Judicial Council of California • Administrative Office of the Courts

455 Golden Gate Avenue · San Francisco, California 94102-3688 www.courts.ca.gov/policyadmin-invitationstocomment.htm

INVITATION TO COMMENT

SPR11-05

Title

Appellate Procedure: Time to Appeal

Proposed Rules, Forms, Standards, or Statutes Amend Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.108 and 8.823 and the advisory committee comments to rules 8.104 and 8.822

Proposed by

Appellate Advisory Committee Hon. Kathryn Doi Todd, Chair **Action Requested**

Review and submit comments by Monday, June 20, 2011

Proposed Effective Date

January 1, 2012

Contact

Heather Anderson, 415-865-7691 heather.anderson@jud.ca.gov

Summary

The rules for the Court of Appeal and for the superior court appellate divisions include provisions establishing the time for filing a notice of appeal in a civil case and providing for extensions of this time under certain circumstances. This proposal would add a clarifying note to the advisory committee comment accompanying the rules regarding the time to appeal that addresses situations in which the parties have waived notice of the trial court's ruling on a motion. It would also add a new provision establishing an extension of time to appeal the granting of a new trial motion under certain circumstances.

Discussion

Waiver of notice of ruling on motion and time to appeal

Rules 8.104 and 8.822 establish the time for filing a notice of appeal in a civil case in the Court of Appeal and superior court appellate division, respectively. These rules provide that the notice of appeal must be filed before the earliest of specified time periods after the trial court or a party serves notice of entry of the judgment (60 days in the Court of Appeal and 30 days in the appellate division) or after the judgment is entered (180 days in the Court of Appeal and 90 days in the appellate division). The term "judgment" in these rules includes an appealable order, such as an order on a motion, if the appeal is from such an order.

Under Code of Civil Procedure section 1019.5, parties can stipulate to waive notice of a ruling on a motion. When neither the court nor a party serves a notice of entry of the judgment, under rules 8.104 and 8.822 a party has the longer period (180 or 90 days) running from entry of the judgment to file a notice of appeal. However, when a party waived notice of a ruling in the trial court, he or she may not have focused on the potential impact on the time to appeal. If a party who waived of notice in the trial court later concludes that it would be preferable for the shorter appeal period (60 or 30 days) running from service of such a notice to apply, there is nothing that prevents that party from subsequently serving notice of entry of the judgment. To clarify this, the proposal would add a note to the advisory committee comment accompanying both rule 8.104 and rule 8.822 indicating that notice of entry can be given despite waiver of notice of the court's decision in the trial court. It would also make non-substantive formatting changes to the rule itself.

Extension of time to appeal the granting of a motion for a new trial

Rules 8.108 and 8.823 address extensions of the time to appeal in a civil case in the Court of Appeal and superior court appellate division, respectively. Subdivision (b) in each of these rules provides for extension of the time to appeal when a party files a new trial motion. Sometimes when a party files a new trial motion on the grounds that the damages awarded in a judgment were either inadequate or excessive, under Code of Civil Procedure section 662.5, a trial court may grant the new trial motion but provide that if a party agrees either to pay more damages (additur) or accept a reduction in the damages (remittitur) then the new trial motion will be denied. Because of the conditional nature of this type of new trial order, it may not be clear if the time to appeal runs from the date the trial court issued the conditional order or from the date the party accepts or rejects the condition. Rules 8.108(b)(2) and 8.823(b)(2) both provide for an extension of the time to appeal from the judgment when a party accepts an additur or a remittitur, thus resulting in a denial of the new trial order. However, these rules do not currently provide for an extension on the time to appeal the grant of a new trial motion when a party rejects an additur or a remittitur.

The proposed rule changes would fill this gap. They would provide that when a new trial is granted because a party rejects a conditional additur or remittitur or if the additur or remittitur is deemed rejected because the time for accepting it has expired, any party has 30 days from the service of the rejection of the additur or remittitur or the date it is deemed rejected to appeal the grant of the new trial motion.

