

JUDICIAL COUNCIL of CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel. 415-865-4200 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. PATRICIA GUERRERO

Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

HON. BRAD R. HILL

Chair, Executive and Planning Committee

HON. ANN C. MOORMAN

Chair, Judicial Branch Budget Committee

VACANT

Chair, Legislation Committee Chair, Litigation Management Committee

HON. CARIN T. FUJISAKI

Chair, Rules Committee

HON. KYLE S. BRODIE

Chair, Technology Committee

Hon. Maria Lucy Armendariz Hon. C. Todd Bottke

Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin Hon. Carol A. Corriaan

Hon. Michelle Williams Court

Hon. Charles S. Crompton

Hon. Samuel K. Feng

Mr. David D. Fu

Mr. Davia D. Fu

Hon. Maureen F. Hallahan

Ms. Rachel W. Hill Hon. Brian Maienschein

Ms. Gretchen Nelson

Mr. Maxwell V. Pritt

Hon. Thomas J. Umberg

ADVISORY MEMBERS

Ms. Kate Bieker Hon. Judith K. Dulcich Hon. Maria D. Hernandez Mr. Charles Johnson Mr. Darrel E. Parker Mr. David H. Yamasaki

MS. SHELLEY CURRAN

Administrative Director Judicial Council

Hon. Erica R. Yew

August 9, 2024

Hon. Scott D. Wiener Chair, Senate Committee on Budget and Fiscal Review Chair, Joint Legislative Budget Committee 1020 N Street, Room 502 Sacramento, California 95814

Hon. Jesse Gabriel Chair, Assembly Committee on Budget Vice-Chair, Joint Legislative Budget Committee 1021 O Street, Suite 8230 Sacramento, California 95814

Mr. Joe Stephenshaw Director, Department of Finance 1021 O Street, Suite 3110 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: Report on Cash Flow Loans Made to Courts in 2023–24, as required under Government Code section 68502.6(d)

Dear Senator Wiener, Assembly Member Gabriel, and Mr. Stephenshaw:

Under Government Code section 68502.6(d), the Judicial Council is submitting the *Report on Cash Flow Loans Made to Courts in 2023–24*.

There were no loans made to the trial courts in fiscal year 2023–24 because the cash balance in the Trial Court Trust Fund was sufficient to support the distributions to the trial courts.

Hon. Scott D. Wiener Hon. Jesse Gabriel Mr. Joe Stephenshaw August 9, 2024 Page 2

If you have any questions related to this report, please contact Mr. Zlatko Theodorovic, Director, Judicial Council Budget Services, at 916-263-1397 or <u>Zlatko.Theodorovic@jud.ca.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Shelley Curran

Administrative Director

Middle D. Cuman

Judicial Council

SC/ZT/jh

Cara L. Jenkins, Legislative Counsel Erika Contreras, Secretary of the Senate Eric Dang, Counsel, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Mike McGuire Emelyn Rodriguez, General Counsel, Office of Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas Anita Lee, Principal Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Mark Jimenez, Principal Program Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Henry Ng, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Margie Estrada, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee Mary Kennedy, Chief Counsel, Senate Public Safety Committee Mark McKenzie, Staff Director, Senate Appropriations Committee Nora Brackbill, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Hans Hemann, Principal Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Morgan Branch, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Eric Csizmar, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Matt Osterli, Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office Alison Merrilees, Chief Counsel, Assembly Judiciary Committee Gregory Pagan, Acting Chief Consultant, Assembly Public Safety Committee Jennifer Kim, Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Annika Carlson, Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Lyndsay Mitchell, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Gary Olson, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget

Hon. Scott D. Wiener Hon. Jesse Gabriel Mr. Joe Stephenshaw August 9, 2024 Page 3

Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Cory T. Jasperson, Director, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council Zlatko Theodorovic, Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Donna Newman, Manager, Budget Services, Judicial Council Alona Daniliuk, Administrative Coordinator, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council