.70 and 2.71. If the registered military spouse
attorney’s compliance group is required to report in less than thirty-six
months, the MCLE requirements will be reduced proportionally; and

Not have taken and failed the California bar examination within five years
immediately preceding initial application to register under this rule.

Application

The attorney must comply with the following registration requirements:

(1

)

€)

Register as an attorney applicant, file an Application for Determination of
Moral Character with the Committee of Bar Examiners, and comply with
Rules of Court, rule 9.9.5, governing attorney fingerprinting;

Submit to the State Bar of California a declaration signed by the attorney
agreeing that he or she will be subject to the disciplinary authority of the
Supreme Court of California and the State Bar of California and attesting that
he or she will not practice law in California other than under supervision of a
California attorney during the time he or she practices law as a military
spouse attorney in California; and

Submit to the State Bar of California a declaration signed by a qualifying
supervising attorney. The declaration must attest:

(A) that the applicant will be supervised as specified in this rule; and
(B) that the supervising attorney assumes professional responsibility for

any work performed by the registered military spouse attorney under
this rule.

Application and Registration Fees

The State Bar of California may set appropriate application fees and initial and
annual registration fees to be paid by registered military spouse attorney.

State Bar Registered Military Spouse Attorney Program
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(2

(h)

The State Bar may establish and administer a program for registering registered
military spouse attorneys under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State

Bar.

Supervision

To meet the requirements of this rule, an attorney supervising a registered military
spouse attorney:

(1

2)

)

(4)

)

(6)

(7)

Must have practiced law as a full-time occupation for at least four years in
any United States jurisdiction;

Must have actively practiced law in California for at least two years
immediately preceding the time of supervision and be a licensee in good
standing of the State Bar of California;

Must assume professional responsibility for any work that the registered
military spouse attorney performs under the supervising attorney's
supervision;

Must assist, counsel, and provide direct supervision of the registered military
spouse attorney in the activities authorized by this rule, approve in writing
any appearance in court, deposition, arbitration or any proceeding by the
registered military spouse attorney, and review such activities with the
supervised military spouse attorney, to the extent required for the protection
of the client or customer;

Must read, approve, and personally sign any pleadings, briefs, or other
similar documents prepared by the registered military spouse attorney before
their filing, and must read and approve any documents prepared by the
registered military spouse attorney before their submission to any other party;

Must agree to assume control of the work of the registered military spouse
attorney in the event the registration of the military spouse attorney is
terminated, in accordance with applicable laws; and

May, in his or her absence, designate another attorney meeting the
requirements of (g)(1) through (g)(6) to provide the supervision required
under this rule.

Duration of Practice

A registered military spouse attorney must renew his or her registration annually
and may practice for no more than a total of five years under this rule.
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1)

Termination of Military Spouse Attorney Registration

(1) Registration as a registered military spouse attorney is terminated

(A)

(B)

©)

(D)

(E)

(F)

(G)

(H)

upon receipt of a determination by the Committee of Bar Examiners
that the registered military spouse attorney is not of good moral
character;

for failure to annually register as a registered military spouse attorney
and submit any related fee set by the State Bar;

for failure to comply with the Minimum Continuing Legal Education
requirements and to pay any related fee set by the State Bar;

if the registered military spouse attorney no longer meets the
requirements under (a)(3) of this section;

upon the imposition of any discipline by the State Bar of California or
any other professional or occupational licensing authority, including
administrative or stayed suspension;

for failure to otherwise comply with these rules or with the laws or
standards of professional conduct applicable to a licensee of the State
Bar of California;

if the Service Member is no longer an active member of the United
States Uniformed Services or is transferred to another state,
jurisdiction, territory outside of California, except that if the Service
Member has been assigned to an unaccompanied or remote assignment
with no dependents authorized, the military spouse attorney may
continue to practice pursuant to the provisions of this rule until the
Service Member is assigned to a location with dependents authorized;
or

one year after the date of termination of the registered military spouse
attorney’s marriage, civil union, or registered domestic partnership.

(2) The supervising attorney of registered military spouse attorney suspended by
these rules will assume the work of the registered military spouse attorney in
accordance with applicable laws.

Inherent Power of Supreme Court

Nothing in this rule may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme Court
of California to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in
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(k)

California.

Effect of Rule on Multijurisdictional Practice

Nothing in this rule limits the scope of activities permissible under existing law by
attorneys who are not licensees of the State Bar of California.

Rule 9.41.1 adopted by the Supreme Court effective March 1, 2019.
Rule 9.42. Certified law students

(@

(b)

(c)

Definitions

(1)

)

A “certified law student” is a law student who has a currently effective
certificate of registration as a certified law student from the State Bar.

A “supervising attorney” is a licensee of the State Bar who agrees to
supervise a certified law student under rules established by the State Bar and
whose name appears on the application for certification.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

State Bar certified law student program

The State Bar must establish and administer a program for registering law students
under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Eligibility for certification

To be eligible to become a certified law student, an applicant must:

(1)

)

)

Have successfully completed one full year of studies (minimum of 270 hours)
at a law school accredited by the American Bar Association or the State Bar
of California, or both, or have passed the first year law students’

examination;

Have been accepted into, and be enrolled in, the second, third, or fourth year
of law school in good academic standing or have graduated from law school,
subject to the time period limitations specified in the rules adopted by the
Board of Trustees of the State Bar; and

Have either successfully completed or be currently enrolled in and attending
academic courses in evidence and civil procedure.
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(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019.)

(d) Permitted activities

Subject to all applicable rules, regulations, and statutes, a certified law student may:

(1)

2)

3)

Negotiate for and on behalf of the client subject to final approval thereof by
the supervising attorney or give legal advice to the client, provided that the
certified law student:

(A) Obtains the approval of the supervising attorney to engage in the

(B)

©)

activities;

Obtains the approval of the supervising attorney regarding the legal
advice to be given or plan of negotiation to be undertaken by the
certified law student; and

Performs the activities under the general supervision of the supervising
attorney;

Appear on behalf of the client in depositions, provided that the certified law
student:

(A) Obtains the approval of the supervising attorney to engage in the

(B)

©)

activity;

Performs the activity under the direct and immediate supervision and in
the personal presence of the supervising attorney (or, exclusively in the
case of government agencies, any deputy, assistant, or other staff
attorney authorized and designated by the supervising attorney); and

Obtains a signed consent form from the client on whose behalf the
certified law student acts (or, exclusively in the case of government
agencies, from the chief counsel or prosecuting attorney) approving the
performance of such acts by such certified law student or generally by
any certified law student;

Appear on behalf of the client in any public trial, hearing, arbitration, or
proceeding, or before any arbitrator, court, public agency, referee, magistrate,
commissioner, or hearing officer, to the extent approved by such arbitrator,
court, public agency, referee, magistrate, commissioner, or hearing officer,
provided that the certified law student:

(A)

Obtains the approval of the supervising attorney to engage in the
activity;
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(B) Performs the activity under the direct and immediate supervision and in
the personal presence of the supervising attorney (or, exclusively in the
case of government agencies, any deputy, assistant, or other staff
attorney authorized and designated by the supervising attorney);

(C) Obtains a signed consent form from the client on whose behalf the
certified law student acts (or, exclusively in the case of government
agencies, from the chief counsel or prosecuting attorney) approving the
performance of such acts by such certified law student or generally by
any certified law student; and

(D) As acondition to such appearance, either presents a copy of the consent
form to the arbitrator, court, public agency, referee, magistrate,
commissioner, or hearing officer, or files a copy of the consent form in
the court case file; and

(4) Appear on behalf of a government agency in the prosecution of criminal
actions classified as infractions or other such minor criminal offenses with a
maximum penalty or a fine equal to the maximum fine for infractions in
California, including any public trial:

(A) Subject to approval by the court, commissioner, referee, hearing
officer, or magistrate presiding at such public trial; and

(B) Without the personal appearance of the supervising attorney or any
deputy, assistant, or other staff attorney authorized and designated by
the supervising attorney, but only if the supervising attorney or the
designated attorney has approved in writing the performance of such
acts by the certified law student and is immediately available to attend
the proceeding.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Failure to comply with program

A certified law student who fails to comply with the requirements of the State Bar
certified law student program must have his or her certification withdrawn under

rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Fee and penalty

The State Bar has the authority to set and collect appropriate fees and penalties for
this program.
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(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
Inherent power of Supreme Court

Nothing in these rules may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme
Court to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in California.

(Subd (g) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.42 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 983.2 by the Supreme Court
effective December 29, 1993, previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.43. Out-of-state attorney arbitration counsel

(@

(b)

(c)

Definition
An “out-of-state attorney arbitration counsel” is an attorney who is:

(1) Not a licensee of the State Bar of California but who is an attorney in good
standing of and eligible to practice before the bar of any United States court
or the highest court in any state, territory, or insular possession of the United
States, and who has been retained to appear in the course of, or in connection
with, an arbitration proceeding in this state;

(2) Has served a certificate in accordance with the requirements of Code of Civil
Procedure section 1282.4 on the arbitrator, the arbitrators, or the arbitral
forum, the State Bar of California, and all other parties and counsel in the
arbitration whose addresses are known to the attorney; and

(3) Whose appearance has been approved by the arbitrator, the arbitrators, or the
arbitral forum.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

State Bar out-of-state attorney arbitration counsel program
The State Bar of California must establish and administer a program to implement
the State Bar of California’s responsibilities under Code of Civil Procedure section

1282.4. The State Bar of California’s program may be operative only as long as the
applicable provisions of Code of Civil Procedure section 1282.4 remain in effect.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Eligibility to appear as an out-of-state attorney arbitration counsel
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(e)
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(@

To be eligible to appear as an out-of-state attorney arbitration counsel, an attorney
must comply with all of the applicable provisions of Code of Civil Procedure
section 1282.4 and the requirements of this rule and the related rules and
regulations adopted by the State Bar of California.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Discipline

An out-of-state attorney arbitration counsel who files a certificate containing false
information or who otherwise fails to comply with the standards of professional
conduct required of licensees of the State Bar of California is subject to the
disciplinary jurisdiction of the State Bar with respect to any of his or her acts

occurring in the course of the arbitration.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Disqualification

Failure to timely file and serve a certificate or, absent special circumstances,
appearances in multiple separate arbitration matters are grounds for disqualification
from serving in the arbitration in which the certificate was filed.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Fee

Out-of-state attorney arbitration counsel must pay a reasonable fee not exceeding
$50 to the State Bar of California with the copy of the certificate that is served on
the State Bar.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Inherent power of Supreme Court

Nothing in these rules may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme
Court to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in California.

