

## JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel 415-865-4200 TDD 415-865-4272 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. TANI G. CANTIL-SAKAUYE Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

HON. MARSHA G. SLOUGH Chair, Executive and Planning Committee

HON. DAVID M. RUBIN Chair, Judicial Branch Budget Committee Chair, Litigation Management Committee

HON. MARLA O. ANDERSON Chair, Legislation Committee

HON. CARIN T. FUJISAKI Chair, Rules Committee

HON. KYLE S. BRODIE Chair, Technology Committee

Hon. Maria Lucy Armendariz
Hon. Richard Bloom
Hon. C. Todd Bottke
Hon. Kevin C. Brazile
Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin
Hon. Carol A. Corrigan
Hon. Samuel K. Feng
Mr. David D. Fu
Hon. Brad R. Hill
Ms. Rachel W. Hill
Hon. Harold W. Hopp
Hon. Ann C. Moorman
Ms. Gretchen Nelson
Hon. Thomas J. Umberg

A DVISORY MEMBERS Hon. Judith K. Dulcich Ms. Rebecca J. Fleming Mr. Shawn C. Landry Hon. Glenn Mondo Hon. Kimberly Merrifield Hon. David Rosenberg Mr. David H. Yamasaki

MR. MARTIN HOSHINO Administrative Director Judicial Council October 1, 2022

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Legislative Counsel 1021 O Street, Suite 3210 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Erika Contreras Secretary of the Senate State Capitol, Room 305 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 319 Sacramento, California 95814

Mr. Joe Stephenshaw Director, Department of Finance 1021 O Street, Room 3110 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: Report of Allocation of the State-Level Reserve in the Trial Court Trust Fund in 2021–22, as required under Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(C)

Dear Ms. Jenkins, Ms. Contreras, Ms. Parker, and Mr. Stephenshaw:

Pursuant to the requirements of Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(C), the Judicial Council is submitting this report on the requests and allocations of the state-level reserve in the Trial Court Trust Fund (TCTF).

Government Code section 68502.5(c)(2)(B) requires that the Judicial Council set aside funds in the TCTF that can be allocated to the trial courts for unforeseen emergencies, unanticipated expenses for existing

programs, or unavoidable funding shortfalls. There were no requests for reserve funding submitted by the trial courts to the Judicial Council in 2021–22; therefore, no data is reported.

If you have any questions related to this report, please contact Ms. Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Judicial Council Budget Services, at 916-263-5771.

Sincerely,

Martin Hoshino

Administrative Director

Judicial Council

## MH/SV

Eric Dang, Counsel, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins cc: Alf Brandt, General Counsel, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Shaun Naidu, Policy Consultant, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Anita Lee, Principal Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Jessie Romine, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Margie Estrada, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee Mary Kennedy, Chief Counsel, Senate Public Safety Committee Nora Brackbill, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Matthew Fleming, Consultant, Senate Appropriations Committee Hans Hemann, Principal Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Morgan Branch, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Eric Csizmar, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Matt Osterli, Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office Alison Merrilees, Chief Counsel, Assembly Judiciary Committee Sandy Uribe, Chief Counsel, Assembly Public Safety Committee Jennifer Kim, Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Kimberly Horiuchi, Principal Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Lyndsay Mitchell, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Gary Olson, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Amy Leach, Minute Clerk, Office of Assembly Chief Clerk Cory T. Jasperson, Director, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Zlatko Theodorovic, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Jenniffer Herman, Administrative Coordinator, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council