|     printer icon  Printer-friendly version of this page

2014 California Rules of Court

Rule 10.472. Minimum education requirements for Supreme Court and Court of Appeal managing attorneys, supervisors, and other personnel

(a) Applicability

All California Supreme Court and Court of Appeal managing attorneys, supervisors, and other personnel must complete these minimum education requirements. All managing attorneys, supervisors, and other personnel should participate in more education than is required related to each individual's responsibilities and in accordance with the education recommendations set forth in rule 10.479.

(b) Content-based requirements

(1)Each new managing attorney or supervisor must complete orientation courses within six months of becoming a managing attorney or supervisor, unless the individual's supervisor determines that the new managing attorney or supervisor has already completed these orientation courses or courses covering equivalent content. The courses must include orientation about:

(A)The judicial branch of California;

(B)The local court; and

(C)Basic management and supervision.

(2)Each new court employee who is not a managing attorney or supervisor must complete orientation courses within six months of becoming a court employee, unless the employee's supervisor determines that the new court employee has already completed these orientation courses or courses covering equivalent content. The courses must include orientation about:

(A)The judicial branch of California;

(B)The local court;

(C)Basic employee issues, such as sexual harassment and safety; and

(D)The employee's specific job.

(3)The clerk/administrator, the managing attorney, or the employee's supervisor may determine the appropriate content, delivery mechanism, and length of orientation based on the needs and role of each individual employee.

(c) Hours-based requirements

(1)Each managing attorney, supervisor, or appellate judicial attorney must complete 12 hours of continuing education every two years.

(2)Each court employee who is not a managing attorney, supervisor, or appellate judicial attorney must complete 8 hours of continuing education every two years, with the exception of employees who do not provide court administrative or operational services. Those employees are not subject to the continuing education hours-based requirement but must complete any education or training required by law and any other education required by the clerk/administrator.

(3)The first two-year period for all managing attorneys, supervisors, and other personnel begins on January 1, 2008. The orientation education required for new managing attorneys, supervisors, and other personnel under (b) does not apply toward the required hours of continuing education because it must be completed before they enter the two-year period. Each new managing attorney, supervisor, or employee enters the two-year continuing education period on the first day of the quarter following his or her completion of the orientation education required under (b); the quarters begin on January 1, April 1, July 1, and October 1. Each managing attorney, supervisor, or employee who enters the two-year continuing education period after it has begun must complete a prorated number of continuing education hours for that two-year period, based on the number of quarters remaining in it.

(4)Any education offered by an approved provider (see rule 10.481(a)) and any other education, including education taken to satisfy a statutory, rules-based, or other education requirement, that is approved by the clerk/administrator, the managing attorney, or the employee's supervisor as meeting the criteria listed in rule 10.481(b) applies toward the orientation education required under (b) and the continuing education required under (c)(1) and (2).

(5)Each hour of participation in traditional (live, face-to-face) education; distance education such as broadcasts, videoconferences, online coursework; and faculty service counts toward the requirement on an hour-for-hour basis. Each managing attorney, supervisor, and other employee must complete at least half of his or her continuing education hours requirement as a participant in traditional (live, face-to-face) education. The managing attorney, supervisor, or other employee may complete the balance of his or her education hours requirement through any other means with no limitation on any particular type of education. Self-directed study is encouraged for professional development but does not apply toward the required hours.

(6)A managing attorney, supervisor, or other employee who serves as faculty by teaching legal or judicial education for a legal or judicial audience may apply education hours for the faculty service. Credit for faculty service counts toward the continuing education requirement in the same manner as all other types of education-on an hour-for-hour basis.

(7)The clerk/administrator, the managing attorney, or the employee's supervisor may require supervisors and other court personnel to participate in specific courses or to participate in education in a specific subject matter area as part of their continuing education.

(Subd (c) amended effective January 1, 2012.)

(d) Extension of time

(1)For good cause, a justice (for that justice's chambers staff), the managing attorney, the clerk/administrator, or a supervisor, if delegated by the clerk/administrator, or the employee's supervisor may grant a six-month extension of time to complete the education requirements in this rule.

(2)If the justice, managing attorney, clerk/administrator, or supervisor grants a request for an extension of time, the managing attorney, supervisor, or employee who made the request, in consultation with the justice, managing attorney, clerk/administrator, or supervisor, must also pursue interim means of obtaining relevant educational content.

(3)An extension of time to complete the hours-based requirement does not affect the timing of the next two-year period.

(e) Records of participation

(1)Each court is responsible for tracking participation in education and for tracking completion of minimum education requirements for its managing attorneys, supervisors, and other personnel.

(2)Each managing attorney, supervisor, and employee must keep records of his or her own participation for two years after each course or activity that is applied toward the requirements.

Rule 10.472 amended effective January 1, 2012; adopted effective January 1, 2008.

[ Back to Top ]