(Subd (g) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.43 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as rule 983.4 by the Supreme Court
effective July 1, 1999, previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.44. Registered foreign legal consultant
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(b)

(c)

Definition

A “registered foreign legal consultant” is a person who:

(1)

)

Is admitted to practice and is in good standing as an attorney or counselor-at-
law or the equivalent in a foreign country; and

Has a currently effective certificate of registration as a registered foreign
legal consultant from the State Bar.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

State Bar registered foreign legal consultant program

The State Bar must establish and administer a program for registering foreign
attorneys or counselors-at-law or the equivalent under rules adopted by the Board
of Trustees of the State Bar.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Eligibility for certification

To be eligible to become a registered foreign legal consultant, an applicant must:

(1)

2)

3)

4

)

Present satisfactory proof that the applicant has been admitted to practice and
has been in good standing as an attorney or counselor-at-law or the
equivalent in a foreign country for at least four of the six years immediately
preceding the application and, while so admitted, has actually practiced the
law of that country;

Present satisfactory proof that the applicant possesses the good moral
character requisite for a person to be licensed as a licensee of the State Bar of
California and proof of compliance with California Rules of Court, rule 9.9.5,
governing attorney fingerprinting;

Agree to comply with the provisions of the rules adopted by the Board of
Trustees of the State Bar relating to security for claims against a foreign legal
consultant by his or her clients;

Agree to comply with the provisions of the rules adopted by the Board of
Trustees of the State Bar relating to maintaining an address of record for
State Bar purposes;

Agree to notify the State Bar of any change in his or her status in any

jurisdiction where he or she is admitted to practice or of any discipline with
respect to such admission;
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(d)

(6) Agree to be subject to the jurisdiction of the courts of this state with respect
to the laws of the State of California governing the conduct of attorneys, to
the same extent as a licensee of the State Bar of California;

(7) Agree to become familiar with and comply with the standards of professional
conduct required of licensees of the State Bar of California;

(8) Agree to be subject to the disciplinary jurisdiction of the State Bar of
California;

(9) Agree to be subject to the rights and obligations with respect to attorney
client privilege, work-product privilege, and other professional privileges, to
the same extent as attorneys admitted to practice law in California; and

(10) Agree to comply with the laws of the State of California, the rules and
regulations of the State Bar of California, and these rules.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Authority to practice law

Subject to all applicable rules, regulations, and statutes, a registered foreign legal
consultant may render legal services in California, except that he or she may not:

(1) Appear for a person other than himself or herself as attorney in any court, or
before any magistrate or other judicial officer, in this state or prepare
pleadings or any other papers or issue subpoenas in any action or proceeding
brought in any court or before any judicial officer;

(2) Prepare any deed, mortgage, assignment, discharge, lease, or any other
instrument affecting title to real estate located in the United States;

(3) Prepare any will or trust instrument affecting the disposition on death of any
property located in the United States and owned by a resident or any
instrument relating to the administration of a decedent’s estate in the United
States;

(4) Prepare any instrument in respect of the marital relations, rights, or duties of
a resident of the United States, or the custody or care of the children of a
resident; or

(5) Otherwise render professional legal advice on the law of the State of

California, any other state of the United States, the District of Columbia, the
United States, or of any jurisdiction other than the jurisdiction named in
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satisfying the requirements of (c¢) of this rule, whether rendered incident to
preparation of legal instruments or otherwise.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Failure to comply with program

A registered foreign legal consultant who fails to comply with the requirements of
the State Bar Registered Foreign Legal Consultant Program will have her or his
certification suspended or revoked under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of

the State Bar.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2019, previously amended effective January
1, 2007.)

Fee and penalty

The State Bar has the authority to set and collect appropriate fees and penalties for
this program.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
Inherent power of Supreme Court

Nothing in these rules may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme
Court to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in California.

(Subd (g) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.44 amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as rule 988 effective December 1, 1993,
previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.45. Registered legal aid attorneys

(@)

Definitions
The following definitions apply in this rule:

(1) “Eligible legal aid organization” means any of the following:

(A) A nonprofit entity in good standing in California and in the state in
which it is incorporated, if other than California, that provides legal aid
in civil matters, including family law and immigration law, to indigent
and disenfranchised persons, especially underserved client groups, such
as the elderly, persons with disabilities, people of color, juveniles, and
limited English proficient persons; or
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(b)

(c)

(B) A nonprofit law school approved by the American Bar Association
located in California or accredited by the State Bar of California that
provides legal aid as described above in subdivision (A).

(C) Entities that receive IOLTA funds pursuant to Business and Professions
Code, section 6210, et seq., are deemed to be eligible legal aid
organizations.

(2) “Active licensee in good standing of the bar of a United States state,
jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency” means an attorney who:

(A) Is alicensee in good standing of the entity governing the practice of
law in each jurisdiction in which the attorney is licensed to practice
law, who has not been disbarred, has not resigned with charges
pending, or is not suspended from practicing law for disciplinary
misconduct in any other jurisdiction; and

(B) Remains an active licensee in good standing of the entity governing the
practice of law in at least one United States state, jurisdiction,
possession, territory, or dependency other than California while
practicing law as a registered legal aid attorney in California.

(Subd (a) amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (j) effective November
15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007, previously amended
effective January 1, 2019.)

Scope of practice

Subject to all applicable rules, regulations, and statutes, an attorney practicing law
under this rule may practice law in California only while working, with or without
pay, at an eligible legal aid organization, as defined in this rule, and, at that
institution and only on behalf of its clients or customers, may engage, under
supervision, in all forms of legal practice that are permissible for a licensee of the
State Bar of California.

(Subd (b) amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (a) effective November
15, 2004, previously amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, previously
amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Requirements
For an attorney to qualify to practice law under this rule, the attorney must:

(1) Be an active licensee in good standing of the bar of a United States state,
jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency;
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2

3)

(4)

)

(6)

(7)

Meet all of the requirements for admission to the State Bar of California,
except that the attorney:

(A) Need not take the California bar examination or the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination; and

(B) May practice law while awaiting the result of his or her Application for
Determination of Moral Character;

Comply with the rules adopted by the Board of Trustees relating to the State
Bar Registered Legal Aid Attorney Program;

Practice law under the supervision of an attorney who is employed by the
eligible legal aid organization and who is a licensee in good standing of the
State Bar of California;

Abide by all of the laws and rules that govern licensees of the State Bar of
California, including the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE)
requirements;

Satisty in his or her first year of practice under this rule all of the MCLE
requirements, including ethics education, that licensees of the State Bar of
California must complete every three years and, thereafter, satisty the MCLE
requirements for the registered legal aid attorney’s compliance group as set
forth in State Bar Rules 2.70 and 2.71. If the registered legal aid attorney’s
compliance group is required to report in less than thirty-six months, the
MCLE requirements will be reduced proportionally; and

Not have taken and failed the California bar examination within five years
immediately preceding initial application to register under this rule.

(Subd (c) amended and renumbered effective March 1, 2019, adopted as subd (b)
effective November 15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007,
previously amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Application

The attorney must comply with the following registration requirements:

(1)

)

Register as a legal aid attorney; submit a separate application for each
eligible legal aid organization; file an Application for Determination of Moral
Character with the State Bar of California; and comply with Rules of Court,
rule 9.9.5, governing attorney fingerprinting;

Submit to the State Bar of California a declaration signed by the attorney

agreeing that he or she will be subject to the disciplinary authority of the
Supreme Court of California and the State Bar of California and attesting that
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he or she will not practice law in California other than under supervision of
an attorney at an eligible legal aid organization a during the time he or she
practices law as a registered legal aid attorney in California; and

(3) Submit to the State Bar of California a declaration signed by a qualifying
supervisor on behalf of the from each eligible legal aid organization in
California. The declaration must attesting:

(1)  that the applicant will work, with or without pay, as an attorney for the
organization;

(i) that the applicant will be supervised as specified in this rule;

(ii1) that the eligible legal aid organization and the supervising attorney
assume professional responsibility for any work performed by the
applicant under this rule;

(iv) that the organization will notify the State Bar of California within 30
days of the cessation of the applicant’s employment with that employer
in California; and

(v) that the person signing the declaration believes, to the best of his or her
knowledge after reasonable inquiry, that the applicant qualifies for

registration under this rule and is an individual of good moral character.

(Subd (d) amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (c) effective November
15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Duration of practice

A registered legal aid attorney must renew his or her registration annually and may
practice for no more than a total of five years under this rule.

(Subd (e) amended effective March 1, 2019, adopted as subd (d) effective November
15, 2004; previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Application and registration fees

The State Bar of California may set appropriate application fees and initial and
annual registration fees to be paid by registered legal aid attorneys.

(Subd (f) amended effective March 1, 2019, adopted as subd (e) effective November
15, 2004, previously amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

State Bar Registered Legal Aid Attorney Program
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(h)

The State Bar may establish and administer a program for registering California
legal aid attorneys under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees of the State Bar.

