

JUDICIAL COUNCIL OF CALIFORNIA

455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102-3688 Tel 415-865-4200 TDD 415-865-4272 Fax 415-865-4205 www.courts.ca.gov

HON. TANI G. CANTIL-SAKAUYE Chief Justice of California Chair of the Judicial Council

HON. MARSHA G. SLOUGH Chair, Executive and Planning Committee

HON. DAVID M. RUBIN Chair, Judicial Branch Budget Committee Chair, Litigation Management Committee

HON. MARLA O. ANDERSON Chair, Legislation Committee

HON. CARIN T. FUJISAKI Chair, Rules Committee

HON. KYLE S. BRODIE Chair, Technology Committee

Hon. Richard Bloom
Hon. C. Todd Bottle
Hon. Stacy Boulware Eurie
Hon. Kevin C. Brazile
Hon. Jonathan B. Conklin
Hon. Carol A. Corrigan
Hon. Samuel K. Feng
Mr. David D. Fu
Hon. Brad R. Hill
Ms. Rachel W. Hill
Hon. Harold W. Hopp
Hon. Dalila Corral Lyons
Ms. Gretchen Nelson
Mr. Maxwell V. Pritt

Hon. Thomas J. Umberg

A DVISORY MEMBERS Hon. Rupert A. Byrdsong Ms. Rebecca J. Fleming Mr. Kevin Harrigan Mr. Shaun C. Landry Hon. Glenn Mondo Hon. Ann C. Moorman Hon. Theodore C. Zayner

MR. MARTIN HOSHINO Administrative Director Judicial Council December 31, 2021

Ms. Cara L. Jenkins Legislative Counsel State Capitol, Room 3021 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Erika Contreras Secretary of the Senate State Capitol, Room 3044 Sacramento, California 95814

Ms. Sue Parker Chief Clerk of the Assembly State Capitol, Room 3196 Sacramento, California 95814

Re: 2020-21 Court Facilities Trust Fund Expenditures, as required under Government Code section 70352(c)

Dear Ms. Jenkins, Ms. Contreras, and Ms. Parker:

Pursuant to Government Code section 70352(c), the Judicial Council is submitting the 2020-21 Court Facilities Trust Fund Expenditures report on the actual expenditures of the Court Facilities Trust Fund for fiscal year 2020-21.

Government Code section 70352(b) states, "Money deposited in [the Court Facilities Trust Fund] and appropriated by the Legislature shall be administered by the Judicial Council for the operation, repair, and maintenance of court facilities and other purposes provided by statute." In 2020-21, the fund expended \$143.2 million for the purposes shown in the table below.

Ms. Cara Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2021 Page 2

Court Facilities Trust Fund Expenditures in 2020-21

Type of Expenditures	Total			
Insurance	1,016,999			
Communication	263,040			
Rent	11,351,857			
Routine Maintenance	73,442,763			
Utilities	56,666,873			
Other Items of Expense	471,402			
Total Expenditures	\$143,212,934			

Superior Court	No. of Court Facilities Incurring Expenses	2020-21 Expenditures	Superior Court	No. of Court Facilities Incurring Expenses	2020-21 Expenditures
Alameda	10	5,835,291	Orange	10	7,852,409
Alpine*	1	71,615	Placer	4	1,352,665
Amador	1	368,841	Plumas	4	188,563
Butte	4	1,390,378	Riverside	16	4,857,229
Calaveras	1	394,295	Sacramento	6	8,726,824
Colusa	3	259,003	San Benito	1	465,373
Contra Costa	13	3,934,235	San Bernardino	18	6,060,623
Del Norte	2	455,731	San Diego	21	10,695,143
El Dorado	5	842,177	San Francisco	8	3,725,416
Fresno	8	4,234,270	San Joaquin	8	2,845,061
Glenn	2	213,924	San Luis Obispo	6	667,677
Humboldt	1	568,722	San Mateo	4	1,853,772
Imperial	3	412,868	Santa Barbara	14	1,457,317
Inyo	3	246,306	Santa Clara	10	6,603,476
Kern	19	2,328,798	Santa Cruz	5	1,023,907
Kings	2	1,294,932	Shasta	6	847,443
Lake	2	485,637	Sierra	1	53,996
Lassen	2	678,489	Siskiyou	3	255,967
Los Angeles	69	39,612,448	Solano	4	2,140,385
Madera	3	1,072,273	Sonoma	5	1,713,736
Marin*	1	61,210	Stanislaus	9	1,632,925
Mariposa*	1	48,880	Sutter	2	706,349
Mendocino	2	466,435	Tehama	2	519,147
Merced	4	1,392,432	Trinity*	1	157,085
Modoc	1	101,694	Tulare	7	1,768,546
Mono	3	364,504	Tuolumne*	2	111,313
Monterey	7	1,876,684	Ventura	3	2,651,966
Napa	3	1,526,795	Yolo	2	1,115,348
Nevada	3	494,750	Yuba	1	129,656
			Totals	362	\$143,212,934

^{*} Judicial Council is not financially responsible for facilities operations costs in the county. However, security equipment was provided to these courts.

Ms. Cara Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2021 Page 3

Reports from previous fiscal years can be found on the California Courts website, "Legislative Reports" webpage at www.courts.ca.gov/7466.htm.

If you have any questions related to this report, please contact Mr. Zlatko Theodorovic, Budget Services Deputy Director at 916-263-1397 or <u>zlatko.theodorovic@jud.ca.gov</u>.

Sincerely,

Martin Hoshino

Administrative Director

Judicial Council

Ms. Cara Jenkins Ms. Erika Contreras Ms. Sue Parker December 31, 2021 Page 4

MH/LC

Eric Dang, Policy Consultant, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins cc: Amy Alley, Policy Advisor, Office of Senate President pro Tempore Toni G. Atkins Alf Brandt, Senior Counsel, Office of Assembly Speaker Anthony Rendon Anita Lee, Principal Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Gabriel Petek, Legislative Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office Jessie Romine, Finance Budget Analyst, Department of Finance Margie Estrada, Chief Counsel, Senate Judiciary Committee Mary Kennedy, Chief Counsel, Senate Public Safety Committee Nora Brackbill, Consultant, Senate Budget and Fiscal Review Committee Shaun Naidu, Consultant, Senate Appropriations Committee Hans Hemann, Principal Consultant, Joint Legislative Budget Committee Eric Csizmar, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Matt Osterli, Consultant, Senate Republican Fiscal Office Morgan Branch, Consultant, Senate Republican Policy Office Alison Merrilees, Chief Counsel, Assembly Judiciary Committee Sandy Uribe, Chief Counsel, Assembly Public Safety Committee Jennifer Kim, Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee Jay Dickenson, Chief Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Kimberly Horiuchi, Principal Consultant, Assembly Appropriations Committee Lyndsay Mitchell, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Gary Olson, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Daryl Thomas, Consultant, Assembly Republican Office of Policy & Budget Amy Leach, Minute Clerk, Office of Assembly Chief Clerk Cory T. Jasperson, Director, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council Zlatko Theodorovic, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Fran Mueller, Deputy Director, Budget Services, Judicial Council Jenniffer Herman, Administrative Coordinator, Governmental Affairs, Judicial Council