

JUDICIAL COUNCIL of CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel. 415-865-4200 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. PATRICIA GUERRERO

Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

HON. MARSHA G. SLOUGH

Chair, Executive and Planning Committee

HON. ANN C. MOORMAN

Chair, Judicial Branch Budget Committee

HON. MARLA O. ANDERSON

Chair, Legislation Committee Chair, Litigation Management Committee

HON. CARIN T. FUJISAKI

Chair, Rules Committee

HON. KYLE S. BRODIE

Chair, Technology Committee

Hon. Maria Lucy Armendariz

Hon C Todd Bottke

Hon. Kevin C. Brazile

Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin

Hon. Carol A. Corrigan

Hon. Samuel K. Feng

Mr. David D. Fu

Hon. Brad R. Hill

Ms. Rachel W. Hill

Hon. Harold W. Hopp

Hon. Brian Maienschein

Ms. Gretchen Nelson Mr. Maxwell V. Pritt

Hon. Thomas J. Umberg

ADVISORY MEMBERS

Hon. Judith K. Dulcich

Ms. Rebecca J. Fleming

Mr. Shawn C. Landry

Hon. Kimberly Merrifield

Hon. Glenn Mondo

Hon. David Rosenberg

Mr. David H. Yamasaki

MS. MILLICENT TIDWELL

Acting Administrative Director Judicial Council October 1, 2023

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Legislative Counsel 1021 O Street, Suite 3210 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Erika Contreras Secretary of the Senate State Capitol, Room 307 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California 95814

Mr. Joe Stephenshaw Director, Department of Finance 1021 O Street, Suite 3110 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: Report of Allocation of the State-Level Reserve in the Trial Court Trust Fund in 2022–23, as required under Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(C)

Dear Ms. Jenkins, Ms. Contreras, Ms. Parker, and Mr. Stephenshaw:

Pursuant to Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(C), the Judicial Council is submitting *Allocation of the State-Level Reserve in the Trial Court Trust Fund in 2022–23*.

Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(B) requires that the Judicial Council set aside funds in the Trial Court Trust Fund for allocation to the trial courts for unforeseen emergencies, unanticipated expenses for existing programs, or unavoidable funding shortfalls.

October 1, 2023 Page 2

The trial courts did not submit any requests for emergency funding to the Judicial Council in 2022–23. Therefore, no data is reported for this period.

If you have any questions related to this report, please contact Mr. Zlatko Theodorovic, Director, Judicial Council Budget Services, at 916-263-1397 or <u>Zlatko.Theodorovic@jud.ca.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Millicent Tidwell

Acting Administrative Director

Millicent a. Fidwell

Judicial Council

MT/KC

Eric Dang, Counsel, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins Emelyn Rodriguez, General Counsel, Office of Assembly Speaker Robert Rivas Anita Lee, Principal Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Mark Jimenez, Principal Program Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Henry Ng, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Margie Estrada, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee Mary Kennedy, Chief Counsel, Senate Public Safety Committee Matthew Fleming, Consultant, Senate Appropriations Committee Hans Hemann, Principal Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Eric Csizmar, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Matt Osterli, Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office Morgan Branch, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Alison Merrilees, Chief Counsel, Assembly Judiciary Committee Sandy Uribe, Chief Counsel, Assembly Public Safety Committee Nora Brackbill, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Jennifer Kim, Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Annika Carlson, Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Lyndsay Mitchell, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Gary Olson, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Cory T. Jasperson, Director, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council Zlatko Theodorovic, Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Donna Newman, Acting Manager, Budget Services, Judicial Council Jenniffer Herman, Administrative Coordinator, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council