(Subd (g) amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (f) effective November
15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007, previously amended
effective January 1, 2019.)

Supervision

To meet the requirements of this rule, an attorney supervising a registered legal aid
attorney:

(1) Must have practiced law as a full-time occupation for at least four years in
any United States jurisdiction;

(2) Must have actively practiced law in California for at least two years
immediately preceding the time of supervision and be a licensee in good
standing of the State Bar of California;

(3) Must assume professional responsibility for any work that the registered legal
aid attorney performs under the supervising attorney’s supervision;

(4) Must assist, counsel, and provide direct supervision of the registered legal aid
attorney in the activities authorized by this rule, approve in writing any
appearance in court, deposition, arbitration or any proceeding by the
registered legal aid attorney, and review such activities with the supervised
registered legal aid attorney, to the extent required for the protection of the
client or customer;

(5) Must read, approve, and personally sign any pleadings, briefs, or other
similar documents prepared by the registered legal aid attorney before their
filing, and must read and approve any documents prepared by the registered
legal aid attorney before their submission for execution; and

(6) May, in his or her absence, designate another attorney meeting the
requirements of (1) through (5) to provide the supervision required under this
rule.

(Subd (h) amended and renumbered effective March 1, 2019, adopted as subd (g)

effective November 15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007,
previously amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Inherent power of Supreme Court
Nothing in this rule may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme Court

of California to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in
California.
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(Subd (i) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (h)
effective November 15, 2004.)

(j) Effect of rule on multijurisdictional practice

Nothing in this rule limits the scope of activities permissible under existing law by
attorneys who are not licensees of the State Bar of California.

(Subd (j) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as subd (i) effective November
15, 2004; previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.45 amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as rule 964 by the Supreme Court effective
November 15, 2004, previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007, previously
amended effective January 1, 2019.

Rule 9.46. Registered in-house counsel

(a) Definitions

The following definitions apply to terms used in this rule:

(1

2)

“Qualifying institution” means a corporation, a partnership, an association, or
other legal entity, including its subsidiaries and organizational affiliates,
which has an office located in California. Neither a governmental entity nor
an entity that provides legal services to others can be a qualifying institution
for purposes of this rule. A qualifying institution must:

(A) Employ at least 5 full time employees; or

(B) Employ in California an attorney who is an active licensee in good
standing of the State Bar of California.

“Active licensee in good standing of the bar of a United States state,
jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency” means an attorney who:

(A) Isalicensee in good standing of the entity governing the practice of
law in each jurisdiction in which the attorney is licensed to practice
law, who has not been disbarred, has not resigned with charges
pending, or is not suspended from practicing law for disciplinary
misconduct in any other jurisdiction; and

(B) Remains an active licensee in good standing of the entity governing the
practice of law in at least one United States state, jurisdiction,
possession, territory, or dependency, other than California, while
practicing law as registered in-house counsel in California.
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(c)

(Subd (a) amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (j) effective November
15, 2004; previously relettered effective January 1, 2007, previously amended
effective January 1, 2019.)

Scope of practice

Subject to all applicable rules, regulations, and statutes, an attorney practicing law
under this rule is:

(1) Permitted to provide legal services in California only to the qualifying
institution that employs him or her;

(2) Permitted to provide pro bono legal services under supervision of a
California attorney for either eligible legal aid organizations as defined by
Rules of Court, rule 9.45(a)(1), or the qualifying institution that employs him
or her;

(3) Not permitted to make court appearances in California state courts or to
engage in any other activities for which pro hac vice admission is required if
they are performed in California by an attorney who is not a licensee of the
State Bar of California; and

(4) Not permitted to provide personal or individual representation to any
customers, shareholders, owners, partners, officers, employees, servants, or

agents of the qualifying institution, except as described in subdivision (b)(2).

(Subd (b) amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (a) effective November
15, 2004, previously amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, previously
amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Requirements
For an attorney to practice law under this rule, the attorney must:

(1) Be an active licensee in good standing of the bar of a United States state,
jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency;

(2) Meet all of the requirements for admission to the State Bar of California,
except that the attorney:

(A) Need not take the California bar examination or the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Examination; and

(B) May practice law while awaiting the result of his or her Application for
Determination of Moral Character;

64



(d)

)

4

)

(6)

(7

Comply with the rules adopted by the Board of Trustees relating to the State
Bar Registered In-House Counsel Program;

Practice law exclusively for a single qualifying institution, except that, while
practicing under this rule, the attorney may provide pro bono services
through eligible legal aid organizations;

Abide by all of the laws and rules that govern licensees of the State Bar of
California, including the Minimum Continuing Legal Education (MCLE)
requirements;

Satisfy in his or her first year of practice under this rule all of the MCLE
requirements, including ethics education, that licensees of the State Bar of
California must complete every three years and, thereafter, satisfy the MCLE
requirements for the registered in-house counsel’s compliance group as set
forth in State Bar Rules 2.70 and 2.71. If the registered in-house counsel’s
compliance group is required to report in less than thirty-six months, the
MCLE requirement will be reduced proportionally; and

Reside in California.

(Subd (c) amended effective March 1, 2019, adopted as subd (b) effective November
15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007, previously amended
effective January 1, 2019.)

Application

The attorney must comply with the following registration requirements:

(1)

)

)

Register as an in-house counsel; submit an application for the qualifying
institution; file an Application for Determination of Moral Character with the
State Bar of California; and comply with Rules of Court, rule 9.9.5.
governing attorney fingerprinting;

Submit a supplemental form identifying the eligible legal aid organizations as
defined by Rules of Court, rule 9.45(a)(1) and the supervising attorney,
through which an in-house counsel intends to provide pro bono services, if
applicable;

Submit to the State Bar of California a declaration signed by the attorney
agreeing that he or she will be subject to the disciplinary authority of the
Supreme Court of California and the State Bar of California and attesting that
he or she will not practice law in California other than on behalf of the
qualifying institution during the time he or she is registered in-house counsel
in California, except if supervised, a registered in-house counsel may provide
pro bono services through eligible legal aid organization; and
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4

(@

(4) Submit to the State Bar of California a declaration signed by an officer, a
director, or a general counsel of the applicant’s employer, on behalf of the
applicant’s employer. The declaration must attest:

(1)  that the applicant is employed as an attorney for the employer;

(i1) that the nature of the employment conforms to the requirements
of this rule;

(ii1) that the employer will notify the State Bar of California within 30
days of the cessation of the applicant’s employment in California;
and

(iv) that the person signing the declaration believes, to the best of his
or her knowledge after reasonable inquiry, that the applicant
qualifies for registration under this rule and is an individual of
good moral character.

(Subd (d) amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (c) effective November
15, 2004; previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Duration of practice

A registered in-house counsel must renew his or her registration annually. There is
no limitation on the number of years in-house counsel may register under this rule.
Registered in-house counsel may practice law under this rule only for as long as he
or she remains employed by the same qualifying institution that provided the
declaration in support of his or her application. If an attorney practicing law as
registered in-house counsel leaves the employment of his or her employer or
changes employers, he or she must notify the State Bar of California within 30
days. If an attorney wishes to practice law under this rule for a new employer, he or
she must first register as in-house counsel for that employer.

(Subd (e) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (d)
effective November 15, 2004.)

Application and registration fees

The State Bar of California may set appropriate application fees and initial and
annual registration fees to be paid by registered in-house counsel.

(Subd (f) relettered effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (f) effective November
15, 2004, previously amended and relettered as subd (g) effective January 1, 2007.)

State Bar Registered In-House Counsel Program
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(h)

(@

The State Bar must establish and administer a program for registering California in-
house counsel under rules adopted by the Board of Trustees.

(Subd (g) relettered effective March 1, 2019, adopted as subd (g) effective November
15, 2004, previously amended and relettered as subd (h) effective January 1, 2007;
previously amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Inherent power of Supreme Court

Nothing in this rule may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme Court
of California to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in
California.

(Subd (h) relettered effective March 1, 2019, adopted as subd (h) effective November
15, 2004, previously amended and relettered as subd (i) effective January 1, 2007.)

Effect of rule on multijurisdictional practice

Nothing in this rule limits the scope of activities permissible under existing law by
attorneys who are not licensees of the State Bar of California.

(Subd (i) relettered effective March 1, 2019; adopted as subd (i) effective November
15, 2004, previously relettered as subd (j) effective January 1, 2007; previously
amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Rule 9.46 amended effective March 1, 2019; adopted as rule 965 by the Supreme Court effective
November 15, 2004, previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007; previously
amended effective January 1, 2019.

Rule 9.47. Attorneys practicing law temporarily in California as part of litigation

(@)

Definitions
The following definitions apply to the terms used in this rule:

(1) “A formal legal proceeding” means litigation, arbitration, mediation, or a
legal action before an administrative decision-maker.

(2) “Authorized to appear” means the attorney is permitted to appear in the
proceeding by the rules of the jurisdiction in which the formal legal
proceeding is taking place or will be taking place.