Rules 8.108 and 8.823 of the California Rules of Court and the advisory committee comments to rules 8.104 and 8.822 would be amended, effective January 1, 2012, to read:

1 Title 8. Appellate Rules 2 3 Division 1. Rules Relating to the Supreme Court and Courts of Appeal 4 5 Chapter 2. Civil Appeals 6 7 **Article 1. Taking the Appeal** 8 9 Rule 8.104. Time to appeal 10 11 Normal time (a) 12 13 Unless a statute or rule 8.108 provides otherwise, a notice of appeal must be (1) 14 filed on or before the earliest of: 15 (1)(A) 60 days after the superior court clerk serves on the party filing the 16 17 notice of appeal a document entitled "Notice of Entry" of judgment or 18 a file-stamped copy of the judgment, showing the date either was 19 served; 20 21 (2)(B) 60 days after the party filing the notice of appeal serves or is served by 22 a party with a document entitled "Notice of Entry" of judgment or a 23 file-stamped copy of the judgment, accompanied by proof of service; 24 or 25 26 (3)(C) 180 days after entry of judgment. 27 28 (4)(2) Service under (1)(A) and (2)(B) may be by any method permitted by the 29 Code of Civil Procedure, including electronic service when permitted under 30 Code of Civil Procedure section 1010.6 and rules 2.250–2.261. 31 32 (b)-(e)***33 34 **Advisory Committee Comment** 35 36 **Subdivision** (a). Under subdivision (a)(1), a notice of entry of judgment (or a copy of the 37 judgment) must show the date on which the clerk served the document. The proof of service 38 establishes the date that the 60-day period under subdivision (a)(1) begins to run. 39 40 Subdivision (a)(2)(1)(B) requires that a notice of entry of judgment (or a copy of the judgment) 41 served by or on a party be accompanied by proof of service. The proof of service establishes the

1 date that the 60-day period under subdivision (a)(2)(1)(B) begins to run. Although the general 2 rule on service (rule 8.25(a)) requires proof of service for all documents served by parties, the 3 requirement is reiterated here because of the serious consequence of a failure to file a timely 4 notice of appeal (see subd. (e)). 5 Note that even if the parties stipulated in the trial court to waive notice of the court's decision 6 7 under Code of Civil Procedure section 1019.5, notice of entry of judgment can be served to start 8 the time period under (a)(1)(B). 9 10 **Subdivision (b).** * * * 11 12 13 Rule 8.108. Extending the time to appeal 14 15 (a) * * *16 17 **(b) Motion for new trial** 18 19 If any party serves and files a valid notice of intention to move for a new trial, the 20 time to appeal from the judgment is extended for all parties as follows the 21 following extensions of time apply: 22 23 If the motion for a new trial is denied, the time to appeal from the judgment is (1) 24 extended for all parties until the earliest of: 25 26 30 days after the superior court clerk or a party serves an order denying (A) 27 the motion or a notice of entry of that order; 28 29 (B) 30 days after denial of the motion by operation of law; or 30 31 180 days after entry of judgment. (C) 32 33 If the trial court makes a finding of excessive or inadequate damages and (2) 34 grants the motion for a new trial subject to the condition that the motion is 35 denied if a party consents to the additur or remittitur of damages: 36 37 (A) If any party serves an acceptance of a the conditionally ordered additur 38 or remittitur of damages pursuant to a trial court finding of excessive or 39 inadequate damages, the time to appeal from the judgment is extended 40 for all parties until 30 days after the date the party serves the acceptance. 41 42