(3) “Active attorney in good standing of the bar of a United States state,

jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency” means an attorney who
meets all of the following criteria:
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(b)

(c)

(A) Isalicensee in good standing of the entity governing the practice of
law in each jurisdiction in which the attorney is licensed to practice
law;

(B) Remains an active licensee in good standing of the entity governing the
practice of law in at least one United States state, jurisdiction,
possession, territory, or dependency while practicing law under this
rule; and

(C) Has not been disbarred, has not resigned with charges pending, or is not
suspended from practicing law in any other jurisdiction.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as subd (g) effective
November 15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Requirements
For an attorney to practice law under this rule, the attorney must:

(1) Maintain an office in a United States jurisdiction other than California and in
which the attorney is licensed to practice law;

(2) Already be retained by a client in the matter for which the attorney is
providing legal services in California, except that the attorney may provide
legal advice to a potential client, at the potential client’s request, to assist the
client in deciding whether to retain the attorney;

(3) Indicate on any Web site or other advertisement that is accessible in
California either that the attorney is not a licensee of the State Bar of
California or that the attorney is admitted to practice law only in the states
listed; and

(4) Bean active attorney in good standing of the bar of a United States state,
jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as subd (a) effective
November 15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Permissible activities
An attorney meeting the requirements of this rule, who complies with all applicable
rules, regulations, and statutes, is not engaging in the unauthorized practice of law

in California if the attorney’s services are part of:

(1) A formal legal proceeding that is pending in another jurisdiction and in which
the attorney is authorized to appear;
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(d)

(e)

(2) A formal legal proceeding that is anticipated but is not yet pending in
California and in which the attorney reasonably expects to be authorized to
appear;

(3) A formal legal proceeding that is anticipated but is not yet pending in another
jurisdiction and in which the attorney reasonably expects to be authorized to
appear; or

(4) A formal legal proceeding that is anticipated or pending and in which the
attorney’s supervisor is authorized to appear or reasonably expects to be
authorized to appear.

The attorney whose anticipated authorization to appear in a formal legal proceeding

serves as the basis for practice under this rule must seek that authorization promptly

after it becomes possible to do so. Failure to seek that authorization promptly, or

denial of that authorization, ends eligibility to practice under this rule.

(Subd (c) relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (b) effective
November 15, 2004.)

Restrictions
To qualify to practice law in California under this rule, an attorney must not:

(1) Hold out to the public or otherwise represent that he or she is admitted to
practice law in California;

(2) Establish or maintain a resident office or other systematic or continuous
presence in California for the practice of law;

(3) Be aresident of California;
(4) Beregularly employed in California;

(5) Regularly engage in substantial business or professional activities in
California; or

(6) Have been disbarred, have resigned with charges pending, or be suspended
from practicing law in any other jurisdiction.

(Subd (d) relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (c) effective
November 15, 2004.)

Conditions

By practicing law in California under this rule, an attorney agrees that he or she is
providing legal services in California subject to:
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(1)  The jurisdiction of the State Bar of California;

(2) The jurisdiction of the courts of this state to the same extent as is a licensee
of the State Bar of California; and

(3) The laws of the State of California relating to the practice of law, the State
Bar Rules of Professional Conduct, the rules and regulations of the State Bar
of California, and these rules.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as subd (d) effective
November 15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

(f) Inherent power of Supreme Court
Nothing in this rule may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme Court
of California to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in

California.

(Subd (f) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (e)
effective November 15, 2004.)

(g) Effect of rule on multijurisdictional practice

Nothing in this rule limits the scope of activities permissible under existing law by
attorneys who are not licensees of the State Bar of California.

(Subd (g) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as subd (f) effective November
15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.47; amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as rule 966 by the Supreme Court
effective November 15, 2004, previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.48. Nonlitigating attorneys temporarily in California to provide legal
services

(a) Definitions

The following definitions apply to terms used in this rule:

(1) “A transaction or other nonlitigation matter” includes any legal matter other
than litigation, arbitration, mediation, or a legal action before an
administrative decision-maker.

(2) “Active attorney in good standing of the bar of a United States state,

jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency” means an attorney who
meets all of the following criteria:
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(b)

(c)

(A) Isalicensee in good standing of the entity governing the practice of
law in each jurisdiction in which the attorney is licensed to practice
law;

(B) Remains an active attorney in good standing of the entity governing the
practice of law in at least one United States state, jurisdiction,
possession, territory, or dependency other than California while
practicing law under this rule; and

(C) Has not been disbarred, has not resigned with charges pending, or is not
suspended from practicing law in any other jurisdiction.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as subd (h) effective
November 15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Requirements
For an attorney to practice law under this rule, the attorney must:

(1) Maintain an office in a United States jurisdiction other than California and in
which the attorney is licensed to practice law;

(2) Already be retained by a client in the matter for which the attorney is
providing legal services in California, except that the attorney may provide
legal advice to a potential client, at the potential client’s request, to assist the
client in deciding whether to retain the attorney;

(3) Indicate on any Web site or other advertisement that is accessible in
California either that the attorney is not a licensee of the State Bar of
California or that the attorney is admitted to practice law only in the states
listed; and

(4) Be an active attorney in good standing of the bar of a United States state,
jurisdiction, possession, territory, or dependency.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as subd (a) effective
November 15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Permissible activities
An attorney who meets the requirements of this rule and who complies with all
applicable rules, regulations, and statutes is not engaging in the unauthorized

practice of law in California if the attorney:

(1) Provides legal assistance or legal advice in California to a client concerning a
transaction or other nonlitigation matter, a material aspect of which is taking
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(d)

(e)

)

3)

place in a jurisdiction other than California and in which the attorney is
licensed to provide legal services;

Provides legal assistance or legal advice in California on an issue of federal
law or of the law of a jurisdiction other than California to attorneys licensed
to practice law in California; or

Is an employee of a client and provides legal assistance or legal advice in
California to the client or to the client’s subsidiaries or organizational
affiliates.

(Subd (c) relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (b) effective
November 15, 2004.)

Restrictions

To qualify to practice law in California under this rule, an attorney must not:

(1

2)

3)
4
)

(6)

Hold out to the public or otherwise represent that he or she is admitted to
practice law in California;

Establish or maintain a resident office or other systematic or continuous
presence in California for the practice of law;

Be a resident of California;
Be regularly employed in California;

Regularly engage in substantial business or professional activities in
California; or

Have been disbarred, have resigned with charges pending, or be suspended
from practicing law in any other jurisdiction.

(Subd (d) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (c)
effective November 15, 2004.)

Conditions

By practicing law in California under this rule, an attorney agrees that he or she is
providing legal services in California subject to:

(1
)

The jurisdiction of the State Bar of California;

The jurisdiction of the courts of this state to the same extent as is a licensee
of the State Bar of California; and
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(h)

(3) The laws of the State of California relating to the practice of law, the State
Bar Rules of Professional Conduct, the rules and regulations of the State Bar
of California, and these rules.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2019, adopted as subd (d) effective
November 15, 2004, previously amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007.)

Scope of practice

An attorney is permitted by this rule to provide legal assistance or legal services
concerning only a transaction or other nonlitigation matter.

(Subd (f) relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (e) effective
November 15, 2004.)

Inherent power of Supreme Court

Nothing in this rule may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme Court
of California to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in
California.

(Subd (g) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (f)
effective November 15, 2004.)

Effect of rule on multijurisdictional practice

Nothing in this rule limits the scope of activities permissible under existing law by
attorneys who are not licensees of the State Bar of California.

(Subd (h) amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as subd (g) effective
November 15, 2004, previously relettered effective January 1,2007.)

Rule 9.48 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 967 by the Supreme Court effective
November 15, 2004, previously amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007.

Rule 9.49. Provisional Licensure of 2020 Law School Graduates

(@

State Bar Provisional Licensure Program

(1) The State Bar shall administer a program for provisionally licensing
eligible 2020 Law School Graduates. The program shall be referred to
as the “Provisional Licensure Program.”

(2) The Provisional Licensure Program shall terminate on May 31, 2023 for 2020
Law School Graduates admitted to the program prior to December 31, 2022
who fail to satisfy all of the following requirements on or before May 31,
2023:
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(b)

3)

(4)

(A) Successful completion of the State Bar New Attorney Training
Program;

(B) A passing score on the Multistate Professional Responsibility Exam;

(C) An active positive moral determination, unless the applicant has been
suspended pending resolution of a final review or appeal under

GOM©);

(D) Submission of all other documentation of completion in the format
required by the State Bar;

(E) Approval of an eligible supervisor committed to supervise the
participant through the end of 2023.

For 2020 Law School Graduates who have not received a passing score on
the California Bar Exam, but have satisfied all the requirements under (a)(2)
on or before May 31, 2023, the Provisional Licensure Program under this rule
shall terminate on December 31, 2025.

Upon termination of the Provisional Licensure Program, no one who was
provisionally licensed pursuant to this rule shall be permitted to continue to
practice as a Provisionally Licensed Lawyer, nor shall they represent that
they remain provisionally licensed or are otherwise authorized to practice law
in the State of California unless they have been admitted to the practice of
law in California after meeting all criteria for admission including passage of
the California Bar Examination, or are otherwise authorized to practice law in
this state other than under this rule. The temporary authorization to practice
under supervision under the Provisional Licensure Program does not confer
either a plenary license or any vested or implied right to be licensed.

(Subd (a) amended effective December 21, 2022; previously amended effective May
26, 2022.)

Definitions

(1)

2)

A "2020 Law School Graduate” means a person who became eligible to sit
for the California Bar Examination under Business and Professions Code
sections 6060 and 6061 between December 1, 2019 and December 31, 2020,
either by graduating from a qualifying law school with a juris doctor (J.D.) or
master of laws (LLM) degree during that time period, or by otherwise
meeting the legal education requirements of Business and Professions Code
sections 6060 and 6061 during that time period.

For purposes of this rule, a_“Provisionally Licensed Lawyer” means a 2020

Law School Graduate who meets the eligibility criteria of this rule and is
granted provisional licensure by the State Bar.
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(c)

(3) “Supervising Lawyer” means a lawyer who meets the eligibility criteria of
this rule and who supervises one or more Provisionally Licensed Lawyers.

(4) “Firm” or “law firm” means a law partnership; a professional law
corporation; a lawyer acting as a sole proprietorship; an association
authorized to practice law; or lawyers employed in a legal services
organization or in the legal department, division, or office of a corporation, of
a governmental organization, or of another organization as defined by rule
1.01 of the Rules of Professional Conduct and the commentary thereto.

(Subd (b) amended effective February 1, 2021.)
Application Requirements

(1) To participate in the Provisional Licensure Program, an applicant must
complete the following application requirements no later than June 1, 2022.

(A) Submit an Application for Provisional Licensure with the State Bar,
along with a fee of $75, or $50 if the employer paying the fee receives
State Bar Legal Services Trust Fund grants and is a qualified legal
services project or qualified support center as defined by statute. There
shall be no fee for applicants whose sole use of the Provisional License
will be in an unpaid volunteer capacity under the direction of the
Supervising Lawyer;

(B) Submit to the State Bar a declaration signed by the applicant agreeing
that the applicant will be subject to the disciplinary authority of the
Supreme Court of California and the State Bar with respect to the laws
of the State of California and governing the conduct of lawyers, and
attesting that the applicant will not practice California law other than
under the supervision of a Supervising Lawyer during the time the
applicant is provisionally licensed under this rule; and attesting that the
applicant will not practice law in a jurisdiction where to do so would be
in violation of laws of the profession in that jurisdiction; and

(C) Submit to the State Bar a declaration signed by a Supervising Lawyer
who meets the requirements of this rule attesting that the applicant is
employed by or volunteers at, or has a conditional offer to be employed
by or volunteer with the firm where the Supervising Lawyer works and
that the firm has an office located in California; that the nature of the
employment conforms with the requirements of this rule; whether the
employment is paid or unpaid; and that the Supervising Lawyer meets
the eligibility requirements of and will comply with this rule. If an
applicant works or volunteers for more than one firm concurrently as a
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer, the applicant shall have a Supervising
Lawyer at each firm and shall submit a declaration from each
Supervising Lawyer.
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(d)

)

An Application for Provisional Licensure may be denied if:

(A) An applicant fails to comply with eligibility or application

(B)

©)

requirements;

In connection with the Application for Provisional Licensure, an
applicant makes a statement of material fact that the applicant knows to
be false or makes the statement with reckless disregard as to its truth or
falsity; or

In connection with the Application for Provisional Licensure, an
applicant fails to disclose a fact necessary to correct a statement known
by the applicant to have created a material misapprehension in the
matter, except that this rule does not authorize disclosure of
information protected by Business and Professions Code section 6068,
subdivision (e) or rule 1.6 of the California Rules of Professional
Conduct.

Eligibility Requirements

Except as provided in (a), to qualify as a Provisionally Licensed Lawyer under this
rule, the applicant must:

(1)

Meet all of the requirements for admission to the State Bar with the following
exceptions:

(A) The applicant need not have sat for or passed the California Bar

(B)

©)

Examination;

The applicant need not have obtained a positive moral character
determination, so long as the applicant submitted a complete
Application for Determination of Moral Character to the State Bar prior
to submission of an Application for Provisional Licensure and that
application has not resulted in issuance of an adverse moral character
determination by the State Bar; and

The applicant need not have sat for or passed the Multistate
Professional Responsibility Exam prior to submission of an Application
for Provisional Licensure if the applicant attests they will complete the
legal ethics components of the New Attorney Training, described under
(e)(1) of this rule, within the first 30 days of licensure as a
Provisionally Licensed Attorney. If the legal ethics components of the
New Attorney Training are not made available to the applicant at the
time of licensure, the 30 days shall run from the first day the training
components are made available. The exemption set forth in (e)(1) of
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(e)

)

)

(4)

this rule does not apply to Provisionally Licensed Lawyers who must
take the legal ethics components in lieu of passage of the MPRE.

Comply with any rules or guidelines adopted by the State Bar relating to the
State Bar’s Provisional Licensure Program;

Be employed by or volunteering with, or have a conditional offer of
employment from or to volunteer with a firm that has an office located in
California.; and

Practice law under a Supervising Lawyer who is an active licensee in good
standing of the State Bar or is a current judge of a court of record within the
California judicial branch, who satisfies the requirements for serving as a
Supervising Lawyer under this rule.

(Subd (d) amended effective December 21, 2022; previously amended effective
February 1, 2021.)

Responsibilities of Provisionally Licensed Lawyers

Provisionally Licensed Lawyers must comply with all of the following
requirements. Failure to comply with these requirements shall result in immediate
termination from the Provisional Licensure Program:

(1

)

3)

4

Complete the State Bar New Attorney Training program, as described in
State Bar Rule 2.53, during the first 12 months of licensure as a Provisionally
Licensed Lawyer, unless they would otherwise be exempt from this
requirement under the State Bar Rules if they were admitted to the State Bar
as a lawyer;

Expressly refer to themselves orally, including but not limited to, in
conversations with clients or potential clients, and in writing, including but
not limited to, in court pleadings or other papers filed in any court or tribunal,
on letterhead, business cards, advertising, and signature blocks, as a
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer and/or participant in the State Bar’s
Provisional Licensure Program, and not describe themselves as a fully-
licensed lawyer, or imply in any way orally or in writing that they are a fully-
licensed lawyer;

Include on every document the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer files in court
or with any other tribunal the following information about the Supervising
Lawyer: name, mailing address, telephone number, and State Bar number;

Maintain with the State Bar a current e-mail address and an address of record

that is the current California office address of the Provisionally Licensed
Lawyer’s firm;
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(h)

(5) Report to the State Bar immediately upon termination of supervision by the
Supervising Lawyer for any reason;

(6) Report to the State Bar any information required of lawyers by the State Bar
Act, such as that required by Business and Professions Code sections 6068(0)
and 6068.8(c), or by other legal authority;

(7) Ifreassigned to a new Supervising Lawyer for the same firm, submit a
declaration from the new Supervising Lawyer in compliance with (c)(1)(C)
and obtain State Bar approval before the new Supervising Lawyer assumes
supervisory responsibility over the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer.

(8) Submit a new Application for Provisional Licensure and obtain State Bar
approval before beginning employment with a new firm;

(9) Abide by the laws of the State of California relating to the practice of law, the
California Rules of Professional Conduct, and the rules and regulations of the
State Bar.

(Subd (e) amended effective February 1, 2021.)
Prohibition on Accessing Client Trust Accounts

While practicing law under this rule, the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer must not
open, maintain, withdraw funds from, deposit funds into, or attempt to open,
maintain, or withdraw from or deposit into any client trust account.

Permitted Activities

Subject to all applicable rules, regulations, and statutes, a Provisionally Licensed
Lawyer may provide legal services to a client, including but not limited to
appearing before a court or administrative tribunal, drafting legal documents,
contracts or transactional documents, and pleadings, engaging in negotiations and
settlement discussions, and providing other legal advice and counsel, provided that
the work is performed under the supervision of a Supervising Lawyer.

Communications and Work Product

For purposes of applying the privileges and doctrines relating to lawyer-client
communications and lawyer work product, the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer shall
be considered a subordinate of the Supervising Lawyer and thus communications
and work product of the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer shall qualify for protection

under such privileges and doctrines on the same basis.

Supervision
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(1) To meet the requirements of this rule, a Supervising Lawyer must:

(A) Work for the same firm by which the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer is
or will be employed or at which the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer is
or will be volunteering;

(B) Have practiced law for at least four years in any United States
jurisdiction and have actively practiced law in California or taught law
at a California Law School for at least two years immediately preceding
the time of supervision, and be a licensee in good standing of the State
Bar of California or be a current judge of a court of record within the
California judicial branch;

(C) Exercise competence in any area of legal service authorized under
California law in which the Supervising Lawyer is supervising the
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer, consistent with the requirements of
rule 1.1 of the Rules of Professional Conduct;

(D) With the exception of a current judge of a court of record within the
California judicial branch, not be inactive in California, or ineligible to
practice, actually suspended, under a stayed suspension order, or have
resigned or been disbarred in any jurisdiction;

(E) Disclose in writing, via email or other means, at the outset of
representation or before the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer begins to
provide legal services, that a Provisionally Licensed Lawyer and/or
participant in the State Bar’s Provisional Licensure Program may
provide legal services related to the client’s matter;

(F) Be prepared to assume personal representation of the Provisionally
Licensed Lawyer’s clients if the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer
becomes ineligible to practice under this rule or is otherwise
unavailable to continue the representation;

(G) Agree to assume professional responsibility for any work that the
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer performs under this rule; and

(H) Agree to notify the State Bar of California, in writing, within 10
calendar days if the Supervising Lawyer becomes aware or reasonably

should have become aware that:

1. The Provisionally Licensed Lawyer has terminated
employment;

ii.  The Provisionally Licensed Lawyer is no longer eligible for
participation in the Provisional Licensure Program;
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iii.  The Supervising Lawyer no longer meets the requirements
of this rule;

iv.  The Supervising Lawyer is no longer supervising the
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer; or

v.  The Supervising Lawyer has changed offices or email
addresses.

(2) A Supervising Lawyer may delegate some or all day-to-day supervisory
responsibilities or supervisory responsibilities related to certain practice areas
or assignments to another lawyer in the same organization who otherwise
meets the requirements for Supervising Lawyers, without the need for those
additional supervisors to file a declaration with the State Bar. The
Supervising Lawyer’s obligations under (i)(1)(G) are not affected by any
such delegation.

(3) A Supervising Lawyer who is a current judge of a court of record within the
California judicial branch and lawyers to whom the judge delegates day-to-
day supervisory responsibilities pursuant to (2) shall not be subject to the
requirements of (i)(D) through (G).