1			(B) If any party serves a rejection of the additur or remittitur or the time for
2			accepting the additur or remittitur expires, the time to appeal from the
2 3 4			new trial order is extended for all parties until 30 days after the date
4			the party serves the rejection or the date on which the time for
5			accepting the additur or remittitur expired.
6			
7	(c)-((h) * *	*
8		D	ivision 2. Rules Relating to the Superior Court Appellate Division
9			
10			Chapter 2. Appeals and Records in Limited Civil Cases
11			
12			Article 1. Taking Civil Appeals
13			
14	Rule	e 8.82 2	2. Time to appeal
15			
16	(a)	Norr	nal time
17		(4)	
18		<u>(1)</u>	Unless a statute or rule 8.823 provides otherwise, a notice of appeal must be
19			filed on or before the earliest of:
20			
21			(1)(A) 30 days after the trial court clerk mails the party filing the notice of
22			appeal a document entitled "Notice of Entry" of judgment or a file-
23			stamped copy of the judgment, showing the date either was mailed;
24			(2)(D) 20 1
25			(2)(B) 30 days after the party filing the notice of appeal serves or is served by
26			a party with a document entitled "Notice of Entry" of judgment or a
27			file-stamped copy of the judgment, accompanied by proof of service;
28			or
29			(2)(C) 00 days after the entry of judgment
30			(3)(C) 90 days after the entry of judgment.
31 32		(4)(2	Service under $(1)(A)$ and $(2)(B)$ may be by any method permitted by the
33		(4) (2	Code of Civil Procedure, including electronic service when permitted under
34			Code of Civil Procedure, including electronic service when permitted under Code of Civil Procedure section 1010.6 and rules 2.250-2.261.
35			Code of Civil Flocedure section 1010.0 and rules 2.250-2.201.
36	(b)	(d) * *	*
37	(D)—	(u)	
38			Advisory Committee Comment
39			Advisory Committee Comment
40	Unde	er mile 9	8.804(23), the term "judgment" includes any order that may be appealed.
41	Onuc	i ruic (5.00 (2.5), the term judgment includes any order that may be appeared.

1 Subdivision (a). Note that even if the parties stipulated in the trial court to waive notice of the 2 court's decision under Code of Civil Procedure section 1019.5, notice of entry of judgment can be 3 served to start the time period under (a)(1)(B). 4 5 **Subdivision** (d). See rule 8.817(b)(5) for provisions concerning the timeliness of documents 6 mailed by inmates or patients from custodial institutions. 7 8 9 Rule 8.823. Extending the time to appeal 10 (a) * * * 11 12 13 (b) Motion for a new trial 14 15 If any party serves and files a valid notice of intention to move for a new trial, the time to appeal from the judgment is extended for all parties as follows the 16 17 following extensions of time apply: 18 19 If the motion is denied, the time to appeal from the judgment is extended for (1) 20 all parties until the earliest of: 21 22 (A) 15 days after the trial court clerk mails, or a party serves, an order 23 denying the motion or a notice of entry of that order; 24 25 15 days after denial of the motion by operation of law; or (B) 26 27 90 days after entry of judgment; or (C) 28 29 (2) If the trial court makes a finding of excessive or inadequate damages and 30 grants the motion for a new trial subject to the condition that the motion is 31 denied if a party consents to the additur or remittitur of damages: 32 33 (A) If any party serves an acceptance of a conditionally ordered the additur 34 or remittitur of damages under a trial court finding of excessive or 35 inadequate damages, the time to appeal from the judgment is extended 36 for all parties until 15 days after the date the party serves the acceptance. 37 38 39 (B) If any party serves a rejection of the additur or remittitur or the time for accepting the additur or remittitur expires, the time to appeal from the 40 new trial order is extended for all parties until 30 days after the date the 41 42 party serves the rejection or the date on which the time for accepting 43 the additur or remittitur expired.

2 (c)-(h) * * *

Item SPR11-05 Response Form

Title:	Appellate Procedure: Time to Appeal (amend Cal. Rules of Court, rules 8.108 and 8.823 and the advisory committee comments to rules 8.104 and 8.822)			
	Agree with proposed changes			
	☐ Agree with proposed changes if modified			
	☐ Do not agree with proposed changes			
Comm	ents:			
Name:Title:				
Organ	ization:			
	☐ Commenting on behalf of an organization			
Addre	ss:			
City, S	State, Zip:			
Comme are <i>not</i> the pro	bmit Comments ents may be submitted online, written on this form, or prepared in a letter format. If you commenting directly on this form, please include the information requested above and posal number for identification purposes. Please submit your comments online or email, r fax comments. You are welcome to email your comments as an attachment.			
Interne	et: <u>www.courts.ca.gov/policyadmin-invitationstocomment.htm</u>			
Email: Mail:	invitations@jud.ca.gov Ms. Camilla Kieliger Judicial Council, 455 Golden Gate Avenue San Francisco, CA 94102			
Fay:	(415) 865-7664 Attn: Camilla Kieliger			

Circulation for comment does not imply endorsement by the Judicial Council or the Rules and Projects Committee. All comments will become part of the public record of the council's action.

DEADLINE FOR COMMENT: 5:00 p.m., Monday, June 20, 2011