(Subd (i) amended effective February 1, 2021.)
Termination of Provisional Licensure
(1) A Provisionally Licensed Lawyer’s provisional license terminates:

(A) Upon determination by the State Bar Court that the Provisionally
Licensed Lawyer is culpable of conduct that would result in discipline
if the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer were fully licensed by the State
Bar of California, or upon imposition of any sanction for misconduct
by any court or tribunal, or any professional or occupational licensing
authority, including administrative or stayed suspension against the
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer;

(B) Upon imposition of any discipline for misconduct by the State Bar of
California, the Supreme Court, or any other bar, including
administrative or stayed suspension, against the Supervising Lawyer,
unless the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer has, within 15 calendar days
of imposition of such discipline, obtained approval from the State Bar
for a new Supervising Lawyer as required by this rule;

(C) Upon initial issuance of an adverse moral character determination by
the State Bar. If the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer requests a review
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(k)

)

3)

(D)
(E)
(F)
(G)

(H)
)

of the adverse determination under rule 4.47.1 of the Rules of the State
Bar or appeals the adverse moral character determination of the
Committee under rule 4.47 of the Rules of the State Bar, in lieu of
termination the provisional license shall be suspended until final
resolution of the review or appeal.

Upon admission to the State Bar of California;

Upon cessation of the Provisional Licensure Program;

Upon request of the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer;

For failure to complete the State Bar New Attorney Training Program
consistent with (e)(1)(A) of this rule or failure to complete the legal
ethics components under (d)(1)(C) of this rule;

For failure to pay any fees required by the State Bar; or

If the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer no longer meets the requirements
of this rule.

A notice of termination is effective ten calendar days from the date of receipt.
Receipt is deemed to be five calendar days from the date of mailing to a
California address or emailing to the provisional licensee’s email address of
record; ten calendar days from the date of mailing to an address elsewhere in
the United States; and twenty calendar days from the date of mailing to an
address outside the United States. Alternatively, receipt is when the State Bar
delivers a document physically by personal service or otherwise.

A Provisionally Licensed Lawyer whose provisional licensure terminated
upon request or upon imposition of discipline against the Supervising Lawyer
may be reinstated if they meet all eligibility and application requirements of
this rule.

(Subd (j) amended effective May 26, 2022.)

Public Records

State Bar records for Provisionally Licensed Lawyers, including office address and
discipline records, are public to the same extent as State Bar records related to
fully-licensed lawyers.

(1) Inherent Power of Supreme Court

Nothing in these rules may be construed as affecting the power of the Supreme

Court to exercise its inherent jurisdiction over the practice of law in California.
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Rule 9.49 amended effective December 21, 2022; adopted effective November 17, 2020,
previously amended effective February 1, 2021, and May 26, 2022.

Rule 9.49.1 Provisional Licensure with Pathway to Full Licensure for Certain
Individuals

(a) Expansion of the Provisional Licensure Program

The Provisional Licensure Program established pursuant to Rule 9.49 shall, no later
than March 1, 2021, be expanded to include individuals who scored 1390 or higher
on a California Bar Examination administered between July 2015 and February
2020, as determined by the first read score or final score, regardless of year of law
school graduation or year satisfying the educational requirements to sit for the bar
examination. The Provisional Licensure Program under this rule shall terminate on
December 31, 2025.

(Sub(a) amended effective December 21, 2022, previously amended effective May 26,
2022.)

(b) Definitions

(1)  The definitions of “Supervising Lawyer” and “Firm” or “Law Firm” as set
forth in rule 9.49(b) shall apply to this rule.

(2) For purposes of this rule, “Provisionally Licensed Lawyer” means an
individual who:

(A) Scored between 1390 and 1439 on any California Bar Examination
administered between July 2015 and February 2020, as determined by
the first read score or final score, regardless of year of law school
graduation or year satisfying the educational requirements to sit for the
bar examination; and

(B) Meets the eligibility criteria under (d) and is granted provisional
licensure by the State Bar.

(3) For purposes of this rule, “legal practice” means the provision of permitted
legal services to clients in compliance with rule 9.49(f) and (g).

(c) Application Requirements
All of the application requirements of rule 9.49(c) apply to applicants for
provisional licensure under this rule. An application for provisional licensure under

this rule must be submitted to the State Bar no later than December 31, 2023.
Applications shall not be accepted after that date.
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(d)

(e)

4

(@

(h)

(@

(Subd (c) amended effective December 21, 2022.)
Eligibility Requirements

With the exception of rules 9.49(d)(1)(A) and 9.49(a)(2), all eligibility requirements
of rule 9.49(d) apply to applicants for provisional licensure under this rule.
However, an applicant who has previously received an adverse moral character
determination is ineligible to apply under this rule unless more than two years has
elapsed from the date of the final determination or after some other time set by the
State Bar, for good cause shown, at the time of its adverse determination, within the
meaning of State Bar Rule 4.49.

(Subd (d) amended effective December 21, 2022.)

Responsibilities of Provisionally Licensed Lawyer

All requirements of rule 9.49(e) and (f) apply to Provisionally Licensed Lawyers
under this rule with the exception that the State Bar New Attorney Training
program described in rule 9.49(e)(1) must be completed in order for a Provisionally
Licensed Lawyer to qualify for admission to the State Bar of California under this
rule.

Permitted activities

All of the permitted activities set forth in rule 9.49(g) apply to Provisionally
Licensed Lawyers under this rule.

Communications and Work Product

For purposes of applying the privileges and doctrines relating to lawyer-client
communications and lawyer work product, the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer
under this rule shall be considered a subordinate of the Supervising Lawyer and
thus communications and work product of the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer shall
qualify for protection under such privileges and doctrines on the same basis.

Termination of Provisional Licensure

The conditions for termination of a provisional license under rule 9.49(j) apply to
Provisionally Licensed Lawyers under this rule.

Admission to the State Bar of California

A Provisionally Licensed Lawyer, under this rule, shall be eligible for admission to
the State Bar of California upon compliance with all of the following requirements.

(1) The Provisionally Licensed Lawyer shall complete 300 total hours of
supervised legal practice in the Provisional Licensure Program:
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(4)

)

(6)

Provisionally Licensed Lawyers under rule 9.49 who also qualify for
participation under this rule may receive credit for hours of supervised legal
practice completed as a provisional licensee under rule 9.49 for purposes of
meeting the hours requirement under (i)(1). Such individuals must comply
with all of the application and eligibility requirements under this rule to
qualify for admission to the State Bar of California.

The Provisionally Licensed Lawyer shall submit, in the format developed by
the State Bar of California, a record of the hours of supervised legal practice
completed under supervision of the Supervising Lawyer(s).

The Provisionally Licensed Lawyer must complete the required total number
of hours of supervised legal practice, satisfy all eligibility requirements for
admission not met at the time of application to the program, have an active
positive moral character determination, submit a satisfactory evaluation(s)
pursuant to (j)(2), and submit all other documentation of completion in the
format required by the State Bar by December 31, 2025 to qualify for
admission to the State Bar.

A Provisionally Licensed Lawyer who satisfies the requirements of (i)(4), but
has a disciplinary matter pending with the Office of Chief Trial Counsel or
the State Bar Court shall, prior to the date the Provisional Licensure Program
terminates under (a) and (h), be permitted to continue practicing as a
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer if all other requirements of this rule have
been met. If the disciplinary matter is pending as of the date the program
terminates, the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer shall be placed in an abeyance
status until the matter is resolved, and shall not continue to practice as
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer.

(A) If the complaint is resolved with no disciplinary action, before or after
the termination of the Provisional Licensure Program under (a) and (h),
the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer shall qualify for admission to the
State Bar as long as all other requirements for admission remain current
and satisfied.

(B) If the complaint is resolved with a determination that the Provisionally
Licensed Lawyer is culpable of conduct that would result in discipline
if the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer were fully licensed by the State
Bar of California, the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer shall not qualify
for admission to the State Bar under this program and shall be
terminated from the Provisional Licensure Program.

The Provisionally Licensed Lawyer must comply with all the eligibility

requirements for certification to the California Supreme Court for admission
to the practice of law under Business and Professions Code section 6060 and
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rule 4.15 of the Rules of the State Bar of California. A Provisionally
Licensed Lawyer who satisfies the requirements of (i)(4) shall be deemed to
meet the requirement of Business and Professions Code section 6060,
subdivision (g).

(Subd (i) was amended effective December 21, 2022; previously amended effective
May 26, 2022.)

(j)  Supervision and Evaluation of Provisionally Licensed Lawyer

(1)  In addition to the requirements under (j)(2), all of the eligibility
requirements, duties and responsibilities of a Supervising Lawyer set forth
under rule 9.49(i) apply to Supervising Lawyers under this rule.

(2) Each Supervising Lawyer shall provide an evaluation of the Provisionally
Licensed Lawyer in the format developed by the State Bar of California. The
evaluation shall include the following:

(A) Verification of the number of hours of supervised legal practice
completed;

(B) A general description of the types of supervised legal practice
performed by the Provisionally Licensed Lawyer;

(C) Whether, in the opinion of the Supervising Lawyer, based on the
supervised legal practice performed during the program, the
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer possesses the minimum competence
expected of an entry level attorney; and

(D) Other criteria established by the State Bar.

(3) If a Supervising Lawyer cannot attest that a Provisionally Licensed Lawyer
possesses the minimum competence of an entry level attorney, the
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer may not be admitted to the State Bar of
California under this program without additional hours of supervised legal
practice sufficient to establish to the Supervising Lawyer that the
Provisionally Licensed Lawyer possesses the minimum competence of an
entry level attorney, and submission of a satisfactory evaluation by that
Supervising Lawyer before the termination of the program.

Rule 9.49.1 amended effective December 21, 2022, adopted effective February 1, 2021;
previously amended effective March 17, 2021, and May 26, 2022.

Division 5. Censure, Removal, Retirement, or Private or Public Admonishment of
Judges
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Rule 9.60. Review of determinations by the Commission on Judicial Performance
Rule 9.61. Proceedings involving public or private admonishment, censure,
removal, or retirement of a judge of the Supreme Court

Rule 9.60. Review of determinations by the Commission on Judicial Performance

(@)

(b)

(c)

Time for petition for review to Supreme Court

A petition to the Supreme Court by a judge or former judge to review a
determination by the Commission on Judicial Performance to retire, remove,
censure, admonish, or disqualify the judge or former judge must be served and filed
within 60 days after:

(1) The Commission, under its rules, notifies the judge or former judge that its
determination has been filed or entered in its records; or

(2) The determination becomes final as to the Commission under its rules,
whichever event is later.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2007.)
Time for answer to petition for review and reply

Within 45 days after service of the petition, the Commission may serve and file an
answer. Within 20 days after service of the answer, the judge or former judge may
serve and file a reply. Each petition, answer, or reply submitted for filing must be
accompanied by proof of service, including service on the Commission of three
copies of any petition or reply filed by a judge or former judge. Extensions of time
to file the petition, answer, or reply are disfavored and will be granted only upon a
specific and affirmative showing of good cause. Good cause does not include
ordinary press of business.

(Subd (b) lettered effective January 1, 2007; adopted as part of subd (a) effective
December 1, 1996.)

Contents and form

The petition, answer, and reply must address both the appropriateness of review
and the merits of the Commission’s determination, and they will serve as briefs on
the merits in the event review is granted. Except as provided in these rules, the
form of the petition, answer, and reply must, insofar as practicable, conform to rule
8.504 except that the lengths of the petition, answer, and reply must conform to the
limits specified in rule 8.204(c). Each copy of the petition must contain:

(1) A copy of the Commission’s determination;
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(d)

(e)

(2) A copy of the notice of filing or entry of the determination in the records of
the Commission,;

(3) A copy of any findings of fact and conclusions of law; and

(4) A cover that bears the conspicuous notation “PETITION FOR REVIEW OF
DETERMINATION BY COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL PERFORMANCE
(RULE 9.60)” or words of like effect.

(Subd (c) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007; adopted as subd (b)
effective December 1, 1996.)

Transmission of the record

Promptly upon the service and filing of the petition, the Commission must transmit
to the Clerk of the Supreme Court the original record, including a transcript of the
testimony, briefs, and all original papers and exhibits on file in the proceeding.

(Subd (d) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (c)
effective December 1, 1996.)

Applicable rules on review

In the event review is granted, the rules adopted by the Judicial Council governing
appeals from the superior court in civil cases, other than rule 8.272 relating to costs,
apply to proceedings in the Supreme Court for review of a determination of the
Commission except where express provision is made to the contrary or where such
application would otherwise be clearly impracticable or inappropriate.

(Subd (e) amended and relettered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as subd (d)
effective December 1, 1996.)

Rule 9.60 amended and renumbered effective January 1, 2007, adopted as rule 935 effective
December 1, 1996.

Rule 9.61. Proceedings involving private or public admonishment, censure,

(@)

removal, retirement, or disqualification of a judge of the Supreme Court
Selection of appellate tribunal

Immediately on the filing of a petition to review a determination by the
Commission on Judicial Performance to retire, remove, censure, admonish, or
disqualify a justice of the Supreme Court, the Clerk of the Supreme Court must
select, by lot, seven Court of Appeal justices who must elect one of their number
presiding justice and perform the duties of the tribunal created under article VI,
section 18(f) of the Constitution. This selection must be made upon notice to the
Commission, the justice, and the counsel of record in a proceeding open to the
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(b)

public. No court of appeal justice who has served as a master or a member of the
Commission in the particular proceeding or is otherwise disqualified may serve on
the tribunal.

(Subd (a) amended effective January 1, 2007; previously amended effective
December 1, 1996.)

Clerk of Supreme Court as clerk of tribunal
The Clerk of the Supreme Court serves as the clerk of the tribunal.

(Subd (b) amended effective January 1, 2007.)

Rule 9.61 amended effective January 1, 2019; adopted as rule 921 effective November 13, 1976;
previously amended and renumbered as rule 936 effective December 1, 1996, and as rule 9.61
effective January 1, 2007.

Division 6. Judicial Ethics Opinions

Division 6, Judicial Ethics Opinions, adopted effective July 1, 2009.

Rule 9.80. Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions

Rule 9.80. Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions

(@

(b)

(c)

Purpose

The Supreme Court has established the Committee on Judicial Ethics Opinions to
provide judicial ethics advisory opinions and advice to judicial officers and
candidates for judicial office.

Committee determinations

In providing its opinions and advice, the committee acts independently of the
Supreme Court, the Commission on Judicial Performance, and all other entities.
The committee must rely on the California Code of Judicial Ethics, the decisions of
the Supreme Court and of the Commission on Judicial Performance, and may rely
on other relevant sources in its opinions and advice.

Membership

The committee consists of twelve members appointed by the Supreme Court,
including at least one justice from a Court of Appeal and one member who is a
subordinate judicial officer employed full-time by a superior court. The remaining
members must be justices of a Court of Appeal or judges of a superior court, active
or retired. No more than a total of two retired justices or judges may serve on the
committee at one time, except that if an active justice or judge retires during his or
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(d)

(e)

her term, he or she will be permitted to complete his or her term. A retired justice
or judge may only serve so long as he or she is not an active licensee of the State

Bar of California and is not engaged in privately compensated dispute resolution

activities.

Terms

(1)  Except as provided in subdivision (d)(2), all full terms are for four years.
Appointments to fill a vacancy will be for the balance of the term vacated. A
member may apply to be reappointed by the Supreme Court at the end of a
four-year term and renewal of the term is not a presumption.

(2) To create staggered terms among the members of the committee, the
Supreme Court appointed initial members of the committee as follows:

(A) Three members each to serve an initial term of five years. The court
may reappoint these members to additional full terms.

(B) Three members each to serve an initial term of four years. The court
may reappoint these members to additional full terms.

(C) Three members each to serve an initial term of three years. The court
may reappoint these members to-additional full terms.

(D) Three members each to serve an initial term of two years. The court
may reappoint these members to additional full terms.

(3) Committee members may not simultaneously serve as members of the
Commission on Judicial Performance or the California Judges Association’s
Judicial Ethics Committee. If a member of the committee accepts
appointment to serve on one of these entities, that member will be deemed to
have resigned from the committee and the Supreme Court will appoint a
replacement.

(Subd (d) amended effective January 1, 2021; adopted effective July 1, 2009;
previously amended effective January 1, 2016 and January 1, 2019.)

Powers and duties

The committee is authorized to provide ethics advice to judicial officers and
candidates for judicial office, including formal written opinions, informal written
opinions, and expedited written opinions. Specifically, the committee is authorized

to:

(1)  Issue formal written opinions, informal written opinions, and expedited
written opinions on proper judicial conduct under the California Code of
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(h)

Judicial Ethics, the California Constitution, statutes, and any other authority
deemed appropriate by the committee.

(2) Make recommendations to the Supreme Court for amending the Code of
Judicial Ethics or these rules;

(3) Make recommendations regarding appropriate subjects for judicial education
programs; and

(4) Make other recommendations to the Supreme Court as deemed appropriate
by the committee or as requested by the court.

(Subd (e) amended effective January 1, 2021, adopted effective July 1, 2009.)
Referrals to California Judges Association’s Judicial Ethics Committee

The committee may adopt a revocable policy of referring requests for erat
expedited advice, with conditions and exceptions as approved by the committee, to
the California Judges Association’s Judicial Ethics Committee.

(Subd (f) amended effective January 1, 2021, adopted effective July 1, 2009.)
Chair and vice-chair

The Supreme Court will appoint a chair, and vice-chair from the members of the
committee to serve a term of four years each. The chair and the vice-chair may be
reappointed by the Supreme Court. When a member’s term as chair or vice-chair
ends and the member is not reappointed as chair or vice-chair, that member’s
committee membership term also ends unless the Supreme Court reappoints the
member to the committee. The chair may call meetings as needed, and to otherwise
coordinate the work of the committee.

(Subd (g) amended effective January 1, 2021; adopted effective July 1, 2009;
previously amended effective January 1, 2016 and January 1, 2019.)

Confidentiality

Communications to and from the committee are confidential except as described
here. Encouraging judicial officers and candidates for judicial office to seek ethics
opinions and advice from the committee will promote ethical conduct and the fair
administration of justice. Establishing the confidentiality of committee proceedings
and communications to and from the committee is critical to encourage judicial
officers and candidates for judicial office to seek ethics opinions and advice from
the committee. The necessity for preserving the confidentiality of these proceedings
and communications to and from the committee outweighs the necessity for
disclosure in the interest of justice. Therefore, to promote ethical conduct by
judicial officers and candidates for judicial office and to encourage them to seek
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ethics opinions and advice from the committee, the following confidentiality
requirements, and exceptions, apply to proceedings and other matters under this
rule:

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, and with the exception of formal
opinions, informal opinions, expedited opinions, and comments from the
public on draft formal opinions posted on the committee’s website, all
opinions, inquiries, replies, circulated drafts, records, documents, writings,
files, communications with its staff, work product of the committee or its
staff, and deliberations and proceedings of the committee are confidential.
All communications, written or verbal, from or to the person or entity
requesting an opinion or advice are deemed to be official information within
the meaning of the Evidence Code. In addition, all communications and
documents regarding opinions or advice of the California Judges Association
forwarded by the California Judges Association to the committee are deemed
to be confidential information.

(2) Members of the committee and its staff may not disclose outside the
committee or its staff any confidential information, including identifying
information, obtained by the committee or its staff concerning an individual
whose inquiry or conduct was the subject of any communication with the
committee or its staff.

(3) A judicial officer or candidate for judicial office may waive confidentiality;
any such waiver must be in writing. If the judicial officer or candidate
making the request for an opinion or advice waives confidentiality or asserts
reliance on an opinion or advice in judicial or attorney discipline
proceedings, such opinion or advice no longer is confidential under these
rules. Notwithstanding any waiver, committee deliberations and records are
confidential.

(4) Members of the public and entities may submit comments on draft formal
opinions for consideration by the committee members before deciding on
whether to publish a final formal opinion. Such comments from the public
are deemed not to be confidential communications and may be posted on the
committee’s website for public review at the committee’s discretion.

(Subd (h) amended effective January 1, 2021; adopted effective January 1, 2019.)

Opinion requests

(1) The committee may issue formal written opinions, informal written opinions,
or expedited written opinions on any subject it deems appropriate. Any

person or entity may suggest to the committee, in writing, topics to be
addressed in a formal written opinion.
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2)

3)

(4)

)

Only judicial officers and candidates for judicial office may request informal
written opinions and expedited written opinions.

A judicial officer or candidate for judicial office requesting a written opinion,
formal or informal, must submit the request in writing, including by
electronic mail. The request must be in a form approved by the committee
and must describe the facts and discuss the issues presented in the request.
The identity, organizational affiliation, and geographic location of persons
requesting opinions are confidential.

A judicial officer or candidate for judicial office requesting an expedited
written opinion may communicate in person, in writing, including by
electronic mail, or by telephone to committee staff or any member of the
committee.

A judicial officer or candidate for judicial office requesting an opinion or
advice must disclose to the committee whether the issue that is the subject of
the inquiry is also the subject of pending litigation involving the inquiring
judicial officer or candidate or a pending Commission on Judicial
Performance or State Bar disciplinary proceeding involving the inquiring
judicial officer or candidate.

(Subd (i) amended effective January 1, 2021, adopted effective July 1, 2009.)

Consideration of requests

(1)

)

)

The committee will determine whether a request for an opinion should be
resolved with a formal written opinion, an informal written opinion, an
expedited written opinion, or any combination or form of advice. The
committee may decline to issue an opinion or advice.

Eight members must vote affirmatively to adopt a formal written opinion.
After the committee authorizes a formal written opinion and before it
becomes final, it will be posted in draft form on the committee’s website
and made available for public comment for at least 45 days, unless the
committee in its discretion decides such an opinion should be issued in
final form in less time or with no prior notice. Public comments may be
posted on the website following the public comment period at the
committee’s discretion. After the public comment period has expired,
eight members must vote affirmatively to publish the opinion in its
original form, or to modify or withdraw the formal written opinion.

Informal written opinions and expedited written opinions must be

approved by vote of the committee members. The committee must adopt
procedures concerning the number of votes required to issue an informal
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(4)

)

(6)

written opinion or expedited written opinion.

The committee must adopt procedures concerning the handling
and determination of requests for opinions or advice.

The committee will inform the inquiring judicial officer or candidate for
judicial office that he or she must disclose all relevant information and
that any opinion or advice issued by the committee is based on the
premise that the inquiring judicial officer or candidate has disclosed all
relevant information.

The committee may confer in person, in writing, including by electronic
mail, by telephone, or by videoconference as often as needed to conduct
committee business and resolve pending requests.

(Subd (j) amended effective January 1, 2021; adopted effective July 1, 2009, previously
amended January 1, 2019.)

(k) Opinion distribution

)

(1)

2)

€)

(4)

The committee will, upon final approval of a formal written opinion, ensure
distribution of the opinion, including to the person or entity who requested
the opinion, all California judicial officers, and other interested persons.

The committee’s informal written opinions and expedited written opinions
will, upon approval by the committee, be provided to the inquiring judicial
officer or candidate for judicial office.

The committee will post all formal written opinions on the committee’s
website. The committee may post its informal written opinions and ef
expedited written opinions on the committee’s website.

The committee must maintain records of committee determinations and
opinions at the committee’s office.

(Subd (k) amended effective January 1, 2021, adopted effective July 1, 2009;
previously amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Withdrawn, modified, and superseding opinions

The committee may withdraw, modify, or supersede an opinion or advice at any

time.

(Subd (1) amended effective January 1, 2021, adopted effective July 1, 2009.)
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(m) Internal operating rules

The committee must adopt procedures, subject to approval by the Supreme Court,
to implement this rule.

(Subd (m) amended effective January 1, 2019.)

(n) Website, e-mail address, and toll-free telephone number

The committee must maintain a website, e-mail address, and toll-free telephone
number.

(Subd (n) amended effective January 1, 2019.)

Rule 9.80 amended effective January 1, 2021; adopted effective July 1, 2009, previously amended
effective January 1, 2016 and January 1, 2019.

Division 7. State Bar Trustees

Division 7, State Bar Trustees, adopted effective January 23, 2013.

Rule 9.90. Nominations and appointments of State Bar trustees

Rule 9.90. Nominations and appointments of State Bar trustees

(a) State Bar Trustees Nominating Committee

(1)

)

3)

The Supreme Court appoints five attorneys to the State Bar Board of
Trustees, each for a four-year term. The court may reappoint an attorney for
one additional term. The court may also fill any vacancy in the term of, and
make any reappointment of, any appointed attorney member. Each appointee
must be an active licensee of the State Bar and have his or her principal office
in California.

In order to ensure that individuals appointed by the Supreme Court to the
State Bar Board of Trustees have been evaluated objectively, the court has
established an independent “State Bar Trustees Nominating
Committee”(committee) to receive applications and screen and evaluate
prospective appointees. The role of the committee is to determine whether
applicants possess not only the statutorily enumerated qualifications, but also
any other qualifications that may be required to carry out the duties of the
Board of Trustees.

The committee serves at the pleasure of the court. The committee will consist
of seven members appointed by the court of whom five must be active
licensees of the State Bar in good standing, and two must be active or retired
judicial officers. A committee chair and vice-chair are designated by the
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court. The court will seek to create a broadly representative body to assist it
in its considerations.

Except as provided below, all full terms are for three years. Members may
not serve more than two consecutive full terms. Members will continue to
serve until a successor is appointed. Appointments to fill a vacancy will be
for the balance of the term vacated. Members who are appointed to fill a
vacancy for the balance of a term are eligible to serve two full terms in
addition to the remainder of the term for which they were appointed.

To create staggered terms among the members of the committee, the
Supreme Court will appoint initial members of the committee as follows:

(A) Four members each to serve a term of three years. The court may
reappoint these members to one full term.

(B) Three members each to serve a term of two years. The court may
reappoint these members to one full term.

The committee must adopt, and implement upon approval by the Supreme
Court, procedures for:

(A) Receipt of applications and initial screening of applicants for
appointments to fill the vacant positions, including adoption of a
comprehensive application form;

(B) Receipt of evaluations concerning selected applicants;

(C) Identification and collection of actual and potential conflicts of interest
for those applicants selected for interviews by the committee. These
procedures, at a minimum, must require these applicants to
confidentially disclose any financial and nonfinancial interests that
might affect or might be affected by service by the applicant as a
Trustee and a list of attorneys whom each applicant would identify as
creating a conflict in any future service by the applicant as a Trustee;

(D) Evaluation and rating of applicants; and

(E) Transmittal of the materials specified in (b) of this rule to the Supreme
Court.

The procedures adopted by the committee must include provisions to ensure
the confidentiality of its evaluations.
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(b)

)

(6)

In recommending candidates, in order to provide for the appointment of
trustees who bring to the board a variety of experiences, the committee
should consider:

(A) Legal services attorneys, solo practitioners, attorneys with small firms,
and attorneys with governmental entities;

(B) Historically underrepresented groups, such as those underrepresented
because of race, ethnicity, gender, and sexual orientation;

(C) Legal academics;

(D) Geographic distribution;

(E) Years of practice;

(F) Attorneys who are in their first five years of practice;
(G) Participation in voluntary local or state bar activities;
(H) Participation in activities to benefit the public; and

(I)  Other factors demonstrating a background that will help inform the
work of the board.

The State Bar must provide the support the committee requires to discharge
its obligations under this rule.

(Subd (a) amended effective December 1, 2023, previously amended effective
January 1, 2019.)

Evaluations

(1)

The committee must evaluate the qualifications of and rate all applicants and
must submit to the court the nominations of at least three qualified candidates
for each vacancy. Candidates are to be rated as “not recommended,”
“recommended,” and “highly recommended.” A rating of “not
recommended” relates only to the position under consideration and does not
indicate any lack of ability or expertise of the applicant generally. The
committee must report in confidence to the Supreme Court its evaluation,
rating, and recommendation for applicants for appointment and the reasons
therefore, including a succinct summary of their qualifications, at a time to be
designated by the Supreme Court. The report must include written comments
regarding the nominees received by the committee, which must be
transmitted to the Supreme Court together with the nominations.
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(2) In determining the qualifications of an applicant for appointment or
reappointment the committee should, in addition to the factors cited in (a)(5),
consider the following: focus on the public interest, public service,
commitment to the administration of justice, objectivity, community respect,
integrity, ability to work collaboratively, and balanced temperament.

(3) The committee must use the information obtained under the procedures
developed pursuant to (a)(4)(C) of this rule to evaluate the actual or potential
conflicts of interest of applicants selected for interviews. The committee
shall consider whether the applicant’s actual or potential conflicts of interest
should disqualify the applicant or reduce the applicant’s rating under
(a)(4)(D) of this rule. In making this determination, the committee shall
consider whether the applicant has financial or nonfinancial interests or
relationships with other attorneys that may impact the applicant’s ability to
perform the duties of a Trustee with disinterested skill and undivided loyalty
to the State Bar as described in Business and Professions Code section 6036,
subdivision (b), or may impact the Board of Trustee’s appearance to the
public as a body that conducts its work with disinterested skill and undivided
loyalty. The committee shall include its determination on this issue in the
report to the Supreme Court required under (b)(1) of this rule.

(Subd (b) amended effective December 1, 2023.)

Rule 9.90 amended effective December 1, 2023; adopted effective January 23, 2013; previously
amended effective January 1, 2019.
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